Mega Thread AFL: No Trades (READ OP)

Anyone seen an article in The Age this morning that throws further light on what we are doing? Appreciate it if you could update us. Apparently talks about silks wanting to do our case for free! Maybe they smell a little bit of fame from what they view as an easy kill?

Could just see them playing that Gillon McLaughlin interview where his justification for the ban was a flimsy "you can't have everything". That really sums up the ban nicely. Just writing that has put the smell of "blood" in my nostrils. Thinking this would be delicious in court, worth flying in to watch the case live!

We need to make a stand. No one can tell me Hawthorn hasn't had more cheapies through trading anyway...and yet despite winning the flag they get the best FA in the land last year...where was the outrage?

and a No.2 draft pick from GWS, that team controlled and funded by VFL House!

Yes and they wonder why we are continually moaning. You want to ban us from trading, that is to a degree okay, but how about you ban Hawthorn as well.

D'Arcy seriously showed himself up for the flog he is when he was playing dress ups and trying to be a hard hitting journalist interviewing Dean Robinson....remember that line he kept saying......."Say that again..!!". ppffftttt.....what a tool.

Since when was Luke Darcy relevant...he is trying his best to remain relevant to some

The Sydney Swans has the potential to very quickly become the biggest & most important club in the survival of the AFL.
Many may laugh at this but without the Swans in the competition, as we currently exist, the TV rights deal would be halved, such is the importance of the NSW market in the media.

Perhaps why the AFL have tried to be heavy handed on us.
In the past, they have been able to threaten us with the removal of the CoLA etc, should we have tried any form of legal battle, but I guess they've now got nothing to hold over us any more as they have removed any assistance measures all within 2 years. They have also held the ANZ Stadium contract over our head. The end is near for this also.

This will get ugly should the AFL not back down on the ban as we would have far too many sponsors more than happy to support any legal battle we may choose to take with the AFL.

Anyone with some sense knows that without a proper public explanation from F . . k patrick & Gil, then they will lose!

......... This will get ugly should the AFL not back down on the ban as we would have far too many sponsors more than happy to support any legal battle we may choose to take with the AFL.

Anyone with some sense knows that without a proper public explanation from F . . k patrick & Gil, then they will lose!
Offers from silks to do the case pro bono - nice!

We've had the proper public explanation from Gill the dill - "you can't have everything" Looking forward to that pathetically shallow remark coming back to haunt him and the VFL in court.

I'm thinking now that the VFLs complete lack of transparency, public false statements and failure to defend completely erroneous statements by third parties would be best exposed in court rather than being hidden in a backroom deal to get rid of the ban.

I'm glad we're making this move on the trade ban but our acceptance of it last season was ridiculously short-sighted.
Not necessarily. Maybe we accepted it in order to get a more favourable decision on the academies (not that we did very well out of it anyway), with the intention on contesting it after that issue was finalised.

Offers from silks to do the case pro bono - nice!

We've had the proper public explanation from Gill the dill - "you can't have everything" Looking forward to that pathetically shallow remark coming back to haunt him and the VFL in court.

I'm thinking now that the VFLs complete lack of transparency, public false statements and failure to defend completely erroneous statements by third parties would be best exposed in court rather than being hidden in a backroom deal to get rid of the ban.

Wouldn't you just to see these tossers being cross examined in court?

Imagine how embarrassing it would be for the world to officially hear that; Fitzpatrick, and to a lessor extent, Langford and Kelty, were the instigators of a restraint of trade against The Swans (which is a business BTW) for no legitimate reason at all other than that The Swans recruited two big name players in two years.

It would also be confirmed that The Swans didn't breach the salary cap, didn't stockpile any funds, didn't make any third party arrangements, no tampering, etc, etc.

Imagine the damage that this would do to not just AFL but also the careers of individuals? If I ran my business like Fitzpatrick, the commissioners and McLaughlin do, I'd have FWA, etc breathing down my neck.

I don't know how this gem from Pridham was missed when he was asked about it last night on Twitter

CMh1fZ9UcAAbKsi.jpg

As a fellow frontier-club supporter, I'm hoping the Swans give a big f*** you to the Vic-centric AFL regarding this ridiculous trade ban.

I've expressed this opinion on the main board, but I cannot simply fathom how a side can be punished for simply abiding by the rules its governing body granted to them.

Unfortunately, the average "punter" who is too useless and lazy to think for themselves or see past their own club's agenda have basically retorted with "f**k you Swannies, this is what you get for having a COLA."

This issue has nothing to do with the fairness of the COLA - for the record, I personally do not think it is fair that 900k salary cap is reasonable while a club like mine has absolutely no retention allowances whatsoever and is operating in arguably an even tougher Aussie Rules environment.

What is at issue is that the Swans, as per AFL rules, agreed upon by all clubs (I believe) have been punished for merely following them.

It's an absolute farce and should not be tolerated. I was surprised that your club had just seemingly accepted it last year.

As for Fitzpatrick, I can confirm via sources linked closely with the Essendon drug saga that this bloke, for lack of a better word, is a genuine campaigner.

Good point. I hadn't considered that.

Here you go:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-07/fatherson-bidding-changes

The key point being:

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan said there was still a chance the system could be introduced for the 2014 NAB AFL Draft.

"If we can get it right … it'll come in, and if it's not it won't," McLachlan said.

- See more at: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-07/fatherson-bidding-changes#sthash.N2ouSyjL.dpuf

So behind closed doors it's, 'don't make waves or Heeney gets very expensive'.

Here you go:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-07/fatherson-bidding-changes

The key point being:

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan said there was still a chance the system could be introduced for the 2014 NAB AFL Draft.

"If we can get it right … it'll come in, and if it's not it won't," McLachlan said.

- See more at: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-07/fatherson-bidding-changes#sthash.N2ouSyjL.dpuf

So behind closed doors it's, 'don't make waves or Heeney gets very expensive'.
The AFL HQ do act like mafia dons at times... even without demetrios there. Its strange I almost miss him, as he only cared about his own opinion as a result wasnt as easily corrupted by VFL powerhouses.

This whole situation needs to be drawn out in the media by those who hold the greatest sway. As such, I really admire the way Colless & Pridham have handled themselves. Not so ridiculously outspoken it makes their case seem petty but defiant enough to stand up and say, we're here & we aren't going to just sit down and take this sh*t.

The guys like Eddie, Dermott, Darcy, BT, Dunstall etc need to be as equally matched in voice & saturation across all forms of media. We need to start to ensure our argument comes across as fact not just us "winging & complaining" it needs to be made deadly clear what the facts are.

The facts are that we followed the rules & have been punished for using the resources we had legally available to promote our clubs best interests... God forbid. Surely clubs like Carlton, Hawthorn & Collingwood donate all their spare coin to charity, don't support pokies, wouldn't dream of signing up a superstar player who wants to go to their club if the AFL wanted said player elsewhere... No way....

I'm sure the Hawks were just trying to save struggling clubs like Melbourne, Saints, North, Port or the Bulldogs when they decided to take up guys like Lake, Frawley, Hale, Gibson, Burgoyne, McEvoy... Just trying to help alleviate salary cap pressures (that didn't exist).

This whole situation needs to be drawn out in the media by those who hold the greatest sway. As such, I really admire the way Colless & Pridham have handled themselves. Not so ridiculously outspoken it makes their case seem petty but defiant enough to stand up and say, we're here & we aren't going to just sit down and take this sh*t.

The guys like Eddie, Dermott, Darcy, BT, Dunstall etc need to be as equally matched in voice & saturation across all forms of media. We need to start to ensure our argument comes across as fact not just us "winging & complaining" it needs to be made deadly clear what the facts are.

The facts are that we followed the rules & have been punished for using the resources we had legally available to promote our clubs best interests... God forbid. Surely clubs like Carlton, Hawthorn & Collingwood donate all their spare coin to charity, don't support pokies, wouldn't dream of signing up a superstar player who wants to go to their club if the AFL wanted said player elsewhere... No way....

I'm sure the Hawks were just trying to save struggling clubs like Melbourne, Saints, North, Port or the Bulldogs when they decided to take up guys like Lake, Frawley, Hale, Gibson, Burgoyne, McEvoy... Just trying to help alleviate salary cap pressures (that didn't exist).
That's a very basic but fair point!

Here's what I reckon, for better or worse (probably better for the club, worse for the overall comp) - News Ltd are going to be pretty keen for the NSW & QLD teams to remain strong.

I think there probably have been too many advantages gone our way, & I don't want to see them return. But I expect the trade ban might be lent on.

Here's what I reckon, for better or worse (probably better for the club, worse for the overall comp) - News Ltd are going to be pretty keen for the NSW & QLD teams to remain strong.

I think there probably have been too many advantages gone our way, & I don't want to see them return. But I expect the trade ban might be lent on.

Great article you wrote regarding the trade ban mate :thumbsu: i dont want advantages i just dont wanna become another Brisbane Lions MK2 where a majority of our young talent leaves.

Needs to be a balance you remove COLA, make us pay premium for the academies on top of the money we are already paying to try and keep talent in Sydney then you end up like a scenario of the early 90's again.

Mega Thread AFL: No Trades (READ OP)