AFL overtaking NRL in QLD

Not just dickheads but a lot of bogan bitter and twisted AFL haters on LU as well!

Very true. I've got nothing against league and I think people on bigfooty are relatively okay with league, or just don't give it a second thought. Just look how busy the league section is on bigfooty.

But it's almost a sin to mention you like AFL or union on LU.

Very true. I've got nothing against league and I think people on bigfooty are relatively okay with league, or just don't give it a second thought. Just look how busy the league section is on bigfooty.

But it's almost a sin to mention you like AFL or union on LU.

It's simply fear of something they know deep down is better, so the natural reaction is to bag it.

I always think it's like a bunch of blokes standing around in their favourite bar whereby they have always been the most popular, then a bunch of younger better looking blokes walk in. The immediate reaction is to bag the shit outta them to make them feel better about themselves and hope it influencers others opinion 🤣.

It's similar to why you don't get us much vitriol from afl fans in the other direction, they don't see it as a threat.

One massive factor that we're seeing come to the fore with Gold Coast footy is that we're now entering the next generation of supporters on the GC who don't know an AFL without the Suns and lots of them grew up supporting their local AFL club/dreaming of pulling on the red and gold jumper one day. Recent draftees Ethan Read, Will Graham, Bodhi Uwland and Connor Budarick are all examples of that who grew up barracking for the Suns. There's even photographic evidence:

405100477_825484842921252_600406272248637799_n.jpg

405141925_826094382860298_9084199616734698558_n.jpg

One massive factor that we're seeing come to the fore with Gold Coast footy is that we're now entering the next generation of supporters on the GC who don't know an AFL without the Suns and lots of them grew up supporting their local AFL club/dreaming of pulling on the red and gold jumper one day. Recent draftees Ethan Read, Will Graham, Bodhi Uwland and Connor Budarick are all examples of that who grew up barracking for the Suns. There's even photographic evidence:

405100477_825484842921252_600406272248637799_n.jpg

405141925_826094382860298_9084199616734698558_n.jpg

This is also the advantage of the academies. Say a kid that previously had no interest in footy went to palm beach curumbin high school. All of a sudden, they see Walter, Graham and Read on tv 'hey they went to my school', all of a sudden, instant recognition with the suns as their local team playing on the big stage.

That's not to also include the friends or extended families of these local kids that would also live on the gold coast and would now no doubt have an instant connection to the suns.

In a big city it's a drop in the ocean, but in a smaller city I think it really resonates in the local community, all these local kids playing in the biggest sport in the country, for their local club 'let's get behind them'.

This is also the advantage of the academies. Say a kid that previously had no interest in footy went to palm beach curumbin high school. All of a sudden, they see Walter, Graham and Read on tv 'hey they went to my school', all of a sudden, instant recognition with the suns as their local team playing on the big stage.

That's not to also include the friends or extended families of these local kids that would also live on the gold coast and would now no doubt have an instant connection to the suns.

In a big city it's a drop in the ocean, but in a smaller city I think it really resonates in the local community, all these local kids playing in the biggest sport in the country, for their local club 'let's get behind them'.
Yes and no. There's certainly truth to your post but there are also environmental/cultural factors that prevent this from being the case. For example, Palm Beach Currumbin High is a known rugby league nursery and the senior league team is glorified within the four walls. Therefore, the PBC graduates who do make it to the AFL aren't given as much credit as they deserve and your average PBC student is more inclined to take pride in an NRL players from their school because that's what they're told is more important.

Fortunately this is really only the case at two schools on the Gold Coast - Palm Beach Currumbin & Keebra Park - and virtually every other school on the GC would fall into the category you described. Varsity College for example started an AFL excellence program about four years ago and just produced pick 14 Jake Rogers. Now it looks like they will produce another first round talent next year in Leo Lombard. Varsity is generally considered a basketball school but because there's no hatred between Aussie rules and basketball (a lot of juniors play both) you're far more likely to see the local pride coming through from an average Varsity student when compared to an average PBC student.

Being a smaller regional city like Geelong certainly does help in this regard. It's sort of the 'little city that could' vibe if the Suns were to ever win a premiership and I think you'd see a lot of locals jumping on board to support the team when it's winning regularly. Even without winning we're seeing it so it's happening regardless but creating a winning culture within the city that people can be proud of would really take it into overdrive.

Yes and no. There's certainly truth to your post but there are also environmental/cultural factors that prevent this from being the case. For example, Palm Beach Currumbin High is a known rugby league nursery and the senior league team is glorified within the four walls. Therefore, the PBC graduates who do make it to the AFL aren't given as much credit as they deserve and your average PBC student is more inclined to take pride in an NRL players from their school because that's what they're told is more important.

Fortunately this is really only the case at two schools on the Gold Coast - Palm Beach Currumbin & Keebra Park - and virtually every other school on the GC would fall into the category you described. Varsity College for example started an AFL excellence program about four years ago and just produced pick 14 Jake Rogers. Now it looks like they will produce another first round talent next year in Leo Lombard. Varsity is generally considered a basketball school but because there's no hatred between Aussie rules and basketball (a lot of juniors play both) you're far more likely to see the local pride coming through from an average Varsity student when compared to an average PBC student.

Being a smaller regional city like Geelong certainly does help in this regard. It's sort of the 'little city that could' vibe if the Suns were to ever win a premiership and I think you'd see a lot of locals jumping on board to support the team when it's winning regularly. Even without winning we're seeing it so it's happening regardless but creating a winning culture within the city that people can be proud of would really take it into overdrive.

I bet you the titans come good at the exact same time as the suns, just to fizzle out what could be massive gains. Similar to Brisbane this year.

I know others disagree with me on this and it could just be the cynical side of me coming out but I strongly believe Des Hasler's appointment as Titans coach earlier this year had a lot to do with the Suns pending appointment of Damien Hardwick + the upcoming success of the Suns academy. Hasler has been an NRL coach for 18 years and his team has made the finals in 14 of those seasons. He's also made 5 Grand Finals (3 with Manly, 2 with Canterbury) and won 2 Premierships. He's arguably just as accomplished as Dimma and should at least make the Titans a regular finals participant.

The Gold Coast market is ripe for a sport to takeover and I think both codes know it's go time. More broadly, both leagues know they need to up their game to shore up support in one of the fastest growing regions of Australia (South East Queensland). Queenslanders love a winning team and it's going to be a really interesting battle between the two codes over the next 5 years or so as both will likely play finals/contend for premierships. I think both will succeed and draw big crowds once they prove to the locals that they are a reliably successful team.

It's simply fear of something they know deep down is better, so the natural reaction is to bag it.

I always think it's like a bunch of blokes standing around in their favourite bar whereby they have always been the most popular, then a bunch of younger better looking blokes walk in. The immediate reaction is to bag the s**t outta them to make them feel better about themselves and hope it influencers others opinion 🤣.

It's similar to why you don't get us much vitriol from afl fans in the other direction, they don't see it as a threat.
Very true. League supporters are so defensive and get their back up when Aussie Rules is mentioned yet footy fans would chat about league no worries. Because we don't feel threatened at all. To me, even though the sport is played internationally it still feels semi professional.

Gold Coast Suns is honestly such an elite brand. Sh*ts all over Titans.

If they can win a flag, or produce a dynasty, it will be the final nail in the coffin that is Queensland Rugby League.

Not even the Brisbane Firehawks could save the code if that happens.

The QRL isnt going anywwhere. Dolphins proved this year that the market exists and is strong. The Titans are one QLD team out of 4, and the Cowboys and Broncos are basically invinciible at this point.

Not that this is necessarily the best measure, but I was at the Gold Coast casino in round 1 and on the friday night there was about 5 of us watching the Collingwood v Geelong game and about 200 watching the NRL.

I am not that convinced that, despite the numbers that get thrown around, AFL in QLD and NSW is that much different to what rugby is in Melbourne.

Not that this is necessarily the best measure, but I was at the Gold Coast casino in round 1 and on the friday night there was about 5 of us watching the Collingwood v Geelong game and about 200 watching the NRL.

I am not that convinced that, despite the numbers that get thrown around, AFL in QLD and NSW is that much different to what rugby is in Melbourne.

Fortunately we don't have to rely on desperate people watching sports in casinos to garner progress.
I find the era of watching sports at bars has long lost it's appeal.
Why would Gold Coast people be watching two Victorian teams when they're out and about ?

Fortunately we don't have to rely on desperate people watching sports in casinos to garner progress.
I find the era of watching sports at bars has long lost it's appeal.
Why would Gold Coast people be watching two Victorian teams when they're out and about ?
Presumably because they like watching AFL, which supposedly there are all these people in SE QLD who are really into AFL.

The QRL isnt going anywwhere. Dolphins proved this year that the market exists and is strong. The Titans are one QLD team out of 4, and the Cowboys and Broncos are basically invinciible at this point.
I don't have much to add to this thread apart from I see evidence of NRL supporters every day of the year while AFL is still pretty niche in Brisbane except when the Lions are winning. Still a majority of football supporters who have never watched a game on TV let alone attended a match.

Just means there is plenty of growth to be had.

Presumably because they like watching AFL, which supposedly there are all these people in SE QLD who are really into AFL.

Maybe these people in S.E. Qld are like me in that watch AFL and the team that they support on television at home in comfort.
For really important games I tend to adjust my calendar to avoid clashes.
Yes, I'll watch other games at home but there are not a priority.

I've actually taken notice of how popular these large screens in public areas are and they are now a total waste of people.
They are a huge distraction from the purpose of "going out".
It's really sad that 200 people have nothing better to do than watch NRL at a casino.
Don't they have a home to go to ?

Way off the mark. I assume you are taking about League in Melbourne? By way of comparison, there has not been a single home grown NRL player from Victoria (without QLD/NSW/Pasifika heritage). There have been dozens, perhaps even 50+ AFL players who were born and bred in Queensland and do not have a Vic/SA/WA/Tas background.

Maybe these people in S.E. Qld are like me in that watch AFL and the team that they support on television at home in comfort.
For really important games I tend to adjust my calendar to avoid clashes.
Yes, I'll watch other games at home but there are not a priority.

I've actually taken notice of how popular these large screens in public areas are and they are now a total waste of people.
They are a huge distraction from the purpose of "going out".
It's really sad that 200 people have nothing better to do than watch NRL at a casino.
Don't they have a home to go to ?
This is the cope excuse NRL people use to explain their low crowds at games, every one's watching at home, and I'm not convinced when it comes from this side either.

Or it is probably not a measure at all? Just an anecdote?

...not convinced by all the ratings, attendance, participation, produced athletic talent......any remotely objective numbers really which points to Australian football being many times more popular in Brisbane than RL is in Melbourne......

What could possibly convince you?

Or it is probably not a measure at all? Just an anecdote?

...not convinced by all the ratings, attendance, participation, produced athletic talent......any remotely objective numbers really which points to Australian football being many times more popular in Brisbane than RL is in Melbourne......

What could possibly convince you?
State of Origin seems pretty popular when it is played in Melbourne.

It's an event, which attracts event-goers as well as those truly interested.
An NFL game would do the same as does the Melbourne Cup.
International games attract the "support Australia" crowd.

The NRL definitely worries about AFL - it attacks Australia's game quite regularly
but realistically it has more to worry about NFL in the long term.
NFL is on FTA and it's popularity is rising all the time.
American Football has so much more glitz than NRL whilst being a similar game in many respects.

Gold Coast Suns is honestly such an elite brand. Sh*ts all over Titans.

If they can win a flag, or produce a dynasty, it will be the final nail in the coffin that is Queensland Rugby League.

Not even the Brisbane Firehawks could save the code if that happens.
IF being the key word.
They haven't got anywhere near that.

Way off the mark. I assume you are taking about League in Melbourne? By way of comparison, there has not been a single home grown NRL player from Victoria (without QLD/NSW/Pasifika heritage). There have been dozens, perhaps even 50+ AFL players who were born and bred in Queensland and do not have a Vic/SA/WA/Tas background.
What's Pasifika heritage got to do with it?
That sounds racist to me on your part.
PIs are born to play both Rugby League codes with their builds

What's Pasifika heritage got to do with it?
That sounds racist to me on your part.
PIs are born to play both Rugby League codes with their builds
How is it racist to say that no players who parents did not come from RL/RU territory have ever made if from Melbourne to the NRL?

AFL overtaking NRL in QLD