AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

I love reading some of the posts you guys like to throw up! It makes me laugh at the amount of things you know about each club! Particularly my club Mayne!
I have bitten my tongue for long enough now. Now is the time to change that. I think you need to get the facts right before you hoe the boots in to our club. We are in a terrific financial position, we pay all our fees and any bills on time with out any hassle, we have a fantastic major sponsor in GVG and to top that we have a great bunch of guys that are proud to play for our club. Obviously this season has been disappointing but if you have witnessed any games this year, we have been very competitive without getting across the line, so I think it is unfair to say that Mayne need to drop down. I think most of you will agree that with a young side comes inconsistency, and that has been the case this season. There is a massive gap between our competition and the one below, so I don't think dropping down a level is the answer.

To say that 'Mayne are kidding themselves' is disgraceful. We are a very proud club with a great history, and we are very much in a rebuilding phase at the moment. I am very excited to see where the club is heading in years to come, so don't be surprised to see the Tigers in the finals sooner rather than later. Of course we will doing everything within the rules to attract players to our club next season, but don't get me wrong although we play for success, you have to be happy in your environment and the boys at Mayne are some of the best people I know and I am very proud to be involved as a player and as the Senior Coach.

So anyone who wants to put our club down, maybe get a bit of inside information before you start mouthing off! I hope that you choke on your words and we prove to everyone that has ever belittled us that we are a club of great character.

I dont think anyone had questioned Maynes history, and I also think that all the early foundation clubs like Mayne, Grange, Sandgate, Wests etc are vital to the general culture of QLD footy. You say you are rebuilding, which is obvious, but I guess those from outside the club have seen this being the case for 4 or 5 year now without results showing this is happeneing. Even the weekend, you yourself described your team as "disgusting" on the AFLQ website.

I guess the 11 team comp and the need for a bye has probably made lots question whether a 10 team comp works better with all playing twice etc, and therefore put the spotlight on the side who appears to be struggling the most.

Whether this is fair or not is probably debatable from both sides of the fence, its honourable that someone like yourself is so passionate about the club and seem determined to move the club forward though.

I cant see the league dropping anyone down, and doesnt sound like that is in Maynes forward thinking, so I guess we all get to sit back and watch how you guys go heading forward. I hated Mayne when they played QAFL back in the day, but they had some great players and were always well respected, hopefully the future holds some of this for you.

I dont think anyone had questioned Maynes history, and I also think that all the early foundation clubs like Mayne, Grange, Sandgate, Wests etc are vital to the general culture of QLD footy. You say you are rebuilding, which is obvious, but I guess those from outside the club have seen this being the case for 4 or 5 year now without results showing this is happeneing. Even the weekend, you yourself described your team as "disgusting" on the AFLQ website.

I guess the 11 team comp and the need for a bye has probably made lots question whether a 10 team comp works better with all playing twice etc, and therefore put the spotlight on the side who appears to be struggling the most.

Whether this is fair or not is probably debatable from both sides of the fence, its honourable that someone like yourself is so passionate about the club and seem determined to move the club forward though.

I cant see the league dropping anyone down, and doesnt sound like that is in Maynes forward thinking, so I guess we all get to sit back and watch how you guys go heading forward. I hated Mayne when they played QAFL back in the day, but they had some great players and were always well respected, hopefully the future holds some of this for you.

Reckon they are the equivalent of the old Fitzroy Lions - biggest issue Fitzroy had back then (apart from having shite players and an AFL that didn't want 12 teams in Melbourne) was a lack of a real home. Once you can lay a foundation somewhere I think it makes a massive difference and local people can identify with you, juniors can play there knowing the senior club will be at that place in 5 years time, sponsors have peace of mind etc. All i can add is that Housego must be a special sort of bloke to be slogging away for that long when he could have received alot more elsewhere and not just $$ but success.

Thanks Dave and Switching play.

We are moving in the right direction as a club and the future is bright. At this stage I will coach again next year unless the club think otherwise. But the feedback and support from them this season has been terrific.

Sweetie - On the weekend we were very ordinary, we made silly mistakes, turned the ball over numerous times and we were lazy. We had some encouraging results in the previous 2 rounds, so to serve up that on the weekend was disappointing. To label us 'disgusting' probably wasnt the correct word choice, I meant the performance itself, not the Club as you are referring to.

Dave - Wish you guys all the best also, we are in similar boats, and yes lets hope we are at the other pointy end come next season.

Your still buy far the best dressed club Faulk's! and have the best canteen staff, even have it open in practice matches!

Maybe a merger between the 2 tigers, become the Super tigers & Play half at Noosa,Half at Mayne!

We are moving in the right direction as a club and the future is bright. At this stage I will coach again next year unless the club think otherwise. But the feedback and support from them this season has been terrific.

Please expand on how the future looks bright Luke??? I'm not dismissing what you say but you play at Everton Juniors ground and the facilities are about Div 4 standard at best.

Your club is not located in its traditional heartland so is further disconnected from its history every year, be interested to know how your club plans to become successful in what is a very competitive north Brisbane environment (Aspley, Sandgate, Grange etc..all very close and well established with better facilities and local community support)...

If you are going to be coaching Mayne moving forward (and in fact you ARE the real Luke Faulkner :eek:) you would think you would want to know before committing.....so just what is the Mayne plan for success?... and what does Mayne realistically consider would be a "successful 2012???

Faulks,
Bold move coming on here and defending your club, and I congratulate you for doing so. What I am more concerned about is your thoughts and views on the pending finals? Which 2 sides do you think will play off? Best player in league? And most respected opponent? Will be good to hear the oppinon of a current player instead of the one eyed views from old men like myself. But please everyone else feel free to give your views, after all it is a public forum! and very entertaining.:thumbsu:

Kwhit,

At this stage I think PBC and Noosa are my 2 tips for the Grand Final. Although the Magpies were very good against us last week and will be a danger.

As far as best players/opponents goes. My tip for the league medal is James Drake. Just a terrific player, very versatile and a good bloke to go with it.

Best opponent - It's difficult to say with so many midfield rotations throughout games, but I would say Lucas Matthews from Noosa. Just a pure footballer, knows how to get the footy and use it well and brings other players into the game.

Should be a good finals series, with so many teams capable of taking out the title.

As for your questions Travolta - New changerooms, new carpark, grant for a new mower which will help the quality of the ground, yeah we share the ground with Everton Juniors but there are no ongoing issues with any of this. Our under 18's have made the finals and we have a good group of 1st year and 2nd year senior players who will improve dramatically next year so I guess that answers your question about the future being bright or is that not good enough for you?

Anyway that's enough from me, I have said enough.

Well there's your evidence of being clueless.

The only premiership we've won in the last decade was against your boys and it was on the back of a bunch of blokes who'd been at the club forever.

Springwood is going to have a very good team with all the young talent coming through that place.

this'll sound a bit corny, but wanted to say thanks to all the guys at Maroochy for giving me the chance to get into footy this year through the reserves side. It's been a huge change from league and union, but I feel like I'm getting the hang of it and having a great time. Worst thrashings I've ever copped in any sport I've played, but it's been a real learning curve, and hopefully we can have a great pre-season and be a lot more competitive in 2012. Looking forward to having a full-strength side against Springwood this weekend, and hopefully we go out with a bang.

So thanks guys, and looking forward to playing with you all again next year. Phil

Great news for Mayne Luke Faulkner will be staying on board to coach the Tigers.

Springwood is going to have a very good team with all the young talent coming through that place.
Not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but taking at face value I'd think we'd need to recruit to fill a couple of spots and help the young blokes develop. Just relying on kids at this level, IMO, is fraught with danger but it's a matter of picking your spots as to when and who you go out and recruit

Great news for Mayne Luke Faulkner will be staying on board to coach the Tigers.

Luke is a great player... but playing coaches surely are a thing of the past???

Absolute gun player and bloke which any club would love to have and a great leader but winning strike rate (like most other playing coaches) ????? ouch.

Surely the PHC standard is now beyond playing coaches??? and yes I know Mitch Ferguson is helping who is a very smart guy...but c'mon.... wouldn't Mayne be better off getting a non-playing coach and keeping Luke as a player?? or was that not on the table? ;)

Not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but taking at face value I'd think we'd need to recruit to fill a couple of spots and help the young blokes develop. Just relying on kids at this level, IMO, is fraught with danger but it's a matter of picking your spots as to when and who you go out and recruit

Not being sarcastic mate, I agree a few more experienced blokes would definitely help them along, they haven't had a bad year though. i was looking at haveing a run with springwood next year as i have a few mates that play there.

Another Port supporter would sure share the load of the one bloke at the club that goes for them :D

Luke is a great player... but playing coaches surely are a thing of the past???

Absolute gun player and bloke which any club would love to have and a great leader but winning strike rate (like most other playing coaches) ????? ouch.

Surely the PHC standard is now beyond playing coaches??? and yes I know Mitch Ferguson is helping who is a very smart guy...but c'mon.... wouldn't Mayne be better off getting a non-playing coach and keeping Luke as a player?? or was that not on the table? ;)

Sandgate nearly won it last year with a playing coach. More about the off field blokes in place IMO.

Hahaha, well i already cop shit about it every night at training.

good effort by the maggies to finish eaqual top, the club has obviously had a tough 2 years then got hit by floods great character.it is also awsome to see grange and sandgate going well it keeps some real tradition going in queensland footy, it amazes me that zillmere didnt try and keep a senior side in at some level when they got the chop it atleast keeps your history alive..... thats why mayne must push on in some form as a senior club,i is the PHC now the QAFL with the neafl rising in stature?

I have been watching this forum for a while now - and to be honest fairly boring hearing the same old stuff.

Is anyone going to have crack at how the finals will pan out and start naming names.

Went to watch Grange - Surfers on the week-end - and Grange will be the first club out. They are very ordinary - no-one with any fight/ticker - just gave up in the end. Surfers were pretty good but Grange hopeless - big fat Green kicked 10 and no-one even looked like stopping him.

Grange havent got a fwd line by the look - Collins very over-rated. must kick his goals against bottom teams.
Skuse - i thought he was a gun. Very soft and just runs fwd all the time.

Anyway enough on Grange i suppose.

Sandgate - having bye will help. Dickfos the key down forward - have some good young on-ballers and with open space will run rings around Grange.

Magpies/Palm-Beach - Palm Beach seem to have big heads and that might be the only thing that gets in there way. Magpies young and need to be put under pressure - Dickfos very good young player ( could get drafted ).

Palm Beach on the smal ground might be to good and big.

So Sandgate ( by a long way ) and Palm Beach for mine.

If Alex Dickfos gets drafted... geezus.

Got dragged versus me who's an over the hill, slow, no strength full back in a game where they would've had 70% of the ball in their forward half.

If I live in a world where Alex Dickfos is draftable yet Val Pope wasn't 4-5 years ago there's something very wrong.

If Alex Dickfos gets drafted... geezus.

Got dragged versus me who's an over the hill, slow, no strength full back in a game where they would've had 70% of the ball in their forward half.

If I live in a world where Alex Dickfos is draftable yet Val Pope wasn't 4-5 years ago there's something very wrong.

If the Lions and Magpies thing is honest, and they send the best of their 21yr old or younger players, you would think that Dickfos would of spent a lot of the year there. Looking at AFLQ website he played zero. So either the Magpies werent sending their best young players, or he isnt considered good enough to even play NEAFL. Not exactly draft type rap.

On the Magpies thing, the Lions have finished last in NEAFL, is this a result of the quality top ups they received? I havent followed it enough to know, someone who follows both leagues might know? Wonder how many will slot straight into seniors when lions are done after this week?

If the Lions and Magpies thing is honest, and they send the best of their 21yr old or younger players, you would think that Dickfos would of spent a lot of the year there. Looking at AFLQ website he played zero. So either the Magpies werent sending their best young players, or he isnt considered good enough to even play NEAFL. Not exactly draft type rap.

On the Magpies thing, the Lions have finished last in NEAFL, is this a result of the quality top ups they received? I havent followed it enough to know, someone who follows both leagues might know? Wonder how many will slot straight into seniors when lions are done after this week?

i am pretty sure nathan clarke requested players and the majority of the time got the ones he wanted. the lions and GC rarely request key position and you will see that they tried to keep some consistancy with who played. this system can work if allthe young kids from the western suburbs can be used including ipswich and toowoomba. the lions must continue to develop a realationship with the area, if theyre looking for a new home for a high performance centre and training facility why not develop at chelmer 11kms from the city 16kms from the gabba. ps Dickfos wont get drafted (will be a good senior player though) blokes like sam michael,allen,sexton,yagmoore,starcevich,bourke and clay cameron are miles infront.

I have been watching this forum for a while now - and to be honest fairly boring hearing the same old stuff.

Is anyone going to have crack at how the finals will pan out and start naming names.

Went to watch Grange - Surfers on the week-end - and Grange will be the first club out. They are very ordinary - no-one with any fight/ticker - just gave up in the end. Surfers were pretty good but Grange hopeless - big fat Green kicked 10 and no-one even looked like stopping him.

Grange havent got a fwd line by the look - Collins very over-rated. must kick his goals against bottom teams.
Skuse - i thought he was a gun. Very soft and just runs fwd all the time.

Anyway enough on Grange i suppose.

Sandgate - having bye will help. Dickfos the key down forward - have some good young on-ballers and with open space will run rings around Grange.

Magpies/Palm-Beach - Palm Beach seem to have big heads and that might be the only thing that gets in there way. Magpies young and need to be put under pressure - Dickfos very good young player ( could get drafted ).

Palm Beach on the smal ground might be to good and big.

So Sandgate ( by a long way ) and Palm Beach for mine.

?

Noosa?

After all they did finish on top! Will agree on Palmy being there and will play Noosa. Not sure on the severity on the four Magpie players injured on Saturday but I know Hamill is a very important to the side given size and experience, Beer has been in their best most weeks and Spencer and Lavey are quality forawrds/midfield players. Palmy are definatly up and about and will regain Drake, Carrol and Blowes this week. So pending on the magpies injuries may give Palmy a small advantage going into round one of finals. Sandgate definatly not inform, after falling over the line against maroochy, need to regroup this week against a side who will be bitterly disapointed on missing a double chance. Tough major loss to Grange, and will repeat my earlier view that lack an X factor. Sandgate to win with Palmy progressing to play Noosa.

I'd expect Sandgate to bounce back this weekend, Can't see Grange beating them again, is Forbes playing? Walker not really hitting the form of last year, they need a big one from him also, Don't think Grange can match Walker, forbes & Dickfos, sandgate by 4 goals!

PBC V Magpies, what a cracker, Maggies are fit & fast, Palmy have some key onballers and backmen, drake a gun, Munro a great player! I think Magpies to get over the line with a huge home ground crowd to help, Mihopolous on Horn great match up. Maggies by 4 points!

Ok you maybe right about Dickfos not geting drafted but a little birdy tells me there is interest in him - has been held back a bit and not been noticed. anyway enough of that.
Palmy way to strong for Magpies and i hope they belt them to be honest ( dont relly know why )
Yes there isnt to much support for Grange and so there shouldnt be ( Mayne should have beaten them twice ) - think they got there big wins early when got under everyones guard - Tough big loss ( only hard nut they have ) Cash ( soft ) forgot him before, Agosta to slow, Rogers to old, Pardew just playing for free piss probably - Sangate have a few oldies but i think they could go half pace and beat Grange - which is a shame as they have improved this year. Marto needs to work for next year - and get some players with shit in them.