AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

I havn't posted much this year but I have followed this league very closely. From what I can see, I would be very confident in saying it will be a Noosa v PBC Grand Final. Noosa have a brilliant game style that sides just dont seem to react to. It's fairly obvious what they do but opposition coaches or players are not responding. The addition of punky, mills and bailey to the side makes it an even better team than last year. How did maroochydore let Bailey go???? Their structures and team approach will see them get through to the GF with ease. Well coached!!!! Cant believe people bag Noosa's coach??

PBC have the experience and a few x factors that can tear a game apart. They are a ruthless tough side. I don't see Sangate (too many injuries/long is a cat), magpies (very young), grange(pretenders) or anyone else getting near these 2 sides come finals time.

I am also critical of sides like Mayne, Springwood... Give it up and drop down a league. Mayne are kidding themselves they wouldnt even finish in the top 3 in div 2. Springwood have been a young side for 3 years now and they havn't seen much reward.

Maroochydore should hold their heads high!!! After losing so many players they have been competitive with the likes of Sangate/noosa. They do need to recruit next year though!!!
Brewster,mills,bailey and Frew have been great pick ups.Reynolds,page,brain and Spring were super important in last years win so i`m not certain Noosa are a better side this year.time will tell in their acheivements are equal.Sangate definitely not travelling as well at same time as 2010,grange big improvers,magpies as fit as noosa and always dangerous and Palmy are a better side than last year,They tore Noosa apart by picking a few set plays up very quickly.They also put their heads well and truly over the ball ala Matthews,Isles,brauer etc.Palmy are a fair way back starting finals and the magpies record in finals in this comp` has been very good.Not often in a comp` does a side remain winless for the entire year so I`m sure noosa will be making sure they get over mayne first before worrying about finals.

Yeah, you're probably right Pies re work but the local Uni is getting bigger every year. Kids can stay here depending on their choice of course. Work opps are terrible in trades for sure.
There have been quite a few 16yr olds played this year already who have done very well and with it being the 1st year that the club has had 18's in Div 1 (believe me, a massive achievement and will be worth a hell of a lot to the club in the next few years). As someone rightly pointed out to me a few posts back, Magpies had 80% of their '06 premiership team come from the local region there so it can be done. I believe it is often how you treat the kids that will depend on whether they continue on or not. Embrace them earlier rather than later and not just those that are the obvious good footballers currently - many kids here don't develop properly till 20 yrs of age. The Maroochy coach this year has been outstanding IMO with his attitude, his teaching and his general persona around the football club. I agree that there needs to be some monies spent for those high quality footballers but I'm not sure you need 50% of your club to be those from interstate if the junior set up is good.

He's been outstanding, however only 15 at training?
Surfers will show Grange up, Sandgate will be saved by them, otherwise sandgate would drop to 5th, play PBC and be over for another year.

PBC V Noosa GF.

I havn't posted much this year but I have followed this league very closely. From what I can see, I would be very confident in saying it will be a Noosa v PBC Grand Final. Noosa have a brilliant game style that sides just dont seem to react to. It's fairly obvious what they do but opposition coaches or players are not responding. The addition of punky, mills and bailey to the side makes it an even better team than last year. How did maroochydore let Bailey go???? Their structures and team approach will see them get through to the GF with ease. Well coached!!!! Cant believe people bag Noosa's coach??

PBC have the experience and a few x factors that can tear a game apart. They are a ruthless tough side. I don't see Sangate (too many injuries/long is a cat), magpies (very young), grange(pretenders) or anyone else getting near these 2 sides come finals time.

I am also critical of sides like Mayne, Springwood... Give it up and drop down a league. Mayne are kidding themselves they wouldnt even finish in the top 3 in div 2. Springwood have been a young side for 3 years now and they havn't seen much reward.

Maroochydore should hold their heads high!!! After losing so many players they have been competitive with the likes of Sangate/noosa. They do need to recruit next year though!!!

Agree with your comment on Noosa being well coached. Watched them vs Sandgate and they certainly play that way. They look a tight nit team.

You not a fan of Long from Sandgate? Dont think he is a dominate player any more, but cat wouldnt be a term I would think to many would describe him? Sandgate still have some geniune match winners and if they can get most back could still push Palmy in first final if thats the way it turns out. If they get over that first game, they have beaten Magpies twice and also Grange so could be a smokey.

Nice to have a new poster in here with some new thoughts.

He's been outstanding, however only 15 at training?
Surfers will show Grange up, Sandgate will be saved by them, otherwise sandgate would drop to 5th, play PBC and be over for another year.

PBC V Noosa GF.

And that included a few 18's and 2's players. Few more on Thursday night but overall very poor. Obviously from last weekends result they were just lightening their load!:D

Brewster,mills,bailey and Frew have been great pick ups.Reynolds,page,brain and Spring were super important in last years win so i`m not certain Noosa are a better side this year.time will tell in their acheivements are equal.Sangate definitely not travelling as well at same time as 2010,grange big improvers,magpies as fit as noosa and always dangerous and Palmy are a better side than last year,They tore Noosa apart by picking a few set plays up very quickly.They also put their heads well and truly over the ball ala Matthews,Isles,brauer etc.Palmy are a fair way back starting finals and the magpies record in finals in this comp` has been very good.Not often in a comp` does a side remain winless for the entire year so I`m sure noosa will be making sure they get over mayne first before worrying about finals.

Oh please mate, stop it. Surely you jest.:eek: You could rest 15 of your top 20 and still win!!

I don't see Sangate (too many injuries/long is a cat), magpies (very young), grange(pretenders) or anyone else getting near these 2 sides come finals time.

ok...ummm...yep might as well not worry about finals, just schedule the GF now with Noosa and PBC in it then.

A couple of questions for you my learned colleague:

Specifically what do you mean by "Long is a cat"?

Which players of the "too many injuries" to "Sangate" will cripple them?

Which is the only team to have a 100% win strike rate against both Noosa and Palm Beach this year?

Magpies too young?? Very skilled, fit and have some very mature and talented players, and Lions players coming back after 1st week of finals...they will be a very strong contender?

As others have noted: I think your logic processor is malfunctioning dude...how can Maroochy be doing such a great job yet Springwood (who are much further down the "development of youth" path than Maroochy) suitable to be dumped??

I think all of us (except Tiger) agree about Mayne being a club on borrowed time and with no hope until they reclaim there own territory in the inner north and get back to their roots.Mayne should move back to somewhere near "Mayne" and drop back a division, get their club moving forward and then come up and have a real swing at it. I admire their supporters, volunteers, die-hard players...but the business model is just not there.

Love to hear your thoughts...

think you will find the reason they picked your set plays up is that obrien PAYS people to go and watch opposition teams (well he did last 2 years anyway). I know this for fact as sommerville and obrien used to swap information, and sommerville would brag about getting the info from obrien.

if mayne can get some money together, hire a gun coach with AFL experience, and recruit well, there is no reason why they can't swing around and play finals next year.

believe me, it doesn't take much for players to decide to switch clubs. We had one senior player leave to go and coach nambour, and lost about 8 players who went with him (and that is 2 divisions down). A few followed another bloke to Caloundra as they were close mates and were promised all kinds of things.

What say copeland from aspley decides to coach Mayne next year, and he takes 8 middle range apsley players. Then some guys at grange find out, and don't really like playing for the current coach (this is all hypothetical), and maybe they pick up some interstate blokes that copeland brings in.

All of a sudden they have gone from cellar dwellers to top 5.

I know from experience this can happen, I saw it happen 3 years ago when Sommerville came back, and high quality players turned up from everywhere.

ok...ummm...yep might as well not worry about finals, just schedule the GF now with Noosa and PBC in it then.

A couple of questions for you my learned colleague:

Specifically what do you mean by "Long is a cat"?

Which players of the "too many injuries" to "Sangate" will cripple them?

Which is the only team to have a 100% win strike rate against both Noosa and Palm Beach this year?

Magpies too young?? Very skilled, fit and have some very mature and talented players, and Lions players coming back after 1st week of finals...they will be a very strong contender?

As others have noted: I think your logic processor is malfunctioning dude...how can Maroochy be doing such a great job yet Springwood (who are much further down the "development of youth" path than Maroochy) suitable to be dumped??

I think all of us (except Tiger) agree about Mayne being a club on borrowed time and with no hope until they reclaim there own territory in the inner north and get back to their roots.Mayne should move back to somewhere near "Mayne" and drop back a division, get their club moving forward and then come up and have a real swing at it. I admire their supporters, volunteers, die-hard players...but the business model is just not there.

Love to hear your thoughts...

I will let he results do the talking!! when this happens in a months time I will get back to you!!

Mayne do have some great people around the club but they need to suck it up and just come back a divison. Maroochydore have been a really good club for 5 yrs finishing in finals 4 out of the 5!!

Springwood bought a premiership then went youth and have really done nothing for 4 years.

Magpies couldn't go near been competitive at the top level and now they cant even dominate premier div!!

I watched Sangate v Noosa a few weeks ago and they were simply deplorable!! Noosa smashed them in all facets of the game

if mayne can get some money together, hire a gun coach with AFL experience, and recruit well, there is no reason why they can't swing around and play finals next year.

believe me, it doesn't take much for players to decide to switch clubs. We had one senior player leave to go and coach nambour, and lost about 8 players who went with him (and that is 2 divisions down). A few followed another bloke to Caloundra as they were close mates and were promised all kinds of things.

What say copeland from aspley decides to coach Mayne next year, and he takes 8 middle range apsley players. Then some guys at grange find out, and don't really like playing for the current coach (this is all hypothetical), and maybe they pick up some interstate blokes that copeland brings in.

I know from experience this can happen, I saw it happen 3 years ago when Sommerville came back, and high quality players turned up from everywhere.

Bushy was one of the most hated blokes at the lions. hahah i know its a hypothetical but bushy please!!!

The coach that went to nambour did he take senior players? I can see your point but I cant see mayne changing, they haven't in 8 yrs

So what where the blokes offered that went to caloundra. Or should i say what did they get offered and didnt get. Can't wait to hear your response.

think you will find the reason they picked your set plays up is that obrien PAYS people to go and watch opposition teams (well he did last 2 years anyway). I know this for fact as sommerville and obrien used to swap information, and sommerville would brag about getting the info from obrien.

Quick hypothetical!!!

If mdores current coach had lasts years list would they have gone all the way??

I have heard some good reports even with limited numbers to training and poor results

I will let he results do the talking!! when this happens in a months time I will get back to you!!

Mayne do have some great people around the club but they need to suck it up and just come back a divison. Maroochydore have been a really good club for 5 yrs finishing in finals 4 out of the 5!!

Springwood bought a premiership then went youth and have really done nothing for 4 years.

Magpies couldn't go near been competitive at the top level and now they cant even dominate premier div!!

I watched Sangate v Noosa a few weeks ago and they were simply deplorable!! Noosa smashed them in all facets of the game

just a couple of things
a. Springwood havent won a premiership at this level, made a prelim in 2005 semi in 2006 and 2007

b. magpies have lost a total of 12 games including finals in the 5 seasons of PHC which is about 100 games with 12 losses, their reserves won 3 flags in 5 seasons, sounds pretty dominating to me and currently sit 2nd i think.

I love reading some of the posts you guys like to throw up! It makes me laugh at the amount of things you know about each club! Particularly my club Mayne!
I have bitten my tongue for long enough now. Now is the time to change that. I think you need to get the facts right before you hoe the boots in to our club. We are in a terrific financial position, we pay all our fees and any bills on time with out any hassle, we have a fantastic major sponsor in GVG and to top that we have a great bunch of guys that are proud to play for our club. Obviously this season has been disappointing but if you have witnessed any games this year, we have been very competitive without getting across the line, so I think it is unfair to say that Mayne need to drop down. I think most of you will agree that with a young side comes inconsistency, and that has been the case this season. There is a massive gap between our competition and the one below, so I don't think dropping down a level is the answer.

To say that 'Mayne are kidding themselves' is disgraceful. We are a very proud club with a great history, and we are very much in a rebuilding phase at the moment. I am very excited to see where the club is heading in years to come, so don't be surprised to see the Tigers in the finals sooner rather than later. Of course we will doing everything within the rules to attract players to our club next season, but don't get me wrong although we play for success, you have to be happy in your environment and the boys at Mayne are some of the best people I know and I am very proud to be involved as a player and as the Senior Coach.

So anyone who wants to put our club down, maybe get a bit of inside information before you start mouthing off! I hope that you choke on your words and we prove to everyone that has ever belittled us that we are a club of great character.

just a couple of things
a. Springwood havent won a premiership at this level, made a prelim in 2005 semi in 2006 and 2007

b. magpies have lost a total of 12 games including finals in the 5 seasons of PHC which is about 100 games with 12 losses, their reserves won 3 flags in 5 seasons, sounds pretty dominating to me and currently sit 2nd i think.

they won the 02 flag in division 2. with peakin as coach. they had a gun side 05, 06. easdown, moncour and others

I love reading some of the posts you guys like to throw up! It makes me laugh at the amount of things you know about each club! Particularly my club Mayne!
I have bitten my tongue for long enough now. Now is the time to change that. I think you need to get the facts right before you hoe the boots in to our club. We are in a terrific financial position, we pay all our fees and any bills on time with out any hassle, we have a fantastic major sponsor in GVG and to top that we have a great bunch of guys that are proud to play for our club. Obviously this season has been disappointing but if you have witnessed any games this year, we have been very competitive without getting across the line, so I think it is unfair to say that Mayne need to drop down. I think most of you will agree that with a young side comes inconsistency, and that has been the case this season. There is a massive gap between our competition and the one below, so I don't think dropping down a level is the answer.

To say that 'Mayne are kidding themselves' is disgraceful. We are a very proud club with a great history, and we are very much in a rebuilding phase at the moment. I am very excited to see where the club is heading in years to come, so don't be surprised to see the Tigers in the finals sooner rather than later. Of course we will doing everything within the rules to attract players to our club next season, but don't get me wrong although we play for success, you have to be happy in your environment and the boys at Mayne are some of the best people I know and I am very proud to be involved as a player and as the Senior Coach.

So anyone who wants to put our club down, maybe get a bit of inside information before you start mouthing off! I hope that you choke on your words and we prove to everyone that has ever belittled us that we are a club of great character.

well said Luke good luck for the rest of the year and beyond, i havent seen mayne play since the start of the year but you put 4 guns in the team and keep what they have i reckon they can get 6th to 7th next year. then add on again they push finals.

Well i really hope you do because there comes a stage where you need to be competitive in a comp. I know you have a great culture there so I wish you all the best an hope you do make finals next year

Well said Luke, keep up the great work mate! All the best for the last game, really hope you will coach Mayne for many years ahead.:thumbsu: Go Tiges!

Why do they need a coach with AFL experience? Plenty from AFL have coached in various leagues around the country and plenty have been terrible. If they cant communicate and dont put in the effort required which is massive then are no better than any other Jo Blow. Bit of a wank if you ask me! Think you will find it wouldnt be Copelands decision to coach Mayne if he wanted to, comes down to the board and if he did get the job, dont reckon to many would follow! Anyway think you will find Mayne have a very good coach as it is. Listen to him other week at Noosa and he was very good with his group, and not to mention how well he played and the on field example of putting in regardless of the score.

Yeah, like speedy said, well put Luke. Too many people on here trying to tell other people how to run their club.

Good to have someone put their own name on a post too... certanly adds a lot more credibility. I've been a long time Big Footy stalker so thought I'd do the same.

Good luck wth your final game ths weekend, let's hope both you guys and us (Roos) are fighting it out on the other end of the ladder soemtime soon.

And good luck to all the other teams in finals in a couple of weeks, should be a good series.

Will you be coaching them again then Luke?

Why do they need a coach with AFL experience? Plenty from AFL have coached in various leagues around the country and plenty have been terrible. If they cant communicate and dont put in the effort required which is massive then are no better than any other Jo Blow. Bit of a wank if you ask me! Think you will find it wouldnt be Copelands decision to coach Mayne if he wanted to, comes down to the board and if he did get the job, dont reckon to many would follow! Anyway think you will find Mayne have a very good coach as it is. Listen to him other week at Noosa and he was very good with his group, and not to mention how well he played and the on field example of putting in regardless of the score.

I get your point, and it is a fair point. I just thought if someone has been able to play at the top level, and been able to win a premiership, you would think they would know what they are doing and might bring a new culture to the club (nothing against faulkner of course).

it also helps in the recruitment of interstate players. if you said to some interstate players thinking about going to the gold coast they could go to palmy and play under Craig O'Brien, or Zane Doubleday at Burleigh (zane who??), it is natural to think they will gravitate towards playing under obrien.

Quick hypothetical!!!

If mdores current coach had lasts years list would they have gone all the way??

I have heard some good reports even with limited numbers to training and poor results

Good question - Sommerville, despite not the most liked bloke, knew his stuff apparently. Maybe it was the way the message was delivered? All i know is that Delaney has been great for this football club this year.

I get your point, and it is a fair point. I just thought if someone has been able to play at the top level, and been able to win a premiership, you would think they would know what they are doing and might bring a new culture to the club (nothing against faulkner of course).

it also helps in the recruitment of interstate players. if you said to some interstate players thinking about going to the gold coast they could go to palmy and play under Craig O'Brien, or Zane Doubleday at Burleigh (zane who??), it is natural to think they will gravitate towards playing under obrien.

Unfortunately S36.. think they will gravitate to whoever pays the biggest $$. If a club spends 1/2 its bucks on the coach that leaves less for players. I know which way i'd go and it would be the good local coach. AFL blokes tend to want to improve their playing lists with highly paid, often overrated, ex-AFL guys. Not sure its the right formula. Magpies and even Noosa have shown this in recent years with suburban footy coaches. Coaching at this level isn't rocket science!