• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

Sounds like the Tigers confirmed their premiership favourtism credientials, with a win against Sandgate. Wasnt there, but apparently dominated and only poor kicking at goal prevented a bigger margin, Sandgate out on their feet by games end. Will go out on a limb and say tigers will make it back to back whoever they play. Will get a home 2nd semi, no bigger advantage in the comp. They have been building nicely over last few weeks, to much experience on every line, to many who put their heads over the footy and plain and simply to many better footballers. Lead magnificently by skipper Bovalino and backed up by a core of blokes who could easily be captains in their own right.

isee fulton is playing for PBC this week? sends a great meesage to the rest of the PBC list....

Totally agree speedy, typical of the ego's at PBC. But the question is how do these clubs get permits after 30 June. Or have the QAFL changed the rules so it would suit the Suns and Brisbane as they have been doing it also?

pbc ego's? Do any of you know the boys at palmy? Would be surprised if many of the players from opposition clubs would say they have any larger ego's than that of anyone else! Fulton played at pbc in 08. Havent played in a month and is still very good friends with a lot of the boys down there. not sure it was a ego based decision to play him. Will have to withdraw my LEEKY comments of the Noosa backline. Was waiting till the weekend results before I eat hmble pie or pat myself on the back! Humble pie it is. All other results as expected, great comp given that typically you could draw a finals series weeks out from years end, not so this year. Wish all teams playing finals good luck with injuries, as I am sure you would agree we want to see the best playing the best, no excuses. Would love to see an other pbc noosa granny, 09 one of the better games of football you could want to see. I think Noosa is the only side you could pencil in for a Grand final and the remaining 4 sides will be fighting out for the other spot. Will be best finals seen in this comp for years. GOOD LUCK!!

Yeah big win by noosa on weekend to grab top spot but plenty of work to do starting with Cooly down there next weekend.Always a long and difficult road trip and didn`t Cooly belt burleigh so will be looking to finish year well.tigers still have frew to come back into side which is a huge bonus but apart from that have everyone up and going.Plenty of quality in 2s as shown by good win over a very strong sandgate reserves.A home second semi would be great for club however sandgate showed last year that a home win is not a given.Agree with kwhit,should be one of the best finals series seen in years

we lost to magpies away. if losing wasn't bad enough, having to listen to that song made my blood boil.
THEN, a week later, we lose to grange at grange, and have to listen to it again.

Seriously, magpies and grange, get a new song.
At least they get to sing it

Noosaboy is a Magpies fan as well S36.. so you can't take a trick with him:D

BTW - agree with this ridiculous notion that a guy can get a "permit" after June 30th. WTF is that all about? Who gives a rats arse who Fulton played for in '08?? Noosa may as well see if Brain and co. are right for finals if Aspley don't get there as well. Poor form by PBC.

Match permits are able to be used by any club during the season, including after June 30, however no permits are permitted in finals. So to play finals a player must have been cleared to club by June 30 as well as play 3 games to qualify. Think of it as recruiting for next year early start.

Sounds like the Tigers confirmed their premiership favourtism credientials, with a win against Sandgate. Wasnt there, but apparently dominated and only poor kicking at goal prevented a bigger margin, Sandgate out on their feet by games end. Will go out on a limb and say tigers will make it back to back whoever they play. Will get a home 2nd semi, no bigger advantage in the comp. They have been building nicely over last few weeks, to much experience on every line, to many who put their heads over the footy and plain and simply to many better footballers. Lead magnificently by skipper Bovalino and backed up by a core of blokes who could easily be captains in their own right.

most overrated player in the comp, looks the part and makes the right noises but has minimal influence on the game and is exposed on the halfback line if he gets a good opponent.

Match permits are able to be used by any club during the season, including after June 30, however no permits are permitted in finals. So to play finals a player must have been cleared to club by June 30 as well as play 3 games to qualify. Think of it as recruiting for next year early start.

Is the absolutely stupidest rule I have ever heard then Bomber - fk recruiting for next year, if you haven't done this by June 30th then its too late.

most overrated player in the comp, looks the part and makes the right noises but has minimal influence on the game and is exposed on the halfback line if he gets a good opponent.

Well he must have played on a serious window licker in last years GF Speedy bc he was near BOG. In my mind is the truest of skippers - highly respected, tough as nails, does his job every week, doesn't have to be in the best players to be a good player for the Tigers and is durable (rarely injured). Much like the premiership captains in the AFL in recent years actually.

Spot on SMY, he doesnt have to be the star every week, Noosa have enough of them, he just does his job, leads by example and gets his job done. Worst call ever saying he is no good. And I dont even like Noosa!

Noosa has best defence in comp!
I Think surfers will step up an beat grange again, leaving them to play PBC & then all over for the year.
The Sandgate that played up in NOOSA was not the Sandgate we face this week, IMO them and PBC still the form sides.
Noosa out's very interesting, Winter (Grand final player last year) Sawers (team of the year 09) Evil duke (100+ senior game player)! all been great this year and all still in our best team. Senior depth this year is superior to last year.
Well it appears Noosa have won the GF, who will be their opposition for them to demolish? Noosa obviously have the best side in the comp why go any further LMGEN3? So over confident my boy!!

You're an idiot Dino (or can't read, or maybe both??). Think Luke actually said that PBC and Sandgate were the form sides. Nice way of trying to create artificial motivation. Surely you're not into all that rant in the change rooms about "did you hear what they said about us"? crapola.

Spot on SMY, he doesnt have to be the star every week, Noosa have enough of them, he just does his job, leads by example and gets his job done. Worst call ever saying he is no good. And I dont even like Noosa!

ive seen play 6 times and struggled,must have been his bad 6 games... i will take your word for it. question who was the last noosa/sunnycoast player to captain noosa?

Only confidence we share is our players putting there head over the ball and playing for each other week in, week out!

ive seen play 6 times and struggled,must have been his bad 6 games... i will take your word for it. question who was the last noosa/sunnycoast player to captain noosa?

Noosa are not a strong believer in developing their juniors, would rather spend the $$ paying for hot shot southerners who move to noosa becuase it's a great place to live.

Have a look at there 18s, have gone from grand finalists to winning 2 games all season. Guess it doesn't help that another team on the coast also has a div 1 under 18s, and a couple of other clubs are trying to strengthen their 18s .

Interestingly, Maroochy have a family that travel from Gympie every week rain, hail or shine so there son can play under 18s. These type of people are the backbone to footy clubs, if only there were more of them.

Noosa are not a strong believer in developing their juniors, would rather spend the $$ paying for hot shot southerners who move to noosa becuase it's a great place to live.

Have a look at there 18s, have gone from grand finalists to winning 2 games all season. Guess it doesn't help that another team on the coast also has a div 1 under 18s, and a couple of other clubs are trying to strengthen their 18s .

Interestingly, Maroochy have a family that travel from Gympie every week rain, hail or shine so there son can play under 18s. These type of people are the backbone to footy clubs, if only there were more of them.

You are an imbecile! For the past few years your club has not even been able to field an U/18 team, in a town that would be 4 or 5 times the size of Noosa! For various reasons like Uni, job opportunities, maybe lack of interest, and just lack of ability, the transition from 18's to Seniors can be difficult for a club of course you have to recruit players as your club as done in the past! And correct me if Im wrong but Im sure the reason your club, who i respect, is in its current financial situation is because it spent beyond its means on HOT SHOT southerners.
The 18's didnt make the Grand Final last year, were knocked out in straight sets, bit like your mob over the last few years! if you understand the cycle of juniour footy, you can be very good one year and ordinary the next, depending on how many top or bottom age players you have. Noosa had only 2 players return this year and only one of those played in that finals campaign.
Dont go preaching that your club is just all about developing their own and what a wonderful place it is for Gympie families to travel to when you have a history that has paid players and recruited from interstate as well, which i might add is what you have to do to compete. Im sure if you had a few more zero's in the bank account their would have been some recruiting done!
And if you think the bloke that got a clearance from Noosa to your club b4 the season for Senior opportunities is going to be a good player for your club then you will occupy that part of the ladder for many seasons to come!
Out of interest last weeks senior team consisted of-

2x12 year players- Duke boys, (Noosa Juniors)
3x 6 year players- Zac Smith, Gary wallace, (Noosa juniors), Caleb Isles
3x 5 year players- Adam Eady, Adam Bovalino, Lucas Matthews
2 x 4 year playes - Pete Tromph(Noosa Junior) and Brooks Durdin
6 x 2 year players- Luke Braeur, Jason Boydle,Nick Jones, Todd Panoho, Tim Storer, Tom McKittrick
Plus your 2 cracking recruits in Mill and Bailey plus other recruits Brewster, Fary, Mcguigan, Frew and Buntain ( noosa junior)
I would probably just say a nice place to play footy!

The reason the club was in a difficult financial position was due to many factors. decreased income from sponsorships (namely one major sponsor changing the way they spent money), heavily discounted player registrations, operations being run ineffectively, and over committment to pay coaches and players beyond the clubs means.

I am sure Maroochy is not the first, nor will it be the last club to be in this position. A change in committee, reintroduction of many old boys, teaming up with juniors and supers for joint functions are all positive steps the club has taken to see it survive.

I can't speak for previous committees, but what the club is trying to do this year is create an atmoshphere and culture where people WANT to play footy for Maroochy becuase it's a good club, not becuase Ben Matthews plays or becuase they are top 3.

We value the personal development of our players, both senior and juniors which is why we have invested in running clinics like the one on thursday night being conducted by someone from the police service about the dangers of drugs and the nightclub scene, and the one last week from a dietician from the AIS.

We also have a invested in a training course for under 16 and under 18 players which will provide them with a certificate in sports administration once they graduate.

Most of the best senior players each week are Maroochy juniors (kane tyson, declan mcgill, greg stirton, damon chapmon, harry wilson, scott hay, peter hay, james coleman griffin douglas) which is something we are very proud about.

We also have a couple of long term players that have been in our system a long time (tyson williams, brendan fair, andrew wass, michael williams, dave hulsman, jarrod clarke, jordon lovini) that have been consistant senior players, or stepped up when asked. Some are northshore/maroochy juniors, some came here as an under 18.

Noosa and Maroochy are very lucky that we aren't affected by state league clubs in the same way the Brisbane and Gold Coast teams are. We would both find it difficult to keep any promising young players, nor should we want to.

By the way, from what I am hearing Noosa won't be fielding an under 18s next year so it might pay to keep your trap shut about clubs not fielding 18s.

Also, not sure who you are referring to about someone getting a clearance to us from Noosa, however I am sure if he read what you think of his abilities he will be thinking he made the right decision to leave. On the other hand, we wish nothing but the best to the blokes who left us to head up the road. No resentment, cheap shots at our end. Hopefully for them (and us) they get to win a flag at there old home ground ina month or so.

The reason the club was in a difficult financial position was due to many factors. decreased income from sponsorships (namely one major sponsor changing the way they spent money), heavily discounted player registrations, operations being run ineffectively, and over committment to pay coaches and players beyond the clubs means.

I am sure Maroochy is not the first, nor will it be the last club to be in this position. A change in committee, reintroduction of many old boys, teaming up with juniors and supers for joint functions are all positive steps the club has taken to see it survive.

I can't speak for previous committees, but what the club is trying to do this year is create an atmoshphere and culture where people WANT to play footy for Maroochy becuase it's a good club, not becuase Ben Matthews plays or becuase they are top 3.

We value the personal development of our players, both senior and juniors which is why we have invested in running clinics like the one on thursday night being conducted by someone from the police service about the dangers of drugs and the nightclub scene, and the one last week from a dietician from the AIS.

We also have a invested in a training course for under 16 and under 18 players which will provide them with a certificate in sports administration once they graduate.

Most of the best senior players each week are Maroochy juniors (kane tyson, declan mcgill, greg stirton, damon chapmon, harry wilson, scott hay, peter hay, james coleman griffin douglas) which is something we are very proud about.

We also have a couple of long term players that have been in our system a long time (tyson williams, brendan fair, andrew wass, michael williams, dave hulsman, jarrod clarke, jordon lovini) that have been consistant senior players, or stepped up when asked. Some are northshore/maroochy juniors, some came here as an under 18.

Noosa and Maroochy are very lucky that we aren't affected by state league clubs in the same way the Brisbane and Gold Coast teams are. We would both find it difficult to keep any promising young players, nor should we want to.

By the way, from what I am hearing Noosa won't be fielding an under 18s next year so it might pay to keep your trap shut about clubs not fielding 18s.

Also, not sure who you are referring to about someone getting a clearance to us from Noosa, however I am sure if he read what you think of his abilities he will be thinking he made the right decision to leave. On the other hand, we wish nothing but the best to the blokes who left us to head up the road. No resentment, cheap shots at our end. Hopefully for them (and us) they get to win a flag at there old home ground ina month or so.

As i said in my previous post. Sounds like your getting involved for the 1st time. You talk as if your club has no history. Every club try's to create an enviroment people enjoy, some do it better than others. We value personal development too, that is why we, at the start of the season, ran a session for our u/18's, including a former Colligwood dietician, two detectives from the drug squad a podiatrist on effective footwear and our very own senior coach, didnt see a need to get on here and spruik about it though! We to , have players in that government run training course, which IMO is an absolute rort and complete waste of taxpayers money.
Thats great about your juniors playing seniors although i know James Coleman has only been there 2 years tops!
Bottom line is clubs onfield success IMO is based on premierships and you will need to recruit good players to achieve this, although you may be very proud to have some players who have come through the juniors get in the best each week. And finally your hearing must be impeded by the shit that dribbles out your mouth as Noosa will field an U/18 side next year as they have done for years and the fact remains you havent!

You're an idiot Dino (or can't read, or maybe both??). Think Luke actually said that PBC and Sandgate were the form sides. Nice way of trying to create artificial motivation. Surely you're not into all that rant in the change rooms about "did you hear what they said about us"? crapola.[/quote]

Is that a real word? Dont mind it, can anyone use it? Or just well groomed and educated pie sellers!

Your truelly are a peanut s36!! Just when you thought it was safe to think youd pulled your head in you pop up with this crap!!
Firstly lets talk cash. Your are the only team on the Coast that has played at 3 different grounds under 3 different names. All because you have been unfinancial. You have spent money on players just like us but we are still playing on our orriginal home ground.
Secondly, your rant about juniors prooves you really do not know what you are talking about. Noosa currently have 6 seniors from their junior ranks that are regular players, all ranging from 150 games to 50. And are topped when needed with U18's. Come down on a Tues or Thurs night and check out how many kids are on the track. Second most juniors in QLD a couple of years ago and i doubt the numbers are similar.

Your quote. Does this mean your club has beeen poorly managed?? Mate i understand rivalry, but this cheap point scoring is really an embarrasment. You sound like a new Roos supporter, maybe not but do you really think your doing your club any favours coughing up this crap?!! The Roos have had many great players over the years, i know cause ive played on some of them. Is this how you think you do them justice.
Why dont you turn your unfounded dribble into helping the Roos win their last 2 games of the year and let Noosa enjoy their well earned crack at another flag.