AFL Premier Division - 2011 Season

U18's - 2 sides is the goal. Hopefully it is achieved. Again better than scratching around for players in Feb like last season. Was the major +ve out of the year was the U18's really. Kent Weightman assisting with the senior club coaching too which should be a good bonus - smart footy brain. quote]

Would be a good effort for the club to have 2 U18's sides, but watching from outside the Sunshine Coast, will it be at the expense of the Noosa U18's? Noosa really struggled in Div 1 this year, with numbers an issue - did they loose some boys to Maroochy this year?

I guess good for the North Coast and the Comp if Maroochy could have a competivive Div 1 team and a Div 2 team, but in reality would that mean Noosa will have to move back from Div 1 to Div 2, or even struggle to field an U18's at all, if more boys were tempted to move clubs to play in a competitive Div 1 team??

U18's - 2 sides is the goal. Hopefully it is achieved. Again better than scratching around for players in Feb like last season. Was the major +ve out of the year was the U18's really. Kent Weightman assisting with the senior club coaching too which should be a good bonus - smart footy brain. quote]

Would be a good effort for the club to have 2 U18's sides, but watching from outside the Sunshine Coast, will it be at the expense of the Noosa U18's? Noosa really struggled in Div 1 this year, with numbers an issue - did they loose some boys to Maroochy this year?

I guess good for the North Coast and the Comp if Maroochy could have a competivive Div 1 team and a Div 2 team, but in reality would that mean Noosa will have to move back from Div 1 to Div 2, or even struggle to field an U18's at all, if more boys were tempted to move clubs to play in a competitive Div 1 team??

maroochydore juniors is the number 1 club on the coast (and prob in QLD) for junior numbers. last season they hd 2 under 16 teams.

most of the boys that played under 18s last year for maroocchydore are still eligible to play under 18s this year, hence why we think it may be possible to get 2 under 18s up this year.

alot needs to happen in terms of volunteers etc, but we are confident we will have the numbers.

we actually lost a player to noosa last year in the 18s. don't quote me but i don't think we had any come down and play with us (but they are more than welcome to this year!)

maroochydore juniors is the number 1 club on the coast(and prob in QLD) for junior numbers. last season they hd 2 under 16 teams.

most of the boys that played under 18s last year for maroocchydore are still eligible to play under 18s this year, hence why we think it may be possible to get 2 under 18s up this year.

alot needs to happen in terms of volunteers etc, but we are confident we will have the numbers.

we actually lost a player to noosa last year in the 18s. don't quote me but i don't think we had any come down and play with us (but they are more than welcome to this year!)

Have you heard of a little club called Aspley........heard they have a few junior numbers

Yeah, think they have it all over any club in Qld re numbers!!

None came down from Noosa bc they played in the same comp basically and Noosa were outstanding in 2010 and Maroochy were non existent!

I know Maroochy won't be actively chasing Noosa boys - not much point at this level - is a bit of a wank when clubs do - but will be actively inviting any boy that wants to play with us whether from Noosa, Caloundra, Nambour, Kawana where ever. We had a great coach last year and the senior football club really supported the whole group. It was more about creating an environment that boys of this age wanted to play in, making it professional, making it a good place to play. Hopefully this will be reflected in the preseason numbers. There is around 27 boys from the 16's that were top age this year - not all will want to play next year but there will be more that will if there is a Div 2 U18 side around. Like most football clubs, the more people around the better feeling it often can be.

G'day all,

Just a slight change of topic on what you fellas are posting about.

I was wondering if anyone could tell me (preferably through expierence) how the standard of this competition fairs against (getting a bit specific now) Melbourne Metro Division 1 competitions?

Assume you mean the Eastern Footy League or Essendon footy league? Both of those would be a lot better then this comp IMO. Saying this, a good footballer from Noosa, Ryan Jeffrey's, has been playing seniors for Knox in the EFL and going quite well from what i've been told.

A high quality footballer form those comps would be an extremely good player in the PHC.

That's a good promo. Micky Nolan...that is a big name to have had played at your club.

Where were those 1980s g/fs played at? what ground?

Come to think of it -there were some good players in the QAFL in the 80s...including Gary Dempsey at Southport.

Pretty large crowds in those days too. It is a shame the top division in brisy doesn't get these type of crowds to g/fs anymore.

That's a good promo. Micky Nolan...that is a big name to have had played at your club.

Where were those 1980s g/fs played at? what ground?

Come to think of it -there were some good players in the QAFL in the 80s...including Gary Dempsey at Southport.

Pretty large crowds in those days too. It is a shame the top division in brisy doesn't get these type of crowds to g/fs anymore.
Windsor Park (Keith Beavis Oval). Was a great crowd and some great names playing for both clubs. Mick Nolan,Andrew Ireland for Mayne and Blair for Morningside.

Very tough gf fights everywhere, got full coverage on dvd lol there even a big fight on the hill. Got a video of the Mayne/Southport GF 3 years later and the crowd was nowhere as big as the 1982 GF

Many ppl would say harmsey that the glory days of Qld footy were back in the 70's and 80's and went south with the inclusion of the Bears to the AFL. Like you said, great crowds, some excellent ex-VFL footballers etc.

Alot of old timers on the coast say the same about SC footy - during the 70's and 80's it was not unheard of to get 3000 people to a Maroochy v Noosa or Caloundra v Nambour H&A game! GF's and the place was packed to the rafters. The development of the AFL has brought alot of $$ to the game of footy but not necessarily a lot of new $$ - in some cases its just taken the spending from one form of footy and put it to another.

alot of positive reports from people all over the country about the condition of the grounds and facilities at fishermans during the masters carnival.

from all reports, carnival was very well organised and went off without a hitch. hopefully maroochydore juniors and seniors did well out of the event.

Have been told by a club person S36... that they did EXTREMELY well out of the week. Massive coup to get the champs and rave reviews of the ground ironically considering the condition it was in during the season. It is immaculate ATM for sure.
Club has kicked a few goals at the back end of the year it seems with the juniors GF's, the PHC GF and now this carnival.

Many ppl would say harmsey that the glory days of Qld footy were back in the 70's and 80's and went south with the inclusion of the Bears to the AFL. Like you said, great crowds, some excellent ex-VFL footballers etc.

Alot of old timers on the coast say the same about SC footy - during the 70's and 80's it was not unheard of to get 3000 people to a Maroochy v Noosa or Caloundra v Nambour H&A game! GF's and the place was packed to the rafters. The development of the AFL has brought alot of $$ to the game of footy but not necessarily a lot of new $$ - in some cases its just taken the spending from one form of footy and put it to another.

i was living at caloundra in the early 90s and caloundra had probably their best side ever. their games against noosa and nambour and co were pretty big. the junior were probably stronger than brisbanes back than. i do know that 3 caloundra juniors were playing on saturday in brisbane and playing on sunday for caloundra on the sunday one year. 2 of those 3 played in the afl

Any news on Palm Beach new coach. Korey Fulton the go...... is that the rumour.

The whispers around Surfers Paradise are that Fulton and possibly 3 other fringe players from Broadbeach are heading there. This would certainly give them a shot in the arm.

i was living at caloundra in the early 90s and caloundra had probably their best side ever. their games against noosa and nambour and co were pretty big. the junior were probably stronger than brisbanes back than. i do know that 3 caloundra juniors were playing on saturday in brisbane and playing on sunday for caloundra on the sunday one year. 2 of those 3 played in the afl

Caloundra have had more players than nearly any club in Qld get drafted or played AFL footy I reckon - lost count of the number of blokes that seem to get picked up from a relatively small club.

Nathan Clarke, Chris Smith, Austin Lucy + a young fella from the mid 90's (name escapes me) who have been picked up in just the last 15 years. Ben .... it was. Couple more rookie listed. And I'm sure there are others too. Be careful you are not talking about boys that have come from PHC clubs Speedy and supposedly "drafted" after spending a year playing at a NEAFL side.
Stand corrected but there are quite a few.

Nathan Clarke, Chris Smith, Austin Lucy + a young fella from the mid 90's (name escapes me) who have been picked up in just the last 15 years. Ben .... it was. Couple more rookie listed. And I'm sure there are others too. Be careful you are not talking about boys that have come from PHC clubs Speedy and supposedly "drafted" after spending a year playing at a NEAFL side.
Sherwood has 13,
garry shaw,ray smith, allan giffard, hadyn kluver, marty pask, rohan bail, pat garner, jackson allen, ed mcdonnel, tom tarrant, al hunter, col kimorley and rob shepard.

yes he played for carlton. nathan clarke, ben htompson and another player were 2 games a weekend one year. they might have kept doing it after that year. nathan was playing for grange and ben was playing for sandgate as well as caloundra and the other was playing for mayne

Yep - thats right S36... and thanks Damo - that was the name I was looking for re ben Thompson. Came back and played for Caloundra after being cut from the Blues and played in his Carlton shorts:eek: Not sure about that!!

Yeah, must have played junior footy there for more than a couple of years too Speedy. Like you said, a good exercise. Maybe have gone early with "most in Qld" but certainly have had more than their fair share considering their senior football club has had alot of issues over the past 15 years especially and has only played in the 2nd or 3rd tier comps for the best part of their life.