MRP / Trib. AFL Round 20 charges - Steve Johnson cleared of misconduct for kneeing Scott Thompson

This isn't the first time you have responded in such a way in this thread, I hope you don't make a habit of it frankly, as it doesn't suddenly make me agree with you. It seems to be your fall back position when someone disagrees with you.

All the sentiments I have conveyed in this thread have had similar sentiments shared by others, so do we all have no idea, or do we simply hold an alternate view to yourself. I.e I don't think you have no idea, I don't know you, but why can't someone have an differing view to yourself??.

Whenever anybody resorts to this loopy nonsense you should accept it as a duelling scar, NSFB.
It means you won the argument.;)

Never made mention that he wouldn't be picked o_O

This isn't the first time you have responded in such a way in this thread, I hope you don't make a habit of it frankly, as it doesn't suddenly make me agree with you. It seems to be your fall back position when someone disagrees with you.

All the sentiments I have conveyed in this thread have had similar sentiments shared by others, so do we all have no idea, or do we simply hold an alternate view to yourself. I.e I don't think you have no idea, I don't know you, but why can't someone have an differing view to yourself??.

Just because worse incidents go unnoticed does not necessarily mean that SJ's didn't warrant to be cited, as in two wrongs don't make a right.

In this instance the tribunal found there to be insufficient force, however the part that I and others found to be frustrating was that again SJ put himself in a situation where the MRP 'could' cite him.

As I mentioned earlier in the thread, I have no problem defending SJ for split second decisions (bumps) as the decision making time is almost non existent, but headbutts (like he was suspended for earlier in the year) and Kneeing (like Nathan Jones last year and Thompson last week) are the most avoidable indiscretions and completely unnecessary, and as such are inexcusable.

As many have mentioned recently, if the umpire did his job and gave protection to players, SJ may not snap, but it is no excuse if he does. Cloke doesn't get many frees paid to him, constantly double teamed, constantly manhandled, yet when was the last time Trav Cloke lashed out??

Staker manhandled and scragged Hall, the ump didn't pay free kicks against Staker and we all know what hall did, does that excuse what Hall did? Absolutely not, and the same should apply for Steve.
The same, in fact many would argue, MORE - already applies to Johnson. The fact that you don't see it doesn't surprise. It appears that most disagree with your constant bleeting that the incident against North was mortifying and warranted citing - not that the majority often has any great claim to wisdom - so much so that reviews will occur at the season end. His charge was the final straw for players, commentators and coaches alike. Your "inexcusable" comment simply confirms that you have very little understanding of the pressures of the game at any level. Apart from the slightly mad Jacko and one or two others in recent times players don't go onto the field intent on "damaging" opponents. Things occur in the heat of the action and some deal with attention better than others. If Franklin was Johnson he'd be in the MRP's sights every few weeks.

Whenever anybody resorts to this loopy nonsense you should accept it as a duelling scar, NSFB.
It means you won the argument.;)
Did I hurt your feelings in another thread Freddie? Nothing loopy about the obvious. Words like "unconscionable", "inexcusable" simply confirm the fact that these blokes have no idea of the pressures of the game. Those are terms for refugee policies not football. Their expectations are ridiculously high. Doubt if anyone would disagree that Johnno does silly things occasionally but the hysteria is mind bogling, as is the carry on by a few on this board. Only redeeming feature is that every team has them. Should I give you a wink now or will we leave that to the kiddies?

The same, in fact many would argue, MORE - already applies to Johnson. The fact that you don't see it doesn't surprise.
Yet another example of you being unable to make an argument without implying your mightier or more knowledgeable than others, if that was the case you'd be in the coach's box with Scotty.
It appears that most disagree with your constant bleeting that the incident against North was mortifying and warranted citing
I said nothing of the sort, so don't put words into my mouth. Yet despite the fact that you probably don't deserve it, I went back out of respect and checked my posts in this thread and have never said what is bolded above.
That's how I was thinking yesterday, Wish SJ would stop giving the MRP an excuse to cite him but a bit soft as well. I was a bit worried about him getting off (given our history and strike rate at the tribunal) once we found out Thompson went in with a broken rib, I thought he must get off.

doesn't alter how frustrated I feel towards SJ for putting himself in this position... Anyway good result all round

Now we have to hope SJ doesn't snap at frodo or Crowley:oops: Hopefully this is the ammunition for Selwood and/or Scott to put a rocket up his arse to keep his nose clean so close to finals
I, like others have vented frustration that SJ again got himself into a situation whereby the MRP could cite him, and again last night whilst minor, he did unnecessarily kick Neale... does it warrant suspension not really, but with 75 carry over points he only has to commit a reprimand worthy offence to miss a week.

If you were on this board for longer than this year, you would know I have defended him before when he bumped Hanley

i will join you in that. it's just impossible to enjoy what once 'WAS' a great game but now is a disgrace
which was venting my disgust (echoed by many others) that he was rubbed out, and upon viewing it again today, I'm not "mortified" he was suspended, I feel for him as it was a split second decision.

Your "inexcusable" comment simply confirms that you have very little understanding of the pressures of the game at any level.
Firstly, there you go again claiming to have superior understanding, how self righteous of you. However, in reality all it does is confirm that you can't form an argument without the use of personal attacks... how sad.

Secondly, it doesn't matter how matter how much you beat your chest, the most avoidable indiscretions are the most inexcusable... Such as kneeing and headbutting:thumbsu:
Apart from the slightly mad Jacko and one or two others in recent times players don't go onto the field intent on "damaging" opponents. Things occur in the heat of the action and some deal with attention better than others. If Franklin was Johnson he'd be in the MRP's sights every few weeks.
Those 2 players are mutually exclusive you know, just because Franklin doesn't get cited for things that he probably should, doesn't mean that SJ shouldn't.

I'm happy he got off last week, but he did give them a reason to cite him by doing something quite stupid and unnecessary

Yet another example of you being unable to make an argument without implying your mightier or more knowledgeable than others, if that was the case you'd be in the coach's box with Scotty.

I said nothing of the sort, so don't put words into my mouth. Yet despite the fact that you probably don't deserve it, I went back out of respect and checked my posts in this thread and have never said what is bolded above.

I, like others have vented frustration that SJ again got himself into a situation whereby the MRP could cite him, and again last night whilst minor, he did unnecessarily kick Neale... does it warrant suspension not really, but with 75 carry over points he only has to commit a reprimand worthy offence to miss a week.

If you were on this board for longer than this year, you would know I have defended him before when he bumped Hanley

which was venting my disgust (echoed by many others) that he was rubbed out, and upon viewing it again today, I'm not "mortified" he was suspended, I feel for him as it was a split second decision.

Firstly, there you go again claiming to have superior understanding, how self righteous of you. However, in reality all it does is confirm that you can't form an argument without the use of personal attacks... how sad.

Secondly, it doesn't matter how matter how much you beat your chest, the most avoidable indiscretions are the most inexcusable... Such as kneeing and headbutting:thumbsu:

Those 2 players are mutually exclusive you know, just because Franklin doesn't get cited for things that he probably should, doesn't mean that SJ shouldn't.

I'm happy he got off last week, but he did give them a reason to cite him by doing something quite stupid and unnecessary

Nothing sad about recognising the obvious pal. Not beating my chest at all, just exposing the transparency of your rather pathetic comments and complete inability to understand the players' perspective - all players that is. "Inexcusable" suggests you were most definitely mortified, as does the whole tenor of your holier than thou pronouncements from the luxury of the aptly named peanut gallery. To get an idea of the game I suggest you take yourself along to a footy club and do some training. A practice match at any level or even some solid one on one training will shorten up your childlike view of football and footballers. If the Johnson citing was inexcusable we can logically presume that the elbow on Ling was worth a custodial sentence and the Staker punch was a hanging offence. The day football panders to views like your is the day it dies.

Crowley is not the problem. Umpires standing within 2 meters of SJ being mugged 20 meters from the ball and having his jumper ripped apart by Crowley, Sandilands and Clarke is a problem. As are the 100 unprovoked chest punches he had to endure. Pay a ******* free and sort it out. Problem solved!

Yep, you're right...you blokes didn't get enough frees.

Nothing sad about recognising the obvious pal. Not beating my chest at all, just exposing the transparency of your rather pathetic comments and complete inability to understand the players' perspective - all players that is. "Inexcusable" suggests you were most definitely mortified, as does the whole tenor of your holier than thou pronouncements from the luxury of the aptly named peanut gallery. To get an idea of the game I suggest you take yourself along to a footy club and do some training. A practice match at any level or even some solid one on one training will shorten up your childlike view of football and footballers. If the Johnson citing was inexcusable we can logically presume that the elbow on Ling was worth a custodial sentence and the Staker punch was a hanging offence. The day football panders to views like your is the day it dies.
I've tried reasoning with you, but we clearly disagree, so unlike you I will respectfully discontinue from this circling argument, without needing to make it personal.

not for the first time today... your assertions about me are a big swing and a miss:cool:

What Clarke did is exactly what Goddard did to Cornes earlier in the year

Goddard got a week.No doubt Clarke will get off.

Clarke already has 93.75 points hanging over him ;) It shouldn't take much to tip that over- but I would guess the MRP think that's insufficient force. We'll have to wait and see what tomorrow brings in Chook Lotto Round 20

Yep agree-just watched the replay and thought pretty well all those frees were there and in fact the umps missed quite a few that we should have been given. Its called being first to the ball-which Freo couldn't manage until the last quarter.

You don't win the clearances and be second to the pill.

you won only 1 more centre clearance than us and don't get sucked in by the end of game stats as you were getting beaten in most areas until the 4th quarter when the umpires put the whistles away.

Good to see you agree with me that we were the better side when the umpires let game go. Thanks mate.

Pretty sure at about the 12 minute mark of the last quarter, Freo were only 11 points down. Plenty of time if you were good enough. You shouldn't be fooled by the close finish. Nor should you make flawed assumptions about free kicks affecting the outcome.;)

Yep, the door was certainly ajar. Hoping that the two sides get another crack at each other a month or so. Always a brutal fixture. As long as Varcoe is in your 22 I always feel as though we're in with a chance.

I've tried reasoning with you, but we clearly disagree, so unlike you I will respectfully discontinue from this circling argument, without needing to make it personal.

not for the first time today... your assertions about me are a big swing and a miss:cool:
No assertions required. You did it all by yourself. Thankfully Geelong players don't read the rubbish on this board - which admittedly we all contribute to, although some more than others. They're out there doing their best for the club and fans and certainly don't need juveniles calling them morons or using hyperbolic and puerile terms such as inexcusable for their actions on the field.

Yep, the door was certainly ajar. Hoping that the two sides get another crack at each other a month or so. Always a brutal fixture. As long as Varcoe is in your 22 I always feel as though we're in with a chance.
Did Varcoe have an opponent last night? If so there's one of the reasons you lost.

Haha yes indeed-you might not be so pleased when he nails that easy sealer next time though!

You don't win the clearances and be second to the pill.
Clearances constitute a small proportion of the actual playing time. Wouldn't have been more than a handful of udeserved/deserved and not paid free kicks all night. There wasn't much in it all night but Geelong was the better team for three and a half quarters - less a few great passages from Freo.

Same to you. It was a really good game last night to be at. Non stop. Well done to both teams.
Agree. Almost a pity one had to lose. Despite the early hype I thought it was played in pretty good spirit although maybe Johnno didn't enjoy it as much as some others.

MRP / Trib. AFL Round 20 charges - Steve Johnson cleared of misconduct for kneeing Scott Thompson