Tasmania AFL Say No To Tassie Team

Which headwind exactly?

It acts like the VFL? Tell that to GWS and Gold Coast. or the money being poured into keeping Brisbane and Port Adelaide alive, or the millions spent keeping the Swans a going concern.

o_O:confused:

The headwind is the reason they HAVE TO poor millions into northern teams because the public hasnt flocked to them. The reason being the northern public dont see it as the AFL they see it as that Victorian League.

I wonder sometimes. Fair dinkum I do.

Didn't you know? telsor supports a Tasmanian side in the AFL.

You wouldn't know it from his postings here of course......:p

(He just let it slip by mistake one day).

I do...I don't support dropping other 'non-viable' sides to make way for a less viable side however.

It's okay to talk about making the competition more "elite", but we know that can only be achieved one way - by cutting teams. I don't recall how many teams you think should be cut, but I gather it would be more than one or two.

We know how difficult that will be. On a number of fronts. And, without having a shot at you, it is a very easy thing to suggest when your own club would not be one of the ones in the firing line.

What do you want? To cut teams, or add a Tasmanian team?

You can't have both.

How the Fork would they know?

Your selfish Vic centric view is what caused the headwind in the North of the country. The AFL it isnt. If it smells like, looks like, talks like & acts like the VFL then call it the VFL. Everyone else can see it.

Because they can read numbers!

Few people, small economy, little growth...It's not rocket science.

Fact is, if they want a new club in a heartland spot, there are several far better places than Tasmania to put it.

o_O:confused:

The headwind is the reason they HAVE TO poor millions into northern teams because the public hasnt flocked to them. The reason being the northern public dont see it as the AFL they see it as that Victorian League.

I wonder sometimes. Fair dinkum I do.

That's the reason?

Nothing to do with it being a largely alien game to them, and them having their own support for rugby? (not to mention, their attendance figures at other sports suggest they don't have an 'attendance' culture anyway).

Tell me, how many Vic clubs have to go before NSW/QLD will 'flock' to the game? Or do you think adding a Tas team would mean that much to people in NSW/QLD?

Maybe Vic clubs should all drop out of the AFL...Wonder how long it would be before all those other clubs come asking to join 'the VFL' again.

They wont put a team there for the same reasons....Not enough $$$ to have a viable club (unless the whole state suddenly converted to those sports...).

well a-league model is dependant on rich guys willing to piss away money so viability is dependant only on tassie having enough of a profile to attract investors.

So the competition is "elite" as it is?

Clearly I was referring to the WCE.

& my point is I have been thru 'losing your club', as have many footy fans from SA & WA - decisions made to grow the game nationally.

I don't consider the current player pool elite, NO, but we have a choice IF we want it further weakened.

& my point is I have been thru 'losing your club', as have many footy fans from SA & WA - decisions made to grow the game nationally.

Western Australians and South Australians never lost their clubs at all, every single one of those clubs still exist in the same leagues they were in back them.. What they did do was abandon them en masse.

I do...I don't support dropping other 'non-viable' sides to make way for a less viable side however.

You across growing? It is not like picking an apple from the tree, in fact pruning is a relevant process, the non productive branches that have past their productive stage, what club comes to mind telsor?

Putting clubs is non-viable locations isn't either.
You don't seem to grasp that the concept that the AFL is responsible for all aspects of the game, not just growing it.

And you stating it is a non-viable location, just to suit your agenda, does not make it fact.

Western Australians and South Australians never lost their clubs at all, every single one of those clubs still exist in the same leagues they were in back them.. What they did do was abandon them en masse.

Context Wookie, you shouldn't play the village idiot - all the best products from Subi go on to play AFL & that didn't happen before the national comp - sure you can point to guys like Fitz, but you didn't see Keith Watt, when he looked for greener pastures beyond WA footy he went to England & played cricket, not short of offers from Victoria, just no interest.

You need to understand how narrow your reading of the VFL is.

Context Wookie, you shouldn't play the village idiot - all the best products from Subi go on to play AFL & that didn't happen before the national comp - sure you can point to guys like Fitz, but you didn't see Keith Watt, when he looked for greener pastures beyond WA footy he went to England & played cricket, not short of offers from Victoria, just no interest.

Dont play the man, Wookie will tell you then erase the comments like last night. Its ok to troll with misrepresentation, as long as you are pro VFL.:rolleyes:

Of course the other thing is that the bulk of them go around to other clubs in the system, those clubs pay SFA to their original clubs. Its even worse here with local clubs who bring these kids up & often look after them when not in the U18 system at any time, get SFA when they get drafted.

It makes it a cheap get for VFL & new clubs in northern regions.

So enjoy the AFL rip off.

None of which changes the fact that WA and SA didnt lose teams. They abandoned them - just like their players did before that - for the perceived greater glory of the vfl/afl.

The truth is the competition by was downgraded to the 2nd tier & most fans follow the premier comp. 7 x Subi players joined the Eagles, Darren Bewick & Nicky Winmar were some of the WAFL guys who joined Vic clubs (they had first dibs contrary to folklore, folklore from Vic spin merchants).

'just like their players did before that' - yep you trot out that nonsense, e.g in the 80s Stephen Michael, in the 70s players like Graeme Moss came/played 80 odd games & won a Brownlow & gave the VFL a miss unsure what the fuss was all about, in the 60s, Polly came over towards the end of his career (27 y.o) & made a few changes to the way the game was played from the 60s on (the same game he perfected playing for East Perth in the 50s) - only 101 games. Before the war Haydn Bunton Snr gave the VFL a miss after coming down from NSW & winning 3 x Brownlows & went West to play for Subi.

Your delusion knows no end Wookie - the truth is the VFL attracted some of the best Aussie Rules footballers (more than a few Taswegians of the 50s & 60s), the AFL attracts them all. You dont get the difference - arguably the last great to stay home was Gary McIntosh (http://www.sanfl.com.au/hall_of_fame/garry_mcintosh/).

The truth is the competition by was downgraded to the 2nd tier & most fans follow the premier comp. 7 x Subi players joined the Eagles, Darren Bewick & Nicky Winmar were some of the WAFL guys who joined Vic clubs (they had first dibs contrary to folklore, folklore from Vic spin merchants).

'just like their players did before that' - yep you trot out that nonsense, e.g in the 80s Stephen Michael, in the 70s players like Graeme Moss came/played 80 odd games & won a Brownlow & gave the VFL a miss unsure what the fuss was all about, in the 60s, Polly came over towards the end of his career (27 y.o) & made a few changes to the way the game was played from the 60s on (the same game he perfected playing for East Perth in the 50s) - only 101 games. Before the war Haydn Bunton Snr gave the VFL a miss after coming down from NSW & winning 3 x Brownlows & went West to play for Subi.

Your delusion knows no end Wookie - the truth is the VFL attracted some of the best Aussie Rules footballers (more than a few Taswegians of the 50s & 60s), the AFL attracts them all. You dont get the difference - arguably the last great to stay home was Gary McIntosh (http://www.sanfl.com.au/hall_of_fame/garry_mcintosh/).

hey its great you can pick a few of the players that didnt come over, especially since it was a big part of why WAFL clubs and the WAFL itself wanted in to the VFL in the first place. In SA they put in a player retention allowance to stop the tide, and that still didnt prevent clubs from trying to join the VFL.

Oh I get the difference alright. But it doesnt change the fact that like your players, your supporters dropped the locals at the drop of a hat. The truth is literally that the WAFL downgraded itself and the supporters flocked to the AFL in droves.

If my delusion knows no end, then neither does your bias.

Tasmania AFL Say No To Tassie Team