Game Day AFL Second Preliminary Final - COLLINGWOOD vs SYDNEY Matchday Discussion.

Super game from the Swans. Their midfield was just way too deep and too good for ours to counter. You look at Pendles and Beams and try and see where the support comes from. Tonight I thought Blair was very good in the contest but nobody else really came to play. All of Swan, Thomas, Sidebottom and Wellingham were soundly beaten.

We have a lot to work on in the off season, but the makings of an excellent team are still there. A lot of the young kids will be better off for the year and we will hopefully not have the nightmare run with injuries we have had this year. Get a full preseason into Didak, Ben Johnson, Luke Ball. Andrew Krakouer gets some time to work on his fitness.

Dane Swan has almost become a liability on occasions. He is ridiculously one way, and tonight in a final he had the grand total of 2 tackles. Both of which came in the last quarter. His disposal was atrocious too.
Sidebottom was equally bad tonight. but he can be excused. He and Beams have been asked to carry a massive load in the midfield this season and clearly they are mentally and physically exhausted.

Overall though we just need to work on our field kicking. There were so many times tonight there was a good option to go for in the corridor, but through lack of confidence and the old MM game plan, we went for the safe boundary option, which is a huge problem because the opposition knows we are going to go there.

The season just never felt right to me, and this morning I woke up and just had this impossible feeling that we would not be playing in a grand final next week. Was really weird, but I guess I just knew that things need to click for a grand final team, and we haven't clicked all year. I don't blame the coach, it was always going to eb tough with injuries to instill a new game plan and change players habits under pressure, and even more tough when the team lacked so much continuity.

Chin up though, I have a feeling with a good, controversy-free preseason we will be firing come round 1 2012.

The positives? Pies won the 2nd half and I we don't have to spend the next week either stressing out trying to get tickets or facing the prospect of losing another GF. Can't see Sydney beating Hawthorn if they win tomorrow but I'll be hoping.

We were really up against it this week. Tough hard game last week, a 6 day break with emotional stress and interrupted preparation. If it were at the G I'd've given us half a chance.
It was all a bit much in the end.
The swans played well, I hope they beat those hawk flogs.

Bucks... no good as a player, no as a coach... no cup for u...

But don't let that stop you coming up with excuses... 6 days... umpires... hard match last week... blah blah
Have a listen to yourself you flog - why don't you just get "moron" tattooed on your forehead - it'd be the equivalent of saying Bucks was no good as a player. Got the Pies into a prelim in his first year - how many years are you gonna give Hirdy? The most intelligent part of your post was "blah blah" - that about summed it up.

The only thing we need to do in the off season is not get injured. Probably would have been a flag if we hadn't had the season from hell. It would take a very harsh judge to suggest this wasn't a massive tick for the club to make a PF in the circumstances. Major congrats to the coaches and players for achieving more than anyone could have realistically asked.

We were really up against it this week. Tough hard game last week, a 6 day break with emotional stress and interrupted preparation. If it were at the G I'd've given us half a chance.
It was all a bit much in the end.
The swans played well, I hope they beat those hawk flogs.
Yep bad luck Pies -tried but looked done in. Some things are bigger than footy. Need to settle into Bucks, need to sort the Cloke stuff -I know Ablett stuff took a real toll at Geelong. Lots of players down but are probably playing injured. Will be back. Go Pendlebury-he still doesn't look quite right to me but still good, never stopped trying.

Buckley wasn't out coached, we were out played. They were better over 4 quarters and deserve to win. I'm hoping they get over the line next week.

Go pies 2013!

Next season need a new tactic under their belt.
No more handball to team mate 3 feet away in traffic.

Get it out in the open and spread... Get Cloke or Dawes to lead away from the pack and mark without 3 defenders.
Go traditional Goal Kicker role for Cloke when midfielders are heavily tagged or followed... Then switch it up when the opponents adjust... And let Carlton play the boundary under Malthouse ... Pies need new strategy.... few teams have figured Pies out... Hawks, Blues (Ratten) etc

Did anyone else think Blair was super impressive, or just me?

Sad to see Taz go, but taking emotion out of it, it's definitely time. Almost lacks awareness at times

BJ didn't shower himself in glory, but he's only, what, 4-5 games back? He'll be important again next year

Wellingham will be fine, lost his way after the Simpson hit, but really played great football when Pendlebury was out

Fas improved in this final. He is, of course, just a second year player. I can still remember Didak being on the lust for years and thinking 'who's this list clogger?' :p

Bring on 2013

Game Day AFL Second Preliminary Final - COLLINGWOOD vs SYDNEY Matchday Discussion.