Mega Thread AFL uses Simonds Stadium for qualifying final

The only way we can argue playing a final at KP at any point, in any stage of the finals series, is if it can be justified that seating will be adequate.

fair enough. Personally, if Freo/WC etc all get home games at their stadium, you should be entitled to the same privilege, regardless of crowd, if that was what the club wanted.

We were hardly disrespectful of St Kilda, we gave them a dream sendoff for their retiring players. It wouldn't have mattered if we'd belted the suitcase out of the Saints, or lost by a thousand points, as the results fell, we could not have moved on the ladder. It's hardly disrespectful to send a team of kids over if we have (quite literally) nothing to gain from risking injury to our players. We rested everyone who needed it, and hopefully it helps.

We know we are up against it in this game. Travelling to SS is daunting at any time, and the cats are finals specialists.

We don't want your sympathy. I'm hoping that the team can earn a bit of bloody respect, because it's clear right now that we aren't getting much.
Believe me when I say we respect your club. A lot of our supporters don't even give us a chance on Saturday.

We just won't admit it because a lot of the Freo supporters coming onto our board obviously don't respect our club and our right to play our home final at our own home ground against one of the AFL's lowest drawing teams.

People just cant get that thru their thick heads can they SJ

Also the stuff about the crowd figures.. also the stuff about HOW WE FINISHED 2ND ON THE BLOODY LADDER.

Ffs, seriously everyone can go and get ****ed.

One letter even said "Oh a final in Geelong. Why dont you give the whistle to Joel Selwood and he can umpire the game too?". Jesus christ..
That is a capital idea.

Believe me when I say we respect your club. A lot of our supporters don't even give us a chance on Saturday.

We just won't admit it because a lot of the Freo supporters coming onto our board obviously don't respect our club and our right to play our home final at our own home ground against one of the AFL's lowest drawing teams.

You'll find that while we are talking up our chances, we think this will still be an incredibly hard game. Geelong in Geelong is the hardest task you can set for a footy team (over the last decade). We think we have a chance, but I doubt you'll find too many who think we have a better than even chance at winning. I reckon we are probably about 35-40% to win this game (if McPharlin performs ok after an extended absence). This is as high or higher than I'd rate any other teams chances of beating the Cats at SS, only because we've matched up quite well on the cats in recent years.

Also we do draw a crowd ... at Pattersons.

A lot is a little bit misleading, considering that I haven't seen more than maybe ten Freo posters in here.

Geelong also clearly doesn't have the right to host a home ground final, because if they did it would happen no matter who the opposition was. So you have a limited opportunity, provided the opposition is one of four teams. That's not fair to Geelong at all, but that seems to have been lost in the general kerfuffle over Fremantle supporters' discontent at not receiving the respect they deserve for finishing 3rd, and that being interpreted as offensive to Geelong.

I think the only way for the AFL to address the malcontent brewing in this finals series is to bring in Kamahl for the GF entertainment.

A lot is a little bit misleading, considering that I haven't seen more than maybe ten Freo posters in here.

Geelong also clearly doesn't have the right to host a home ground final, because if they did it would happen no matter who the opposition was. So you have a limited opportunity, provided the opposition is one of four teams. That's not fair to Geelong at all, but that seems to have been lost in the general kerfuffle over Fremantle supporters' discontent at not receiving the respect they deserve for finishing 3rd, and that being interpreted as offensive to Geelong.

I think the only way for the AFL to address the malcontent brewing in this finals series is to bring in Kamahl for the GF entertainment.

so you are saying because you finished third, you should get preference ahead of us who finished second as to the venue?

the reason geelong fans feel they are being disrespected by freo is because your coach has been talking the town and stadium down as his way of showing his displeasure with what has happened. he is like someone who always needs the last word. trying to claim they are happy to play anywhere, but always sliding in a comment that is disparaging of the town and stadium.

I said "a lot of the Fremantle posters in here". I didn't say there were a lot. Pretty simple concept.

Geelong also clearly doesn't have the right to host a home ground final,
As far as I know, we're still playing there on Saturday. So yes, we do have the right, and no amount of sooking about how the AFL is against you is going to change that.

because if they did it would happen no matter who the opposition was. So you have a limited opportunity, provided the opposition is one of four teams.
Wrong. We requested to play Port, Sydney, GC and GWS at Simonds. You ended up joining that list. That's 5 generally low-drawing teams. I imagine the Dogs, Dees and Saints will join that list too when their time comes.

How dare the AFL fixture stadiums according to their capacity.

That's not fair to Geelong at all, but that seems to have been lost in the general kerfuffle over Fremantle supporters' discontent at not receiving the respect they deserve for finishing 3rd, and that being interpreted as offensive to Geelong.
This debate isn't about Fremantle and the respect they deserve. If you want that, I'm sure there are plenty of threads on YOUR OWN board to do that whenever you like.

This debate shouldn't even be a debate, and most of our supporters probably wouldn't even care about the "dispute" if your coach and board members hadn't taken pot shots at our stadium.

so you are saying because you finished third, you should get preference ahead of us who finished second as to the venue?
Not at all. But we should be treated the same as anybody else who finishes third, and we certainly shouldn't be treated worse than the teams that finished in the bottom half of the eight.

the reason geelong fans feel they are being disrespected by freo is because your coach has been talking the town and stadium down as his way of showing his displeasure with what has happened. he is like someone who always needs the last word. trying to claim they are happy to play anywhere, but always sliding in a comment that is disparaging of the town and stadium.
He said he didn't expect to be sent to a regional centre, especially when their is a world class stadium available in Melbourne. That's hardly disparaging and totally accurate.

Not at all. But we should be treated the same as anybody else who finishes third, and we certainly shouldn't be treated worse than the teams that finished in the bottom half of the eight.

He said he didn't expect to be sent to a regional centre, especially when their is a world class stadium available in Melbourne. That's hardly disparaging and totally accurate.

But Geelong isn't treated the same as anyone else who finishes second. You wanted us to finish second and play at Etihad. Collingwood or Hawthorn would not play at Etihad if they finish second.

It is not just Fremantle that is 'discriminated' against. It is a tainted competition. Get over it.

But Geelong isn't treated the same as anyone else who finishes second. You wanted us to finish second and play at Etihad. Collingwood or Hawthorn would not play at Etihad if they finish second.

It is not just Fremantle that is 'discriminated' against. It is a tainted competition. Get over it.

Kind of what I said.

Anyway, I can see nobody is in the mood for a logical conversation.

Kind of what I said.

Anyway, I can see nobody is in the mood for a logical conversation.

No, you are implying that Fremantle is the only team treated unfairly.

Give me one reason why Geelong versus Fremantle should be played at Etihad.

fixed that for ya. :)
we are 10th behind Sydney atm. in front of Saints & North.

oh, and,

real respectful.

Did you just get upset by a teenage girl being disrespectful to your teary eyed club?

Did you run out of tissues yet?

No, you are implying that Fremantle is the only team treated unfairly.

Give me one reason why Geelong versus Fremantle should be played at Etihad.

Well one reason would be to give Freo a better chance of winning , a bigger number for attendance , facilities are superior , its indoors ..... If you want to one eyed there a reasons to be found.

The game should have been at the G before Pies , but of course that makes no financial sense or cents.

One idea from left field. Why didn't they schedule Syd V Hawks for Thursday night. The AFL had a unique opportunity due to the fat the both played each other. The other games could be spread over the week end how ever was deemed best.

But im not sure we really know the reason why the AFL swithed their mind. To give the Dome a bit of an elbow , get a better deal for the likes of North? More profit? To give the Cats a bit of leverage when look for dollars for stage 4 , stage 5? A change in policy rel to equalization? A realization that soon they will have to have finals at Gold Coast and GWS moved?

A lot of unanswered questions. I just hope we dont have to wait for another 100 years for another final

:rolleyes:

and i suppose you think he was being genuine when he was talking about the intelligent supporters in geelong?

the guy is a c@ckhead. until 2 years ago you probably felt the same way, he is your coach now so you have to defend him i get it, but don't dribble that tripe here and claim that we are the ones not having a logical discussion.

Geelong finally gets the home final it deserves after being ripped off for a century, and you want to talk to us about how unfair it is on you, all the while defending your fellow supports and club officials who are blatantly talking the stadium and the whole region down as some sort of sub standard alternative

as someone who has audited both subiaco and the new simonds stadium, i can guarantee you the facilities in geelong are far better than subiaco, so based on your coaches logic that we should play at the 'better' ground, you should be quite happy to play the pies at the G next week if they win and you lose, because to a geelong supporter, that is no different to what he is suggesting for this week.

We were hardly disrespectful of St Kilda, we gave them a dream sendoff for their retiring players. It wouldn't have mattered if we'd belted the suitcase out of the Saints, or lost by a thousand points, as the results fell, we could not have moved on the ladder. It's hardly disrespectful to send a team of kids over if we have (quite literally) nothing to gain from risking injury to our players. We rested everyone who needed it, and hopefully it helps.

We know we are up against it in this game. Travelling to SS is daunting at any time, and the cats are finals specialists.

We don't want your sympathy. I'm hoping that the team can earn a bit of bloody respect, because it's clear right now that we aren't getting much.
It's hard to respect a team dresses in purple and who's theme song is "Freo Heavo Ho Way to go"

fair enough. Personally, if Freo/WC etc all get home games at their stadium, you should be entitled to the same privilege, regardless of crowd, if that was what the club wanted.

WC & Freo would have the same issue if you had a suitable stadium of higher capacity. If you finished in a home final position and were playing a side like Collingwood, it would probably be expected that Subiaco wouldn't be big enough to meet demand. Even though Subi would be your preferred venue if there was a stadium up the road with an extra 10,000 seats that's where the game would be if the AFL thought demand would exceed supply of tickets.

Did you just get upset by a teenage girl being disrespectful to your teary eyed club?

Did you run out of tissues yet?

You don't read to good do you. respect and liking are two different things as stated by Catgirl.

I was just highlighting the irony of someone who appeared to have no respect claiming most of your supporters have respect.

and tissues? Please. nothing said here has anything on the WCE/Freo shit fights. haha

You don't read to good do you. respect and liking are two different things as stated by Catgirl.
Wise words from an impeccable scholar

I was just highlighting the irony of someone who appeared to have no respect claiming most of your supporters have respect.
Wasn't any irony.

and tissues? Please. nothing said here has anything on the WCE/Freo shit fights. haha
So WC supporters make you cry?

To allow more people to attend.

Bands often book gigs into venues smaller than what level they are at because a SOLD OUT show is better than a show that's still on sale the night of the event. They don't want to play to empty seats. They might be able to sell 1200 tickets at a 1500 seat venue but would rather sell 1000 seats in a 1000 seat venue and have it sold out well in advance because it's a better atmosphere, better vibe and makes people quicker on the take next time they roll into town.

What Vlad has worked out is that a SOLD OUT game at Simonds is far better for TV and the AFL finals series than what happened last year when massive sections of Etihad was completely empty. It was a bad look and not a great atmosphere.

If Freo fans came over in droves to set the precedent, Vlad would of demanded this game at Etihad.
If you want to demand the game be held in Melbourne then ALL of the shit thrown at Geelong should have been directed at Collingwood or Richmond AND Freo fans would have to come over in droves to fill the place out.
Why try to move mountains when Simonds is sitting there ready to go and fills the wider criteria better than Etihad?
If Vlad can swallow his pride and admit Geelong is a great venue for this particular final series then anyone should be able to.

You would not have heard a peep out of Geelong if the game was at the MCG, Etihad or Subiaco. Your board wouldn't have been flooded with every excuse under the sun, your town and your people wouldn't have been dragged through the mud and our coach wouldn't have questioned the quality of your clubs home ground. You would have just seen a champion club accept their fate and get on with it.