Certified Legendary Thread Alastair Clarkson II - signs 5 year contract w/ North Melbourne 19 August 2022 - news breaks p360

I reckon that Clarko is working behind the scenes to get the best priority pick deal he can for North before agreeing to take the job. He needs the A list players to be able to try some of the tactics that he comes up with. You guys have a few but he knows what he did at Hawthorn with all of that talent and a few priority picks onto your list is what he would be working at now. He won’t go to Essendon they don’t have the list ( Essendon should sack Dodoro not Rutten).

Good luck.

With all this 'we cant land a big fish' talk, when you look back at it it's kinda been a blessing in disguise.

Zac Williams - injury prone barely getting a kick
Degoey - no explanation needed.
Dusty - Cooked
J.Kelly - been very meh since
Gaff - thank god. He's hopeless.

Imagine having any of these on a massive contract.
Polec:
pedro-monkey.gif

Just a couple of points I've been thinking about:

1) If there is a choice between North and Essendon, it's a very easy choice to make (whichever way one wants to go) even as a neutral. We are the antipode of Essendon in almost every way you can think of. Someone as astute as Clarkson would know all those cultural differences pretty well. If he prefers to work in Tullamarine, it would be a conscious decision taking into account all the cultural differences and the nature of both places. We shouldn't even think of him as the one that got away, if he chooses them as he never was the right fit in the first place.

2) Robbo made a good point, in his emotional moment about the possibility of Clarko going to Essendon, which he obviously has a soft spot for. The point he made was around the possibility that Clarko has made a promise or a personal commitment to Sonja, in which case he will say NO to Essendon. It's actually a very good point. Sonja is not just a very astute woman but also a very warm and engaging person. If they had multiple long meetings going into great detail, it's very much possible that they already formed some sort of bond, which he will find hard to walk away from. Just a gut feel, but I think this could well be the point that seals the deal for us, not so much vs Essendon, but any other club that might be in the frame like GWS. I think she personally will get him over the line using her negotiation skills. As someone who has met her personally, I think it's easy to come to this conclusion.

Can back up your statement on Sonja being warm and engaging. She tapped me on the shoulder out of the blue at cunnerz VFL game at Arden St to say hello. Turned around and thought it was going to be my mate but quickly had to blurt out “Gday Sonja” - she wanted to ask me if I had taken Tarryn to the hair dressers to die his hair (as I have done the same) or if he had taken me. So we had a bit of a joke about that, landed on him copying me of course, introduced myself properly and then she apologised that she had to race off to Marvel for the reunion. Was really enjoying what she was bringing to the club in the media up until that point and that reaffirmed everything for me.

With all this 'we cant land a big fish' talk, when you look back at it it's kinda been a blessing in disguise.

Dusty - Cooked

Don't forget Polecs lol, dodged one there.

Can back up your statement on Sonja being warm and engaging. She tapped me on the shoulder out of the blue at cunnerz VFL game at Arden St to say hello. Turned around and thought it was going to be my mate but quickly had to blurt out “Gday Sonja” - she wanted to ask me if I had taken Tarryn to the hair dressers to die his hair (as I have done the same) or if he had taken me. So we had a bit of a joke about that, landed on him copying me of course, introduced myself properly and then she apologised that she had to race off to Marvel for the reunion. Was really enjoying what she was bringing to the club in the media up until that point and that reaffirmed everything for me.

I've seen Sonja down on L1 for multiple games at 3/4 time chatting with supporters. She seems great.

Truck Rutten

truck-falls-off-mountain.gif

This is not ideal!

For catering, do you reckon they could get some of those cocktail frankfurts? And maybe some sauce to dip them in
Big steaming plates of dimmies with lashings of kikkoman soy sauce!

Dusty - Cooked

Dusty won 3 norm smith's since signing (the 1st weeks after signing). He was good for the first 3 years of the contract. Not so much the last 2.

Agree with the rest.

I don't know how you can take one look at *'s list and think theirs is any more better than ours currently and certainly will not be better than ours in the future.

We have the far more prospective list with greater talent that is going to explode, just look at LDU, the rest are coming along with him soon but that's a mere taste of what we'll be.

Add in Cunnington, Corr's a decent backman, McKay becoming a AA backmen, still have Goldstein one of the best rucks in the comp, and Nick Larkey/Zurhaar is a deadly forward combo when the midfield is on delivering the goods to them on a good day either can haul a bag easily and that's not even factoring in Comben.

If I'm chasing silverware like Clarkson would it's a no brainer.

Sonja Hood: "So Noble and I came to the mutual agreement yesterday that he is no longer suitable for head coach and we have already appointed a new interim coach and our hunt for a new coach begins today."

Media: lolnorf, what a rabble so s**t, should've kept Noble, etc.

Essendon: "Hey we're only going to sack our coach just for the chance we can get another coach. We couldn't care less about Rutten if Clarkson is on board."

Media: Wow Essendon could get Clarko, how romantic, think about the possibilities.

I love this post, I want to marry it and have it's babies

The afl started in 1990, with the drug cheats losing a grand final. Since then you’ve won 2. And barley won a final since.

So as far as afl history goes your club is a bunch of losers.

It is known

They were over the salary cap for one of the Grand Finals they won in the AFL era as well.

Imagine being a supporter of a club who has used performance enhancing drugs because they are so shit and one of their players are literally cheated on their significant other with an underage schoolgirl 💀💀💀💀💀💀💀💀💀