Coach Alastair Clarkson III - new NMFC senior coach until at least end 2027 - NMFC board approved AC to start 1/11 amid ongoing HFC racism investigation

Not happy with where we’ve landed with this to be honest. We have his on the record denial of anonymous, lurid and untested claims that form part of a document put together by a rival club (FFS!) and were never put to him, yet we think he should delay his start. Huh?!

Now surely Clarkson - and by extension the club- will just twist in the wind while vultures like Caro and Barrett pick at his flesh?

And our fate is effectively in the hands of an organisation that has consistently dedicated itself since 2007 to eradicating our club in the form of the AFL?

Naive in my view. Wonder what their ‘independent’ report will find? Smart money would be on Hawthorn all clear, Fages cleared to support expansion clubs and all blame put on AC despite his comprehensive denial.

Plus no commitment on timing so likely they string it out til close to Round 1, then release it in that week to f$ck us completely leaving us without a coach and a chance to find one.

If this is to be the way it goes, then I look forward to seeing the law of the jungle applied equally to all - rival club coaches, players and AFL executives. Bring on the brave new world when anyone can be shot on sight on the basis of anonymous claims!

Not quite sure why we as a club keep showing up to these things clutching a copy of the Marquis Of Queensbery rules when the AFL and all other clubs are carrying anything from nunchucks to switchblades.

Personally I think given he was going to deny it, the correct course was to sue for defamation to bring any real evidence to the surface and constrain further agenda driven media reporting on it (hawks to pay legal bills given it relates to the time he spent there). At the same time we have our own investigation in which we put the claims to him, he denies them and we proceed with his appointment. It’s got just as much validity as a probe from a rival club or the crooked AFL.

Without going full Tef…

What I will say… It’s curious that a hawthorn commissioned report that was brought on due to racist allegations against Kennett, has resulted in the public sacrificing of only ex hawthorn employees.

View attachment 1514447

Meanwhile this bloke isn’t mentioned & happens to be overseas.

I’m not one to buy into conspiracies, but as I said… curious.
A week after a public shot across the bow where he threatened to cancel Clarko's last 450k salary instalment. Bit of an eyebrow raiser.

spot on - plus Gunston not only interested in Brisbane but is also deep in discussions with North... the 2 clubs involved in this allegation.

Not happy with where we’ve landed with this to be honest. We have his on the record denial of anonymous, lurid and untested claims that form part of a document put together by a rival club (FFS!) and were never put to him, yet we think he should delay his start. Huh?!

Now surely Clarkson - and by extension the club- will just twist in the wind while vultures like Caro and Barrett pick at his flesh?

And our fate is effectively in the hands of an organisation that has consistently dedicated itself since 2007 to eradicating our club in the form of the AFL?

Naive in my view. Wonder what their ‘independent’ report will find? Smart money would be on Hawthorn all clear, Fages cleared to support expansion clubs and all blame put on AC despite his comprehensive denial.

Plus no commitment on timing so likely they string it out til close to Round 1, then release it in that week to f$ck us completely leaving us without a coach and a chance to find one.

If this is to be the way it goes, then I look forward to seeing the law of the jungle applied equally to all - rival club coaches, players and AFL executives. Bring on the brave new world when anyone can be shot on sight on the basis of anonymous claims!

Not quite sure why we as a club keep showing up to these things clutching a copy of the Marquis Of Queensbery rules when the AFL and all other clubs are carrying anything from nunchucks to switchblades.

Personally I think given he was going to deny it, the correct course was to sue for defamation to bring any real evidence to the surface and constrain further agenda driven media reporting on it (hawks to pay legal bills given it relates to the time he spent there). At the same time we have our own investigation in which we put the claims to him, he denies them and we proceed with his appointment. It’s got just as much validity as a probe from a rival club or the crooked AFL.

The gymnastics around clearing fagan and hanging this guy, who worked with the AFL on multiple levels, who literally spent time learning overseas in a pro dominated African American sport about coaching and professionalism, the bloke may have had his issues when he was a player or when he was a kid.. this kind of accused behaviour is next level.

Now, with Australias defamation laws, everyone on here should be very careful about what they post online.

Without speaking to the players, I’m not. The fact that Jy’s mate Hill wants to come play for Clarkson, speaks for itself.
That was pre-report and article. We don’t know now.

Im feeling better about this from a club standpoint, since the clarkson refute's allegations as well as Fagan's story.
Honestly in your heart does anyone actually believe the journalist headline "Clarkson told me to kill my unborn son". Tell me that is not sensationalism? When players like Jed who I posted earlier were in the exact same boat, and maybe even more as a high draft pick having kids from the same background yet thanking the club for it's amazing support. At one point does an adult take responsibility for their actions.There is no way it was coming from a bad place. There's no doubt there would have been conversations on their life choices, much that happens with ALL background in the AFL and about what they want to be and what path they want to take. I'm sure Chris Fagan and Clarko didn't MAKE anyone have an abortion or act the way they have been portrayed having seen them speak and the praise for them from all walks of life for the last 15 years. No dount there are some truths to some of their stories but there's an element of how someone portrays an event thats ten years old to another
You are 100% spot on.

Player goes to coach with relationship/life issues. Talks about stress and pressures of everything going on including the stress of having a bub on the way.

Coach possibly says something like have you considered an abortion.

ABC reports "he wanted me to kill my baby".

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

Very plausible outcome. If allegations are being made outside of a Hawthorn investigation and report..
He cant just drag headlines from an investigation and report… did he seek to contact players involved or coaches spoken about for further clarification before the ABC published his article?

I feel sick thinking about this. I’m sure that a lot of the subject matter discussed is also confronting for a bunch of users here.
Be kind with how you approach this as I’m sure this is stirring a lot of very strong emotions, regardless of your perspective.

You are 100% spot on.

Player goes to coach with relationship/life issues. Talks about stress and pressures of everything going on including the stress of having a bub on the way.

Yeah these kind of things can get clouded with all sorts of things.

Only a few weeks ago Clarko was asked about Tarryn who said he it was a case of life coming before footy or something to that effect which seems a polar opposite approach.

He cant just drag headlines from an investigation and report… did he seek to contact players involved or coaches spoken about for further clarification before the ABC published his article?
Report released to AFL two weeks ago?
Firstly. There is no doubt in my mind that racism and treatment of First Nations people has been abhorrent. Thats out ****ing Australia.

Yes, must have, its the only plausible answer. That journalist has contacted players mentioned in the report to gain further insight or new information.

You are 100% spot on.

Who knows ?

There may have been a “discussion” with a distressed 19yr old kid (who’s looking for support ) about “options” a young couple have …. Including Termination.

Which ironically that right is being fought hard to be retained as a basic human right in US ( Roe V Wade)

It’s only speculation - but perhaps the conversation had been lost, misinterpreted or shifted over the years.

If there was genuine pressure on the kid for one option only ..& for the sake of a football career …. That would be appalling.

I think it also raises a broader point about “ player welfare” and a club’s responsibilities?

To what extent does a club become so deeply involved in a Personal family matters ?