Coach Alastair Clarkson III - new NMFC senior coach until at least end 2027 - NMFC board approved AC to start 1/11 amid ongoing HFC racism investigation

Excellent news. Do you know by chance if any of the current staff (Patch, Blakey) were involved in the player meetings / reviews or was it just Clarko & Viney?
Not entirely sure. Apparently (there’s that word again) AC sat the squad down on Tuesday and addressed them as a group for the first time. And the speech hit the mark: everyone fired up by the end of it … and really enthused about the pre-season ahead.

It's easy to forget the teams most roll up every week are around 187-189cm in terms of average height so someone like Stephenson or Thomas would still be taller than most people.
Charlie Lazzaro is taller than most people.

Anyone got ITK goss?
images

This is JarOfConfidence right now..

Mate and I spoke about the importance of a coach that has experience and had been successful in their own right. We both agreed whether people like to think it players respect success and are more likely to adhere to things in most cases if it comes from a person like Alastair. Never any guarantees of Premierships but I reckon there is definitely some truth in that theory.

Interesting. Premiership coaches probably split at about 70% were players who had team success and 30% the other way (Beveridge, Clarkson, Roos).

Never any guarantees of course but we have had 2 inexperienced coaches , and often rumours of players refusing in some cases to adhere to rules ie Polec with Shaw and perhaps Thomas with Noble both rumours. I don’t think they would try it with Al and if they did they would be pretty game.

surprised by this one. highly rated individual who hadn't really had long enough to know whether it was working. would've expected Rawlings to go first
I expect that this isn't anything against Dan, more that they need a more experienced head of footy (which was always the concern with his appointment)

rawlings needs to be next
Reckon he will avoid the knife. MacPherson was an easier call for Clarkson who will have Viney take over the football dept. Brady will probably get another job change.

back into the recruiting department most likely, he'd already essentially made his job "football manager except just the recruiting part"

I expect that this isn't anything against Dan, more that they need a more experienced head of footy (which was always the concern with his appointment)
It’s fair, and expected, but a bit rough on him after so short a time to try to make a difference.