All Australian Team 08

Has Gilbee really had an AA year??? I mean last year he wasnt AA and from what i have seen had a better & more consistant year than this year...

Am i wrong???

About the same as last year, slow start to season but last 6-7 weeks have been very good, had he played like that entire year would have been in consideration but will not be selected this year

I really do rate enright as a player but to say his disposal is just behind gilbee is a joke. IMHO Gilbee has the best foot skills in the AFL. Gilbee's last six weeks have been really good but he had a slowish start to the year. Won't be AA but wouldn't suprise me as he should of been 2 years ago.

ahh, he was AA 2 years ago mate

Haha. This thread has been ambushed by amateur Hawthorn supporters since I last read it. Franklin definate, Mitchell and Hodge should make it, but if Hodge is selected in the squad of 40 as a midfielder he might struggle. Croad has been ok, but Bock has been dominant this season. Any other Hawthorn players don't warrant selection. Birchall, Roughead, Bateman and Sewell are all well behind in their respective positions.
Never thought Chewy would be more knowledgable and realistic then most of these other hawks.

B: C.NEWMAN M.SCARLETT B.LAKE
HB: S.FISHER N.BOCK A.MACKIE
C: M.RICHARDSON J.BARTEL B.KIRK
HF: O'KEEFE L.FRANKLIN M.PAVLICH
F: D.BRADSHAW FEVOLA J.BROWN
F: COX G.ABLETT J.COREY
INT: SANDILANDS N.REIWOLDT J.WAITE B.HARVEY

SPECIAL MENTIONS: J.ROUGHEAD, J.PORPLYZIA, L.POWER, C.JUDD, S.GOODWIN, S.THOMPSON, A.COONEY, D.MILBURN, L.GILBEE

Tough call this year, they should have 2 AA teams!! and maybe they can play against each other during the preseason...:thumbsu:

PS: There is no way Hodge or Mitchell are ahead of the midfielders I chose(richo maybe an exception). Mitchell was much better last season and Hodge has been solid but a little inconsistant.

SPECIAL MENTIONS: J.ROUGHEAD, J.PORPLYZIA, L.POWER, C.JUDD, S.GOODWIN, S.THOMPSON, A.COONEY, D.MILBURN, L.GILBEE

Tough call this year, they should have 2 AA teams!! and maybe they can play against each other during the preseason...:thumbsu:

PS: There is no way Hodge or Mitchell are ahead of the midfielders I chose(richo maybe an exception). Mitchell was much better last season and Hodge has been solid but a little inconsistant.

Gee, you really love key position players don't you, All australian teams have many more midfielders than key position, one of the funnier teams I have seen

So you telling me that Scarlett, Pavlich, Fevola, Franklin cant all be in the same AA side just because they are KPP ?
Based on that assumption then maybe delete Reiwoldt, Richo, Lake and Bradshaw...

Croad > Waite.

Well look at you...the only input you've ever had to an AA thread is to spruik hawthorn players....as predictable as last yr.
Hodge Hodge Hodge friggin Hodge...all last yr. "Hodge simply MUST be in it" "Anyone that doesnt have Hodge is a fool"
So said Chewy last yr

Wake up sunshine....your mindless repetitive bullshit about hawthorn players isnt even worth bothering with.
Its all u offer...HAWTHORN HAWTHORN HAWTHORN

When u stop being such a stupidly biased cheerleader at this time of year and can ascknowledge OBVIOUS players that are more deserving then maybe you will be worth bothering with.
Until then ...SPARE US THE CHEERLEADING AND GROW UP

Telling me to grow up... :rolleyes:

Just in case you missed the point of my last post, I was telling you to can it and stop attacking Hawthorn fans for posting their opinions.
Your response (minus the ranting) is to tell me that none of my (biased) hawthorn posts are worth bothering about
So why then, do you bother to respond to my HAWTHORN CHEERLEADING with your negative tripe?
Answer me that, you goat.

And just for the record, I've posted my opinions on many players in this thread, not just the Hawthorn players or Hodge, Hodge, Hodge!

I had to laugh at how 7 days ago, you said Hodge wasn't a chance, then after his great game against Brisbane, you did a complete backflip and said he must now come into consideration.

Poor Bollox... He doesn't know if he's Arthur or Martha!

So you telling me that Scarlett, Pavlich, Fevola, Franklin cant all be in the same AA side just because they are KPP ?Based on that assumption then maybe delete Reiwoldt, Richo, Lake and Bradshaw...

No but you have picked 5 KPP players in forward line, Bradshaw, Lake and Waite are no chance, Brown and Riewoldt would surprise. Rest ok, replace these with flankers or midfielders and you have a more realistic team.

Cool, however Bradshaw has been really good this year, deserves an AA selection IMO. Specially when considering he came back from a knee reco.

This is the team I would pick if they didn't pick that 40 man squad:

B: Tom Harley (vc); Matthew Scarlett; Dale Morris
HB: Luke Hodge; Nathan Bock; Corey Enright
C: Joel Corey; Brett Kirk (c); Adam Cooney
HF: Ryan O'Keefe; Matthew Richardson; Brent Harvey
F: Steve Johnson; Lance Franklin; Brendan Fevola
R: Dean Cox; Gary Ablett; Jimmy Bartel
INT: David Hille; Sam Mitchell; Simon Black; Matthew Pavlich

This is the best team by far.

The only gripe I could obviously have with it would be Hille's selection over Sandilands.

Cool, however Bradshaw has been really good this year, deserves an AA selection IMO. Specially when considering he came back from a knee reco.

Bradshaw has been good but apart from kicking goals he doesn't add much. Fevola and Bradshaw would be fighting out for the same position because they don't do that much work around the ground. Pavlich, Franklin, Brown and Riewoldt add much more than just goals. They can work well up towards the wing and normally accumulate plenty of possessions.
Bradshaw doesn't stack up to Franklin, Brown, Riewoldt and Pavlich. So he probably missed out.

Hope that sort of makes sense.

This is the best team by far.

The only gripe I could obviously have with it would be Hille's selection over Sandilands.

Thanks mate. I can understand people wanting Sandilands in the team but I have always viewed him as overated. Hille adds much more around the ground and had a direct influence on Essendon winning about 4 of their matches this year.
However, Sandilands was good against Sydney last weekend.

I had to laugh at how 7 days ago, you said Hodge wasn't a chance, then after his great game against Brisbane, you did a complete backflip and said he must now come into consideration.

Poor Bollox... He doesn't know if he's Arthur or Martha!

Show me

7 days ago i said Hodge wasnt a chance did i ? I dont think so...so instead of that being another one of your childish throwaway lines i reckon u better show me it...or keep your tag as "just another biased hawthorn dill"

As i told u a fair while ago...Hodge is in with a chance but simply "NEEDS TO DO MORE"

...he has over recent weeks.

Do u understand what that means ?

Dont try to twist what we say simply coz it suits some childish notion u have..or some irrelevant petty beef u have ....if someone was borderline or behind many others but plays their way into consideration then it gets acknowledged.

If i didnt acknowledge better form i'd probably be as bad as a Hawthorn fan....right ?

Unlike YOU...some in here like to be unbiased. You just think anyone talking realistically is somehow a Hawthorn hater coz they KNOW Bock's had a far better season than Croad.

Dont kid yaself...i'm not the only one that would've seen u ONLY pushing hawthorn guys...its your thing...its what u do every season in AA threads. You push Hawthorn blokes that are borderline or not realistically in contention...u exaggerate their season...u pretend they've been better than others anyway u can.

No wonder i tend to ignore your biased drivel more often than not.

You push Hawthorn blokes that are borderline or not realistically in contention...u exaggerate their season...u pretend they've been better than others anyway u can.

No wonder i tend to ignore your biased drivel more often than not.
He pushed Campbell Brown last year, Bollox, which you canned him for (as has been mentioned numerous times now). You don't want to acknowledge that though.

Is it really so hard for you to admit you were wrong?

After listening to one of the selectors tonight (Gerard Healy) already the concessions are coming. He's cr&pping on about who should be the third tall after Franklin and Fevola - Riewoldt, Brown, Roughhead? Seriously what team would run those 3 talls, imagine how imbalanced the forward line would with no defensive pressure.

Weak selectors, again just don't pick the 22 players per spot.

Still, can't be worse than Luke Darcy's team - he really is very stupid

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX said:
Croad has been ok, but Bock has been dominant this season.
Croad has been absolutely dominant as a stopper. Bock has been Adelaide's general (and picked up most of Johncock's slack) getting his hands on the leather and directing most of the switches, as well beating his man, sometimes good opponents, but usually not the best opposition forward. I've said before, but will say it again, why must the selectors choose between them? Croad is more of a Rutten type and every week, he takes the best marking forward.

People name all these power forwards in their All Australian forward lines, but they don't name a defence capable of going toe-to-toe with them. Surely it's not too much to expect the selectors to name at least three key defenders? Scarlett, Bock and Croad have been the best big-bodied defenders (apologies to Lake, Hudghton and even Waite) so why not name them all? They can all shut down a good opponent. They can all mark the ball, provide dash from defence and hit their targets.

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX said:
Any other Hawthorn players don't warrant selection. Birchall, Roughead, Bateman and Sewell are all well behind in their respective positions.
Birchall was sensational in the first half of the season, but his form dropped away (similar to Heath Shaw)

Roughead has been awesome all season long, underrated for the most part, outshined by Buddy, but not much less effective. His impact at ground level has been awesome, better than just about any key forward this season, miles ahead of many of the A/A candidates (1%ers, big tackles, pressure, smashing in hard, knocking people over, winning important contests) He suffers from most of the attacks being directed towards Franklin, but if you worked out the number of goals he's kicked from the chances he's had and combine this with his work upfield, then he's a certainty to make the squad and outside chance for a spot on he bench

Bateman has had his best season to date and would be an outside chance to make the squad. His disposal, previously a weakness, has been very good all season. He is one of the hardest runners in the AFL and has proved the difference in many games. He's one of those guys (like Jarrad McVeigh) who probably deserves higher kudos, but is seen as an ordinary player made good. You can only really appreciate how good he is, not from watching him on TV, but from seeing him play live (same as Riewoldt or Richo, when they are on song) It's their hard running and work they do off the ball that gives them their edge.

Sewell was in great nick during our unbeaten run of 9 games, then unfortunately he injured his shoulder and missed a couple of months. I used to enjoy those Sewell vs Ling debates with Cat fans about who was the best tagger. Since then, Lingy has gone on to receive all the glory, but Sewell has quietly developed into one of Hawthorn's most solid midfielders, no longer just a tagger.

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX said:
Never thought Chewy would be more knowledgable and realistic then most of these other hawks.
Why the cheap shot? Have I abused you when you posted under an alias?

You think you know more about football or watch more games than me, do you?

He pushed Campbell Brown last year, Bollox, which you canned him for (as has been mentioned numerous times now). You don't want to acknowledge that though.

Is it really so hard for you to admit you were wrong?

No it isnt...in fact that has already been adressed.

In case u missed it or dont follow these threads each season...there's one just about every bloody week during the season. When Campbell Brown WASNT a lock for AA he wasnt being named in here...by me as well as others. He played his way into the AA team by the end of the season. Even i said the same.

They arnt street signs yanno...their form goes up and down but we dont know till late season right ?...he spruiked Brown all season and got it right. Rightfully made AA.

What u fail to understand is that he was pushing Mitchell and Hodge as well....and it got to the point where he was arrogantly telling peiople to the bitter end that

" if u dont have Hodge in your team you're an idiot"

I dont recall Mitchell or Hodge being selcted AA last yr.

He got 1 out of 3 right....it aint me that needs to admit when i'm "wrong"...if a guy plays himself into consideration he gets acknowledged by all of us. perhaps Chewy could start admitteing when he wrong tho and apologise to all the people that didnt believe Hodge or Mitchell would make it...they were right...he was wrong.

He gets shirty when he thinks not enough hawthorn players will get picked and then starts to repeat their names and spruiks them...aint our fault he gets brown and gold blindness. He knew it was likely Brown would be your only AA selection...but it was never going to be enough for him.