All Australian Team 08

Croad has been absolutely dominant as a stopper.

nnnnope not really

Just being realistic.

Been better CHB's this season ...and better "stoppers" too.

No idea why you're pushing the bloke in an AA thread...when u know there has been a far better CHB this season that has it locked up.

Kinda pointless really.

Okay, let's go back to the Croad/Bock comparrison, because I want to be sure about this. Let's hope people aren't automatically biased towards Bock because of the hype - that would be pissweak.

Now I haven't watched Bock that CLOSELY so if I get any of these assumptions wrong please correct me.

I'm assuming that both of these guys are put on the BEST forward of the opposition. I'm going to assume that the guys at the top of the goal kicking tally are the most dangerous forwards.

Bock:
vs Franklin - 6 goals, 1 goal (8 shots on goal in total though!).
vs Fevola - 1 goal, 5 goals
vs Brown - 2 goals,
vs Pavlich - 0 goals
hasn't played against Riewoldt yet.

6 games against the GUNS- 15 goals conceeded. (2.5 avg)

Croad
vs Brown - 0 goals, 1 goal
vs Pavlich - DNP
vs Riewoldt - 6 goals.
hasn't played against Pav or Fevola.

3 games agsint the GUNS - 7 goals conceeded. (2.3 avg)

Croad will probably miss out on AA selection because he missed a few games from injury. Unfortunate.

No it isnt...in fact that has already been adressed.

In case u missed it or dont follow these threads each season...there's one just about every bloody week during the season. When Campbell Brown WASNT a lock for AA he wasnt being named in here...by me as well as others. He played his way into the AA team by the end of the season. Even i said the same.

They arnt street signs yanno...their form goes up and down but we dont know till late season right ?...he spruiked Brown all season and got it right. Rightfully made AA.

What u fail to understand is that he was pushing Mitchell and Hodge as well....and it got to the point where he was arrogantly telling peiople to the bitter end that

" if u dont have Hidge in your team you're an idiot"

I dont recall Mitchell or Hodge being selcted AA last yr.

He got 1 out of 3 right....it aint me that needs to admit when i'm "wrong"...if a guy plays himself into consideration he gets acknowledged by all of us. perhaps Chewy could start admitteing when he wrong tho and apologise to all the people that didnt believe Hodge or Mitchell would make it...they were right...he was wrong.

He gets shirty when he thinks not enough hawthorn players will get picked and then starts to repeat their names and spruiks them...aint our fault he gets brown and gold blindness. He knew it was likely Brown would be your only AA selection...but it was never going to be enough for him.

'has already been addressed'? This is the first time you've addressed it today, and you are trying to talk your way out of it. Your spelling drops away a little when you get worked up.

Chewy made an early call, "Brown is a certainty if he keeps this up" and you canned him for spruiking his Hawthorn-biased rubbish. YOU WERE WRONG. HE WAS RIGHT.

You can talk about 'playing their way in' and blah blah all you like, but the fact is that you were wrong, with a remarkably similar style of derision as what you've exhibited in this thread today.

Don't bullshit us, Bollox, I can remember reading it.

As for Hodge, that was close. He made the squad, and he can't have missed out by much.

Why the cheap shot? Have I abused you when you posted under an alias?

You think you know more about football or watch more games than me, do you?

Not about your football knowledge more about your one eyedness. You clearly watch alot of football, and you're a passionate hawker, it's more your arguments always end up favouring Hawthorn in some way.
Like your last post. I wasn't saying Bateman, Croad, Roughead and Birchall were having shit seasons, all I was saying is they don't warrant AA selection, for either form reasons or injuries (Bateman and Croad).
I could say Goodes, Mattner, and McVeigh warrant AA selection but they don't. They have had decent seasons (McVeigh awesome) but they haven't been good enough to replace those above them.
Also, can you write shorter posts because after being at Uni all day the last thing I want to do is feel like I'm reading essays again.

nnnnope not really

Just being realistic.

Been better CHB's this season ...and better "stoppers" too.

No idea why you're pushing the bloke in an AA thread...when u know there has been a far better CHB this season that has it locked up.

Kinda pointless really.

Croad has been phenominal this season, even better then his previous AA year.

McVeigh warrant AA selection but they don't. They have had decent seasons (McVeigh awesome) but they haven't been good enough to replace those above them.

If McVeigh doesn't get in and some "name" player that has had only an average year like Judd gets in, I'm gonna spew up!

AA teams are always rubbish

He pushed Campbell Brown last year, Bollox, which you canned him for (as has been mentioned numerous times now). You don't want to acknowledge that though.

Is it really so hard for you to admit you were wrong?
But WAIT! That's not all!

Last year, at the halfway mark, I also said that Mitchell and Hodge might not be selected in people's A/A teams then, but by the end of the season, I fully expected both players to push hard and make the All Australian team.

Bollox (the sorry-arsed fool) abused me and called me biased for making that call. His posts back then were remarkably similar to these latest efforts of his. Our exchange was almost identical.

As it turned out, neither Mitchell or Hodge were awarded one of the seven A/A midfielder slots, but both of them made the squad and were among the unlucky 8 midfielders who had to make way for the Geelong lovefest. Either of them could've been named ahead of Ling, for instance. It was a close call.

When i reminded him of that earlier on in this thread, Bollox (mild-mannered poster) refused to give ground on this. He said he was right. Neither Mitchell or Hodge made the team... (and therefore I'm incredibly biased.)

He really is a few floats short of the full Mardi Gras parade.

If McVeigh doesn't get in and some "name" player that has had only an average year like Judd gets in, I'm gonna spew up!

AA teams are always rubbish

Totally agree with you. People keep putting players like Judd, Brown, Milburn in because they have been in before. McVeigh, Deledio and Porplyzia wouldn't even get mentioned but they have been phenomenal this year.

Paddy,
Could you explain why you have selected Judd?

He might not be the flashy player he was in '04 and '06 but he's still had a great year and top 5 clearances, contested posession and first posessions. He's sparked Carlton comebacks, been the key in their wins and their best player in losses. He's one of the best clearance players in the league (if not the best) and a great leader for the Carlton youngsters.

Since all the Hawks are putting up random players I thought Goodes should be talked about. I know he won't get picked and he doesn't deserved to be. But, if he had played like he did in the first half of the season in the second half he would probably be in contention. This is part of the problem with the AA team. Players like Gilbee, Riewoldt, and even Bartel were well down on form but because they have stormed home they are in alot of peoples teams.
This post isn't too push Goodes for selection, it's more to show how players can be picked and forgotten based on half a season.

Selwood is another one people are considering who has been in red hot form for the last month or two but was mediocre for most of the games before that.

Selwood has never been mediocre.

Jimmy Bartel certainly struggled a bit for a while early in the year (he had a significant injury), but still managed to get his own footy and contribute.

psst Chewy...about this Croad thing and how amazing and unstoppable and completely dominant he;s been allll season.

I just satisfied my curiosity and went and had a look at the first 9 rounds of those "team of the week" threads.

Bock figured as an obvious best CHB in 5 out of 9 of the first games...pretty darn good right ?

Other KP defenders to figure stongly in the first third to halfway point as KP defenders were...

Scarlett, Hudghton, Waite multiple times...with a sprinkling of Glass and even young Nathan Brown from Collingwood for a blinda on Jon Brown.

I found Croad listed once as a back pocket in round 5 for a job on J Brown...who with hindsight turned out to be carrying an injury at the time.

But he couldnt even make CHB that week because Nathan Bock had a blinda on a very fit Matthew Pavlich. Just not quite good enough.

Sorry Chewy...you're talking out ya arse about Croad. I know it..you know it..but you're persisting simply coz u WANT him to be in consideration.

He;s been damn good second half of the season but dont pretend to me or anyone else he's been "dominant all season" or some incredibly dominant "stopper" all season. He simply hasnt and there have been far better going around this season. He wasnt even on the field due to injury for 30% of the time. All the others got a massive head start on him and they they've continiued to be just as good if not better than Croad.

Plz stop exaggerating Croad's season. Been better 2nd half of season but hardly AA material.

Croad has been unbelievable. I didnt know AA teams were based on the crappy afl Team of the Week. Good lord.

If Bolton gets in over him, it will be the biggest joke just about ever. I can handle Bock.

Really ? ...or is that u just trying to back up old Chewy ?

Eh?

I don't particularly care what Chewy says (nor what any other Hawthorn supporter says if you care to note some of my other posts).

But the fact is Croad really has been magnificent this season. For the most part I get worried when looking at our backline, and I keep thinking that sides with big power forwards will have a field day (then again I am a bit of a pessimist). Yet over the course of the year I've really become confident in Croads ability.

Bock is the obvious candidate for the starting spot this season. But Croad is more than worthy of a bench berth if we're considering a backup.

I just satisfied my curiosity and went and had a look at the first 9 rounds of those "team of the week" threads.

So, you're saying (while still not admitting you were wrong) that you are not actually basing your opinion on any of this on what you've seen him do with your own eyes, but on other people's opinions? How much of Trent Croad have you actually watched this season, out of curiosity?

Just so we can all be clear on the depth and clarity of your football knowledge here, Guru Bollox.

Jimmy Bartel certainly struggled a bit for a while early in the year (he had a significant injury), but still managed to get his own footy and contribute.

When I first heard people tout Selwood as a possible AA I thought 'double you tee eff.'

But the more I think about it the more I begin to realise it's not really out of the question - or unreasonable. He is truely a magnificent player.

(On a side note, in a season or two I think he'll overtake my fav two players outside of Hawthorn, Corey and Bartel)

Maybe mediocre was the wrong word, but I just meant he wasn't in standout AA form until recently.

By the way, in case it came across that way, I wasn't trying to bag Geelong players, you could apply the same principle to Riewoldt who was in average form at the start of the season when he was struggling with injury a bit but is storming home.

Not about your football knowledge more about your one eyedness. You clearly watch alot of football, and you're a passionate hawker, it's more your arguments always end up favouring Hawthorn in some way.
Yep, I'm a Hawthorn fan, so please excuse my bias. But it also means that I know more about the Hawthorn players than most of the ignorant morons that spew their factually-incorrect crap on these boards.

If a mad one-eyed Essendon fan bangs on about David Hille or Jobe Watson, I will allow for the fact they may be biased, but I'll also respect the fact that they watch them play every week and know more about these guys than I do.

People like Bollox, who don't watch Hawthorn play, but then act authoritive on the subject of players like Croad and Hodge are just spreading around manure.

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX said:
Like your last post. I wasn't saying Bateman, Croad, Roughead and Birchall were having shit seasons
I didn't say you were. As an avid Hawk fan who watches nearly every game live, then watches the replay once or twice, I was simply giving you the rundown on their seasons.

Maybe someone out there will read my post and think, yeah, right on, Chewy knows more about Hawthorn than XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX. Or maybe they'll say, shee-it, this Chewy is one biased mufu, can't respect anything he says.

We're just throwing our opinions out there, nothing to worry about.

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX said:
all I was saying is they don't warrant AA selection, for either form reasons or injuries (Bateman and Croad).
I could say Goodes, Mattner, and McVeigh warrant AA selection but they don't. They have had decent seasons (McVeigh awesome) but they haven't been good enough to replace those above them.
Nothing wrong with throwing names out there.

I find it piss funny that people get hanged, drawn and quartered on here for naming guys who around the mark, but maybe not in everyone's 22.

People need to realise that we're just tossing around opinions on an All Australian team.
We're not writing out a suicide note, or our last will and testament

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX said:
Also, can you write shorter posts because after being at Uni all day the last thing I want to do is feel like I'm reading essays again.
Yep, I'll try... Can't make any promises! :D

B: H.Shaw M.Scarlett T.Harley

HB: S.Fisher N.Bock L.Hodge

C: S.Thomson J.Bartel M.Richardson

HF: D.Motlop N.Riewoldt L.Franklin

F: B.Harvey B. Fevola P.Medhurst

R: D.Cox A.Cooney G.Ablett

Interchange: D.Hille S.Mitchell D.Petrie J.Corey

Croad has been unbelievable.

here's yet another hawthorn guy spruiking Croad.

Can someone show me the games he has even been considered best on goround...even close to best on ground...or simply played well ? Might help instead of just saying it.

Sorry mate...did jack first half of season whilst the other KP defenders did well.

I know he was out injured for a chunk of it but would u prefer we reduced how good the others have been simply to give Croad a chance ?

No mate...he hasnt been "unbelievable" at all. Just done his job for 70% of the season.

Not only has Bock been an obviously better CHB but he has actually been BEST ON GROUND many times also...he has been that damn good.

So kindly tell us exactly what postion u think we should all find for Trent Croad. Obviously it cant be CHB but u want to tell us he's been somehow "unbelievable" ....ok then...what AA position should we gift him to satisfy you ? Should we make one up ?

psst Chewy... about this Croad thing and how amazing and unstoppable and completely dominant he;s been all season.
I just satisfied my curiosity and went and had a look at the first 9 rounds of those "team of the week" threads. Bock figured as an obvious best CHB in 5 out of 9 of the first games...pretty darn good right? Other KP defenders to figure stongly in the first third to halfway point as KP defenders were... Scarlett, Hudghton, Waite multiple times...with a sprinkling of Glass and even young Nathan Brown from Collingwood for a blinda on Jon Brown.

I found Croad listed once as a back pocket in round 5 for a job on J Brown... who with hindsight turned out to be carrying an injury at the time. But he couldnt even make CHB that week because Nathan Bock had a blinda on a very fit Matthew Pavlich. Just not quite good enough.

Sorry Chewy...you're talking out ya arse about Croad. I know it..you know it..but you're persisting simply coz u WANT him to be in consideration.

He;s been damn good second half of the season but dont pretend to me or anyone else he's been "dominant all season" or some incredibly dominant "stopper" all season. He simply hasnt and there have been far better going around this season. He wasnt even on the field due to injury for 30% of the time. All the others got a massive head start on him and they they've continiued to be just as good if not better than Croad.

Plz stop exaggerating Croad's season. Been better 2nd half of season but hardly AA material.

Psst Bollox... about your last post. I'll let you in on a secret. Trent Croad dislocated his wrist in the opening quarter of the season and missed the next four matches. He returned in Round 5 and first game back, he blanketed of an out-of-sorts J Brown and received nominations in your precious Big Footy Team Of The week threads. Neither player were much around the action that night. Bown was possibly playing as a decoy. Which simply goes to show that your Big Footy Team Of The Week threads cannot be trusted. Opinions are like arseholes, etc.

Croady hasn't missed a beat since then. He's played in our last 13 games and trust me, he's been one of the dominant stoppers in the AFL. There was the one game where I thought he might've lowered his colours, but I tend to mark him hard. He's been well on top and in control in just about every other game. However many times you try to deny this, it will not change that fact.

You seem to have trouble understanding my previous comaparisons between Nathan Bock and Trent Croad. I conceded that Bock gets more ball, provides more rebound and will no doubt, be selected at CHB. But I simply raised the point that Ben Rutten gets the big jobs, so if it was MY side, I'd choose Croad at CHB to play on Travis Cloke and Bock in the back pocket or back flank to play on the 3rd tall, marshall the defence and provide the rebound. I'd take him in that role over Tom Harley.

Some people tend to turn their noses up at footballers who get injured and miss four games through injury. They think the All-Australian squad should be a process of elimination. Bonus points for turning up to play.

Me? I'm just interested in making sure the best footballers get selected... for my own A/A team anyway. I can't help what other people think as much as you think I'm "spruiking". If Robert Walls and Gerard Healy decide that Cam Mooney is better than Buddy Franklin, then what can I do about it?

Maybe they are reading this thread? :eek:

(Wallsy! You're a goose!)