News All things CEO and board related in here - Gaudry, Stevenson Garvey out, Kennett in

Thoughts on how jeff handled whateley on SEN? I thought he should have ignored the reference to misogyny and just stated (which he did) the concern re AFLW injury rate instead has made distraction about the tone of the question

I think he reacted quite petulantly and over the top imo. He should of just said that others were entitled to think what they like but his only concern was the ongoing welfare of the girls going forward. In saying that I also think it was an unnecessary question considering the issue had been raised over the previous two days without misogyny being mentioned so I don’t see why it was in this case just because he was born in a different era

I saw this on the GWS Board.

AFL team GWS Giants to open day care centres as alternative to gambling revenue

EXCLUSIVE, Rose Brennan, The Daily Telegraph

THE Greater Western Sydney Giants are kicking off a family friendly funding approach with the AFL heavyweights launching their own childcare centres as an alternative to the gambling revenue used to sustain other clubs.

The Daily Telegraph can reveal GWS Giants have partnered with Oxanda Education to run ‘Little Giants’ centres in Auburn and Killara with at least three more in the pipeline.

GWS Giants’ chief executive David Matthews said the partnership is a “win-win” as it raises funds for the club while supporting fans by providing in-demand quality child care.

“When this club first started we were very sincere about making sure it was part of the community — we don’t want it just to be a footy club that puts teams out of a weekly basis,” he said.

“We wanted to make sure that particularly in Western Sydney and broader Sydney we act as part of the fabric of the community. To do this through childcare is a unique opportunity.”

Mr Matthews said the club chose to open childcares as they did not want to rely on revenue from pokies given the damage gambling can wreak on communities.

Many AFL clubs, particularly in Victoria, rely on revenue generated from gaming machines.

“We don’t subscribe to that — we haven’t been in gaming we don’t intend to,” he said.

“We have noted as a board and as a club the drastic effects that gaming has, we know a lot of sporting clubs are reliant on gaming but it has very negative impacts, at times, on families.”

“That’s not to say there’s not a balanced approach to that but we think this childcare model is something that is of great community benefit and of great benefit for the club.”

Man sporting clubs rely on revenue from poker machines but GWS Giants believe day care centres is a “win-win” situation for both sides. Picture: Chris Pavlich

Mr Matthews said it was hoped the childcare centres would also boost support for the Giants.

“It’s a great thing for a lot of these families, their engagement with the Giants as a brand will be through the provision of something that’s so important to so many families — which is childcare.”

In January next year a centre is expected to open at Fern Bay, in the Hunter Region, and at Oran Park, in south west Sydney. In March 2019 another centre is slated to open in St Mary’s, in Western Sydney.

GWS Giants forward Phoebe McWilliams said she welcomed the club’s move into the childcare sector.

“It’s good for us to get fans involved with the club at such an early stage in their life, hopefully it’s something that will stick with them for the rest of their life.”

GWS Giants co-captain Callan Ward said the childcare centre’s reinforced the “community and family culture” of the club, especially in their heartland.

I applaud that sort of outside the square thinking. Family member who is an accountant recently recommended childcare centres and aged care centres as profitable businesses to consider

I used to work at a place where three clients had childcare centres and none of them were short of a quid. Not a bad venture to look at it. Just don’t let Eddie Groves run them.

I applaud that sort of outside the square thinking. Family member who is an accountant recently recommended childcare centres and aged care centres as profitable businesses to consider
Maybe we could look into Age Care and look after Burgoyne and players alike ;)

So easy for these clubs reliant on AFL hand outs to say they don’t like pokies revenue, a legal form of business.

As for Aged Care and Child Care, these are totally reliant on Government money and are structured to provide just enough to provide basic care, if you start making too much, they change the model. Good for a quick kill but I doubt they’d be great investments in the long term. Plus you have to deal so much with people that are generally unhappy when you hear from them.

So easy for these clubs reliant on AFL hand outs to say they don’t like pokies revenue, a legal form of business.

As for Aged Care and Child Care, these are totally reliant on Government money and are structured to provide just enough to provide basic care, if you start making too much, they change the model. Good for a quick kill but I doubt they’d be great investments in the long term. Plus you have to deal so much with people that are generally unhappy when you hear from them.

Reality is that pokies are also government regulated and times and attitudes are changing and it would be irresponsible of the Hawks to be not looking for alternative funding sources should the laws in relation to pokies change.

I’m not suggesting the Hawks go down either of these paths just that it’s great that the giants have looked outside the square and not just taken the easy route

Reality is that pokies are also government regulated and times and attitudes are changing and it would be irresponsible of the Hawks to be not looking for alternative funding sources should the laws in relation to pokies change.

I’m not suggesting the Hawks go down either of these paths just that it’s great that the swans have looked outside the square and not just taken the easy route

Correction it should be GWS it's their vision.

I used to work at a place where three clients had childcare centres and none of them were short of a quid. Not a bad venture to look at it. Just don’t let Eddie Groves run them.

Also good if you are politically connected and get the pollies to slide some molar your way when times toughen

The pay slave wages though

Also good if you are politically connected and get the pollies to slide some molar your way when times toughen

The pay slave wages though

Didnt know teeth were legal tender now!

A recent board or club appointment by Kennet has been made responsible for looking for alternate revenue sources. It was explained in a recent letter to members.

I think that was Kennet signaling to members and others that the Hawks too are looking for a way out of pokies revenue. Even if Kennet is a fan of pokies (as long past history might suggest) i think he is smart enough to know it is no longer a long term viable revenue source for footy clubs.

News All things CEO and board related in here - Gaudry, Stevenson Garvey out, Kennett in