Mega Thread All things Jack Watts - 2014

Viney. He could've been named Captain a year ago and it wouldn't have worried him a bit. If anyone compares him to our current captains because he's also young I'm going to climb through your screen and pimp slap you.

Viney WILL be a future captain for the Melbourne Footy Club, who knows when, but he will. My money is right on it.

I'll go out on a similarly risky limb and predict that we'll lose on the weekend.

Would anyone have thought Trengove would have struggled so badly since his 5th in the BnF in 2011?

I guess Viney's body could also fall apart. JT doesn't have Viney's personality regardless. Doesn't hurt either that Viney has a look about him that makes you want to salute him and say "sir, yes sir!" whereas JT still looks like he's 12. :)

Article about Col Garland on AFL.com.au : http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-08-24/its-my-time

COLIN Garland admits he is only now discovering what it takes to play AFL football at a consistent level.
Preparing to play his 100th game for Melbourne against Adelaide at AAMI Stadium on Saturday, the 25-year-old – who is in his seventh year at the Demons – was refreshingly honest when talking about the reason behind his rapid rate of improvement this year.

OK so there's a point to me posting this link in this thread, here it is:

Many experienced commentators have criticised the Demons for lacking leadership in what has been a diabolical season for the club.
But Garland has been the exception - he says he has really tried to put the onus on himself and the rest of the leadership group to pull the club out of the mire it has found itself in.
"It's just about being sick of where the club's at and taking more responsibility on my shoulders," he said.
"It's my time and Nathan Jones' time and James Frawley's time to really step up and be leaders of the club."

No Mention of Jack Watts being one of the boys to Stand up.

Funny that.

"It's just about being sick of where the club's at and taking more responsibility on my shoulders," he said.

"It's my time and Nathan Jones' time and James Frawley's time to really step up and be leaders of the club."

That's the difference between a leader and jack watts

No mention of 36 other blokes on the senior list as being ones to stand up.

Funny that.

Having a crack at Watts using that article is clutching at straws.
Uhh you reckon? How long has jack been at the club as opposed to Garland? Was it Jack watts that made a call about needing a selwood to stand up and be a leader? Have we not discussed this EXACT point earlier in the thread stating that it is JACK WATTS that needs to stand up instead of wondering where our joel selwood is? This Article (specifically what I quoted at the end) adresses this exact point. And how manyof those 36 other blokes have been at the club for 5yrs+ and are viewed as guys that should be leading the club?

Go back and have a Think rhaz, Jack Watts SHOULD be in the leadership group - the fact he's not states exactly why we should parts ways with him. Dean Terlich provides more onfield leadership than jack Watts, atleast Terlich (my balls) can handle playing on someone rather than just being a floater.

Garland, Frawley and Jones are all at least 2 years older than Watts, and have 30-70 more games of football under their belt.

Watts and Trengove are the same age and around the same amount of games played. Look how much Trenners is struggling in a leadership role. Not all players have to be leaders to be good footballers.

I'm not going to be concerned if Jack leaves, and i'm not defending his playing style, but I'm still maintain that you're reaching to bag Watts using that article. If you're having a crack at him, then Sylvia should cop it too. And Dunn. And Jamar.

When will we collectively come to realize that Watts is a pissweak whinger? I ****ing hate people that blame others in the workplace for their sub-par-performance.

I've heard Carlton is his preferred destination.

I'm beyond caring anymore, though.

If he wants to go to Carlton, he must really love Mick because they don't really look like making a big splash any time soon. Will need a few years for a semi-rebuild.

Disagree.

Who, though?

In all seriousness - Mitch Clark maybe.

Dawes, Garland, Jones, Grimes, Trengove are all blokes who do the right things - none of them force people to follow them.

Jack Watts yet again delivers a insipid performance against the Crows.

The end of season can't come any quicker, I just want him gone!

Who, though?

In all seriousness - Mitch Clark maybe.

Dawes, Garland, Jones, Grimes, Trengove are all blokes who do the right things - none of them force people to follow them.

How could you not follow Jonesy? Seriously, it was a SHIT thing to say by Watts and gives one X-ray like insight into the type of person he is.

He's right, we don't have Selwood but not many teams have an equivalent. We have some good leaders for mine and we'll get there. Watts doesn't want to contribute that's fine.

Sorry to intruded. But he [Watts] kicked a quarter of your team's total score, and provided you with a link man. Not sure how you could fault him.

So because Watts kicks a mear two goals; he played a good game?

I still found him very defenseless, and also soft. I probably should give the kid a break considering he still is fairly young, but in all honesty I want Melbourne to start winning games, we aren't going to win with soft blokes like him.

One day... one day you will understand that not everyone sees Watts in the same unfailingly positive light that you do.

That said, I thought he was solid today.

Get over it mate - 'fair shake of the sauce bottle'.

Firstly, I never said I thought it was anything but a good solid game, effort was there, nothing to write home about.

Also, the actual way in which I view him is completely lost in my defence of him against the regularly unfair statements about him and his character - I can understand if you think that he doesn't do a thing wrong in my eyes, but that's completely wrong.

For example, you jumped on the fact I didn't even say shit about his performance when a bloke stated it was 'insipid' - it clearly wasn't.

The minute you blokes want a reasonable discussion about Watts, I'll give it to you - fair to say that'll be it from me in this thread, because clearly its giving blokes the wrong impression.

No doubt, I think he's an incredibly talented player - I'll leave it at that.