Am I the only one who thinks the Dogs will get flogged?

That sounds like a recipe for victory.

It is - do it again and you will be hard to beat. Best defensive side in the comp has defended a 35 point lead for three quarters agains two top sides (crows, cats) in the last 2 finals, dogs lack offensive firepower to be honest would struggle to run it down.

You have to take the crowd out if the game - it will be pro Bulldogs tomorrow.

It will be a close game

If we're close enough, we'll out run them by sheer attrition

I am not sure if we have anything left in the tank - but I've said that for probably the last four weeks

Enjoy the game, may the best side win

Watching 'Bulldogs - Road to Glory' makes me want to change my allegiances to Sydney tomorrow.

If that's not what you wanted to see, the title should probably have given you some sort of idea about what it was going to be like .... doesn't sound like it was going to be an in depth analysis of the teams strengths and weaknesses ...

who're the Doggies playing? Haven't heard another team mentioned on C7 tonight.
That's why I want Sydney to flog them...

The same thing would be happening if the Saints or Dees were in the grand final playing an interstate side. It's obviously because of our premiership drought.

Going back to the OP. I agree with you, I've thought since the prelims were finalised that if the Bulldogs make the GF we could have a belting on our hands. However happy to be proven wrong

Ladder positions mean nothing this year. It's been so even, plus the extra break...both teams have played 3 tough finals. Sydney were only two games ahead, though the Dogs losing to Freo, what was all that about? I didn't see it, but I do wonder if it was a game they let slip knowing they couldn't slip down the ladder any more. Either way, finals performance, and recent encounters, in no way conclusively proves that Sydney will flog the Dogs. I'd like to see anyone who can write the Dogs off put some serious money on it, honestly.

Personally, I find it hard to pick. I expected us to despatch of the Dogs easily, but they really provided something special, something nobody expected. Ultimately there does seem to be an x-factor to all of this...it was clear that GWS was the biggest test. Hawthorn and West Coast have generally been far from the best teams in the comp, Hawthorn's ladder position flattered it, and West Coast pinched a surprise upset over the Crows during round 23 so in that respect it remains to be seen how the Dogs go up against Sydney playing with finals-like intensity.

I think it will go right down to the wire, if the Dogs can be just as efficient up forward as the Swans. If the Swans blow it out by more than about 5 goals, it's probably game over, so Dogs will need to keep in touch. If I had to pick I'd favour the Swans ever so slightly, I think the odds actually flatter them, a bit. Before the GWS game I commented that they play a similar style to GWS, who ran Sydney off their feet, matched their pressure.etc, and they've shown they can do that this finals series.

Ultimately I think the result will depend on how the teams play on the day. I think you can pretty much throw recent history out the window for this one, which makes it intriguing.

Don't think we will win but the premature celebration arguments are pretty dumb.

Look at Sydney's celebrations when Davis beat geelong. Or the hawks vs cats preliminary.

I think it WAS a great win for a team that hasn't reached the GF in 55 years...and they've every right to be elated...the fans up there created that atmosphere. Why should that make them less hungry for the big prize? I think if anything it will fuel their energy and belief - well I hope so. I live in the Western suburbs and haven't seen this much hype for a grand finalist in...forever. I do hope that translates to a phenomenal performance on the field, but at the end of the day, despite the build-up, it's still a game of footy.

My brain says they should be comfortably dismissed, but then I remember how they've played this finals series so far. They've refused to roll over. They were on the verge of gone against Hawthorn, their kicking for goal was off (which usually gets in the mind of young sides) and then they just stormed it in. Against GWS, they wouldn't go away despite not really capitalising on the early momentum. They'll push the whole way.

If that's not what you wanted to see, the title should probably have given you some sort of idea about what it was going to be like .... doesn't sound like it was going to be an in depth analysis of the teams strengths and weaknesses ...

The show is such a bad omen for the doggies. Why have a puff piece before the GF?

Win the game and then have the TV special. Just as the Dockers did in 2013 right now the Bulldogs have achieved nothing.

I hope I'm wrong but I've got a bad feeling about this.

The show is such a bad omen for the doggies. Why have a puff piece before the GF?

Win the game and then have the TV special. Just as the Dockers did in 2013 right now the Bulldogs have achieved nothing.

Doubt the players watched it mate.

Everyone talks about the Swans midfield but the Dogs are #1 in contested possession and clearances, and bat a lot deeper.

53031d02f4.png

eabb71fc46.png

?

Must say I am staggered at how many people seem to think the Dogs can win it. As a neutral, I just cant see them getting close.

The Swans midfield runs far deeper than the Dogs

What am I missing?

You are missing that the Dogs do not have a traditional team structure. They do not rely on their spine of team at all. Their focus as a team is the running game and movement of the ball. You simply are missing their strength is that they do not rely on goals from just a few players to kick a winning score.
Just like the first Carlton premiership team I watched as a kid they have great power in running players and talented ones too. The top five Swans midfielders are probably the most talented in the league but I think the depth of talent the Dogs can call on for use in midfield is the deepest I seen at the moment. From your statement above of assuming Swans runs deeper shows you are not awake to the depth of Dogs midfield. I suspect you simply do not realise how good some Dog players are yet. Lachie Hunter is a quality player. So is Toby McLean, Clay Smith and Caleb Daniel. A lot of neutrals like you slow to catch on how good some of those guys are. More are aware of talents of Bontempelli, Stringer, Libba and Dahlhaus but not aware of how good others are. I suspect you are not aware of how many avenues to goals they have due to so many talented running players they have.
I think if Swans beat them it won't be by much. Bulldogs will be very hard to stop with their running game and quick movement of the ball.

While l understand what you mean l disagree that they have achieved nothing. Making the GF is a fantastic achievement. Just making finals is an achievement not to be sneezed at IMO.

**** im sick of everyone saying "they've been the best side all year". It counts for nothing. Did it matter in 08?? 09 saints finished on top. 2011 Collingwood. 2012 hawthorn. 2014 swans. It doesn't matter who the best side is ALL YEAR it comes down to the day.
Well have a look at history sooky boy, more often than not 'the best side all year' takes the chocolates.

Out of those examples you've used I'd say just because you finish first doesn't make you the best. Geelong had the premiership experience over the saints in 09, collingwood were cooked in 11, hawthorn choked in 12 as did the cats in 08..

The difference here is Sydney are a far superior side to the dogs and have the burn of 2014 to drive them, the dogs have the crushing weight of all their supporters and expectations and have never been here before, Sydney will win and it won't even be close.

Thought the same thing last week :$. On paper they are very average but as a team they just keep winning. They have B/C graders playing out of their skin at the moment. Watching the GF marathon you realise you forget how many premiership sides have some bloke who played less 100 games and is easily forgotten yet had 1-2 season where they played like a superstar. Think the Doggies have more of these guys than the Swans.

I'm not surprised to see this thread started by a Hawks supporter....

Poor buggers must still be salty.
I can't speak for OP but do you really think hawk fans want to see a Sydney premiership?

If you go to the hawk board you'll see nothing but admiration for the dogs, just because we're being somewhat realistic about the dogs chances today doesn't mean we're 'salty'

I'm actually surprised that so many don't give the Dogs a chance. Sure it's 1 v 7, but the three wins during the finals trumps all that. The biggest hurdle for the Dogs is the emotion associated with being in such a rare situation and the immense pressure to capitilise on this unique opportunity. Ability-wise, they have a 50/50 chance today.