Analysis Why West Coast should go in as favourites

It's amazing how these facts are completely ignored by a lot of the Pies supporter on this thread. We have been written off multiple times this season due to injuries, and yet, here we are.

Can you imagine if they had lost Grundy with a season ending injury and lost Pendlebury to suspension and lost one of their best defenders early against us in the first qualifying? We wouldn't hear the end of it.

To them it seems to be: Beat Richmond on weekend = unbeatable.

Reminiscent of Demons supporters last week. As much as we told them having Darlo and Kennedy back would change the game, they wouldn't hear it, and look what happened.
Full respect for what you mob has been able to achieve this year, and my mob too, both sides hammered with injuries, both sides looked down and out at various stages of the season, yet here we both are, fact is if both our sides were at full strength their would be a massive gap to 3rd IMO, not quite sure why we're favourites TBH, looks 50/50 to me.

It astounds me how many posters are completely ignorant on this topic. Our away form is ******* BETTER than our home form, but they continue to label us as a team that can't play away.
Mate, I only just realised your colours are blue and gold.

It astounds me how many posters are completely ignorant on this topic. Our away form is ******* BETTER than our home form, but they continue to label us as a team that can't play away.

Yep. Reckon quite a few pf them haven't seen many Eagles games. I live in Melbourne and unless you have the live pass or Fox Footy, channel 7 might air a handful of Eagles games a year.

Gaff could have won the brownlow if he wasn't rubbed out and NN is the most important player to our side. How on earth are any of the players you said even comparable? Dunn is barely an AFL player (Demons didn't even want him) Scharenberg is B grade at best. If you had said Sidebottom and Grundy were out, you may have had a chance of being taken seriously.

Wait wait wait.

Dunn would dominate Kennedy? (This is the most ridiculous statement I have read this week, and I've read some doozies)

Is this real life?
Typical Eagles fan.

You guys are certs right? ?

Weather looking up albeit cold. Helps West Coast more.

Collingwood matched up well against Richmond - dominant ruck and Richmond could not exploit Collingwoods small backline.

West Coast will destroy Collingwoods small backline and McGovern will destroy Cox.

Cannot help but think Collingwood is the perfect match for West Coast. Add the disappointment of 2015 and I believe West Coast have this.

Weather looking up albeit cold. Helps West Coast more.

Collingwood matched up well against Richmond - dominant ruck and Richmond could not exploit Collingwoods small backline.

West Coast will destroy Collingwoods small backline and McGovern will destroy Cox.

Cannot help but think Collingwood is the perfect match for West Coast. Add the disappointment of 2015 and I believe West Coast have this.
You make some valid points but I don’t think that 2015 will have any bearing on the outcome at all.

Gaff could have won the brownlow if he wasn't rubbed out and NN is the most important player to our side. How on earth are any of the players you said even comparable? Dunn is barely an AFL player (Demons didn't even want him) Scharenberg is B grade at best. If you had said Sidebottom and Grundy were out, you may have had a chance of being taken seriously.

Wait wait wait.

Dunn would dominate Kennedy? (This is the most ridiculous statement I have read this week, and I've read some doozies)

Is this real life?
Dunn is a solid defender and underrated.

I disagree. You cannot say 2008 never had an effect on the cats. And 2012 certainly had a huge effect on the Hawks.

Losing hurts and 2015 is pretty fresh

Yeah but what about the saints. Played in 3 grand finals on the trot and didn’t win any. Swans 2016 as well. Pies 2003. Depends on the team I guess.

Typical Eagles fan.

You guys are certs right? ?

Where did I say that? And are you aware of the context? It was in reference to a poster saying Pies had like for like in injuries and if Dunn played he would easily account for Kennedy. Typical Pies supporter ignoring the facts of the post and thinking all their players are elite A graders.

I agree with you mate and to be honest I find in mind boggling how strong a favourite the Pies are.
It seems the Vic media set the odds as they all pick the Pies yet for some reason I not only think we will win but we will win comfortably. I know all GF teams will say this but the Eagles have a look in their eyes that they will die for this.
I think we can half the midfield battle and get enough supply to cause the Pies no end of issues with our forward line, JK, Darling, Cripps, Lecras, Rioli and Ryan. It’s a lot to look after.
Our defence is also well equipped.

Obviously the location of the game sway the odds as I think at Optus the Eagles would be $1.30 favourites.

Anyway I hope it’s a great game and no excuses here for either team. Enjoy your week mate and good luck to the Pies, just not to much luck aye.

1.30 at Optus??? After being incredibly lucky to scramble over the line against the pies there only 3 weeks ago. Had the pies put their 3rd quarter domination on the scoreboard it was over at 3/4 time. Well done to the eagles for rallying in the last quarter . But this is a line ball contest regardless of where it’s played

• West Coast are not afraid of the MCG.
Proven time and again this year they can win on the G, against quality system. Whichever way you boil it down they've done it and with their number one ruck going down in their last G outing. This team does not hold fear of the hallowed turf like they did in 2015.

• The back 6 and the front 6.
Although these were well handled by the Pies opposition last time around there is no doubt it is a dangerous proposition. These are arguably the best two key forwards in the comp, coupled with as I said earlier those uber dangerous forwards around them. At this point I'll also add the Gov, Hurn and Barrass who have to face an in form Collingwood forward set up - with confidence I'm sure.

• The list stacks up.
If you take a look at the list it is better than their opponent, this is the one area where West Coast have a clear advantage. It is the system of their opponent that will get in the way.

• Summary
To be honest I don't see either team taking the foot off the pedal, Collingwood will bring their trademark pressure and it's a question of whether or not West Coast can get off the chain through their own pressure and that's key - West Coast have to win the coalface ball to give their transition game a chance. It's not as unlikely as most would think, like I said this mid is highly underrated.I know that's a big ask given the blue chip Collingwood mids though.

I have to tip my own team here being a heart thing, but my head says this is very very hard task. The two keys

• Collingwood will have to continue their pressure game (likely)
  • West Coast will have to break down that pressure (highly possible)
In any case, in my opinion going on these speculations West Coast should deservedly go in as favourites

Do remind us of the games they played time and again this year against a team with a quality system at the G that they won?

cannot believe Pies are 1.68

Eagles should be favourites at around 2.00 and Pies at 2.70 or something

its eagles redemption from 2015 and its their flag to lose, they match up terribly well against the Pies are who missing their 3 best BIG defenders... and Eagles have the best tall forward combo in the league...

Analysis Why West Coast should go in as favourites