Expansion And the first team to die in the Gold Coast graveyard is . . .

Brisbane Broncos average 2007 34,008

Gold Coast Titans average 2007 18,352

North QLD Cowboys average 2007 20,105

North kangaroos average on the Gold Coast 200711,319

Brisbane Lions average 200728,848

What do you expect when a melbourne club plays at carara - It's only 6,000 short of capacity and there was no Gold Coast side representitive!
Pretty Promising I'd say. Plus the Lions are already beating 2 QLD rugby sides and are closing in on Broncos. The NRL should play Cronulla V Paramatta in Adelaide or Perth and see if they can get 1,000.

If AFL can get 11,319 to watch North Melbourne and some other Victorian side, imagine what they would get if Gold Coast was playing. At least 20,000 going on those figures! WOW

Thanks for putting those figures up.

What do you expect when a melbourne club plays at carara - It's only 6,000 short of capacity and there was no Gold Coast side representitive!
Pretty Promising I'd say. Plus the Lions are already beating 2 QLD rugby sides and are closing in on Broncos. The NRL should play Cronulla V Paramatta in Adelaide or Perth and see if they can get 1,000.

If AFL can get 11,319 to watch North Melbourne and some other Victorian side, imagine what they would get if Gold Coast was playing. At least 20,000 going on those figures! WOW

Capacity of Carrara is 12K-13K max. Any more than that and you're moving into sardine territory. I reckon a GC side will get just below 20,000 in the first year. - Pretty good though. I certainly don't think attendance will be an issue.

You mean when the Kangaroos were trying to sell themselves to the Gold Coast? :rolleyes:

Pretty Promising I'd say. Plus the Lions are already beating 2 QLD rugby sides and are closing in on Broncos.

Yeah, the Lions are beating two QLD teams who happen to have a smaller capacity, you seem to forget the Gold Coast Titans had one crowd of 42,030 for a one off game played at Sun corp, have the Lions in QLD ever had that many turn up to watch them?

No they haven't.

You should worry about the effect the GC Titans could have on the Lions this year when they move into their new stadium, it could be Broncos #1 Titans #2 and the poor little bad news bears #3.

The NRL should play Cronulla V Paramatta in Adelaide or Perth and see if they can get 1,000.

Cronulla Vs NZ Warriors Perth 2005

13,293, bigger than any game the AFL got on the Gold Coast last year, plus the NRL game had stuff all promotion, the AFL suffocated everyone will promotion.

http://stats.rleague.com/rl/crowds/2005.html

Oh, so they didn't play the Lions up there huh?

Kangaroos Vs Brisbane Lions 11,133
Kangaroos Vs Adelaide 11,178
Kangaroos Vs Carlton 11,647

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/crowds/2007.html

How many Free tixs to get that many in huh? :D

No problem, thanks for looking like a goose again.

It depends on your interpretation of a graveyard?

How about this for a NSW graveyard:-
League
Annadale ?
Cumberland ?
Glebe ?
Hunter valley
Illawarra
Newtown Jets
Norths
University

Soccer
Parramatta
Marconi
Newcastle Breakers
Sydney Olimpic
Wollongong
Sydney United
Nothern Spirit

Baseball
Sydney Blues

Just to name a few. :D
I predict that at least four more teams will fail in NSW within the next five years. :thumbsu:

League
Adelaide Rams
Annadale ?
Cumberland ?
Glebe ?
Hunter valley
Illawarra
Newtown Jets
Norths
Western Reds
University

Soccer
Parramatta
Marconi
Football Kingz
Newcastle Breakers
Sydney Olimpic
Wollongong
Sydney United
Nothern Spirit

Baseball
Sydney Blues

I predict that at least four more teams will fail in NSW within the next five years. :thumbsu:

The Reds were from WA, the Kingz from New Zealand. Bit harsh comparing a city to a state. Could take out another 4 or so teams that are not Sydney, but Newcastle etc...

League
Adelaide Rams
Annadale ?
Cumberland ?
Glebe ?
Hunter valley
Illawarra
Newtown Jets
Norths
Western Reds
University

Soccer
Parramatta
Marconi
Football Kingz
Newcastle Breakers
Sydney Olimpic
Wollongong
Sydney United
Nothern Spirit

Baseball
Sydney Blues

League

Adelaide Rams Based in South Australia :D

Annadale 1910 lasting only until 1920

Cumberland 1908 lasted for only 9 games

Glebe 1908 to 1929

Hunter valley SL team created so SL could kick off season

Illawarra Merged with St George, still have juniors teams

Newtown Jets still play below NRL level

Norths still play below NRL level

Western Reds, will be back this year below NRL level

University 1920 till 1939, still play RL in a lower division

Yeah, the Lions are beating two QLD teams who happen to have a smaller capacity, you seem to forget the Gold Coast Titans had one crowd of 42,030 for a one off game played at Sun corp, have the Lions in QLD ever had that many turn up to watch them?

No they haven't.

You should worry about the effect the GC Titans could have on the Lions this year when they move into their new stadium, it could be Broncos #1 Titans #2 and the poor little bad news bears #3.
Was that 42k crowd be in Brisbane against Brisbane? and an AFL match with the Lions vs GC team would draw at least that many and probably more if a stadium could hold it. Of coarse the Lions haven't had that many people at a single game, there isn't an oval stadium with over 40k in QLD.

Cronulla Vs NZ Warriors Perth 2005

13,293, bigger than any game the AFL got on the Gold Coast last year, plus the NRL game had stuff all promotion, the AFL suffocated everyone will promotion.

http://stats.rleague.com/rl/crowds/2005.html

Oh, so they didn't play the Lions up there huh?

Kangaroos Vs Brisbane Lions 11,133
Kangaroos Vs Adelaide 11,178
Kangaroos Vs Carlton 11,647.

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/crowds/2007.html

How many Free tixs to get that many in huh? :D
Unless the fans wanted to be human sardines in a stadium that is at 3rd world standards thats about as much as Carrara holds.

While the AFL is expanding by another 2 teams into NSW and QLD whats the NRL doing?

West Brisbane- Failure
Wellington- Failure
Sunshine Coast- Failure
Central Coast- Failure

I really hope the NRL attempts WA or SA again so they can put their league to even more shame. You see the difference is buddy AFL is already in NSW and QLD so I don't see any problems going in for seconds. Rams and Reds could of been an excuse to call your league National but you blew it so now all you can do is watch your league crumble to metropolitan status.

Stiff Shit. Bad Luck. Tough t***ies.

While the AFL is expanding by another 2 teams into NSW and QLD whats the NRL doing?

West Brisbane- Failure
Wellington- Failure
Sunshine Coast- Failure
Central Coast- Failure

Um yeah...if they want a team, they need to do the work. These are all areas the AFL wishes they could have teams in, but never will.

I really hope the NRL attempts WA or SA again so they can put their league to even more shame. You see the difference is buddy AFL is already in NSW and QLD so I don't see any problems going in for seconds. Rams and Reds could of been an excuse to call your league National but you blew it so now all you can do is watch your league crumble to metropolitan status.

Stiff Shit. Bad Luck. Tough t***ies.

Grow up! Talking out of your arse again with no facts whatsoever. You can follow the Perth Reds next season in the Jim Beam cup, and hopefully they can build enough support over the next few years to create the grassroots support to sustain a team. Maybe you want to start doing some research, and get out from that rock you are hiding under.

Was that 42k crowd be in Brisbane against Brisbane?

St George Illawarra and another home game they took to Lang park was against Brisbane, I missed out on that game because Brisbane were away but at home if you know what I mean and I completely forgot about it.

and an AFL match with the Lions vs GC team would draw at least that many and probably more if a stadium could hold it. Of coarse the Lions haven't had that many people at a single game, there isn't an oval stadium with over 40k in QLD.

They don't fill it to capacity now, they don't even get close, before saying a Gold Coast will do anything, shouldn't you wait to see if they even get a team first?

How do you know the people of QLD will like the team, it could end up like the Bears.

Unless the fans wanted to be human sardines in a stadium that is at 3rd world standards that's about as much as Carrara holds.

Didn't stop over 20,000 neutral RL fans filling it over the last couple of seasons even without Extra seating and a local side.

Oh wow! Really? Well I guess the AFL have a team in Canberra since the Swans reserves play in the ACTAFL.

Maybe you want to quote the whole paragraph next time rather than take what I said out of context. But then again, that would you mean you have nothing to say.

Here is the rest of my post to refresh your memory...

...and hopefully they can build enough support over the next few years to create the grassroots support to sustain a team.

Maybe you want to respond to that? No? I thought not.

On the topic of Gold Coast Galaxy, they're not going to fold.

http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2008/02/22/8000_gold-coast-news.html

The Galaxy's unique funding structure was one of the reasons it got the nod.
Unlike most A-League franchises, which rely on wealthy benefactors, the Galaxy's financial cornerstone will be property developer Gold Coast Sports.
"Collectively we came up with the idea of a different model," said Mr Taplin. "We will have a development company that makes profits and deeds those profits to the club."
"It will fund any shortfall the club will have in its early years, but we will also have the normal revenue drivers such as sponsorship, ticket sales, etc."

+1

Unlike most A-League franchises, which rely on wealthy benefactors, the Galaxy's financial cornerstone will be property developer Gold Coast Sports.
"Collectively we came up with the idea of a different model," said Mr Taplin. "We will have a development company that makes profits and deeds those profits to the club."
"It will fund any shortfall the club will have in its early years, but we will also have the normal revenue drivers such as sponsorship, ticket sales, etc."

Maybe, maybe not. Anything with the smell of property at the moment though doesn't necessarily have a rosy future.

Have you heard of the US?

Home price plunge accelerates
http://money.cnn.com/2008/02/26/real_estate/Case_Shiller_year_end/index.htm?postversion=2008022610

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- The decline in residential real estate accelerated though the end of 2007, and home prices in 20 key markets plunged 9.1% for the year, according to a survey released Tuesday.
The S&P Case/Shiller Home Price index showed its largest annual drop in its 20-year history. By comparison, during the 1990-91 recession, home prices fell 2.8%.
Prices dropped faster throughout 2007 with the index recording a 9.1% year-over-year drop in December.

Do you know why we had a recession in 1990-91-92?

Yep! Bingo. Because the US recession dragged us down with them. And things are now significantly worse in America than they were just before that recession.

Have you heard of Christopher Skase - Quintex? Huge Property Company on the Gold Coast, riding a seemingly never-ending property boom? Sound familiar? Then it goes bust on the back of the US recession and drags down the whole area.

Have you heard of Centro, MFS? Proprty companies in dire straits in Australia - already!

Sure, we have China now, but are you aware how much China relies on the US to export all its toys and assorted junk to keep itself propped up?

Have you ever heard the expression,

"When the US sneezes, the rest of the world catches a cold?"

Well, it looks like the US is about to have a full-blown case of pneumonia! God help the rest of us in 2009-2010 when this starts really putting the pressure on down here.

By the way, UK is already experiencing house price deflation as well. As is Spain - all thanks to the US. Europe is in trouble.

We'd be fools to think we're going to just sail through, no worries. Japan is on the brink of recession, inflation is raging in China, and getting uncomfortably high here.

Relying on a property company from the end of this year going forward, seems to be a recipe for disaster in my eyes.

Having said all that, the next few years may not be the best time for expansion for any codes - but the fact is if another code is doing it, you simply have to follow suit no matter what.

ie Brisbane Bears (1987) soon followed by Brisbane Broncos (1988). Right into the headwinds of a deep recession.

Maybe, maybe not. Anything with the smell of property at the moment though doesn't necessarily have a rosy future.

Have you heard of the US?

Home price plunge accelerates
http://money.cnn.com/2008/02/26/real_estate/Case_Shiller_year_end/index.htm?postversion=2008022610

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- The decline in residential real estate accelerated though the end of 2007, and home prices in 20 key markets plunged 9.1% for the year, according to a survey released Tuesday.
The S&P Case/Shiller Home Price index showed its largest annual drop in its 20-year history. By comparison, during the 1990-91 recession, home prices fell 2.8%.
Prices dropped faster throughout 2007 with the index recording a 9.1% year-over-year drop in December.

Do you know why we had a recession in 1990-91-92?

Yep! Bingo. Because the US recession dragged us down with them. And things are now significantly worse in America than they were just before that recession.

Have you heard of Christopher Skase - Quintex? Huge Property Company on the Gold Coast, riding a seemingly never-ending property boom? Sound familiar? Then it goes bust on the back of the US recession and drags down the whole area.

Have you heard of Centro, MFS? Proprty companies in dire straits in Australia - already!

Sure, we have China now, but are you aware how much China relies on the US to export all its toys and assorted junk to keep itself propped up?

Have you ever heard the expression,

"When the US sneezes, the rest of the world catches a cold?"

Well, it looks like the US is about to have a full-blown case of pneumonia! God help the rest of us in 2009-2010 when this starts really putting the pressure on down here.

By the way, UK is already experiencing house price deflation as well. As is Spain - all thanks to the US. Europe is in trouble.

We'd be fools to think we're going to just sail through, no worries. Japan is on the brink of recession, inflation is raging in China, and getting uncomfortably high here.

Relying on a property company from the end of this year going forward, seems to be a recipe for disaster in my eyes.

Having said all that, the next few years may not be the best time for expansion for any codes - but the fact is if another code is doing it, you simply have to follow suit no matter what.

ie Brisbane Bears (1987) soon followed by Brisbane Broncos (1988). Right into the headwinds of a deep recession.

Good post. It would be interesting to see a response from someone in the know at the Titans.

+1

Because it's unheard of for a property development company to go under. :rolleyes:

Fair dinkum, I reckon this increases the risk.

well looks like we'll have a winner in the NBL team. Brisbane is in trouble with its owner in the shit, sydney rumoured to be wrapping up as early as tomorrow, and i imagine shortly after the singapore/second melbourne team and the rest of the NBL.

Don't count them out just yet, we could have a rump of a league left, maybe 5 or 6 teams?

Gold Coast, Cairns, Townsville, Perth, Adelaide, Melbourne Tigers?

lol.

If interest rates hit 7.5%, NBL is finished. Just watch the RBA do it. Inflation! Inflation!

Expansion And the first team to die in the Gold Coast graveyard is . . .