Andrew Lovett vs Colin Sylvia

I don't think you and I are watching the same Sylvia.

I don't think so either, I'm the one without rose coloured glasses on.

This is a rediculous comparison, Lovett is one of the best outside midfielders in the competition. Always has been but has never delivered consistency. He hasn't had a quiet game this season.

Pace: Lovett > Sylvia
Effective Disposal: Lovett > Sylvia
Inside 50: Lovett > Sylvia
Bounces: Lovett > Sylvia

Seems to me like Lovett runs faster than Sylvia and has the ability to carry the ball and hit a target better than Sylvia as evidenced by the number of bounces and the effective disposal.

If there's something Sylvia does better than Lovett I'd like to know, Sylvia has kicked 1 more goal than Lovett whilst Lovett has played midfield and Sylvia at half forward as well as midfield.

There's going to be a rude awakening at the MCG in 2 weeks time, Lovett will carve up and Sylvia will be lucky to get a touch in the middle. If Sylvia gets a touch or does well against Essendon it'll be from the forward line.

There's certainly not a large difference in effectiveness.

Lovett is no better kick than Sylvia and Sylvia is certainly a better mark. Sylvia is tougher and whilst not as quick he's certainly got good pace.

Quite reasonable to compare the two. Which has been my premise all along. And given one is 23 and the other 26 I'll take the young one.:thumbsu:

There's certainly not a large difference in effectiveness.

Lovett is no better kick than Sylvia and Sylvia is certainly a better mark. Sylvia is tougher and whilst not as quick he's certainly got good pace.

Quite reasonable to compare the two. Which has been my premise all along. And given one is 23 and the other 26 I'll take the young one.:thumbsu:

Younger does not equal better.

There is a large difference in kicks to handpass ration between the 2, Lovett kicks the ball 60.44% of the time compared to Sylvia at 51.87% and still Lovett has a greater effective disposal.

Who says Sylvia is a better mark? How many marks have you seen Lovett drop? Lovett is arguably one of the best handlers of the ball in the game.

Lovett is that good and only his opponents give him due credit, the footballing public are simply dirty on him for his off-field antics (with good reason).

Lovett wins games off his own boot, the argument should stop there.

Who says Sylvia is a better mark?

Basically everyone. Sylvia can take a contested mark as well as anyone in the comp. He's amazing above his head for his height, and being so strong he's impossible to shove out of the contest, and takes a fair share of screamers as well.

If you haven't seen much of him, I'd compare him to a young Brad Johnson with slightly less classy disposal, but more aggression.

Basically everyone. Sylvia can take a contested mark as well as anyone in the comp. He's amazing above his head for his height, and being so strong he's impossible to shove out of the contest, and takes a fair share of screamers as well.

If you haven't seen much of him, I'd compare him to a young Brad Johnson with slightly less classy disposal, but more aggression.
How good was that contested mark he took yesterday against Maxwell, Maxwell was on the ground for around 2 minutes while Sylvia just trudges back like nothing happened and kicks the goal. :thumbsu:

Basically everyone? You mean Melbourne supporters?

Lovett never drops a mark. Sylvia has played 3 decent games, it was no more than 4 weeks ago that everyone was questioning why he was still getting a game, commentators in particular.

Basically everyone? You mean Melbourne supporters?

Lovett never drops a mark. Sylvia has played 3 decent games, it was no more than 4 weeks ago that everyone was questioning why he was still getting a game, commentators in particular.

No I mean everyone, the guy is freakishly good overhead for his size. I don't know what else to tell you, but he takes screamers, wins in 1 on 3 situations etc.

Even during his shitter games, he's still stood up and surprised with some ripper marks. He's a high flyer and a great contested marker.

That is why everyone is saying he's a better mark than Lovett.

Sylvia has always, always had sublime skills and a great all around game. He was just very unfit and didn't seem to apply himself.

He's a longer kick, better mark overhead, better tackler, more physically imposing and beats women to a slightly lesser degree than Lovett.

Can't wait for them to start booting guys like you who spill that libelous crap off BF. I hope you get your ass sued next time you say shit like that, at hte very least leave it for Bay 13.

Jesus, it was a joke.

What was libelous about it? If you can explain it, I'll edit it. And should all the other AFL players who gave him shit about it on national television get sued over it too?

Jesus, it was a joke.

What was libelous about it? If you can explain it, I'll edit it. And should all the other AFL players who gave him shit about it on national television get sued over it too?

It's not a joke to accuse anyone of an illegal act, especially one they have never been convicted of. You might think you know what happened but you don't. It is tantamount to accusing Buddy of drug taking. Riewoldt did tread the line with what he said, but I have never heard another player say it, or be picked up by on field mirophones if they did. But if you purposely attack his character, joke or not, you put yourself in that position. What do you think would happen to a journolist if they published that in a story? and used it was a joke as an excuse. If a player made a remark on THe Footy Show or somethng like that, he would be in a world of shit also. You are not the only one guilty of doing it, I have just grown completely sick of it.

And don't call me Jesus.

Sylvia, no question.

The only thing Lovett could beat him in is a running race, and this is bigfooty not bigrun last time I checked.:thumbsu:

It's not a joke to accuse anyone of an illegal act, especially one they have never been convicted of. You might think you know what happened but you don't. It is tantamount to accusing Buddy of drug taking. Riewoldt did tread the line with what he said, but I have never heard another player say it, or be picked up by on field mirophones if they did. But if you purposely attack his character, joke or not, you put yourself in that position. What do you think would happen to a journolist if they published that in a story? and used it was a joke as an excuse. If a player made a remark on THe Footy Show or somethng like that, he would be in a world of shit also. You are not the only one guilty of doing it, I have just grown completely sick of it.

And don't call me Jesus.

I'm not a player, and I'm not a journo. I'm a guy cracking a joke on the internet. I didn't actually say he beats women, I just said that Colin Sylvia beats less of them, slightly less. Anyway, I'll edit my post if you think it'll get BF in strife. Jeez.

From now on I will just say something like And jeez I hate Andrew Lovett because of that thing we all know he did but can't talk about - is that better?

Think this could go on back and forward for ever. Obvouisly Essendon supporters are goin to say Lovett and Melbourne supporters are goin for Sylvia.

At the moment i would say Lovett has been more consistant (he is 3 years older). I do think they are different types of players. Both have and will become very important players for there teams.
Call me biased but if i could take one at the moment i would take Sylvia, not only is he 3 years younger but players like him (medium sized with great hands who can play in any position) are few and far between.
Dont get me wrong i think Lovett is a gun and would love to have him, but players of his type (quick half forward/ wingman) are a lot more common than a type like Sylvia.

Lovett is your typical dime a dozen, soft, receiving, all flash and no substance footballer.

Colin Sylvia is the total package.

Speed, strength, amazing overhead mark, booming kick, ferocious tackler...

Now that his body is right, we are seeing what he is capable of.

I am disgusted he is being put in a poll with Andrew Lovett, who is a complete spud.

Colin Sylvia is now elite, and should be compared to guys like Ablett Jnr.

I am disgusted he is being put in a poll with Andrew Lovett, who is a complete spud.

Haha you got me there for a sec, please dont even bother posting and
embarrassing yourself. You believe lovett is a spud because im sure spuds can run the whole ground with blistering pace and kick miraculous goals. I'm also sure spuds are capable of single handedly lifting there team and winning a game of there own boot.

Sylvia has been good for the last month but that doesnt make someone elite they have to be consistently good for long period of time e.g ablett jr.

LMAO. Elite? Aren't you a little ahead of yourself. He needs to do what he has been doing in the last few weeks, wek in, week out, for a few seasons yet to ve classed as elite. You can call him a player finally realising his potential, and BECOMING a very good player. Similar to Winderlich for us.
But by no means is he close to elite yet. I rate Lovett higher, not just through bias, but also because he is getting better all the time as well. But again, I would not call Lovett elite either, but so, so far from a spud.
That you would suggest he is shows you either know nothing about him, or you are just a flog.

Good?

He has been unbelievable the last month.

Playing to a level that Andrew Lovett and many others are simply not capable of.

I love how he's carrying you guys over the line for all these wins he's been getting....hang on a sec.

Chris_Finch, don't make me post on the "Unofficially Official Bay 13 'Distance Yourself' Thread". To call Sylvia elite is lowering you to the level of those few Collingwood supports who lable any flash in the pan player elite.

Sylvia is in a rare vein of form. I wouldn't be making a fuss until he's been consistent till the end of the year. Although I think Sylvia has the tools to become a better, more damaging, more important player than Lovett, Lovett has the runs on the board.

There's going to be a rude awakening at the MCG in 2 weeks time, Lovett will carve up and Sylvia will be lucky to get a touch in the middle. If Sylvia gets a touch or does well against Essendon it'll be from the forward line.

LOL.

Classic.

Good to see you are covering all bases.

If Sylvia kills you up forward then it means nothing right? LOL

Classic, thanks for the laugh.

Not hard to stand out in that crappy list I guess.

Your username says it all.

Irrespective of the quality of a list, it takes immense talent to perform the way Sylvia has over the past month.

It has been a month that most players can only dream about.

I love how he's carrying you guys over the line for all these wins he's been getting....hang on a sec.

Another farcical comment from an Essendon fan. As good as Colin has been, there is only so much one player can do. Melbourne is developing a young team which still needs a great deal of work and as such, results have not been good. To make a comment such as this is ridiculous.

Andrew Lovett vs Colin Sylvia