Anthony Stevens on Open Mike

Agreed, but really it wouldnt be the first time someones wife has been poked by a best mate, has been happening for hundreds of years & will go on happening. Everyone should have kissed & made up instead of decimating a football club.
As it was stated by Pagan at the time.......this is a situation where everyone will lose here. Individuals, as well as the club.

It almost brought the foundations of the club down.........the clubs greatest player ever, at the peak of his powers. It took the wind out of everyone involved at the club.
and you wanted it to be a simple kiss and handshake affair??

I think time has clouded your memory mate.

I'm guessing the difference is Kellie said sorry to Stevo and Carey didn't.

Seems ludicrous he takes his 'wife' back but doesn't even speak to his mate, when both did the same thing. She let him down far more than Duck did, but if it works for him and can play happy families despite what happened then that's his call.

The club definitely handled it extremely poorly IMO but that's in the past so time to move on, seems the interview will do little further than just open wounds.

Hope it is about Stevo the player, not the off field crap as we was a tough nut and quality mid.

Dude I normally respect what you write but that is crap. Carey and Stevo were about as close as two blokes could be. You absolutely do NOT do that to a mate. Yeah she was at fault to, but she doesn't rep this club and never has. Stevo has remained silent on this until now, dragging it through the media constantly??? Please.

The shitstorm in the media where this was dragged out into the public light, they could have sat behind closed doors and decided to keep it in-house to save all their reputations and Carey would be traded away. They could have said Carey needed time away from the game and could have just been sent overseas until the end of the season. Did everyone need to know about all this shit?

Refusing to go to club social events because Carey would be there, dude, you don't have to talk to him. The angst in the game vs the Crows. It wasn't a good look for anyone. The club has been made a laughing stock over this and it could have been avoided, didn't the dogs have something similar happen that was handled behind closed doors?

I agree with you 100% it was a shit thing to do, but if you think pledging a commitment before god is on the same level as a commitment two blokes have as mates then you are dreaming. Half the blokes you think are your mates would cheat behind your back if your missus initiated it and pushed it. It happens all the time. Men think with their dick, they are stupid.

I am in no way saying that Carey was innocent or hard done by, he was an idiot, he deserved what he copped. However, Stevo has said before he wanted to put it behind him and move on, how is this moving on?

I just don't think it should have ever been made public, if anything, for the sake of his kids. Imagine you are one of the kids, do you really need this shit coming up again?

He copped it because he let everyone down
I am in no way saying that Carey was innocent or hard done by, he was an idiot, he deserved what he copped. However, Stevo has said before he wanted to put it behind him and move on, how is this moving on?

If Fev got $10K for sitting on the Footy Show panel for one night, I would imagine some $$$ has been dangled for Stevo?

He copped it because he let everyone down

If Fev got $10K for sitting on the Footy Show panel for one night, I would imagine some $$$ has been dangled for Stevo?

Eh, if he is putting his kids through this for a bit of cash then he has lost some of my respect... not that it would mean much to him I guess.

I'm guessing the difference is Kellie said sorry to Stevo and Carey didn't.

Seems ludicrous he takes his wife back but doesn't even speak to his mate, when both did the same thing. She also let him down far more than Duck did, but if it works for him and he can move on and play happy families despite what happened then that's his call.

The club definitely handled it extremely poorly but that's in the past so time to move on, seems the interview will do little further than just open wounds. Hope it is about Stevo the player, not the off field crap as we was a tough nut and quality mid.

Saints, I think the club did their best at the time, to did the right thing........Carey had to leave. Unfortunate, but there was no other solution.

The shitstorm in the media where this was dragged out into the public light, they could have sat behind closed doors and decided to keep it in-house to save all their reputations and Carey would be traded away. They could have said Carey needed time away from the game and could have just been sent overseas until the end of the season. Did everyone need to know about all this shit?

Refusing to go to club social events because Carey would be there, dude, you don't have to talk to him. The angst in the game vs the Crows. It wasn't a good look for anyone. The club has been made a laughing stock over this and it could have been avoided, didn't the dogs have something similar happen that was handled behind closed doors?

I agree with you 100% it was a shit thing to do, but if you think pledging a commitment before god is on the same level as a commitment two blokes have as mates then you are dreaming. Half the blokes you think are your mates would cheat behind your back if your missus initiated it and pushed it. It happens all the time. Men think with their dick, they are stupid.

I just don't think it should have ever been made public, if anything, for the sake of his kids. Imagine you are one of the kids, do you really need this shit coming up again?
This argument drives me mental.... Yes she did the wrong thing, yes he should be more pissed with her.... And for all you know he was! But that doesn't mean he can tell Wayne to **** off, and want nothing to do with him again. The rest of your post, yeah fair enough, Stevo is a big boy let him do what he wants, for all we know he might need the coin.

I don't think said player is rolling in spare coin Tas, as another said everyone has their price.
You could look at his decision based on therapy for example?.......nobody knows exactly what is going on in people lives......I know I don't know. But can you say you know all the details in his decision? probably not.

He would have discussed this extensively with close friends and family asked for their feedback and thoughts. I would assume this would have been a lengthy process to get him on the seat .

As it was stated by Pagan at the time.......this is a situation where everyone will lose here. Individuals, as well as the club.

It almost brought the foundations of the club down.........the clubs greatest player ever, at the peak of his powers. It took the wind out of everyone involved at the club.
and you wanted it to be a simple kiss and handshake affair??

I think time has clouded your memory mate.

At the peak of his powers? Yeah nah, the Duck was cooked.

Carey copped more because he was the figure with profile.

Had it been Kellie with the profile she'd have been torn to shreds.

Yep it takes two to tango and she was in it just as much as Wayne was. And I find it sexist that the bloke cops all the wrap while the bird slinks away relatively unscathed. Imagine if it were the other way around. We'd have feminist groups going troppo. Fair farking dinkum society shits me.

Now that's absolute crap. Say the name Wayne Carey, and people all over the country remember a brilliant footballer who did a few things off field that tarnished his reputation. Say the name Kellie Stevens, and all people remember is one thing. She did not get off lightly. Many women have had affairs. Very few have had their name and reputation tarnished so publicly.

^^^ Agree with most people on this one. It's Stevo's call and all that and if it's his way of moving on then ok.

Carey has moved on from this he has his partner kids he's media jobs etc.
I've only seen one snippet of the interview and in that part Stevo looked really angry in a few questions about Carey....
I mean it was what 15 yrs ago and it takes two to tango. If that was me i woudn't have taken her back sorry to say...
Tas said Men think with their dicks and he's spot on on... Look like i said Carey has moved on and is doing a good job in the media and if this is Stevo's way of having his say then ok fair enough but it's actually making Stevo look like an angry man for something that happened so long ago.
Yes he was a champion on the field and all that but just imo a" leapord never changes it's spots" he decided to take her back and if she does it again Thats on Stevo imo......

He played a half decent game against StKilda. He then had a season to rest and he was rubbish at Adelaide. If you really think there was another MVP season in him, you're dreaming.

Of course he would have told you otherwise at the time...which in itself is the root of the whole problem. ..no body told Wayne anything.

Dude I normally respect what you write but that is crap. Carey and Stevo were about as close as two blokes could be. You absolutely do NOT do that to a mate. Yeah she was at fault to, but she doesn't rep this club and never has. Stevo has remained silent on this until now, dragging it through the media constantly??? Please.

Indeed, and that is why Stevo was the best man at Carey's wedding and Carey was the best man at Stevo's wedding.

Except neither of those things happened.

Stevo and Carey were NOT best mates. They just played in the same team. They were very different characters. Many of the long time team mates had grown up and settled down by 2002. Carey was still an immature and sociopathic playboy, and the rest of them were starting to become a little tired of his antics. Carey and Stevens were certainly not as close as two blokes could be at that point in time. That doesn't excuse Carey of course. It's just a common and incorrect narrative that always annoyed me.

Anthony Stevens on Open Mike