Are Melbourne the most boring side to watch in the AFL ?

• Yes

Votes: 46 58.2%
  • No

Votes: 28 35.4%
  • Don't know

Votes: 5 6.3%

I don't think Melbourne are boring, just to predictable and their gameplan is caught out too often.

The most boring team ever was West Coast in the 90s - their defensive game was fascinating for the first year or two, but as it dragged on through the 90s become more boring and predictable ... and by the decade's end their "powerhouse" status was gone. But it just shows, you can still be a pretty dour and boring team - and still have finals success and win premierships. 1992 Geelong were like the most exciting team in years, breaking records left, right and centre ... come Grand Final day, the boring Eagles defence totally broke them down.
I find Collingwood at the moment, similar to the Eagles back then ... (duh Mick Malthouse :p ) ... although unlike the Eagles who choked in 1991, Collingwood have choked in 2 consecutive Grand Finals.

so the bummer boi thinks the eagles were boring? wellllll...at least they seized their opportunity when they were on fire to annexe two flags between 91 and 94....and the Bummers? 99-03 one lousy flag and no chance what so ever of grabbing one in the next decade:D :D :D

Originally posted by jikost
How stupid are you Bogan Blue?

You pass your judgement on the Melbourne team based on one season. I agree that our performances this year were very average but to say that we are boring is simply ludicrous.

Using your logic, Carlton aren't certainly boring (when we defeated Essendon both times in 2001 against the odds, and '99 was a treat too). He was basing his judgement only on this year... but as you said, you can't judge a team on one season. But in this case, we are.

like to have a wager on that bogan boy, your pathetic team of rejects are without doubt the most mundane bunch of ******s running around, tell me who got flogged by about 120 points in the last game , the thing is you don't know how their skills are because they don't touch the ball.............Dave

If we're so crap, then why were we a chance against your mob? At one time we did lead by 30 odd points. Sure we lost, but we did have a chance. What does that say about Melbourne? See, in this scenario, you can't judge a team from only one game although it can show how bad we can really be if we put our minds to it. Just like your trolling, eh?

Originally posted by Thrawn
Remind me... how many times have you beaten us since 1897?

Oh, that's right:
Melbourne -84.
Carlton - 106.

hahaha.

Tosser.
Oh yes, Carlton beat us in Rd 7, 1899. Boo hoo.

Carlton have been our bitches for some time.

As for the most boring side, Richmond. I thought everyone enjoyed Carlton getting spanked back to the stone age. At least we have some exciting players like Houlihan, Fevola, Koutoufides (it's good for the game if he plays very well... show me a Melbourne player who could produce that much excitement among it's supporters when in full flight).

Kouta playing well alone is perhaps more exciting than watching Melbourne this year, and Kouta DID have a good year, but not his best.

Originally posted by Demon37
Oh yes, Carlton beat us in Rd 7, 1899. Boo hoo.

Carlton have been our bitches for some time.

Not really... you see, the head-to-head ratio is in OUR favour. Why restrict the time-line to your favour? I'm using ALL of it. Overall, you are our bitches... from the beginning mate. The competition didn't start in 1997, overall we have more wins against you. More wins... so you don't have bragging rights.

Originally posted by anduril
so the bummer boi thinks the eagles were boring? wellllll...at least they seized their opportunity when they were on fire to annexe two flags between 91 and 94....and the Bummers? 99-03 one lousy flag and no chance what so ever of grabbing one in the next decade:D :D :D

You really are delusional.

More chance of us winning a premiership than your bunch of hacks.

Back to the point.

Melbourne are pretty straight-forward and predictable, but, not boring and that is their problem. If they could find a alternative than just "kicking it to Neitz", they'll improve.

Originally posted by dees 4 life
You have no idea and the worst part of it is your support carlton. Must be exciting watching your mockery get mauled every week by 100 points. In 2000 we were playing great footy and it was great to watch, especally when we beat your mob in the semi i think it was. Must be excitting down at carlton watching them cheat their way through the 90's.
Now tell me...Were you one of the many Dees members who voted in favour of the Hawks-Dees merger a few years back? Now that must have been exciting.

Originally posted by Hornet
Now tell me...Were you one of the many Dees members who voted in favour of the Hawks-Dees merger a few years back? Now that must have been exciting.

It would have been more exciting than that post anyway.

What M29 said. Boring club with delusional fans but both Geelong and Carlton were much more boring to watch this year. However 2002, especially the final against the Crows, the Dees played some very exciting footy with the likes of Yze and Johnstone firing.

Originally posted by Hornet

No i cant say i was ever in favour of the merger. I dont think to many of our fans would have voted for the merger when you think about it.

Originally posted by dees 4 life
No i cant say i was ever in favour of the merger. I dont think to many of our fans would have voted for the merger when you think about it.

I was there at the time and 90% voted NO, but it had been stiched up by a few board members, but if Hawthorn had of voted for it, would have gone to court and reversed for sure......Dave