Are We a Finals Side?

Lol. Wrong again. Without the Tassie Government grant you would have posted a loss. Perhaps you should stop ultra-flooding and your games might attract better crowds and TV ratings. Remember the Hawks V Saints game. Anyone who managed to sit through 4 quarters of that game deserves some financial compensation from the AFL. It was a truly painful spectacle. :)

How much did your members pay to you get get belted by 100 points?

The saints game was 1 game of footy.

what has posting a loss without the deal got to do with being financialy stable before we made the deal?

Just to clear up the title, this thread has nothing to do with us making finals next year or not. It's just a straight question of me asking you 'Do you think that we rise to the occasion in finals like situations?'.

Now, I do know that we have never made the finals with the list we received in 2005, but it is interesting to see that we have won 8/9 NAB Cup games, much like a finals series. I do know that the AFL Finals series and the NAB Cup games are completely different circumstances, but when we play the elimination style games, we seem to really lift and play fluent team footy.

Your thoughts?

Pagan fielded his strongest possible side in every single one of his NAB cup matches, whilst the opposition generally rested and experimented. dont read too much into them.

what has posting a loss without the deal got to do with being financialy stable ...

Well, if you're relying on a Government Grant to remain viable, that's not exactly stable. Government grants are usually short term things. Despite Jeff's Froth and Bubble, you Club is still a commercial basket case, relying on tax-payers dollar to delay the Dees merger. :)

Back to the topic of this thread (although this is quite amusing)...

Are you a finals side? NO! Mainly due to your little, if any depth...therefore any injury to any key player and it's good night blue boys, ONCE AGAIN!

You guys are kidding yourself if you think otherwise and for the record, dawkthorns list has a lot more class and is a lot more advanced than juddton...

I can see a lot of 'blue' blues come sept '08!

Hawthorn have the youngest team in the competition.

More talented? Now that is ridiculous.

Fevola and Judd are the only stars in your team.
Youngest doesn't mean they are any good.

Its something used to excite the supporters, but just because you have young players doesn't mean they are going to necessarily be good or bad, they are just young.

Good sides have mature 22s, so the youngest list talk is rubbish really, it depends on the actual players you have.

WRONG.. From The Age today...

"...official AFL statistics obtained by The Sunday Age this week can end the argument — with an average age of 22 years and 146 days, Carlton will be the youngest club in 2008. But is the label of youngest a good thing? In Carlton's case, young also means inexperienced. The Blues have no player over 30 — Jason Saddington, who just turned 28, is the eldest..."​
The Hawks have a large cohort of oldies, an extreme reliance on Franklin, suspect defense, and have now hit the top-up recruitment button. Hawks will do a Freo 2007 in 2008. :)
which oldies?

And we've never traded away first or second round picks so I'm not sure how that is topping up when you aren't giving anything away in terms of youth.

Back to the topic of this thread (although this is quite amusing)...

Are you a finals side? NO! ...

Richmond have been a successless mess for 28 consecutive years, and Miller's incompetence has given you yet another solid bottom finish in 2007. That's the disaster you should be focussing on i.e. when will the Terry-Miller nightmare end. :)

To think we 'missed out' on Wallace.

Yeah. He's been a complete disaster. But the Richmond Football Club have destroyed a truckload of promising player and coaching careers. Those lucky few that manage to escape (e.g. Ottens, Roden), can get their career's back on track.. During the Sheedy, Pagan sacking period, he was even baiting the Tiges to pay him out and terminate his contract. It was kinda sad. :)

Richmond have been a successless mess for 28 consecutive years, and Miller's incompetence has given you yet another solid bottom finish in 2007. That's the disaster you should be focussing on i.e. when will the Terry-Miller nightmare end. :)

Once again, back to the topic of this thread....:rolleyes:

No, and you are no where near it...

At least the might RFC army know exactly where we're at and are ready for the slow climb up the ladder...

You, your magician fans (ie, now you see us, now you don't) and your little italian 'mafia' cheer squad on the other hand...:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I look forward to your magical dissappearance once again come the later rounds of season '08!!!

Lol. Clarkson's bizarre, high-procession, ultra-flood tactics, have been borderline ineffective. The recent finals series told us that minus Franklin, your forwardline is very ordinary. Little wonder why Roughead and Boyle were put up for trade. This could explode and go pear shaped, with the hatred between Kennett and Clarkson simmering in the background. :)

Thats real sharp mate! Disposal count for our round 12 game against your mob was, Hawks 366, Blues 293. Only 73 more yet we pasted you by 100 points, 13.6 disposals per goal :thumbsu: to your 24.4:thumbsdown: Even Geelong averaged 17.4 disposals per goal in their GF paste of PA.

Our forward line is very ordinary without Franklin hey? He's a very important member of our forward structure, along with Boyle and Roughead and Williams, remember him? We have guys like Thorp and Dowler to come. We have the likes of Croad, who kicked 3/4 and Ladson 3 goals against you. Even Hodge kicked 4!

As for being a finals side? Stranger things have happened, and IMHO, 8-12 next year. Judd will have an impact and Fev will be the beneficiary of Judd moving the ball from the centre. 2009 you would hope to cement a top 8 spot.

IMO - injuries will be the key. Whilst we have good depth in the midfield our defence will be tested by the power forwards of Hall, Brown, Lynch, Lloyd etc. Any injuries to the likes of Setanta, Thornton & we will be stretched. Similarly Fev will need to have an injury free run, as I can't see any of the other forwards being a 40+ goal contributor & any side needs that at least 2 forwards in that bracket to be a finals contender.
No doubt if we remain relatively injury free ( or a couple of minor injuries) then we can threaten for 6-8th spot.
If you look at last year most "experts" did not pick Port, Colliwobbles or the Hawks for the top 8 due to their lack of depth & amount of youth. Therefore IMO there will be 2 or 3 sides this year that will have a good run & some of the younger players stand up to make the difference. This year we will need the likes of Hampson, Kruezer, Gibbs, Grigg, Hartlett, Jamieson, O'Hailpen X 2 etc to step up to assist Judd, Stevens, Murphy, Fev, Waite etc make the top 8. Can't wait to see the improvement.

Once again, back to the topic of this thread....:rolleyes:

No, and you are no where near it...

At least the might RFC army know exactly where we're at and are ready for the slow climb up the ladder...

You, your magician fans (ie, now you see us, now you don't) and your little italian 'mafia' cheer squad on the other hand...:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I look forward to your magical dissappearance once again come the later rounds of season '08!!!

How about you perform your own magic act and disappear from this board.

thanks parrot for getting me to register with Big footy!!

You are a TOOL!

You talk about the hawks not being financially viable how about those mighty blues??? If I recall you guys ran to the AFL asking for financial assistance! and then were saved by Mr Pratt, if he didn't come on board who knows where you guys would be, so before bagging others look at your own backyard first....

As for your football team, can you please remind how many spoons you've recieved in the last 5 years?? I recall you guys might have 3 no.1 picks, I wonder how you got them, I believe you need to finish last to receive them, correct me if I'm wring?!

So Mr Parrot try learning how to say "hello, I'm a loser I'm a loser"

thanks parrot for getting me to register with Big footy!!

You are a TOOL!

You talk about the hawks not being financially viable how about those mighty blues??? If I recall you guys ran to the AFL asking for financial assistance! and then were saved by Mr Pratt, if he didn't come on board who knows where you guys would be, so before bagging others look at your own backyard first....

As for your football team, can you please remind how many spoons you've recieved in the last 5 years?? I recall you guys might have 3 no.1 picks, I wonder how you got them, I believe you need to finish last to receive them, correct me if I'm wring?!

So Mr Parrot try learning how to say "hello, I'm a loser I'm a loser"

So, what you are saying is you registered with BigFooty just to come in here and abuse one of our posters and belittle the CFC?
Is that right or is that wring?
Either way I doubt you will be around for very long.

Nice one Bee, except for the fact that you know fully well Parrot is talking verbal plop to get these guys wound up and really does deserve a bucket load back. So harden up mate.
As for Carlton, we don't need to insult them or bag them, they provide comic relief for the rest of the AFL all by themselves. Your President, not that ours can keep his mouth shut, but at least he's not a crook! Dummy spitter Fevola, love seeing a grown man go back to being a 12 year old, or maybe his mind is only that of a 12 year old who knows. I'm just spewing you guys got rid of fat boy Lance, now Dew will get all the ribbing, but unlike Lance he will actually train somewhere other than Chapel St cafe's to get his fat off! Then my favourite, Judd, gee he must have had one part of his body his Mrs couldn't touch for weeks because every one at CFC had their mouth around it taking turns to get him to sign there. What a great 'personality' (of a brick in poo) Juddy has. Also love his 'team first' approach where he screws the Eagles to fulfill his own interests. That's one top bloke you've got there.:thumbsu: Oh one more question, has carlton ordered their 'tanks' yet? Due to arrive in August 08 like the 'tanks' they had this year aren't they? In summary, draft picks again for Carlton not finals.

You are an absolute f****** wa**er! I don't care about red cards or anything.

Our list management off the rails? We have twice the talent you have.

Ineffective tactics? That is why we finsihed 5th.

Minus Franklin? We managed to beat you by 100 points without him. And btw he played the finals.

Roughead was not put up for trade! What the f*** are you talking about?

Kennet and Clarkson have a great relationship.

Geez you are delerious you Cartlon supporters.
Congrats, you beat us by 100. Not sure if you realise but that isn't that greater acheivement! I don't have to say it for everyone to know Carlton have been an under performing side for the last few years mate.