Atmosphere at the soccer better?

the FA - "Football Association".

Australian Rules deserves to be called "football" in Australia as it was the first football code played here. Who cares what they call it overseas. No different to what happens in the USA with the NFL and soccer.

It would be 500 years, if at all, before it would be called 'football' in Sydney.
'soccer', league and union all have prior claims to the title here. It's 'aussie rules' in Sydney.

The passion comes from the years of frustration of many soccer fans not having a team of their own to support and only monoethnic teams such as South Melbourne and Melbourne Knights.

Soccer/football has always had a big following here, not quite mainstream but more than a niche, you only have to look at the amount of EPL, Serie A and La Liga jerseys you see on the street. People have always followed the big leagues and the world cup. The problem here in Australia was the poor admin of the league and sport in general. They didnt know how to appeal and market the game to Australians. The A League has changed all of that, its much more mainstream and professional and it shows.

The Victory represents ALL fans of the world game in Melbourne and has given them a chance to come out and support what they have been craving. Some say the team might be "plastic"(ususally disgruntled South Melbourne propaganda) but the support and passion is real for the reasons mentioned above.

Gotta say, you've done your homework. One man's impression of who wheres a soccer jersey down the street is fantastic indication of who is a die-hard soccer fan, and who isn't.

Victory is a franchise designed to make money and win silverware. A team, or a club, is something that has been around for a long time, has tradition, and also trys to win silverware. The key difference being tradition, and not a manufactured sense of pride.

You can bag out South Melbourne, and other local clubs all you want. But they have a decent following. South Melbourne more notably has a fan base to rival a majority of clubs in either code.

If you want to talk about soccer, drag your arse over to bigsoccer.com. This is just a hunch, but I'm sure its about soccer. It looks the same as the design here so I'm sure you'd feel right at home.

Like my god, what dip**** with enough free time comes to an AFL forum to argue about soccer. Do you even know what common sense is? :rolleyes:

I couldn't give a rats arse what came first in the grand scheme of things, soccer, or AFL or the location and the time. Who ****ing cares that much to argue about something that is already there? Whats it going to change? I like soccer - I have my favourite side, and I like AFL. What the hell are we arguing for?

do you ever get this passion at the footy hours before a game?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uf90Urwx3T4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MdbphEC7Rwc

Would you get this many AFL fans travel to a game in Japan?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLBs3xPjddA
And even if you did(which you wouldn't) they wouldn't make an eighth of the noise they did.

Soccer (as its referred to recently by Beckham and also Max Biagi) is boring - simple. You can refer to your passion and masses of lemmings copying each other worldwide all you like, doesnt change the fact the game is boring. In, fact it is the boredom that leads to the so-called atmosphere, not the game. We all know that, you know that - thats why you've posted here. Soccer fans constant bagging of the atmosphere at AFL is laughable and irrelevant to the game itself. You want chanting and singing - go to a show. You want crowd violence and lemmings jumping up and down and clapping above their heads go the soccer. You want sport, dont waste yer time on soccer.

AFL crowds up 20% on last year and will break 1 million by round three.

No doubt, soccer people will employ a conspiracy theorist who will preach that these crowds are fabricated with the intent undermine soccer.

At this rate, 7 million for the h&A season is possible.

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is the crux of the issue. AFL attracts crowds that soccer can never possibley hope to. Soccer is a second tier sport is this country and all this talk about atmosphere is soccer fools trying to make themselves feel better.

*sigh*

This is why I don't bother to post my own opinion.

You do realise that these 2 sports are not really competing due to being in different seasons?

No doubt, soccer people will employ a conspiracy theorist who will preach that these crowds are fabricated with the intent undermine soccer.

At this rate, 7 million for the h&A season is possible.

Right thats really smart of you. Why don't you take a look at the title of this forum? Now go back and have a look at how it started? It started with AFL supporters saying that the atmosphere at the footy is better than the atmosphere at the soccer. All this talk about soccer being boring is just AFL supporters trying to make themselves feel better.

AFL these days is a ****ing soap opera. You just need to look at the endless off-field dramas that mask the game itself and those stupid channel 10 ads. Easily half of the football media reports crap that is irrelevant to the game itself. Example, Mike Sheahans article during the summer about soccer supposedly being too 'ho hum'. How often do you see a World Football journo write an article putting down AFL? They don't, because its stupid and childish, just like these one-eyed AFL supporters that start these petty arguements.

^^^ Get your hand off it mate. Even the boss of FFA said publicly just after the world cup that the other football codes should be worried and 'normal programming will not be resumed'. Can't remember the AFL or NRL bosses ever making such narky remarks about soccer.

No doubt :D

Right thats really smart of you. Why don't you take a look at the title of this forum? Now go back and have a look at how it started? It started with AFL supporters saying that the atmosphere at the footy is better than the atmosphere at the soccer. All this talk about soccer being boring is just AFL supporters trying to make themselves feel better.

AFL these days is a ****ing soap opera. You just need to look at the endless off-field dramas that mask the game itself and those stupid channel 10 ads. Easily half of the football media reports crap that is irrelevant to the game itself. Example, Mike Sheahans article during the summer about soccer supposedly being too 'ho hum'. How often do you see a World Football journo write an article putting down AFL? They don't, because its stupid and childish, just like these one-eyed AFL supporters that start these petty arguements.

Well spoken.

This thread has just turned into a pissing contest between the extremes of both codes.

You have much hate in you - I don't blame you considering your club is a basket case.

If you dislike AFL so much go jump on soccer's band wagon. At least in soccer their is a team with Melbourne in their name which actually makes a profit.:cool:

^^^ Get your hand off it mate. Even the boss of FFA said publicly just after the world cup that the other football codes should be worried and 'normal programming will not be resumed'. Can't remember the AFL or NRL bosses ever making such narky remarks about soccer.

The FFA have no hope of being in the same league as AFL. They try to make these big statements to highlight how tough they are and that they intend to shake the sporting foundations of this country.:p

AFL will likely exceed 1 million in crowd numbers in round three - the first time ever. Comparing soccer to AFL is like comparing an ant to an elephant.:D :D :D

Do you guys think the soccer ever caught on in melbourne. Essendon get better crowds than a victorys average game against freo. And most of the melbourne victorys games are in prime time. This game was sunday arvo.

And the blokes on SEN reckoned soccer had taken over melbourne

Soccer didnt catch on in melbourne

The FFA have no hope of being in the same league as AFL. They try to make these big statements to highlight how tough they are and that they intend to shake the sporting foundations of this country.:p

AFL will likely exceed 1 million in crowd numbers in round three - the first time ever. Comparing soccer to AFL is like comparing an ant to an elephant.:D :D :D

I wouldn't be so confident. The AFL is doing well, but head office is worried.

The fact is the FFA HAS shaken the sporting landscape. Instantly creating a comp with crowds of up to 50K a match, out of nothing is nothing short of remarkable. What's even more remarkable is the sponsorship interest it now attracts. The deal with Nike, apparently the biggest sporting deal ever for nike in this country, is just one surprise. Any business up against Lowy, even in sport, should be concerned. It's also no coincidence that Buckley now CEO's the FFA.

It's easy to rubbish soccer now, and make comparisons now, but in the future it may be very different.

All this talk about soccer being boring is just AFL supporters trying to make themselves feel better.

No , personally for me , the game of soccer is boring,boring, boring to watch .
That's not to say I've had the odd social kick around from time to time .
I personally like the contact sports to play and watch .
I'll watch AFL , GAA , NFL , RL and RU .But soccer -no thankyou .

And I don't need to feel better . My team , the AFL and Australian Football generally is going well .
.:)

Don't feel obliged to reply , because obviously there are people who feel the exact opposite .

Not sure if this link has already been posted in this thread.....

EVERY football club seeks the spotlight, St Kilda appears to want a new stage.

Inspired by the animated tribalism that made so many of Melbourne Victory's biggest games at Telstra Dome over the summer a boisterous experience richer than the actual play itself, the Saints are expected to introduce a series of theatrical touches to their first night home game, against Carlton in round six on May 4.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/saints-to-light-up-dome/2007/04/04/1175366325775.html

Do you guys think the soccer ever caught on in melbourne. Essendon get better crowds than a victorys average game against freo. And most of the melbourne victorys games are in prime time. This game was sunday arvo.

And the blokes on SEN reckoned soccer had taken over melbourne

Soccer didnt catch on in melbourne

Bull**** scare tactics, designed to gather replies from people like the ones on these forums. Comments like those are designed to get people to ring up and say how they love AFL and hence make everyone feel more secure. A team which avergaes 30,000 compared to 10 teams which average that much is NOT taking over anything!

Soccer cannot take over in Melbourne, but it can steal market share from the AFL, this is what they are worried about.

Personally I love watching the Blues week in week out and dont want to see AFL destroyed by anything.

What amazes me though is the level of hatred towards soccer by many on here, including some very racist remarks. League and Union are rival codes yet I dont see anyone on here starting topics like this one for those sports. Seems to me like there are a lot of rednecks on here who hate soccer because of its ethnic tag.

What is it about ethnics and the 'victim' mentality?

It's the same with the Canterbury-Bulldogs in the NRL. They are violent, aggressive and love to cause trouble at the match - yet when these thugs get plastered on television it becomes:

"Oh why us, those pigs are racist - everyone is against us, why are they picking on poor innocent us?"

"What do you mean I couldn't light up half the southern stand with a flare, I could do that in -insert eurotrash nation here-"

"That bloke was injured BEFORE I got to him waahhh wahhhh" etc.

Well arent you a racist?

you wonder why "ethnics" (as you put it) claim to be picked on due to their background, take a look at your own racist comments towards people of european origin and then have a think

The A-League and Soccer in general suck. If Soccer people are only going on about the atmosphere that means that Soccer doesn't have anthing else going for it, now does it?

Soccer, the A-League and the riots from these Soccer games can kiss my arse.

stop comparing a-league and afl. its 2 different sports...

Whats next, your going to have a go at 10 pin bowling cos AFL is better?

p.s i know all these postings are old, just having a squiz now

It's easy to rubbish soccer now, and make comparisons now, but in the future it may be very different.

So lets talk about soccer taking over football in the future, WHEN it happens. What I'm hearing at the moment is a lot of speculation; that somehow one Melbourne team drawing 40,000 crowds corresponds with 16 AFL clubs drawing 35,000 week in week out, and usually more.

Footy is king right now.

Here we go again. This thread will never die, just repeat the same old points with new entrants.....

Round 1 - AFL negatives:

Game can't grow past Australian shores - only ****y set-up games that mean nothing

Nobody overseas cares - no AFL team can get sponsorship outside Oz

Boring comp - same teams, same blokes playing, every friggin year - what's new?

Oval ball - promotes luck. Get a lucky bounce then you get the ball - there's no skill in that. Work for the ball like they do in soccer.

Harder game - soccer's a harder to get to the top b/c there's more players globally

AFL is a soft comp b/c it relies on free to air TV to get popularity. A-league does fine without any soft free-kicks from free to air. Look how much marketing the AFL is getting. Soft.

AFL bandwagoners in QLD and NSW. People only turn up while their team is winning. See the memberships going down for these teams. They'll keep going down, while Road and Sydney FC are rising.

The Grand Final is full of bandwagon poeple who don't actually follow the teams playing. If so, why were there 90K at last year's GF, when the memberships of the teams are lower

As a player, you get more money being a soccer star, so why try and be a fish in a small pond like the AFL. Get tough and compete with the big boys on the global game.

As a spectator, AFL tops lok odd to wear - you seriously couldn't wear them socially. Soccer tops are much cooler. Look better on the chicks.

More to come later.......

You have much hate in you - I don't blame you considering your club is a basket case.

If you dislike AFL so much go jump on soccer's band wagon. At least in soccer their is a team with Melbourne in their name which actually makes a profit.:cool:

getting a bit personal dont you think?

For a long time AFL has been number 1 to me and soccer number 2. I was just pointing out that everyone has been saying that soccer is boring and that soccer supporters should get over the fact that there is a good atmosphere at the games, when really isnt that what this forum was originally about? People comparing the atmospheres of the two games? Everyone starts saying how 'boring' they think soccer is, so i simply said what i think is wrong with the AFL, and why it has made soccer look better for me personally.

And when I said that "All this talk about soccer being boring is just AFL supporters trying to make themselves feel better", it was actually taking the piss out of those people who said that "All this talk about soccer having a better atmosphere is just making soccer fans feel better about their game being boring". Im sorry some people couldnt see that.

And if the FFA said that the AFL should be threatened by the growing popularity of soccer, they are simply marketing the game by talking up the code. They arent putting the AFL down like AFL media and fans alike have been doing to soccer.

I think this arguement is getting a bit tired and should be put to rest.

Here we go again. This thread will never die, just repeat the same old points with new entrants.....

---

As a spectator, AFL tops lok odd to wear - you seriously couldn't wear them socially. Soccer tops are much cooler. Look better on the chicks.

You seriously would want to wear a sporting shirt socially? Maybe that's the thing to do in Adelaide, or around public housing hot spots, but it's considered to be about as socially attractive to be decked out in a ratty Man U top as it is to be dressed down in a dirty West Coast jumper.

Sporting wear should only be worn at the game. I'm not against either sport, soccer or Australian Rules, but that is one thing I will not tollerate, thinking it's cool to wear sports shirts socially! :p

Round 1 - AFL negatives:

Game can't grow past Australian shores - only ****y set-up games that mean nothing

Nobody overseas cares - no AFL team can get sponsorship outside Oz

Boring comp - same teams, same blokes playing, every friggin year - what's new?

Oval ball - promotes luck. Get a lucky bounce then you get the ball - there's no skill in that. Work for the ball like they do in soccer.

Harder game - soccer's a harder to get to the top b/c there's more players globally

AFL is a soft comp b/c it relies on free to air TV to get popularity. A-league does fine without any soft free-kicks from free to air. Look how much marketing the AFL is getting. Soft.

AFL bandwagoners in QLD and NSW. People only turn up while their team is winning. See the memberships going down for these teams. They'll keep going down, while Road and Sydney FC are rising.

The Grand Final is full of bandwagon poeple who don't actually follow the teams playing. If so, why were there 90K at last year's GF, when the memberships of the teams are lower

As a player, you get more money being a soccer star, so why try and be a fish in a small pond like the AFL. Get tough and compete with the big boys on the global game.

Football IS growing overseas. There was an international cup last year.

AFL clubs are sponsored by companies that are based overseas. LG is an example.

You do realise that it's a skill to know which way the ball will bounce?

There are about only 16 premier football clubs in the world. There are dozens of premier soccer clubs. It's harder to get to the top of football because there are less teams at the top.

AFL is marketing so much because it can actually afford to :eek:

Supporters in QLD and NSW aren't bandwagoners. Whenever a sporting team is down then crowds will likely be down as well. That's a part of life. Perth Glory averaged about 7000 people at their home games in 06-07 - Are they bandwagoners aswell?

You do know that you don't have to be a member to be a supporter of a club? The people at the GF weren't just there for the sake of it.

Soccer players are the most overpaid people in the world. Soft.

So now you're saying the attire of soccer players makes soccer a better sport? You're deluded.

Soccer sucks.