Review Autopsy v Cats

Come on, be better than that. Don't accept excuses. And they're excuses, not reasons.
Sorry mate. Absolutely reasons not excuses. And I'd rather look at things realistically and historically than tell a second or third gamer to **** off because they couldn't back up after a trip to Cairns against a mature side.

I'm staggered at the loss being blamed on a lack of key defenders. I would hazard a guess that at least 50-60% of Geelong's scores came from them pushing harder forward than we pushed back, particularly after turnovers. They got us over the top regularly. A reliable key defender would have helped (although I'd be curious to know who people think this magical KPD on our list is...) but I don't think it cost us the game. I would blame poor decisions (sorry Beveridge but I really disagree with your views on Crameri - one of the worst decision makers in our team under pressure; his heavy midfield split does not work), poor turnovers, a dysfunctional zone, poor defensive running and complete and utter dysfunction around the half forward line way before I would a lack of key defenders. Their second and third key forwards combined for only two goals.
Roberts as a KPD and Roughy in the ruck and we'd have been a lot better off. Maybe 9+ points better off.

Lets be honest here, we have been iffy for a while now, maybe playing like we do and getting over the line just reinforces the 'shell be right' mantra. PLaying poorly and winning doesn't hide that you played poorly, they would be well aware of it, but nothing gives a kick in the ass like a loss. This was coming and no point acting like no one here saw it coming if we continued to turn up with 30% of the energy we are prized for.

Agree. And the energy that we were prized for at the beginning of the season will inevitably tail off with a young team as the season progresses. We've done well to hang in as long as we have and it still may not be over. Plus we've got a look at everybody on the list excepting 2 players (I think).

Oh no. Kobys got a stress fracture in his heel! How long do they take to recover? From LB presser

Can take a while... Anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks depending on the severity

It's a meh feeling for me right now... Losing isn't something to be happy of, but if we only lost by 8 points playing a bad game it isn't all doom and gloom.

1. Contested marking non existent. Outmarked on many occasions - Geelong forced us into mismatches and our talls / forwards drop so many marks. We just did not attack the contest with any urgency.

2. We have too many players who do not handle the ball cleanly.

3. We did not do enough to guard their players who got forward of the contest at stoppages. We seem to play Russian roulette at centre bounces, and if we fumble, we find ourselves chasing.

4. We are too slow. Balance is not right. Motlop showed us up.

5. Caleb Daniel will be a beauty.

6. Too few doing too much.

7. More basic mistakes from a team that has been over rated.

The footy I saw today reminded me of the Macca days, where, if an opposing team is disciplined and quick enough to cover the angles to hem us in, and pressure our ball carriers so they have no room and nowhere to kick, we will revert to the ring a rosie handball game and kick it anywhere in hope.

Jong would give us spread even if his ball handling skills are no better than some in the team already

Yes, and ...?
People have suggested the game was lost at the selection table because we didn't select enough key defenders. I disagree - in an ideal world the situation you've described would occur. But Roberts is injured. We can't lose it at the selection table if the guy touted as the 'solution' can't be selected in the first place.

I'm worried teams have worked out how to shut us down.
Remember with the St Kilda and Carlton wins how they shut down our scoring but we found out a way to win?
Geelong almost shut us down the exact same way that they did, but in this game we lost and they won because they're a better team than St Kilda and Carlton.

Still 6th on percentage, if Collingwood win well drop to 7th but doubtful we can drop out of the 8 after this loss

People have suggested the game was lost at the selection table because we didn't select enough key defenders. I disagree - in an ideal world the situation you've described would occur. But Roberts is injured. We can't lose it at the selection table if the guy touted as the 'solution' can't be selected in the first place.
It was very much a decision to go with Talia vs Hawkins and play Roughy in the ruck, or go Roughy vs Hawkins and go Campbell in the ruck.
Assuming the coaches though that Roughy would do a better job in the ruck than Campbell, they obviously also thought that the difference between Roughy and Talia vs Hawkins was greater than the difference between Roughy and Campbell in the ruck.

It was a gamble, and it probably didn't pay off. Roughy didn't have that great of a game, not necessarily because Hawkins directly thrashed him, but he just didn't seem comfortable back in defence. He cost us that first goal of the match with that terrible kick among other things - if Talia made that kick, he would have been slaughtered by this board. Campbell had to get subbed off (probably the plan from before the game) because he's not a fit guy who can run off the game - and Redpath probably would have been the one who would have gotten subbed off instead. So not only would have Talia (as much as he's been out of form) most likely played a better game than Roughead, Roughead would have played a better game than Campbell, and we would have had a better last quarter because we would have had Toyd in the goalsquare and Redpath on the pine, not Redpath in the goalsquare and Toyd rucking.

Let me just say.
We lost by 8 points. Away from home, no home crowd, to a team that had a player returning (Duncan) who it could be argued is a bigger influence than Selwood.
Some of the reactions here are a bit overboard. We matched the bookie's like perfectly - we didn't play any better or worse than people thought.
Sure, there's aspects of the game that we need to work on - that early/middle period of the third where we didn't convert general play and geographical dominance to scoreboard pressure - but there's also other positive factors. Daniel's playing his third game and we almost take it for granted, he played a ripper game. Dale looked decent when he got involved, Prudden, Boyd actually rucked okay and it's a big ask for him to do that. We were missing a player in Minson who actually had better games the last couple of weeks than people realise. Koby etc. was also out. Finals is still very much in our hands, win the games that we should (Essendon, North, Brisbane) and we'll still make finals.

Perspective people.

I don't think people are massively bothered about the result, it's the performance. Plus Geelong aren't really that great, are they? Game was there to be won.

I was frustrated during the game, but I'm over it now. Doesn't mean I can't share those frustrations here, does it? Less than half our 22 even played a role today, so it's probably alright to question the team selection, decision making and general performance.

Having said that, we are in a great position and we would probably all have taken going 4-1 after the bye. Big few weeks ahead that will tell us where we're at.

Review Autopsy v Cats