Round 4: Changes v Pussy Cats

I'm in the Richards in for Poulter camp, with no other changes.

I'd play Ed on Cameron. Although he is kpf height, he really plays as a flanker.

Averages less than 1 contested mark per game at Geelong but kills his opponent on work rate and gut running. Would blow Buku up.

My starting match ups would be Jones to Hawkins, Richards to Cameron, Khamis to O.Henry, Duryea to Stengle.

I thought Buku has been very good these last two weeks after a so-so effort in Round 1. I am not sure he can go with Cameron at this stage of his development.
So for me it’s Richards and JOD in and Duryea and Poulter out. ( Baker to sub)
Duryea did nothing wrong but I have doubts about how he would go against younger faster forwards next week.
Miers or Stengle could absolutely take Duryea to the cleaners

When was the last time they actually sang it? They chant it - no they recite it - quickly, as flat and passionlessly as they can. Like a bunch of schoolboys reciting their 6 times tables. It has turned into one of the least listenable club songs in the AFL, including the train wreck club songs of the new expansion clubs.

I agree ours is a dirge and Gold Coast's is just as bad in a different way, but GWS's is quality. Doesn't it just make you want to give glory to Mother AFL, collectivise the means of production and help them achieve their five-year plan?

Left field ... Lobb in to sit on Stewart. Will compete in the air and quick across the ground.
He's 190cm tall. You don't need to put a tall on him, you need to put a bastard on him. Someone who will stick an elbow in his back/ribs for the whole game.

That's West (who has been given those jobs before) unless Harmes comes back into the team.

He's 190cm tall. You don't need to put a tall on him, you need to put a bastard on him. Someone who will stick an elbow in his back/ribs for the whole game.

That's West (who has been given those jobs before) unless Harmes comes back into the team.

Yeah we just need someone to be a prick and occupy him, that's a job for Westy or Harmes.

I agree ours is a dirge and Gold Coast's is just as bad in a different way, but GWS's is quality. Doesn't it just make you want to give glory to Mother AFL, collectivise the means of production and help them achieve their five-year plan?
Our song certainly isn't good but have always believed of the traditional clubs Carlton has the worst of all.

When was the last time they actually sang it? They chant it - no they recite it - quickly, as flat and passionlessly as they can. Like a bunch of schoolboys reciting their 6 times tables. It has turned into one of the least listenable club songs in the AFL, including the train wreck club songs of the new expansion clubs.
Feels like we haven't sung it with gusto since my namesake left

Just as a recent reference, the crows used a scrub to tag Stewart and we know how that worked out. You need a forward like naughton and to use him on the lead up. I reckon we've done it before...
Conversely Josh Schache did a number on Aliir in the 2021 PF. Aliir is not as good as Stewart but the blueprint of using a lesser player than Naughton is there

Left field ... Lobb in to sit on Stewart. Will compete in the air and quick across the ground.

One of Codys goals v.Suns was as a result of him spoiling an opponent because he wasnt in a position to outmark him. Id like to see more of that vs these certain opponents who take us to the cleaners every time. Its one thing not to be able to mark the ball as a tall forward, but its far worse to let your opponent take the mark. Naughton in particular.

Naughts played the most selfless game of his career on the weekend. His 'tap' top Cody goal was brilliant work he doesn't get a stat for

I'm in the Richards in for Poulter camp, with no other changes.

I'd play Ed on Cameron. Although he is kpf height, he really plays as a flanker.

Averages less than 1 contested mark per game at Geelong but kills his opponent on work rate and gut running. Would blow Buku up.

My starting match ups would be Jones to Hawkins, Richards to Cameron, Khamis to O.Henry, Duryea to Stengle.
If JOD doesn’t come in then I agree a combination of Richards/Williams on Cameron makes sense rather than Buku. Cameron does all his damage out-moving the big blokes rather than overhead. I’m surprised more clubs haven’t tried this particularly after Robbie Fox (185cm) did a number on him in the 2022 Grand Final as one of only 2-3 Swans to beat their man that day.

5 mins into the replay and Brereton is unbearable. If he knows so much, why doesn’t he put his money where his mouth is and do some coaching?

Everything he says is excruciating. He just has to come up with something obscure about each play that he liked because he knows sooooo much more about footy than anyone else watching.
Brereton's botox has gone to his brain. Richards in, out the Poultry man.

It wouldn’t be in the same level as beating the Swans at the SCG in 2015, which was a key stepping stone toward 2016, but a win against the Cats this week would certainly be galvanising for this squad and surely give them a good bit of faith in how we’re trying to go about it this year.
That SCG game is second only to the Prelim as my favourite Dogs game that I attended. Man I wish I could relive that one.

It wouldn’t be in the same level as beating the Swans at the SCG in 2015, which was a key stepping stone toward 2016, but a win against the Cats this week would certainly be galvanising for this squad and surely give them a good bit of faith in how we’re trying to go about it this year.

I think that’s a pretty good call. This team needs a galvanising win - whether a big away win, a several goal comeback from behind or just a win against a flag favourite. It probably won’t have real credibility until that happens, within at least some of us in the supporter base and the media more broadly.

Taking down the cats to give them a first loss for the year would be a start. We likely don’t have another shot at a real statement win until GWS in round 10.

Conversely, being easily handled by the cats - and not at their dung heap, but at a neutral ground with us having a day extra rest - would be a bit deflating. Maybe not unexpected given their form, but still deflating.

Big game, FTA and no other game in prime time Sat night. Would be a massive win.

Our song certainly isn't good but have always believed of the traditional clubs Carlton has the worst of all.
Maybe we could hire some ad men and get a focus group approved ripper along the lines of

We're the Bulldogs
And we're here to show you why
We're the big dogs, Coinspot big dogs
We're the Bulldogs, we're humping thighs.

Round 4: Changes v Pussy Cats