Oakleigh
Hampton Rovers
Old Brighton
Marcellen
Caulfield
Beaumaris

Welcome to the new clubs.

Above is also my early tip for the positions after Round 18 2011

I'm happy to post here for 2011 if it means no personal attacks on anyone, I think we should all agree to it and talk footy.
Looks like a strong 2011, I would have Brighton up there in 4th with the Eagles on the bottom ala MHSOB unless something drastic happens.
I think SKOB will be a lot stronger next year, and think Blacks may fall of the pace.
Its crazy but I will have a crack at a ladder for end of next year.

SKOB
Old Ivanhoe
Old Brighton
St Bernards
Uni Blacks
Caulfield
Hampton
Beaumaris
Oakleigh
Marcellin

I'm happy to post here for 2011 if it means no personal attacks on anyone, I think we should all agree to it and talk footy.
Looks like a strong 2011, I would have Brighton up there in 4th with the Eagles on the bottom ala MHSOB unless something drastic happens.
I think SKOB will be a lot stronger next year, and think Blacks may fall of the pace.
Its crazy but I will have a crack at a ladder for end of next year.

SKOB
Old Ivanhoe
Old Brighton
St Bernards
Uni Blacks
Caulfield
Hampton
Beaumaris
Oakleigh
Marcellin
Ill have a go too Brian

Hampton Corp back Robbins playing, good young list
Old Brighton who knows but not in this echelon often
SKOB need height)
Uni Blacks Need height
Old Ivanhoe need to hold off NFL advances(see Macleod and Greensborough)
St Bernards need height
Caulfield may surprise and step straight into finals. Powerful forward setup, Meredith Slevison Sinclair but need more onball
Beaumaris with a great group coming through from u19, they may hold ground and look to 2012 for a finals assault
Oakleigh may just survive with some huge retirements but will need youngsters to push up
Marcellin

i think it may be even more close than this year unless a side loses half a dozen

What the heck...i'll have a crack to.

1. Old Brighton
2. Rovers
3. Blacks
4. OIvan
5. St.B
6. Marc
7. SKOB
8. Caul
9. Beauy
10. Oakleigh

But obviously no real idea at this stage.

Having a stab as well.

1. Uni Blacks
2. SKOB
3. Old Brighton
4. Caulfield
5. Beaumaris
6. Old Ivanhoe
7. St Bernards
8. Hampton Rovers
9. Marcellin
10. Oakleigh

:thumbsu: love here your prediction for the 2 promoted teams Keano! You obviously rate the strength of C grade this year. Player retention will play a big part as always. A few players from both participants in Sunday's GF getting a bit long in the tooth..........

Don't know about C Grade's relative strength, I actually thought a number of clubs were well below standard. Caulfield and the Sharks were both in B Grade 2 years ago and the core players in each side were blooded there as kids. They are now 3 years older and both clubs have had succesfull Under 19 sides feeding more players through.

I'm not sure who these veterans are. Caulfield has Liddell and Widjaja, while the Sharks had Catlin. Most others have plenty of years left I would have thought.

There is plenty to happen between now and Rd 1 anyways, so time will tell.

I'm not sure who these veterans are. Caulfield has Liddell and Widjaja, while the Sharks had Catlin. Most others have plenty of years left I would have thought.

There is plenty to happen between now and Rd 1 anyways, so time will tell.

For Sharks I was thinking of Lee, Haynes and maybe Collins but not sure of exact ages so as you say time will tell.....

For what its worth;

1. Uni Blacks
2. Hampton Rovers
3. St Kevins
4. Old Brighton
5. Old Ivanhoe
6. St Bernards
7. Beaumaris
8. Caulfield
9. Oakleigh - Only based on the retirements of 3 of their guns, if they play they will be a lot higher!
10. Marcellin

For what its worth;

1. Uni Blacks
2. Hampton Rovers
3. St Kevins
4. Old Brighton
5. Old Ivanhoe
6. St Bernards
7. Beaumaris
8. Caulfield
9. Oakleigh - Only based on the retirements of 3 of their guns, if they play they will be a lot higher!
10. Marcellin

who are the 3 uni blues snr players supposedly defecting to uni blacks for 2011?
LF predicting a Old Carey style change in fortune for hampton... interesting.
I havnt seen OB play in 4 years, Marcellin/Caul/Beauy in 2 years so i dont think ill even attempt a ladder this far out.
Blacks list changes 50% + from year to year so they could do anything.

who are the 3 uni blues snr players supposedly defecting to uni blacks for 2011?
LF predicting a Old Carey style change in fortune for hampton... interesting.
I havnt seen OB play in 4 years, Marcellin/Caul/Beauy in 2 years so i dont think ill even attempt a ladder this far out.
Blacks list changes 50% + from year to year so they could do anything.

Clearly a biased opinion ML but if we pick up a few quality players we wont be too far away. Hoping to emulate the last two B grade flag winners (assuming Old Carey do win) OM's finished 3rd last prior to winning it & last year Carey 4 last by 2 points (nearly 3rd last) to possibly winning it, the comp is that close a few quality recruits make that big difference. Anyhow we better start getting on the phone to recruit now!

I cant see a club that won 7 more than doubling their wins for the next season, realistically another 3 would be a good result. The old boys teams with a large school behind them are always going to be stronger, its just a fact of life, especially if they are in A or B.
Old Mentonians suffer because they are a small school of 900 or so, and now have chicks who take up around 250 of those places whereas an Old Brighton draws on 1500 boys and St Kevin's over 1800. St Bernards is lucky because a lot of Skevs and Xavs live on that side of town and some cant be bothered travelling so will stick with their junior footy club.
Uni Blacks can draw from around 5,000 males but are seen as the second choice club(rightly or wrongly) so they too find it hard to be a powerhouse. We also must remember all clubs will be recruiting, so if you needed another 4 extra this year then that figure may well be 7 or 8 for next year just to keep up with the pack. I'm just glad SKOBs two bogey sides are in A next year although I hate the Old Brighton oval, but at least it's local.

An advantage that De La and St Bernards will also have is that they can get guys playing for their Old Boys clubs whilst still at school because their school football is mid-week and obviously a shorter season than the Ammos. So they're already in the system at the club, which makes retention easier once they finish school.

Don't really think that Old Carey really had that many recruits this year, they basically got a few players back who'd been elsewhere and got back others from travels and long term injuries.

YAWN!

Goodness me, how boring is B Grade or even the whole VAFA thread these days. What?, 3 posts in 3 weeks, BORING!

On behalf of the "bosses" i have been asked to 'resurrect' the most knowledgeable VAFA poster on BF to entice other posters to jump in and have a crack.

BF Advertisers are not happy that the VAFA threads are being "rail-roaded" by a swarm of (HR) club people that drive their own agenda .

The old CC in 2010 delivered the following/.

Now I'm not pretending to be the great man Cardio, but I'll try to add some of his triple 'C' (Content, Conjecture and Controversy)

Just to remind you of his insights look at these:

7th May, 2010-:A-Grade 2010 post 527:

"In fact I reckon 2 'Old' will be coming up in 2011, and neither start with 'I'."

..and this was when OI was going well and the other 2 Olds were battling - yes Old H & C went up. Only Old B coming down disturbed the 7 prediction.

CC also pushed heavily for Richardson from UB to be included into the VAFA squad and could not believe it when he was excluded. Richo finished 5th in the GG Moore, go figure!

Anyway, look forward to some great posts moving forward.

now that my mate Barney has joined HR, I'm sure I will get some great insight into this club.

aka CC

heh,heh

(PS has anyone seen that Hyphen-5, or is he still in jail fpor stealing a kid ice-cream?

Welcome back Carl, it's been too long! Get the big wooden spoon out and start stirring the pot, I believe that your dear friend Uncle Mick may have some explaining to do to Barney re his post of 10 days or so ago...Foot in mouth disease rampant already at The Rovers?

5 Oct 2010, 10:07 #1000
Uncle Mick
BigFooty Member

Re: B Section 2010 - Part 2
Spoke to Barney and he said he was putting his hat in the ring. I suspect they'll interview him, but I'd be very surprpised if he got the gig. Having not spoken to any of the HR hierarchy, I can only go on my insticnts which tell me they'll be looking for someone young with some fresh ideas. Similar to the appointment of Matty last year. That said, Barney's relationship with Matty may add some currency to his application.

Welcome back Carl, it's been too long! Get the big wooden spoon out and start stirring the pot, I believe that your dear friend Uncle Mick may have some explaining to do to Barney re his post of 10 days or so ago.

5 Oct 2010, 10:07 #1000
Uncle Mick
BigFooty Member

Re: B Section 2010 - Part 2
Spoke to Barney and he said he was putting his hat in the ring. I suspect they'll interview him, but I'd be very surprpised if he got the gig. Having not spoken to any of the HR hierarchy, I can only go on my insticnts which tell me they'll be looking for someone young with some fresh ideas. Similar to the appointment of Matty last year. That said, Barney's relationship with Matty may add some currency to his application.

I know RB was not happy with UM posts and will catch up with him in due-course to discuss. In fact i know RB has been pretty upset with a number of post from Uncle Mick since his departure from HR and more importantly when Barney was at Ormond.

UM may fell a little bit uncomfortable in 2011 and word is he and Hyphen-5 may be heading North to avoid the great man.

Ah!, Karma, you can't beat it, can ya!

In fact I also believe a few 'famous' posters on BF will be on 'leave-of-absence" when the great man takes over, especially Cammie Voss (aka hawk09, etc etc)

Whilst I'm not a fan of Robbin's, he was a very key player in getting the great man back to HR.

As I said previously, i doubted any new coach taking on MR after the 'early morning incident' , but under this situation it will be a win/win for all concerned and give HR some much needed stability.

We may also see alot of true VAFA BF posters come back on board who deliver quality information and comment.

I reckon with Russell Barnes back at the helm at the Rovers, I wouldn't be surprised if the Rovers won 10-11 games (up from 7 this year) in 2011-but only if they recruit well and get quality players to the Rovers.

The highly credentialed independent assessors predictions for the forthcoming Premier ‘B’ season BF board:

1. C.C/GOI/SOCA, Letterman to again spend his time baiting Rover supporters but this year the boys from Boss James won’t rise to the [strike]crap[/strike] bait. He will continue to offer posts from his make believe contacts, containing dubious information, then crow when an errant shot happens to hit the target. He will exceed previous Red Cards by a factor of four.

2. Brian Speaking (what's happened to the once highly thought of contributor?) will again regularly piss in the pocket of C.C/GOI/SOCA, Letterman until his fatuous posts become even too much for him to bear and he will again refer to him as “unstable”. BS won’t, however, again tender his resignation as a BF poster, but is highly likely to continue to take cheap shots at the redoubtable Scribe.

3. Scribe will adhere to his decision to cease posting here and consequently will be a huge loss to the board. We can ill-afford to lose reliable, well informed, articulate posters here.

4. Plumber49, Max Leader, Jascave, MurphysLaw, The Panther, The Octopus and others will continue with their topical and high grade posts in order to maintain the standard.

5. The time and effort OTP puts into keeping the tipping comp spick-n-span will pale compared to the time and effort needed to do the same here. The highly credentialed independent assessor would be delighted to be wrong on this one.

Play on!

On no watchful eye, it took you just under 17 hours to take Cardio's bait, well done!
Scribe? He is past news on BF, until he comes back under another name, which he will and probably already has hey Watchful?

Now to keep this forum from being hijacked once again, has anyone got anything useful to contribute? There are rumours of plenty of talent coming into Premier B next year, Im sure some of the Beauy posters will be keen to make themselves heard.

Seriously Watchful Eye, please do us all a favour and knife yourself, you are a flog of the highest proportions.
Fraser, good luck to him but an assistant coaching role at camberwell would have to be REALLY disappointing I would have thought, surely he could have landed a gig in a higher grade, even as waterboy?
I hear Blacks are charging lots of credit cards to get some players to their club.

Bad last 3 posts. Why the Scribe bash? FTLOTG in Ammos means being an assistant coach at a club, a leading goalkicker in A Grade, the 22nd picked ressies D4 and a bloke who loves his club and runs the water in the clubbies can all be happy, appreciated and loved.
I'm disappointed. I have 8 tissues currently wiping sad eyes.
Play better.