Best 22 2012

Selwood is slower and far worse in the air than Schofield.

Schofield has a good footy brain as well. Always sidestepping and getting through traffic. About all Selwood has on Schofield is the shoulder shrug.
Not sure if it's that cut and dry just yet.

Schofield is definitely better in the air but I reckon Selwood probably has the edge on him in hardness. He's a bit more dogged at ground level and is more effective cannon fodder around stoppages.

Don't get me wrong – Schofield has vastly more upside and if it's one or the other, I'd take Schofield. I'm just theorising on how Selwood could still carve out a spot for himself and, even though he's pretty limited, I think becoming a dedicated BP stopper is the one remaining window of opportunity for him to be a required player.

At the moment, who picks up the opposition's best small forward? Who do we tap on the shoulder and say, "don't worry about getting a kick, just hold Stevie J goalless"? Maybe Scott Selwood or McGinnity, but I'd suggest those guys will be increasingly required in midfield rotations. Butler, Smith or Hurn? Are these guys sufficiently defensively minded? They're there to rebound and create off HB.

Maybe I'm remembering it wrong, but I reckon Banfield played a similar role in his final two seasons. He was less limited than Selwood but, given he wasn't going to crack a spot in the midfield anymore, we found a way to utilise his hardness and decision-making on the last line. Can't really see Selwood being required anywhere else.

Hes proven atrocious goal kicker and in the air and been overtaken by better mids so that leaves him with the backline. I personally would prefer Smith to him (as I believe they are directly competing) however Smith needs to either learn to look for a target instead of bombing long every time, or get better in the air. Despite his insane speed he doesn't seem to show it much either.

It's easy to judge but if you were actually watching at the game rather than watching the tv you would have seen there was almost no run ahead of him and he repeatedly had no-one to kick to.

Bang on.
The Eagles were so buggered after the Carlton game hardly anyone was around him running past for the handball.

I was at the game, sitting behind our goals and seriously he had no choice but to go long in hope. It was a catch 22, Waters takes a saving mark deep I50, goes long to have it come back in again..

What happened to "reserving judgement"?

How do you "show foresight" to "select a future team" while also "reserving judgement"?

Glaring contradiction.

Those are two different things.

I expect our side to shift in various ways between now and the end of the season – probably in unforeseen ways – but those changes are yet to occur.

But if someone is going to suggest that the world has already moved on, I'd like them specify what that means. I accept there will be changes over the next six months, but what exactly has changed in the past six months?

Who is now best 22 after not being best 22 last September? Based on what?

Yet you struggle to do so.

You once again fail to grasp that the threads asks what you think will be the best team at the end of 2012.
It's really simple!

You once again fail to grasp that the threads asks what you think will be the best team at the end of 2012.
It's really simple!
Simplicity is not always preferable to nuance; its appeal – for some – is that it's easier to regurgitate. I have to say, you strike me as one who's done some hard yards at the buffet.

I've expressed my view and, I would argue, it's more cogent and persuasive than your "simple" one.

As good as Lynch was last year, I can't help thinking that a slightly more agile forwardline has the potential to take our improvement to the next level. Especially if LeCras spends more time in the midfield, we can lack a bit of ground level pressure, despite our pretty good pressure from the press. Not saying he should be dropped, but it would be interesting to see how going a bit smaller would change the team dynamic and performance. I suppose no Lynch could mean something like this:

Schofield Glass Waters
Hurn Mackenzie Butler
Rosa S. Selwood Embley
LeCras Kennedy Shuey
Nicoski Darling Naitanui

Cox Priddis Kerr

Gaff Masten A. Selwood
McGinnity

Lynch Smith Stevens

I dont expect Stevens to miss out this year at all. West Coast will not want to lose him to trade and apparently he is decimating preseason this year.

Simplicity is not always preferable to nuance; its appeal – for some – is that it's easier to regurgitate. I have to say, you strike me as one who's done some hard yards at the buffet.

I've expressed my view and, I would argue, it's more cogent and persuasive than your "simple" one.

And I'd argue you take yourself far too seriously.:cool:

images

images

I'm with you Dargs, these guys are on a 2011 plan claiming it is 2012.

The usual Adam Sellwood is no good, Matty Priddis should be replaced by some nobody from the U14s .. as a resident of Melbourne be sure Adam Sellwood is a very respected footballer over these parts ..

And I'd argue you take yourself far too seriously.:cool:

images

images
I do my best to dispense wit and wisdom to those in need, shining my light into these dark corners of the internet.

Admittedly, I can't compete with your cut-and-pasting memes off Google images. That takes a rare and special kind of intellect.

Anybody got Gaff, Rosa and Embley in their best 21 (as in Gaff not the sub)? They all have legitimate cases to make for their spots. Embley should be definitely be assessed purely by form, but if he plays as well as he did at the start of last season then its hard to drop him given the experience he brings. Rosa did enough last year to suggest that if fit and healthy, he is the heir to Embley's spot. And obviously they'd want to continue getting games into Gaffy.. So.. do they all fit?

I was thinking that perhaps if we really do fancy ourselves to make a serious go at the finals again this year, then perhaps Embley could compete for that HHF spot vacated by Ebert, strong overhead, likes to run and work hard into space, can kick a goal from 50.. add his experience to that and he's an upgrade from Ebert - in the short term anyways.

All 3 will probably end up on the 22 for this year. As the wingers do the most running its easy to dedicate a single bench spot to a wing replacement.

I'm with you Dargs, these guys are on a 2011 plan claiming it is 2012.

The usual Adam Sellwood is no good, Matty Priddis should be replaced by some nobody from the U14s .. as a resident of Melbourne be sure Adam Sellwood is a very respected footballer over these parts ..

As another resident of Melbourne, be sure that the Melbourne media knows sweet f**k all about our team.

Anybody got Gaff, Rosa and Embley in their best 21 (as in Gaff not the sub)?

And obviously they'd want to continue getting games into Gaffy.. So.. do they all fit?

If we are dinkum about winning the flag this year/next year, Gaff should be one of the first picked.

His game style is exactly what we need; his value will only increase.

If he leaves, I don't believe we will win a premiership with our current group. Just as important as Shuey and Naitanui to the future of this team.

McGinnity and Strjik has ALOT to prove this season

Masten needs to add some size

And GAFF needs to be used more not just as the kermit or he will jump ship

McGinnity and Strjik has ALOT to prove this season

Masten needs to add some size

And GAFF needs to be used more not just as the kermit or he will jump ship

McGinnity showed he was up to the job last year. Strijk was injured in 2011, but showed in 2010 that he can be a solid contributor when selected. Selection for both in the best 21 isn't a given, but both guys aren't in the 'have shown nothing at all' category where we can rightly say that they both have a lot to prove.

Here's my second crack of the pre season. My only real conundrum was trying to fit Josh Hill into my new 22.

B: Schofield - Glass - Butler

HB: Hurn - EMac - Waters

W: Rosa - Priddis - Embley

HF: Darling - Kennedy - LeCras

FF: Josh Hill - Lynch - Nicoski

FOLL: Cox - Kerr - Shuey

INT: Gaff - Nic Nat - Scott Selwood

SUB: Stevens

IN: HILL

OUT: ADAM SELWOOD

Doubt it will turn out like that but. I know is harsh on Senior Selwood because he is a monty for a lock down role normally but the times are a changing. Better to bring in a forward with x factor, than a lock down defender.

Just my thoughts

Here's my second crack of the pre season. My only real conundrum was trying to fit Josh Hill into my new 22.

Doubt it will turn out like that but. I know is harsh on Senior Selwood because he is a monty for a lock down role normally but the times are a changing. Better to bring in a forward with x factor, than a lock down defender.

Just my thoughts

I like this team a lot i think that is just about our best 22 players as-well as our best 22. Only possible problem being hill he needs to have improve significantly to be offered a game, apparently he has had a good pre-season so he may be ready but i will reserve judgement until after the nab cup.
Hopefully weedon, smith, sheppard and newman are pushing for positions aswell this year.

Just my thoughts

The only player I'd question is hill as atm is he is an unknown quantity for us.

When you consider there are several players who will be desperately keen to get game time this year who aren't in that side competition for spots will be fierce.

Smith, masten, swift, brown, a selwood, mcginnity, and sheppard wouldn't like out of place in that 22. Then you have hams, strijk, weedon, Stevenson, even Brennan, neates and dalziell who would be after an opportunity as well. Newman will be breaking his neck for a game too

Leaves Lycett and Mcinnes as project talls and Wilson who looks like he might be off the pace somewhat

Just my thoughts

Come round 1 Embely and Rosa may not be quite ready due to shoulder and knee issues. I'd suggest one defensive mid would be in the starting lineup so S Selwood goes into the middle and Shuey onto a wing. Gaff off the bench onto the other wing with most likely A Selwood and A Smith onto the bench.

Also think Masten will be the better sub and will keep Stevens out untill injuries / poor form gives him a opportunity

W: Shuey - Priddis - Gaff

FOLL: Cox - Kerr - S Selwood

INT: A Selwood - Nic Nat - A Smith

SUB: Masten

Emer: Stevens, M Brown, S Lycett

They say an indicator to a good side is the quality of the bench and emergencies. Good depth there.

Not really a best 22, but thought I'd have a crack at a reserves 22 that will take on Perth soon a scratch-match. Can't remember the exact date, and just guessing on selection policy. Basically I'm working on all reserves getting a game, and leaving out known injuries.

Injuries: Embley, Rosa, Naitanui, Brown, Dick, Waters.

Brennan B. Wilson Sheppard
McGinnity McInnes Smith
Dalziell Stevens Stevenson
Hill Hamp Strijk
Hams McGovern Weedon

Lycett Swift Neates

Papertalk Tunbridge Newman Mascoulis

As the side is lacking talls, Mackenzie could get a run for structure, or maybe even Lynch to allow Lycett to spend time forward. Smith isn't really a reserve but he seemed next cab off the rank and was the last picked.

After watching last night's games this is what I have:

Butler Glass Schofield
Hurn Mackenzie Waters
Rosa Priddis Embley
Nicoski Lynch Shuey
Hams Kennedy Naitanui

R: Cox S. Selwood Kerr

I: A. Selwood Darling Gaff
S: Masten

E: Hill Weedon Smith

Will be interesting how A. Selwood goes next time he plays. Probably the established player most under pressure to retain his spot.

Best 22 2012