Prediction Best 22 for Round One, 2017

They have placed enormous faith in Astbury. Relentlessly pursuing vindication for the premature ejaculation of handing him the coveted no 12
Almost as bad as Wallet giving TV the no.29. At least with Astbury they matched the size and if Richo was around we are certain DH would have played him FB.

Batchelor couldn't get a game last season for a reason....... he is no good
We have 2 new mids walking into the side plus Short, Markov and Costanza all should push for selection so people willl be missing out, guys like Conca, Ellis x2, Grigg, Batchelor will need to play and train very well to get a spot IMO

This is on the proviso that everyone is fit and available.

FB: Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
HB: Houli - Rance - Yarran
C: BEllis - Cotchin - McIntosh
HF: Martin - Griffiths - Edwards
FF: Rioli - Riewoldt - Lloyd
RUC: Hampson - Prestia - Caddy
INT: Nankervis, CEllis, Markov, Grigg
EMG: Menadue, Conca, Drummond

Unlucky due to new recruits - Miles

Only thing that worries me is that we may be too tall with Hampson, Griff and Nankervis.
Vlastuin will rotate through the midfield, as will Corey Ellis.
Markov will be playing HF.

Don't mind it.

Here is mine

B: 903RT Captain Cotch Tigerman22

HB: Grockadoc Wang Sunshine Tiger

C: Party Corolla Cogga Rules Bobby Sands

HF: Sassafras KakLaughing

HF Sasafras JakLaughing Equuss

F: Goldust. Tiger Imposter Rodney Dangerfield

FOLL: Helen Wheels Mcuzzy Dr Mike

Not even best 22.

I want a trade

This is on the proviso that everyone is fit and available.

FB: Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
HB: Houli - Rance - Yarran
C: BEllis - Cotchin - McIntosh
HF: Martin - Griffiths - Edwards
INT: Nankervis, CEllis, Markov, Grigg
EMG: Menadue, Conca, Drummond
Unlucky due to new recruits - Miles
Only thing that worries me is that we may be too tall with Hampson, Griff and Nankervis.
Vlastuin will rotate through the midfield, as will Corey Ellis.
Markov will be playing HF.

Don't mind it.

Pretty close I think but would happily go in with just Nank and Griff given the run and gun style of footy. Similar setup to Roughy and Boyd.

Of your 22 I would hope Menadue comes in Grigg because he is beating down the door. Menadue is quality and as long as he learns to find the footy I think he will be an A grae wingman (big call but really rate him).

If Menadue/McIntosh/C.Ellis/Markov take the next step and Yarran comes back fully fit I think we will be building a very good side.

Batchelor couldn't get a game last season for a reason....... he is no good
We have 2 new mids walking into the side plus Short, Markov and Costanza all should push for selection so people willl be missing out, guys like Conca, Ellis x2, Grigg, Batchelor will need to play and train very well to get a spot IMO

Batchelor was 9th in the 2015 best & fairest, had a calf in the 2016 preseason, shoulder & hamstring during the year.
Easily best 22 as a lock down back.

FB: Houli - Astbury - Grimes
HB: Yarran - Rance - Markov
C: Menadue - Cotchin - McIntosh
HF: Martin - Griffiths - CEllis
INT: Nankervis, BEllis, Vlaustin, Conca
EMG: Miles, Edwards, Grigg
CLOSE: Drummond, Short, Lennon

Do you really believe Conca will play more than 5 games a year for the remainder of his afl career?

We still might get more games out of yarran than conca!
Between the lot of them i reckon we will get 5-10games if our injury list hits a record high.Two of those blokes deserve to be delisted and the other bloke didn't play a game last year and has struggled since 2014.

FB: Short Astbury Grimes
HB: Yarran Rance Houli
C: B. Ellis Cotchin McIntosh
HF: Vlastuin Griffiths Martin
FF: Rioli Riewoldt Nankervis
Fol: Hampson Caddy Prestia
Int: Edwards Markov Lloyd Grigg

Geez we have depth now.. can't fit in C Ellis, Menadue, Lennon, Castagna, Drummond...

FB: Short Astbury Grimes
HB: Yarran Rance Houli
C: B. Ellis Cotchin McIntosh
HF: Vlastuin Griffiths Martin
FF: Rioli Riewoldt Nankervis
Fol: Hampson Caddy Prestia
Int: Edwards Markov Lloyd Grigg

Geez we have depth now.. can't fit in C Ellis, Menadue, Lennon, Castagna, Drummond...

Forgot about Short in my team.
Grigg's spot under threat or we go in with one less tall.
Interesting. Depth is there now, quality of the depth is younger which is a positive.

B. Hunt Rance Grimes
HB. Yarran Batchelor Markov
C. McIntosh Martin B Ellis
HF. Edwards Griffiths Caddy
F. Lloyd Riewoldt Rioli
R. Hampson Cotchin Prestia
I/C. Vlaustin Houli Conca Grigg

KPD are the big problem, I refuse to put Astbury in a best 22. Therefore have to go with Batchelor and Grimes as 2nd and 3rd tall defenders.
Hunt will send alarm bells to most, but aside from his career low shocker against Collingwood in R2, his season wasn't bad and I would have him there ahead of Short, until another much maligned player, in Morris gets back from reco.
Time for Vlaustin and C Ellis to step up and be midfielders. First round draft picks shouldn't be eased into the AFL by playing 5 years across half back. Prove yourself in the midfield or be prepared for the trade table at years end.
Hampson has to start as no. 1 Ruckman, although I hope Nankervis puts in a huge preseason and ousts him. Hampson, for all that he does well, is to immobile to get to enough contests. That's what Nankervis needs to do. Get to every contest and make a presence, like Mumford. That will see him takeover as no. 1.

Love your dangerous spirit of adventure. The forward six combination makes me tremble. I would name Rance at CHB and let the oppo guess, **** 'em.
He probably could dominate a game from BP. Wouldn't be surprised,
Thanks. Rance is only named in bp he would play anywhere in defence. If caddy and Prestia play to the best of there ability and we can turn vlaustin into a genuine mid. Then there is no reason why cotch and Dusty could not play over 50% forward and if they do there's 100 goals between them for the year
My big wish is to see dusty one out in goal square. With Jack and Daniel not to far away. Don't want jack anywhere near the defensive 50 . and don't want dusty getting cheap useless stats in the midfield. Just hope the match comiteee see it this way. It's a well balanced team not to tall. Lots of run and skill.
C.Moore if given a chance will be a ripper

Thanks. Rance is only named in bp he would play anywhere in defence. If caddy and Prestia play to the best of there ability and we can turn vlaustin into a genuine mid. Then there is no reason why cotch and Dusty could not play over 50% forward and if they do there's 100 goals between them for the year
My big wish is to see dusty one out in goal square. With Jack and Daniel not to far away. Don't want jack anywhere near the defensive 50 . and don't want dusty getting cheap useless stats in the midfield. Just hope the match comiteee see it this way. It's a well balanced team not to tall. Lots of run and skill.
C.Moore if given a chance will be a ripper
Just give dusty the whole foward 50 arch to himself - unstoppable beast 1 on 1. Jack just slots anything from outside 50 and griff slots them from beyond the centre square. Its just a dream but it sounds good.
Rance is just rance - give him all six opposition forwards at once and he will beat them all and play xbox on the big screen at the same time.

B. Hunt Rance Grimes
HB. Yarran Batchelor Markov
C. McIntosh Martin B Ellis
HF. Edwards Griffiths Caddy
F. Lloyd Riewoldt Rioli
R. Hampson Cotchin Prestia
I/C. Vlaustin Houli Conca Grigg

KPD are the big problem, I refuse to put Astbury in a best 22. Therefore have to go with Batchelor and Grimes as 2nd and 3rd tall defenders.
Hunt will send alarm bells to most, but aside from his career low shocker against Collingwood in R2, his season wasn't bad and I would have him there ahead of Short, until another much maligned player, in Morris gets back from reco.
Time for Vlaustin and C Ellis to step up and be midfielders. First round draft picks shouldn't be eased into the AFL by playing 5 years across half back. Prove yourself in the midfield or be prepared for the trade table at years end.
Hampson has to start as no. 1 Ruckman, although I hope Nankervis puts in a huge preseason and ousts him. Hampson, for all that he does well, is to immobile to get to enough contests. That's what Nankervis needs to do. Get to every contest and make a presence, like Mumford. That will see him takeover as no. 1.

Astbury over batchelor any day

B: Grimes, Astbury, Houli
HB: McIntosh, Rance, C.Ellis
C: B.Ellis, Cotchin, Menadue
HF: Lennon, Griffiths, Markov
F: Rioli, Riewoldt, S.Edwards
R. Nankervis, Martin, Prestia
Int: Caddy, Yarran, Vlastuin, Miles

Outside pace + inside grunt/skill

Astbury over batchelor any day

Ever since his performance in the Elimination final against Norf, I have no interest in him playing at AFL level.

Prediction Best 22 for Round One, 2017