Best Club Songs In Order (Unbiased Please)

Marns said:
15. WC ("For years they took the best of us, and claimed them for their own" - It's called a draft)

Fairly certain the above line of the original song was referring to the pre eagles era of W.A footy when there was no draft

1. richmond (YELLOW AND BLACK)
2. carlton - catchy
rest our all pretty equal - most of the victorian teams songs sound the same with the trumpet solos in the middle of the song
13. bulldogs - sounds like circus music at the start
14. saints - how original
15. port adelaide - (we'll never stop stop stop til we're top top top) sounds like a hi-five song
16. freo - no explaination needed

St Kilda's song was probably original for a sporting team when we adopted it. Don't know why everyone says it's unoriginal, can anyone name me a team that's used it longer?

As for the others, most are utter crap, especially the newer ones. Any team that includes the sponsors name in a song is struggling . . . and Freo's . . . well it's just sooo Freo.

What I find annoying about some songs, is not so much the song itself (as I said I think most are utter crap), but how the clubs supporters sing it. Melbourne's song is not in itself that bad, but I get a sudden urge to commit mass murder whenever I see/hear it being sung by Melbourne supporters. The same could be said for Essendon supporters, most seem to have the chorus down pat if nothing else, and Carlton members at Princes Park always reminded me of a polo crowd raising their glasses to salute the working class.

The Good

1. Richmond
2. Melbourne
Brisbane
Kangaroos

The Mediocre

10. Hawthorn

The Ugly

14. West Coast
15. Port Adelaide
16. Fremantle

The Tiger song is good because of the words, and the way the crowd get into the "YELLOW AND BLACK"

But i really like the Brisbane and Port Adelaide songs, especially the background music, i remembered the 2004 Grand Final was great, coz one after the other theme song was really awesome.

1. richmond
  2. melboune
  3. essendon
  4. saints
  5. sydney
  6. bulldogs
  7. collingwood
  8. geelong
  9. adelaide
  10. kangaroos
  11. brisbane
  12. hawks
  13. carlton
  14. port
  15. freo
  16. west coast

1.Collingwood
2.Bombers
3.Richmond
4.Hawthorn
5.Kangaroos
6.Sydney
7.St Kilda
8.Melbourne
9.Geelong
10.Carlton
11.Port
12.Brisbane
13.Adelaide
14.Bulldogs
15.West Coast
16.Freo (Way to go... that's the only lyrics i know from their song)

1. Richmond - "YELLOW AND BLACK!!!"
2. Melbourne - My club team's song aswell
3. Sydney - Maybe bias, killer banjo solo in the middle
4. Adelaide
5. Hawthorn
6. Collingwood
7. Brisbane
8. Carlton
9. Kangaroos
10. Bulldogs
11. St Kilda
12. Port Adelaide
13. Fremantle
14. Geelong
15. Essendon
16. West Coast

Really hard to be objective because I love the Blues song so much due to the fantastic brass bits and the intro.

1. Richmond - pacy, catchy
2. Carlton - as mentioned above
3. Hawthorn - the mighty fighting hawks
4. Brisbane - you'll hear the mighty roar
---------------------------------------
5. Kangaroos
6. Sydney
7. Geelong
8. Melbourne
9. Bulldogs
10. Essendon
11. Collingwood
12. Adelaide
13. St Kilda
14. Port
15. Fremantle
16. West Coast

1. Richmond (actually provides consolation if you lose to them coz you get to hear their song)
2. Daylight
3. Sydney- love the banjo, went to the gf last year was awesome.
4. Kangaroos- out we come to play da da da, gold.
5. Carlton- not bad.
----------------
16. Freo- dreadful, i feel sorry for the boys singing it after a win, they look embarrassed.

SpecialComments said:
Pies Dons and Tigers, easily best 3 i'd have to say, just real traditional theme songs and the players really get into them when they sing the team song after a win..

Firstly, tell me which club's players don't enjoy singing their song after a big win?

And secondly, why are Richmond, Collingwood and Essendon's songs "more traditional" than any of the other old VFL clubs' songs?

All of these club songs were devised and recorded around the same time. They are all mostly based on famous songs from the early part of the 1900's (depression era and wartime ditties)

The Lions song is to the tune of "Le Marseillaise", the national anthem of France. This was written in the 1700's. Brisbane's re-worked version isn't as good as the Fitzroy version (naff words) but it's still one the most rousing tunes heard in world sport.

"Oh When the Saints Go Marching In" is an American gospel hymn that was first recorded in 1896. St Kilda sing the chorus almost word for word the same. How can this be less traditional than the lame rewrites of "Row Row Row", "Goodbye Dolly Gray" and "Sunny Side Up"? Gotta love those horns and drum roll in the middle!

Geelong's song is based on the Toreador song written by Bizet for his opera, "Carmen" back in 1875

Collingwood - "Goodbye Dolly Grey" was a Boer War anthem from around 1900

Hawthorn - "Yankee Doodle Dandy", the tune itself dates back to the American Civil War in the 1700's.
People always bag out the "happy team" bit, but name a line from a club song that's better than "One for all and all for one". So good that Brisbane thought they'd appropriate it, like they did Fitzroy.

I like the Swans song, based on the "Notre Dame Victory March", written in the early 1900's. I reckon this song has probably the best words and sounds the best of em all when screamed off key by a bunch of meatheads. The banjo guitar bit is the high water mark of all club songs.

I hate the Essendon song (probably because I've had to endure it so many times) The tune is bad enough, but the words are equally bad if you stop to think about them. The bit about "our boys who play this grand-old-game" make me cringe. Appalling meter. "THEY all try their best, BUT they can't get near"..... Shocking.

Carlton's version of "Lily Of Laguna" (a minstrel song written in 1898) is the tune that I am most envious of as an opposition supporter. There is a part of me that simply can't (but would love to) join the drunken hordes in the front bar of the Cricketers Arms when they all start screaming "DA DA-DA DA-DA! DA DA-DA DA-DA! DA DA-DA DA-DA DA-DA DA-DA!!"

Everyone always says Freo's song is the worst, but I reckon the song is one area where they hands down kick West Caost's arse. Fairdinkum! We're The Eagles....:eek: Who the feck came up with that? What was he thinking? Check the plodding rock anthem treatment... Listen to the hysterical singing during the chorus... What a shocker!! Any Eagles fan that doesn't agree has no credibility at all in my book. They are obviously so one-eyed about their club that they aren't worth talking to.

We're the Eagles...(Boom....Boom....)
WESTCOAST eagles

And we're here.

To show you why.....

We are the BIG BIRDS!!!!

Kings Of the BIG GAME!!!!! (WTF?? :confused: )
We're the EAGLES!! We're FLYING HIGHHHHHH We're FLYING HIGHHHHHHHHHH We're FLYING HIGHHHHHHHH!!! ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!! We're FLYING HIGHHHHHHHHH!!!

I reckon you need to be high on some of Benny's supply to sing that puke.

doctormeow said:
You really wear orange and green? nah really?

My mate played for a lowly team called Houghton District in Adelaide Amateurs which i have never heard a team song like it before:

Did the sun come up this morning
Does a Nun wear Rosary beads
Did we send those (insert derogatory female anatomy term) a sprawling
Did we send them to their knees

Cos

We are the raiders
the raiders machine
And we are the best you've ever seen
our aim is top
and we wont stop
till we are the premiership team

It was yelled out and sounded pretty imposing... and it was a lot better than our pathetic "a tiger for me" song....

Hey I Houghton Districts is my team, We still have the same song too...

Marns said:
1. Melbourne (I've heard it so many times and I'm not sick of it. Deserves to be #1)
2. Richmond (Easily the 2nd, for already mentioned reasons)
3. Carlton (da da da da da...etc etc)
4. Sydney (Just like it)
5. Collingwood (Probably so high simply because the first game I can remember going to was a Melbourne vs Collingwood game)
6. North (If not for the main part of the song, I love the intro the players sing)
7. WB (Sounds like a carnival which is corny, but I have a soft spot for it)
8. Brisbane (Like how they kept the Fitzroy tune)
9. Hawthorn ("Happy team at hawthorn". So much wrong with that)
10. Essendon (meh)
11. Geelong ("the greatest team of all"...with 6 flags)
12. Adelaide (Being the Pride of SA does not give you the "admiration of the nation")
13. St.Kilda (Catchy but far too repetitive)
14. Port (meh)
15. WC ("For years they took the best of us, and claimed them for their own" - It's called a draft)
16. Freo (Embarassing)

Refers to the predraft days of chequebook recruiting by Vic clubs on WA & SA clubs, DUMBASS.

In the doggies song it says, "Bulldogs fight and Bulldogs roar".

Since when the hell has anyone ever heard a Bulldog roar?

DynamoUltra said:
1. Bulldogs. I just love the "Sons of the west. Red, white and blue". Dunno what it is.
2. Carlton.
3. Hawthorn. Maybe a bit of bias, but I hear it more often than any other.
4. Sydney. Some corker lyrics in there, shame I can't remember them right now.
5. Brisbane. I like the use of the French national anthem.
6. Geelong. I like Carmen.
7. Richmond.
8. Collingwood.
9. Adelaide.
10. Melbourne
11. Essendon
12. Kangaroos.
13. St. Kilda. Horrible.
14. Port. Unimaginative.
15. West Coast. It's not opera.
16. Fremantle. Shocker.

Um, ok.

1: Adelaide (for a 'new' song, this is very, very good, intelligent lyrics and catchy tune)
2: Richmond
3: North Melbourne (extended version)
4: St Kilda
5: Carlton
6: Western Bulldogs
7: Collingwood
8: Sydney
9: Geelong
10: Hawthorn
11: Brisbane
12: Geelong
13: Essendon
14: West Coast
15: Fremantle
16: Port Adelaide

Best Club Songs In Order (Unbiased Please)