Best game you ever have witnessed as a Nuetral Supporter.

Saints Vs Roos Round 16 2003.

the game was simply brilliant. the roos were down by heaps and they came back. gehrig kicked 9. and some of the greatest goals were kicked. plus that day had heaps of other cool things about it but part of it was definitely seeing that game.

Sealen said:
Kangaroos vs Lions Telstra Dome 2003, Drawn Game.
Wasn't a point
:(

Footyboy said:
Best game you ever witnessed as a Nuetral Supporter.

Whats the best game you ever witnessed as a Nuetral Supporter (don't go for either side)

Mine what have to be Round 16, 2001

Kangaroos vs Essendon

How Essendon came back from the dead from a 70+ point lead to the Kangaroos, ill never know to this day.

That game was entertaining from the first bounce, right till the last quarter.

Final Score

Essendon 27.9 (171)
Kangaroos 25.9 (159)

Never seen a football game like it.

I dented a plastic seat at the G after that game.

********ing disgusting.

I reckon the 89 Grand Final's up there from a list of numerous.

Footyboy said:
Another one would of been way back in 99 Round 22, when the scoreboard caught fire.

I mean who cares about the teams or players or result, that night it was the scoreboard that was the winner that night!
It was Carlton V Richmond.

Carlton won.

First round, 1990,VFL park (or waverley by then?) the replay of the 89 GF, Hawthorn v Geelong.

Brereton and Dunstall beat up on geelong big time, was great to see.

And when I said beat up,.......... Dermie had a few bones to pick and he didn't hold back.

Not for the usual reasons, but..

I'm an Essendon supporter, obviously, but like all footy. My friend was an acrobat who was the Magpie mascot, back in like 98 or something. She couldn't so it one day, and asked if i could. I said for sure!

So I turned up one game, Collingwood Vs Melbourne. In the room with all the Collingwood supporters getting dressed up in an 8 foot magpie costume.

Unfortunately I was really, really not good, as I'd been partying the night before, and hadn't slept a lot.

We were on before the game and at half time. The players went out, then we did. I've always had a feeling I'd run out to a packed 'G down the race, I just never thought I'd do it dressed in an 8 foot high Magpie costume!

We had to run around and act like idiots for about 20 min before the game. I went out hard, but was seriously rooted after about 5 minutes. No kidding, I thought I was gonna spew up in the costume by about 15 minutes, my heart was going. Those things are really, really hot to wear.

Made it through, completely knackered and hung over, then had to do half time. Did that at a much slower pace, but had all these kids trying to rip my head off over the fence, and hanging ******** on me saying I had a pretty crap job. For $80 an hour I wanted to tell em it was probably more than their dads had ever made. Finally finished, showered down, and watched Jeff Farmer kick like 9 goals or something in the second half.

Was quite a game :p

Back in the year 2000 where Essendon played the Western Bulldogs,
and chris Grant's goal to seal it to break Essendon's winning streak

The best game of footy I have ever seen is a game where two quality sides BOTH played 4 quality quarters of football.

West Coast vs Carlton round 21, 1995 at Subiaco.

1995 was the season where Carlton went 20-2. They were close to unbeatable. West Coast was the reigning premiers and close to unstoppable in Perth. During this era, West Coast usually lost only once or twice a season at home, and they were below their best when they did lose.

When West Coast were at their best, at home they never lost.

On this day in 1995, the Eagles were at home and at their very best, yet the Blues pipped them by a point. That shows you how good the Blues played. To this day I have never seen a better game of Australian Football.

The game wasn't all out attack, because both teams had excelllent defences, yet despite this, they were able to score over 100 points each. There were no "comebacks" because both teams played a full 4 quarters of quality. I've seen my club, Essendon, come back from 69 points down to win 171-159, but that day the Bombers were crap for the first 40 minutes of the game, and defence was non-existent.

The West Coast-Carlton match in 1995 was the best game of Australian Football that has ever been played. Carlton would just not allow themselves to lose. I implore everyone to get a copy of the game.

Final Score

Essendon 27.9 (171)
Kangaroos 25.9 (159)

Never seen a football game like it.[/QUOTE]

Yeah gotta agree with you it was an awesome game. goals goals goals and more goals

I was at the footy the night the lights went out at Waverley for the Bombers and the Saints as well as the night the scoreboard caught fire at the G. I have been to plenty of neutral games in my time but the one that sticks out for me is the 1995 Final between Carlton and the Bears. The Blues were supposed to win by heaps (top of the ladder) and the Bears were just making up the numbers (finished 8th).
The Blues got away to a good start and lead by 22 at quarter time (35 to 13). In the second quarter the Bears got a bit closer and it was less then a goal in it at half time (44 to 39). Could the Bears upset the Blues as it was a warmish day and maybe the Blues were going through the motions. There were 50,000 people there and 30,000 barracked for the Blues and a few thousand for the Bears. I am sure most of the neutrals become Bears supporters for the day!!
At 3/4 time it was only a goal the difference (64 to 58). The Blues did get up by 13 in the end (90 to 77) but it was a great game with a few of the older Bears playing and a small view of what was to come from Brisbane in a few years time.

Best game you ever have witnessed as a Nuetral Supporter.