Bigman’s Training Reports

I'm fairly sure that if someone was 4000kg and 4 meters tall, they'd kick the ball a fair way, regardless of technique
Going by that logic Hafþór Júlíus Björnsson ‘ the Mountain’ should be able to kick the ball further than any man alive currently.

Brice Gibbs has been measured at kicking the ball over 70 metres. Brodie Smith regularly kicks it 60 metres. Dustin Fletcher another one.

The strongest leg in the world won’t kick a ball as far as someone with good technique and style.

At least McHenry would set good training standards for the other players on the list. He's a competitive little bugger and I'm sure that will help other young players who don't like to lose to increase their effort.

He's not a great player, but I'm pretty sure he's a great clubman. He's not a bad player to have on the list, he'd well liked and always gives his all for the club.

We were mentioned along with Richmond and Melbourne. If he had ended up at one of those two clubs it's not inconceivable that he could be a premiership player by now.
Imagine trying to convince someone in 2015 or 16 that you'd be better off ending up at those two than us. Footy's weird man.

do all the leg weights you like if your timing and technique are poor you’re wasting your time, but I’m happy for you to stick to your theory
Technique is king, but having weak legs will no doubt mean you can't kick as long. For a taller player like Tex (in his pre-acl days when he was pretty skinny), Dawson or Lukosious, technique is almost all they need.

But for a shorter player increased leg strength (and tendon strength) will help with kicking distance (and all other areas of the game that require explosive force). McHenry needs extra strength for other areas of his game mentioned, better tackles, better at shrugging tackles or evading tackles, maintaining his feet etc.

Is there something wrong with McHenry's technique? He seems to be able to kick quite accurately at least. Haven't really paid attention to it, just figured he can't kick far cos he's a tiny fella

I'm fairly sure that if someone was 4000kg and 4 meters tall, they'd kick the ball a fair way, regardless of technique
You can sort of test this theory..

Grab one of those tiny footy’s you see the players sign and hand out at the grounds after matches..

Going by your theory you should be able to kick one of those further than a normal footy given the differing scales correct?..

But i think you’ll find it isnt really the case..

Someone thats 4m tall and weighs 4000kgs would find kicking a normal sized AFL footy as hard as you would kicking a tiny footy!

To start with.. Its much harder to time getting it to land in the right spot on your boot..

Going by that logic Hafþór Júlíus Björnsson ‘ the Mountain’ should be able to kick the ball further than any man alive currently.

Brice Gibbs has been measured at kicking the ball over 70 metres. Brodie Smith regularly kicks it 60 metres. Dustin Fletcher another one.

The strongest leg in the world won’t kick a ball as far as someone with good technique and style.
Well, he's probably never kicked an AFL footy, and I reckon he could kick it further than me.

So what does that say?

You can sort of test this theory..

Grab one of those tiny footy’s you see the players sign and hand out at the grounds after matches..

Going by your theory you should be able to kick one of those further than a normal footy given the differing scales correct?..

But i think you’ll find it isnt really the case..

Someone thats 4m tall and weighs 4000kgs would find kicking a normal sized AFL footy as hard as you would kicking a tiny footy!

To start with.. Its much harder to time getting it to land in the right spot on your boot..
I don't think so. Those little balls don't go as far because they don't weigh enough so they are much more strongly affected by wind resistance.

To me he is still one of our most baffling selections at the draft. Uber small player with no significant weapons. Worse than the McAsey selection for mine. Seems like a great kid but I don’t see any attribute he can use to make it at AFL level

No way worse than McAsey.

We didn't get the McHenry we wanted, but maybe we got the McHenry we deserved.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Technique is king, but having weak legs will no doubt mean you can't kick as long. For a taller player like Tex (in his pre-acl days when he was pretty skinny), Dawson or Lukosious, technique is almost all they need.

But for a shorter player increased leg strength (and tendon strength) will help with kicking distance (and all other areas of the game that require explosive force). McHenry needs extra strength for other areas of his game mentioned, better tackles, better at shrugging tackles or evading tackles, maintaining his feet etc.

Is there something wrong with McHenry's technique? He seems to be able to kick quite accurately at least. Haven't really paid attention to it, just figured he can't kick far cos he's a tiny fella
I've seen him kick a 50m goal from the boundary, so he can do it.

I don't think so. Those little balls don't go as far because they don't weigh enough so they are much more strongly affected by wind resistance.
I'm no footy technique expert, but as an engineer I know a bit about physics.

From my perspective it is all about energy transfer, and efficiency in doing so. The energy from a swinging leg is transferred to the ball. The more energy that is transferred to the ball for a given launch angle, the further it will travel. The optimal launch angle (ignoring wind resistance) is 45 degrees.

The primary components of kinetic energy are mass and speed.

A more efficient kick (i.e. skill, timing) will allow the same leg size and speed to kick it further. A strong small player that can generate more leg/foot speed will get further distance. A bigger leg (i.e. more mass) will also transfer more energy to the ball.

Skill levels being equal, physics says a larger mass will send the same ball further.

I'm no footy technique expert, but as an engineer I know a bit about physics.

From my perspective it is all about energy transfer, and efficiency in doing so. The energy from a swinging leg is transferred to the ball. The more energy that is transferred to the ball for a given launch angle, the further it will travel. The optimal launch angle (ignoring wind resistance) is 45 degrees.

The primary components of kinetic energy are mass and speed.

A more efficient kick (i.e. skill, timing) will allow the same leg size and speed to kick it further. A strong small player that can generate more leg/foot speed will get further distance. A bigger leg (i.e. more mass) will also transfer more energy to the ball.

Skill levels being equal, physics says a larger mass will send the same ball further.
So if I am understanding you correctly we should get a leg up on the competition by putting very heavy weights in the preferred-side boots of all our forwards.

Only if it doesn't upset their technique and timing and I'm not sure how helpful weighing them down is going to be in what is now a real running game.

do all the leg weights you like if your timing and technique are poor you’re wasting your time, but I’m happy for you to stick to your theory
This is a really good comment. I was relatively strong but had average ball timing and connection at school level and struggled to kick 50m. A Mate of mine would lazily roll in from outside 50 and connect and send it 60m + and he barely looked like he was trying to kick the guts out of the ball in the process.

There would be an element of building strength to help a bit but timing would be 80% of it imo

Well, he's probably never kicked an AFL footy, and I reckon he could kick it further than me.

So what does that say?
That you have no technique 😉.
I’m not saying you don’t need strength you obviously do need some.
There is a cut off point where more isn’t better. You still need acceleration/ speed and if you build your legs too much you run the risk of losing speed.

This is a really good comment. I was relatively strong but had average ball timing and connection at school level and struggled to kick 50m. A Mate of mine would lazily roll in from outside 50 and connect and send it 60m + and he barely looked like he was trying to kick the guts out of the ball in the process.

There would be an element of building strength to help a bit but timing would be 80% of it imo
If you kick a football ten times there is every chance it will travel different distance, and that is using the same leg,no extra muscle improvement so it is timing and technique with Carmo theory Ned could build his legs up to the size of an Olympic speed skater or sprint cyclist and have the longest kick in AFL

edit: I was able to kick a ball further than most and I can tell you my legs are far from enormous

Bigman’s Training Reports