Injury Blue Healers Medical Room - 2023

I don’t believe this is new, they’ve always gone with alternative therapies to aid recovery. Bowen therapy, neurophysics etc
I use alternative therapies to try and lose some weight.

So far, I've lost 900 bucks.

Well the naysayers need someone to sack!! Now that we're winning games they can't sack Voss or the entire coaching group anymore.

Preseason & Rounds 1-6: Sack Russell
Rounds 7-14: Sack Voss.
Rounds 15-20: Sack Russell (again)

Geez these people would be fun in a workplace! (not)
Haha, from the neutral perspective, both sides seem like drainers

Most people wouldn't be able to pick Russell out of a lineup yet we have staunch sack him peeps, and even stauncher stick by him he's the messiah peeps.

The answer is probably somehwere in the middle

I have as much evidence as those calling for Russell's head but two things stand out to me.

2. We tend to have more injuries that occur at training. Then other teams. Don't necessarily believe that this is an Andy Russell issue, but rather the surface of Princess Park. What's happened in the AFL and AFLW. I understand that we got it resurfaced but at this point, I'm very concerned over the condition of the ground and whether it is suitable for training.

Totally agree with this point…

The same goes for Marvel…

These grounds are unbelievably hard (nothing to do with watering). Never will you hear a player complain about it anymore because they have been warned not too…

I have seen it first hand with players as recent as this year the affects that playing on Marvel has had on their recovery, even blistering which never happens anywhere else.

PP is too compressed which causes jarring when running, the worst thing for hammys…

In a perfect world they would all be wearing ASIC boots( less jarring through heel) but they don’t pay enough in endorsements…

Ah nope, Collingwood have 2 on the injury list

Richmond through their premiership years playing heater skelter football had 2 bits of f all on their injury list at any given time

Clubs will have bad years every now and then, we’re just every single year without fail

Would love less injuries - better players available, more competition for roles, continuity

Recall footage of Voss and Russell having a robust convo, early last season. I took it to be about the rotations and fitness of the players not being up to standard. Its what happens when you keep flicking coaches - the planning and standards change. I have no doubt that Voss would be very clear about what he expected from the fitness and medical programs, and that they will be turning over every rock to find out where they can be improved. Building from last years review.

If Russell stays its because he's doing what they asked of him, and they have plans for improvement. Maybe the factors leading to injuries have a range of other casuses. Cherry picking injury stats seems too simple.

Got to question the surface, 100%. Also, over the journey many have been impact style injuries, not really up to Russell. I still worry about all of our back injuries though. Just from memory, Hewett, Gov, Walsh, SOS(?), Williamson (for years, since retired), Cripps (last year or year before?). Just don't hear of backs playing up in other clubs as much...

On SM-A235F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Gov was from a bad landing.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Would love less injuries - better players available, more competition for roles, continuity

Recall footage of Voss and Russell having a robust convo, early last season. I took it to be about the rotations and fitness of the players not being up to standard. Its what happens when you keep flicking coaches - the planning and standards change. I have no doubt that Voss would be very clear about what he expected from the fitness and medical programs, and that they will be turning over every rock to find out where they can be improved. Building from last years review.

If Russell stays its because he's doing what they asked of him, and they have plans for improvement. Maybe the factors leading to injuries have a range of other casuses. Cherry picking injury stats seems too simple.
I've never been an athlete(well fishing is a sport, and many years ago, I fished), but I've had to live with chronic back pain since my mid 20's.
I've learnt to rest, the moment my body gives a slight indication of trouble, which in the long run creates more productivity.
I wouldn't be surprised to hear that players don't heed these warnings and push on through or have no choice in the matter. It's a lot easier being self-employed rather than a member of a team.

Research shows warmer weather has higher incidences of things like ACLs and other serious injuries. Let's not go round saying it's any benefit for injury occurrence. In fact an AFL study has shown the warmer teams usually suffer higher injury rates.... AFL specific study.

This thread makes interesting reading.

Two of our best players suffer an similar injury. One in game a week after returning from hamstring soreness, the other with a very long history of hamstring injuries.

Big Footy groupies1: Nothing to see here. Demonise BF groupies2.
Big Footy groupies2: Sack Russell.

There’s definitely a topic worth debating - but point scoring drowns out most of the sensible discussion.

Two of our best players suffer an similar injury. One in game a week after returning from hamstring soreness, the other with a very long history of hamstring injuries.

There’s definitely a topic worth debating - but point scoring drowns out most of the sensible discussion.
There's bigfooty groupies?

Link to one post that says nothing to see here.

Tuck your claws away, tiger.
The context of the conversation(Brisbane have a remarkable injury record) seems to have flown over your head.

Claws are away, not disputing that Brisbane don’t have a great injury record, I’ve called out your assumption that Russell is on as you put it, sh**loads and implied that you have no idea what he’s on.

If you have evidence of what he’s on or a link that outline his salary then I’m more than happy to apologies but it seems like a lazy argument by a few who seem to have no idea what he gets paid.

With respect, I don't think any of us plebs (me included) would have a clue!

You mention training loads and weightlifting, and you are correct, but there are so much more that needs to be considered. Technical and tactical skill, physical and psychological capacities, emotional fortitude, tolerance to pain, capacity to play through injury and a desire to be the best at what they do.
Then you need to consider genetics, prior injuries, nutrition, body shape, gait, running styles, bad habits in training and fitness techniques learned and not corrected in formative years, hardness of training surfaces, rest and recovery etc etc.
There is probably a dozen or more things I haven't even considered that the club would be aware of.

So when you look at all these things, you only need to be on the wrong side of a couple, and injury can occur, and re-occur.

When one considers all of the above mentioned points (and the ones I have no clue on), then the 'player x did a hammie, sack Russell argument' in my opinion is ill informed and lacks any real critical analysis.

Now the club may part ways with Russell at season's end, but the decision will be made by people who are across all the facts presented and will be made by people with far more inside knowledge than any of us mugs! 🙂
The last paragraph is a poor argument Kophi….unless of course you apply it to any club decision. Recruitment. Delistings. Selection. Coaching. Etc

Eg: no one should ever say “I reckon we should keep TDK. He’s a gun.” The pile on’ers should come in and say “leave it to the club. You nuphies don’t know what he’s like around the club, what his standards are like, whether he carries any long term injuries, how much he’s asking for, what we could get for him.” When someone says “we shouldn’t have kept Ed curnow” people should pile in and…..”

So I’m good with yours and others’ argument about what can be commented on in the absence of full information.

But don’t comment on team selection either. People don’t have full information. Don’t comment on anything. Just clap. And be on your way.

That post was not in response to questioning the high performance team. It was in direct response to someone wanting to sack the high performance team.

There is a massive difference between the two.
So what? I want them sacked. Same argument applies as I’ve had for 2 years:

I doubt anyone could do any worse so it’s worth trying someone else. No I don’t know all the facts. Just like I don’t about selection of strategy or anything.

It’s not a big deal to have that opinion. Why is this forum supporting people having opinions shut down? Are we not allowed to say we want change? Where’s the line? Don’t say you want a player delisted? Delisting equals sacking and most likely end of career. Probably a more definitive fullstop than lose your role as head of high performance. Ban it.

I doubt anyone could do any worse so it’s worth trying someone else. No I don’t know all the facts. Just like I don’t about selection of strategy or anything.

It’s not a big deal to have that opinion. Why is this forum supporting people having opinions shut down? Are we not allowed to say we want change? Where’s the line? Don’t say you want a player delisted? Delisting equals sacking and most likely end of career. Probably a more definitive fullstop than lose your role as head of high performance. Ban it.
People arguing against an opinion is not shutting it down. Its having analternative opinion. You don't want to hear them?

Nah, windows is pointing out the opposite pov about sacking Russell is hypocritical.

Kohphi, just above, classic example. Our arguments are negated because we have no idea about kpi’s, his role, what he gets paid blah blah blah so our argument is worthless

Yet every other argument on this board is no different except that our evidence is smacking everyone in the face over a bloody long period of time, we are not basing it on 2 bits of f all here.
The worst continuous injury list in the comp bar none over the last 6 years.
How anyone keeps their job with a record like his is bewildering.

Just wait another 18 months, nothing will have changed at all. Another 18 months pushing shit up hill with nowhere near your best 22 on the park, this comp is hard enough without being hamstrung continuously dipping into multiple layers of depth every week.

Before you know it, the window is gone…for another 10 years

Nah, windows is pointing out the opposite pov about sacking Russell is hypocritical.

Kohphi, just above, classic example. Our arguments are negated because we have no idea about kpi’s, his role, what he gets paid blah blah blah so our argument is worthless

Yet every other argument on this board is no different except that our evidence is smacking everyone in the face over a bloody long period of time, we are not basing it on 2 bits of f all here.

Just wait another 18 months, nothing will have changed at all. Another 18 months pushing s**t up hill with nowhere near your best 22 on the park, this comp is hard enough without being hamstrung continuously dipping into multiple layers of depth every week.

Nah. You are both arguing that people should stop posting a different view than yours. No one is waiting for anything. That's you projecting your own pov.

rams.jpg

Just wait another 18 months, nothing will have changed at all. Another 18 months pushing s**t up hill with nowhere near your best 22 on the park, this comp is hard enough without being hamstrung continuously dipping into multiple layers of depth every week.

Our list is actually batting deep and we have finally learnt to develop young player and fringe/peripheral players at VFL level, which is what most of us (least I have) been calling out for almost 20 years.

We are currently enjoying the best win streak and patch of form in well over a decade, but according to you, SAKC Russell, and its all doom and gloom.

News flash mate, every club HAS INJURIES.

It's a gruelling, high contact sport.

Sometimes you just cannot avoid bad luck.

It happens in sport (and in life)

Luke Sayers and Brian Cook are very measured and methodoical in their approach, if they had concerns/issues over Russell, they would have given him the flick by now.

I don’t need to argue, the evidence is palpable

Not sure what you’re feeling, but it’s certainly not the evidence you’ve supposedly provided.

You’re welcome to argue and to discuss. But don’t whinge when someone comes back at your baseless claims with a semblance of logic.

Sorry…who is being shut down? Who is being told you can’t hold that opinion?

Think what you want. Discuss. Debate. Accept there are other views.

When encouraged to bring facts, do so if you can.
If you can’t, don’t whinge when some call it out or prefer to side with those who can and do.