Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVI - 'Loopy' Season in full swing

No use being our third best mid if he's spending the majority of the season in the rehab group...

What have we learnt from Marchbank, Cunners, Martin etc?

There's no doubt the club is very concerned about his durability... hence sending him off to Qatar...

As for Houston, I'm with you on that... but I'll extend that to getting rid of our F1 as well. People think Houston is going to solve ball movement issues, he will do so only if gameplan and midfield is improved. He is not going to nail long kicks up the wing any better than who we currently have. We need a midfield mix that spreads and opens up targets for him to hit.

I'd rather we focus on improving our midfield mix and if we're looking at obtaining R1 picks and/or trading our F1, it should be to facilitate that area as #1 priority imo.
Absolutely perfect post.
Could not have said it any better.

Cerra is at best going to be third banana and in rotations he will share with George, Lij, Lord, Chugga and hopefully Saad and Boyd.
No 1 at Saints.

I would rather be the third best midfielder at a good team than the best midfielder at a crap team....
Same and 3 blokes play in the midfield. It's not like it's a specialist position where you can only fit one bloke into your 18.
Cerra is quality. Was our best mid (and player) before his hammy went against Collingwood in 2023. He was very good in 2022 too. Yes, had a poor year this and injuries didn't help, but I'd much rather work on getting him right than giving him away.

If Cez was durable, I would want to hang on to him but his hamstrings will always hamper him. Trade now and get what we can for him I say.

A late first rounder would be ideal. Cooper Hynes would come in and impact straight away.
Using that argument, Walsh has had back issues two years in a row, lets trade him too just in case his back goes again.

If Cez was durable, I would want to hang on to him but his hamstrings will always hamper him. Trade now and get what we can for him I say.

A late first rounder would be ideal. Cooper Hynes would come in and impact straight away.
Glad we didn't apply that thought process to Doc.

I doubt his hamstring are that bad. It didnt go to full tear and require operation. It is just probably we just rush him too early and never let it recover properly.

And you know this without a shadow of a doubt how?

Who suggested it anyways?
You know who you're reading the thread. Lords not an outside midfielder. He wouldn't improve balance at the expense of cerra and isn't anywhere near the talent. I do like him but it's laughable that the shiny new toy syndrome is getting people.

The only thing wrong with cerras game is his hamstrings. If they're good he's top 10 first and always picked. i know that because I'm not blatantly disregarding 2023 and recency bias championing an inside midfielder who can hardly run out half a game

Replace him with someone who hits targets and we are better off. But it won't happen.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Reckon walshy hits targets when he's playing the outside gig just fine. Inside both ****s his back and puts him into spots he's not as good at. Just get him running in space.

Another one people applying only recency bias to. He played a real inside outside job - not purely inside - last finals series and was unbelievably good.

You know who you're reading the thread. Lords not an outside midfielder. He wouldn't improve balance at the expense of cerra and isn't anywhere near the talent. I do like him but it's laughable that the shiny new toy syndrome is getting people.

The only thing wrong with cerras game is his hamstrings. If they're good he's top 10 first and always picked. i know that because I'm not blatantly disregarding 2023 and recency bias championing an inside midfielder who can hardly run out half a game
Im glad you’re laughing mate but I don’t recall anyone saying Lord is better than Cerra at all so no, I don’t know who said it? I wouldn’t have asked you the question if I knew who stated it now would I? So if you can point me to it, I’d greatly appreciate it. As for shiny new toy, I’m confused. I’ve personally stated I think Lord will do well next year, but so have others, others have also said Moir will do well with no one talking him down or calling him a shiny new toy. I find it strange in a forum where people are meant to give some thoughts on kids at our club to be then shot down and said their opinions are laughable. Like wtf!!! Having high hopes for our young brigade shouldn’t be greated with an argument or laughing at them hoping our young guys have a cracking 2025.

But an argument could easily be made that if Cerra was traded and we got something great in return and Lord steps up in 2025 that we could potentially be a better side. That how clubs and trades work. GWS lose plenty of players each year and yet continue to play finals.

So the problem I have still is, who said that Lord was better than Cerra??? Because that’s what you’re basing your argument on yet I’m not to see anyone post that exact point. Or have you taken someone talking up Lord and the potential trade idea of Cerra and choose to put 2 and 2 together to get 5?

Yep and moving cerra on and promoting Lord will fix that......

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

(Not saying you suggested this just that it's being suggested)

You're missing the point though, nobody said they are exactly like for like.... Cerra plays his best footy on ball as a balanced mid, he isn't purely outside...the point was to keep a draft hand and address other needs too

Not banking on replacing Cerra with Lord alone.

If we trade Cerra, we're going to get something decent coming back. We use that to improve our midfield mix and add Lord to the rotations next year, we'll be a better team.

No use being our third best mid if he's spending the majority of the season in the rehab group...

What have we learnt from Marchbank, Cunners, Martin etc?

There's no doubt the club is very concerned about his durability... hence sending him off to Qatar...

As for Houston, I'm with you on that... but I'll extend that to getting rid of our F1 as well. People think Houston is going to solve ball movement issues, he will do so only if gameplan and midfield is improved. He is not going to nail long kicks up the wing any better than who we currently have. We need a midfield mix that spreads and opens up targets for him to hit.

I'd rather we focus on improving our midfield mix and if we're looking at obtaining R1 picks and/or trading our F1, it should be to facilitate that area as #1 priority imo.
Way too much common sense - how do you stand it in here? 🤣

Interesting that before the mid season draft, our list management crew said we were looking to get ahead of the draft with our selection.

Just on exposed form, you wonder where Lord may have been selected in this year's draft. Given our current 2nd and 3rd round picks will likely be burnt on the Campo twins, he may be the 2nd round pick this year that we won't have.

Hey'all, I recently heard that Hansen was walked out the door by Vossy because he applied for the West Coast job.
Apparently this happenned around the time we were 2nd on the ladder. Once he departed we slid rapidly. Or so I've been told. Is there any validity to this?

LEADING assistant Ashley Hansen will not pursue the vacant West Coast coaching position after choosing to remain in Victoria for family reasons.
Sorry Aphrodite

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVI - 'Loopy' Season in full swing