Bluemour 'Silly Season' Edition XXXIV

Just gonna say I really don't see it with TDK so if he wants to go for big money and we get a decent pick out of it them I'm all for it.

I know ruckmen can take longer so that's the only caveat. However, he isn't a good forward and no matter how often the media say he's a "forward/ruck" or is a "ruckman that can go forward, which is really valuable" won't make it more true. He's awful up forward and his stats reflect it. As for being a pure ruck, he's still getting pushed around and I think it's more balanced based than strength based as physically he does look solid. His ground work is ok, not elite but ok, and his around the ground marking is below average despite the odd speccy.

I don't see what makes him special. The physical talent is enticing but what he's actually produced on the field leaves me wanting. If we can get above value for him (which it sounds like clubs are more than willing to offer) then we should take it.

Maybe what he needs is a new club and he will make us look like fools up in Sydney, and if he does then good for him, but for what he's produced here if we can get a top 15 pick for him then we should take it and run. The worst case scenario is we get a premium pick and the new club gets a great player. An elite ruckman isn't what's going to turn us around, so that would be a win-win-win for player, club A and club B.

Just gonna say I really don't see it with TDK so if he wants to go for big money and we get a decent pick out of it them I'm all for it.

I know ruckmen can take longer so that's the only caveat. However, he isn't a good forward and no matter how often the media say he's a "forward/ruck" or is a "ruckman that can go forward, which is really valuable" won't make it more true. He's awful up forward and his stats reflect it. As for being a pure ruck, he's still getting pushed around and I think it's more balanced based than strength based as physically he does look solid. His ground work is ok, not elite but ok, and his around the ground marking is below average despite the odd speccy.

I don't see what makes him special. The physical talent is enticing but what he's actually produced on the field leaves me wanting. If we can get above value for him (which it sounds like clubs are more than willing to offer) then we should take it.

Maybe what he needs is a new club and he will make us look like fools up in Sydney, and if he does then good for him, but for what he's produced here if we can get a top 15 pick for him then we should take it and run. The worst case scenario is we get a premium pick and the new club gets a great player. An elite ruckman isn't what's going to turn us around, so that would be a win-win-win for player, club A and club B.

Yep - and we need to trade boldly and aggressively.

I dont know how many times he delivers to a team mate gets on his horse and runs past for the one two and is ignored while the professor with the ball walks backwards, head darting everywhere looking for the best option, only for the ball to be kicked to a contest on the wing. :mad::mad::mad:

Can have someone tagging behind him (as oppo are aware of his game) and has been requesting the ball when on his wrong side which is not very smart either, unless you’re Leon Cameron & can kick equally as well left or right foot. This is not Saad’s forte unfort.

Totally agree, as long as we can get some value in return, then all for it. Wouldnt want to sign him long-term and reasonably big money to keep him.

Sam McClure reporting TDK is pretty keen on the swans offer
I don't want to lose TDK but it sounds like he is gone.
I could handle him going to the Swans. Don't want him to go to ST Kilda or Geelong for some reason.
It is disappointing that one of our young players wants to leave. I would love to know the reason. Is it money or something else?

Been on forced leave from bigfooty 😜 so missed all this weeks chatter re the 'rumours' of player/coach and player factions etc.

Who knows what is true and what isnt but fmd, it would explain alot. No other explanation to how every player bar Cerra and C Curnow (even Charlie has probably been less consistent than last year) have played worse than they did in 2022. Makes zero sense that everything is hunky dory in the coach/player relationship and yet players have been playing terribly all season in comparison to 2022 under the same coaching staff.

Player factions are a big worry if true, you wont get anywhere with any serious ones.

DOB 13/7/1996

Hardly a 28 yo.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
By the time next season starts he would be 4mths shy of 28.
lt is a strong upcoming draft, our focus needs to be getting 2-3 selections in the 1st 25, this is the correct strategy rather than going down a similar path that has not been successful, understand if we were top 4 but we have not even played finals.

Go to the draft?

Get a bunch of kids who invariably will have little impact in their first few years?

So you're happy with us being crap again next year?

Go to the draft?

Get a bunch of kids who invariably will have little impact in their first few years?

An impactful small forward is bloody hard to find & takes yrs to develop (that’s if your development is good).
U grab the opportunity with both hands if a top 3 small forward wants to play for u & pray u can find a kid to take over from him in a few yrs.
In hindsight we should have taken Elliot when he was available for a bag chips because his back was questionable.

Go to the draft?

Yes I’d rather draft a bunch of kids to develop and regrow the lost on the run than recruit a 28 year old small forward and give ourselves yet another highly played player

Go to the draft?

Martin & McGovern & Williams among other failures, if Papley was 24 fine, we can find quality via the draft rather than taking the short term path.

Pretty sure Papley signed a extended contract so who says he is even interested in moving back to Melbourne?
He is contracted till 2028.

Saad isn't being used well. No point quoting stats. It's what you do with the ball. I'm not saying it's his fault. I don't think it is.

Opposition pressure, pushing him back to the last line of defence and a desire to run past for a handball receive with head down to kick wildly, as his only one wood, has nothing to do with not being used well. Sorry.

Our main focus should be upcoming draft it’s a ripper and we need skill, good fooy IQ , speed and hardness too, we must select astutely.
This draft has the potential of the 2018, so let’s hope we have at least 2 picks in the 1st round and Austin does his homework and make correct choices.

Geelong not wiling to part with a top 10 pick for TDK is flowering hilarious. I bet even though they have chased him for 2 years and offered him more, they somehow give us a second rounder and walk away like bandits. Not the first time.
Thats on Austin, to be tough at the negotiating table. No way should we undersell TDK when there are other suitors

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

Opposition pressure, pushing him back to the last line of defence and a desire to run past for a handball receive with head down to kick wildly, as his only one wood, has nothing to do with not being used well. Sorry.

That’s intelligent footy tactics by the opposition, reduces Saad’s effectiveness and potency. Our Head Couch should be able understand what‘s happing during a game , and act to counter.

If Cunners gets 8 seasons on an AFL list, surely Philp can get another one.:think:
Surely its time, to target players with clean bill of health

Part of our issues are we sit on too many broken players, with very few games under their belt... hoping for them to come good...

Its ok to have 1 or 2, but we have a list of them. At some point, you cut your loses.

Collingwood did it with Freeman
Freo with Morabito

Plenty other examples, and probably these guys got time because they were prized first rounders...

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk