Bluemour 'Silly Season' Edition XXXIV

Jeff Hogg. Does Barassi count? Plenty of examples clubs pushing their captain away, ie Paul Roos before he joined Sydney, Gary Sidebottom, mark williams. Bill Lawry.

Dayne Beams, Chris Judd, Leigh Colbert. Wayne Carey?

Note: don't want to trade Cripps
Somone mentioned Peter Moore as well.

I'm ok to see change. Crippa has been a warrior. But if he wants to go home, and he has had enough then off he goes.

In relation to rumour of player factions. Ultimately the club needs to sort this out, regardless of the "name" of the talent.

Its a team sport. Team first should override all.

Its not Tennis or Golf

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

I’m all for drafting kids but I’m worried about our poorish track record for player development. We’ve drafted a lot and they are still nowhere near it. I’m sure poor drafting is also part of the problem.

We’ve got to learn this player development caper.

I’m almost certain tdk will become a very good player at swans (if he ends up there) with their good development programs.

This is a very, very simplistic bit of salary managing you've come up with. First off, I have zero clue about our salary cap situation, but your reasoning in this post suggests you have even less.

You can't just add up the outs and assume that is how much our tpp has changed between years. Do you think cripps, Charlie, Harry are all going to be on the same salary as last year? When we are front ending some salaries, you can bet we are doing other things to make it all work. Back ending, large chunk in the 3rd year bases on space we have in 2025, lots of clever book keeping going on in all the clubs.
The back ending of the deals aren't going to offset Govs 700k coming off the books. It may for the Martin and Williams piece. But the length of a couple of those deals in comparison to Martin and Williams means the amounts can be spread per year smoother. Aren't Walsh, Weiters, Charlie and Harry all contracted for massive amount of years beyond 2024?

Releasing Gov and allowing TDK to leave, I'd be surprised if we aren't able to be bringing in 2-3 established.

I’m all for drafting kids but I’m worried about our poorish track record for player development. We’ve drafted a lot and they are still nowhere near it. I’m sure poor drafting is also part of the problem.

We’ve got to learn this player development caper.

I’m almost certain tdk will become a very good player at swans (if he ends up there) with their good development programs.
My only issue is we've committed to Pittonet. Who can't seem to stay on the park. We better be confident in Mirkov as the backup. Or we get a cheap backup from another club in

I dont know how many times he delivers to a team mate gets on his horse and runs past for the one two and is ignored while the professor with the ball walks backwards, head darting everywhere looking for the best option, only for the ball to be kicked to a contest on the wing. :mad::mad::mad:
He also doesn't help himself sometimes. Amount of times he runs past to receive on his right foot.

And when our players finally do use him in that example, he gets found out as having absolutely no right foot and makes a poor decision kicking still on the left

My only issue is we've committed to Pittonet. Who can't seem to stay on the park. We better be confident in Mirkov as the backup. Or we get a cheap backup from another club in
I’d say we’d have to find a ruckman to replace tdk if he was to leave. Unless they are planning to use young or other talls to help pitt. Don’t wanna see jsos doing it.

The back ending of the deals aren't going to offset Govs 700k coming off the books. It may for the Martin and Williams piece. But the length of a couple of those deals in comparison to Martin and Williams means the amounts can be spread per year smoother. Aren't Walsh, Weiters, Charlie and Harry all contracted for massive amount of years beyond 2024?

Releasing Gov and allowing TDK to leave, I'd be surprised if we aren't able to be bringing in 2-3 established.
Gov is on say 800k. We will also lose tdks salary in your example. Plus Ed, omarchy, cuningham, dow and any others that leave or are booted. Lots of salary going out next year, no doubt.

But sticking with your example of gov and tdk. Gov has been here 5 years. Do you really think the 800k saving from him, hasn't been allocated already to Walsh, weitering, Charlie, Harry, Pitt, owies, motlop, doc, holland, Kennedy, or the others that signed extensions during that 5 years? Or cerra, Saad, Williams, Hewett that we brought in during his contract?

We may well have some space, I'm just trying to show your reasoning is way off.

Is Papley going to ruck for us?

Seriously this talk is nonsense. Why would we let TDK leave and leave us with one ruckman in the club? Mirkov is way off the mark still.
Hey - I'm not pushing him out the door!!

He's still unsigned and other clubs are circling. He might stay, sign on again, but the inside info from a Journo in the know is he's gone, and I'm also betting he goes.

We have to make the best of a bad situation.
We can't force him to stay , we can just get appropriate compo or do a deal.

Besides - Papley might end up the premier ruckman in the AFL.

Spoke to someone today who claimed to know Craig Matheson - a business associate whose I don’t know overly well, I’ll admit, but simply passing on what they told me…

Craig and Sayers were quite close, Craig was the one initially heavily pushing for Sayers to become president.

As has already been reported widely, they had a falling out but was more so because Craig was backing his old man.

The board is fractured and currently split as half support Voss and the other half don’t. These factions are also felt amongst the playing group and is causing some division amongst the playing group.

Again, only passing on what I was told.

Spoke to someone today who claimed to know Craig Matheson - a business associate whose I don’t know overly well, I’ll admit, but simply passing on what they told me…

Craig and Sayers were quite close, Craig was the one initially heavily pushing for Sayers to become president.

As has already been reported widely, they had a falling out but was more so because Craig was backing his old man.

The board is fractured and currently split as half support Voss and the other half don’t. These factions are also felt amongst the playing group and is causing some division amongst the playing group.

Again, only passing on what I was told.

Bruce is not Craig’s ‘old man’

Craig is Bruce’s nephew.

What offer? Its just creative journalism.
Standard fare about this time of year.
You cant stop em speculating but taking it as more than that seems a stretch to me.

Swans offering an alleged 600k plus #1 ruck role with additional contract incentives.

Geelong pushing him for him to take the "hometown discount and we'll take care of you post football" option.

You honestly think that out of contract players don’t have offers in front of them from other clubs?? C’mon mate
The point of my post is that nobody knows. Therefore its just guesswork.
TDK's manager dropping some stuff one could surmise and designed to get the most for the lad as he can wherever he plays.
What I do think I know is that CFC would not see a ruckman at his age as a bust. Most likely scenario I reckon is he signs a new contract with us long before the season is done. But again as I say its all guesswork.

With TDK on the way out there will be plenty of back up ruckman willing to have a crack at Pittonet's spot. He is serviceable but not a star/lock, and he is injury prone. Carlton would be seen as a great opportunity for any young tall wanting to find a spot in a best 22.

Ruckmen are not ‘that’ important anymore.Outside English/Gawn who are guns most teams have fairly good to average ruckman.

We just need someone who can compete at stoppages.Briggs from GWS might be a good get.

And we have the worst ruck stock in the comp and by a long way

Ruckmen are not ‘that’ important anymore.Outside English/Gawn who are guns most teams have fairly good to average ruckman.

We just need someone who can compete at stoppages.Briggs from GWS might be a good get.

I reckon Ruckmen are like toilets. They are important - a critical part of your team structure.

If you don't have a functional one, you are in real trouble. Things are going to get shitty fast.

Ideally, you have a good one that is sturdy and durable, and a good backup too. Maybe a third just in case... you never know when bad luck will strike.

But there really isn't much difference between a mid tier and an expensive one, and you really only start notice the upgrade once you get into the super expensive territory. And sure, it's nice to have the million dollar version, but when you think about the type of physical punishment it is going to take it is probably better value to spend your money elsewhere.

Our stocks - i reckon Pitto is a solid bunnings toilet that has been badly installed. He gives pretty good service but breaks down surprisingly more than you would expect.

TDK is one of those asian squat toilets. They look kind of fancy and everyone raves about them but i dunno, i just don't see it yet.

Beyond that stocks are pretty thin, and it really gets obvious when the people around the ruck are getting desperate. If all was well i think we would be ok with Pitto but given the sickness running through the club he's copping more negative attention than deserved (and two weeks ago was a bad timw to get broken down)

He was all Australian last year. Not even in the conversation this year.

Meow.

That’s more a reflection of the year we are having than the year Saad is having. He was in most rolling AA teams until round 8 and has fallen out because AA teams get loaded with players from winning teams.