brisbane lions/bears/fitzroy lions all time best team?

Pretty tough to decide on the old Fitzroy players so i'm not really willing to have a go considering I never saw most of them. Perhaps some of the older members of the forum would be more qualified to tell us who belongs (come on Grandpas, show us your stuff;)). ALthough I would suggest you'd be pretty safe to name Bunton, Quinlan, Murray & Voss in your team. Have to consider Lynch & Roos aswell.

a very hard team to pick thats for sure... we have had so many champion players over the our long club history (fitzroy) also some great players from the bears, there would be definitely a fair few from our recent premiership teams...

but its hard to say as not every player was a standout but did there job very well... a team of individual champions i could think of alot of names...

old players i remember as far as my years go back...

Bernie Quinlan, Kevin Murray, Gary Wilson, Paul Roos, Warwick Irwin [ my high school sports teacher :) ]

plus a fair few more, just look at the roys team of the century...

recent champs i would say:

voss, akermanis, lappin, black, lynch, johnson, leppitsch, hart, pike, i could list the whole team really.. but i think these guys were real standouts in our premiership days, please remind me if i missed anybody :)

cheers:thumbsu:

All Time Best Fitzroy/Lions/Bears Team Ever

FB: C. Johnson M. Michael S. Hart
HB: M. Ashcroft J. Leppitsch A. Bews
C:
K. Murray M. Voss H. Bunton snr.
HF: W. Capper J. Brown B. Quinlan
FF: C. McCrae A. Lynch C. Lambert
FOLL: C. Keating S. Black N. Buckley
INT: N. Lappin R. Merret J. Akermanis N. Johnstone
EMER: J.Charman J. Moriarty G. Wilson
BIT UNLUCKLY: D. Bradshaw P. Roos

Well, i tryed so here it is:)

C:

Nice effort, would say that the highlighted played their best football elsewhere though.

C:

These things are so hard as you only remember footballers you have seen, and ignore those before your own time....If 16/22 of the best fitzroy/bears/BL team were from the 1990s onwards i would run naked from Brunswick to the Gabba;)

These things are so hard as you only remember footballers you have seen, and ignore those before your own time....If 16/22 of the best fitzroy/bears/BL team were from the last 1990s onwards i would run naked from Brunswick to the Gabba;)

hahahahahaha

brunswick boy are ya mate? grew up round there myself

well mate, you have a go then. Most of those players were from the 1990's onwards because as the era grew older so did the skills of football players and the expectation. So i wouldn't be surprised if you see half of them being premiership players.:rolleyes:

C: K. Murray M. Voss H. Bunton snr.

I've highlighted the blokes who wouldn't get near that team.

Dan Bradshaw a bit unlucky??? I like the bloke, but he would struggle to be picked in the best Brisbane Lions team from the past 10 years.

And I don't know much about Fitzroy, but surely they had a better ruckman than Keating and Charman in all their years.

The official Fitzroy team of the century:

B: Bill Stephen, Fred Hughson, Frank Curcio
HB: Kevin Murray (c), Paul Roos, Gary Pert
C: Warwick Irwin, John Murphy, Wilfred Smallhorn
HF: Owen Abrahams, Bernie Quinlan, Gary Wilson (vc)
F: Norm Brown, Jack Moriarty, Alan Ruthven
Rucks: Alan Gale, Norm Johnstone, Haydn Bunton Sr
Int: Michael Conlan, Richard Osbourne, Alastair Lynch, Harvey Merrigan, Percy Parratt, Percy Trotter
Coach: Len Smith

The official Brisbane Lions team of the decade:

B: Johnson, Michael, White
HB: Ashcroft, Leppitsch, C. Scott
C: Lappin, Voss (c), B. Scott
HF: Akermanis, Brown, McRae
F: Power, Lynch, Bradshaw
Rucks: Keating, Black, Hart
Int: Pike, Notting, Charman, Champion
Coach: Matthews

Brisbane Bears contenders:
Roger Merrett
Brad Hardie
Michael McLean
Craig Lambert
Andrew Bews

It would be a bloody good team with those players to choose from. The half-back line would be insanely hard to select.

Int: Michael Conlan, Richard Osbourne, Alastair Lynch, Harvey Merrigan, Percy Parratt, Percy Trotter

Roger Merrett
Brad Hardie
Michael McLean
Craig Lambert
Andrew Bews

It would be a bloody good team with those players to choose from. The half-back line would be insanely hard to select.

Check out the Brownlow medallists in that crew and Dinny Ryan din't even get a gig in the Fitzroy side with a Brownlow to his name!

I would say that you could safely pick the side the team "best of teams" as the Bears boys listed above had played their best footy prior to arriving at the Bears...

Unlike carapalis I do not have the balls to make the choices so I will just add these together in an extended interchange! :eek:

I've highlighted the blokes who wouldn't get near that team.

Dan Bradshaw a bit unlucky??? I like the bloke, but he would struggle to be picked in the best Brisbane Lions team from the past 10 years.

And I don't know much about Fitzroy, but surely they had a better ruckman than Keating and Charman in all their years.

yeah they probably did have a few better ruckmen, i didn't do much research but i came up with a few alright players

Roger Merrett
Brad Hardie
Michael McLean
Craig Lambert
Andrew Bews

Ya reckon? For me Leppa (for Pert) would be the only Brisbane player in with a shot.

Thats why it seems were on a hiding to nothing. Hard to judge guys that played 30 to 80 years ago. We've seen some great players in the last 2 decades but there are only a couple you'd even have the nerve to put in place of the fitzroy champions for. Voss, Aker & Leppa perhaps the only ones i'd be willing to nominate to replace guys i've never seen.

brisbane lions/bears/fitzroy lions all time best team?