Buckley V Crawford

Ill stand by the first line, but the second one was mischief ;-)

For reference.

Pies
B: Harold Rumney - Jack Regan - Syd Coventry
HB: Billy Picken - Albert Collier - Nathan Buckley
C: Thorold Merrett - Bob Rose - Darren Millane
HF: Des Fothergill - Murray Weideman - Dick Lee
F: Phonse Kyne - Gordon Coventry - Peter Daicos
Foll: Len Thompson - Des Tuddenham - Harry Collier
Int: Tony Shaw - Wayne Richardson - Marcus Whelan - Gavin Brown

Hawks
B Gary Ayres - Kelvin Moore - Albert Mills
HB Col Austen - Chris Mew - Peter Knights
C Robert Dipierdomenico - Jim Bohan - Brendan Edwards
HF Graham Arthur (Cap) - Dermott Brereton - Gary Buckenara
F Jason Dunstall - Peter Hudson - John Platten
R Don Scott - Michael Tuck - Leigh Matthews
INTERCHANGE: Chris Langford, Ian Law, Roy Simmonds, Paul Salmon

I'd back the Hawks there head-to-head. Would not be able to contain that forward line.

* Note that earlier posters are wrong.. Crawf isnt on the bench.

Rumney- 5 times Premiership Player
Regan- Dual premiership Player, arguably the gretest full back ever.
Coventry- 4 times Premiership Player, 4 times premiership captain, brownlow medal
Collier- 6 times premiership player, brownlow medal, the man dyer said was the greatest player ever.
Buckley- Brownlow, Norm Smith, 7 all australians, Jesaulenko medal, etc
Picken- Big time finals player

I reckon a back line with three brownlow medals, arguably the greatest full back ever and 17 premierships stacks up pretty well against any one.

Obviously you aren't even in the cookie jar.
Bucks left the Dismal Bears not the Lions and he was always destined for Collingwood as he wanted to be in the Footy State not the Sunshine State from the word go.I believe it was part of the original deal?
I don't even like cookies,pal.
What original deal, the one where he told the Bears at the end of his first season that he wanted out and the bears got 3 duds and were bent over by Bucks. He never gave the bears a chance, he is obviously not a very good judge either as half the premiership stars were already there.
He has to live with that decision.

Buckley, but he isn't the smartest cookie.
Left the Lions to play in finals. hahaha
actually he left the bears to play finals. lets not forget a certain merger. had brisbane not been gifted 8 players or whatever it was who knows what might have happened.

buckley was no Nostradamus

I don't even like cookies,pal.
What original deal, the one where he told the Bears at the end of his first season that he wanted out and the bears got 3 duds and were bent over by Bucks. He never gave the bears a chance, he is obviously not a very good judge either as half the premiership stars were already there.
He has to live with that decision.

What are you on about??

Bucks went to the Bears under a zoning benefit as he lived in Darwin for a while when he was young. Funny because at the time he was living in SA and winning the Magarey, Fos Williams, Port BnF and an SANFL premierhsip..............so why he was zoned to a gold coast based team when he never lived there is beyond me!

He was always moving back to Melbourne to play in footballs heartland, and the Bears new this from the outset....but they got the hottest young talent in the land for nothing.

All of the Melbourne clubs chased him throughout the year and in the end he settled with the pies...which pissed off a few rival victorian based clubs.

Yet he gave great service to the Bears, runner up in the BnF in his only year at the club.

He moved to Melbourne, got to play many games at the home of footy the G, and played a final in his first year for the pies....as he wanted to do.

And yes he was a better player than crawf

who is best. none. both and they can see through it all. They have a magical power to see it. They have both the way of the horse and the beautiful way of the um nothing . I think that they know fantasy and reality when they want to. It's pretty uncanny. sorry. just a bit stupid. oops. sorry crawf.

Simon Tregenza the Crow?
I think he won a Magarey for Port Maggies didn't he?Don't quote me however.:confused:
hahaha i was just being flip man
win a magarey medal did he?? hmmm wasn't as shit as i thought.
i'll go with Mathew Liptak then or maybe Steven Sziller were better than buckley and crawf haha

What are you on about??

Bucks went to the Bears under a zoning benefit as he lived in Darwin for a while when he was young. Funny because at the time he was living in SA and winning the Magarey, Fos Williams, Port BnF and an SANFL premierhsip..............so why he was zoned to a gold coast based team when he never lived there is beyond me!

He was always moving back to Melbourne to play in footballs heartland, and the Bears new this from the outset....but they got the hottest young talent in the land for nothing.

All of the Melbourne clubs chased him throughout the year and in the end he settled with the pies...which pissed off a few rival victorian based clubs.

Yet he gave great service to the Bears, runner up in the BnF in his only year at the club.

He moved to Melbourne, got to play many games at the home of footy the G, and played a final in his first year for the pies....as he wanted to do.

And yes he was a better player than crawf

Sorry, when did Buckley live in Melbourne prior to joining the Pies???

Rumney- 5 times Premiership Player
Regan- Dual premiership Player, arguably the gretest full back ever.
Coventry- 4 times Premiership Player, 4 times premiership captain, brownlow medal
Collier- 6 times premiership player, brownlow medal, the man dyer said was the greatest player ever.
Buckley- Brownlow, Norm Smith, 7 all australians, Jesaulenko medal, etc
Picken- Big time finals player

I reckon a back line with three brownlow medals, arguably the greatest full back ever and 17 premierships stacks up pretty well against any one.

If you want a pissing contest..

Dunstall 1254 goals, 6 Tons, Colemans in 1988, 1989 and 1992. 4 Flags.. 17 goals in a game.. AFL Hall of famer.

Peter Hudson - Best Goal Kicking Average Ever in VFL/AFL History. Look only 1 Flag, but ill quote Wiki..
"Over his career he kicked 1,874 goals in senior matches spanning the period 1963 to 1982. His impressive tally increases to 2,191 when night series and representative games are included, averaging over 7 goals a game over his entire career"
In 1979, he was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Australia Day Honours, for services to Australian football.
AFL Hall of famer. AFL Legend

John Platten. Forced into a pocket by Lethal (you really don't want Matthews in this forward line for comparison though, do you?). Off the top of my head, lets say 4 flags, a Brownlow, a Magery. AFL Hall of famer.

Graham Arthur (Capt of HFC Team of the Century) - 1 Flag only, but captained the Hawks first ever. Still a revered figure round the club. AFL Hall of famer.

Dermie - I dont think you need his full name. 5 Day 5 Night flags... Umm, that should do.. you know the rest. AFL Hall of famer.

Gary Buckenara - 154 Games 293 Goals 4 Flags. Actually, im dissapointed. He is the only player in our forward 6 NOT in the AFL Hall of Fame.

Pies
B: Harold Rumney - Jack Regan - Syd Coventry
HB: Billy Picken - Albert Collier - Nathan Buckley
C: Thorold Merrett - Bob Rose - Darren Millane
HF: Des Fothergill - Murray Weideman - Dick Lee
F: Phonse Kyne - Gordon Coventry - Peter Daicos
Foll: Len Thompson - Des Tuddenham - Harry Collier
Int: Tony Shaw - Wayne Richardson - Marcus Whelan - Gavin Brown

Hawks
B Gary Ayres - Kelvin Moore - Albert Mills
HB Col Austen - Chris Mew - Peter Knights
C Robert Dipierdomenico - Jim Bohan - Brendan Edwards
HF Graham Arthur (Cap) - Dermott Brereton - Gary Buckenara
F Jason Dunstall - Peter Hudson - John Platten
R Don Scott - Michael Tuck - Leigh Matthews
INTERCHANGE: Chris Langford, Ian Law, Roy Simmonds, Paul Salmon

I'd back the Hawks there head-to-head. Would not be able to contain that forward line.

* Note that earlier posters are wrong.. Crawf isnt on the bench.

The Hawk team of the century would Flog the Collingwood one by about 10 goals.

Pretty much like the 2008 team smashed Collingwood both times this year.

Bucks easily, Crawf having grabbed a GF medal doesnt in anyway raise my view on his skills and capabilities as a player as its a team that wins them not an individual, he is a great player but he isnt at the same level of Buckley

Buckley V Crawford