Buddy says fans should "Get a life".

When asked what it is like to have so many fans requesting photos and autographs.

Seriously though, it was a refreshing change to see a young AFL player being so honest open.

Classic response was when he was asked what he will do with the 100 goal football that was returned to him by a passionate Hawks supporter. Buddy said that he will probably sell it, which was a tongue in cheek response after learning that the guy that returned it was offered $5000 for the ball.

Hawks should let this guy do more press stuff because he is good value and says what he thinks. :thumbsu:

Wasnt for the fans he wouldnt be getting payed a killing or ****ing all these hot birds because no one would know who he is arrogant jerk the fans make AFL football how great it is today remember that Franklin

His still the KING though

Wasnt for the fans he wouldnt be getting payed a killing or ****ing all these hot birds because no one would know who he is arrogant jerk the fans make AFL football how great it is today remember that Franklin

So just because he's famous it means that fans of his can interrupt his personal life when it's clear he wouldn't want to be bothered?

I'm sure he will give up his time for a fan if he wasn't busy.

Exactly, Ollie.

When asked about the off field attention that he was attracting – including fans photographing him when is he out and sending copies to newspapers – Franklin said he wasn't concerned.

"I think some people might need to get a life I reckon. You can't really do much about it," he quipped.

From http://hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=67365

Buddy those fans pay your wages at the end of the day.

If they didn't come along to watch you kick the ball and stare at yourself on the M.C.G big screen, licking your hands etc then you wouldn't be so popular and well-off.

Stupid thing to say and if a few kids want a autograph give it to them.

If they didn't come along to watch you kick the ball and stare at yourself on the M.C.G big screen, licking your hands etc then you wouldn't be so popular and well-off.

It was in response to people photographing him when he was out and sending into the papers......

Nothing to do with people asking for autographs.

Lol Buddy ain't no ugly duckling either. Man if I had his physique and looks I'd be pulling in the ladies as well and wouldn't matter if I was a bogan plumber.

Just be lucky that Franklin is a decent bloke as well who gives time to his fans. If I was a superstar footballer I'm 100% certain that the fame would get to me and I'd be all arrogant and telling ppl to **** off when they come too close. Just like those douchebag rappers like in the states.

Lol Buddy ain't no ugly duckling either. Man if I had his physique and looks I'd be pulling in the ladies as well and wouldn't matter if I was a bogan plumber.

was gonna say the same thing, Buddy would pull birds easily even if he wasn't an AFL star and was just a sparky or something.

Exactly, Ollie.

When asked about the off field attention that he was attracting – including fans photographing him when is he out and sending copies to newspapers – Franklin said he wasn't concerned.

"I think some people might need to get a life I reckon. You can't really do much about it," he quipped.

From http://hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=67365

It's obviously in response to the photo of BUDDY'S NEW GIRL!!! In the Herald Sun where he's sitting with some model in a restaurant and the photo is obviously taken on a camera phone from a distance. The person who took it was probably pretending to walk to the toilet and snapped it when he got near or something like that.

Exactly.

TBH, its ridiculous how much attention footballers get for doing an otherwise irrelevant trade in the overall scheme of things, I know we’re the chief reason why they are in this position but…

Thing is, if it wasn’t for the fans the competition wouldn’t be an elite competition where they get paid for a living. Not to mention the fact that these same footballers will be entering as employees to fans 10-15 years into the future.

This post title and thread is pure BS!

http://bigpondvideo.com/HawthornTV/76671

At about the six minute mark.

Journo: "What about the rockstar element. We've seen people taking pictures on camera phones and sending it in to the papers and that sort of stuff, how do you feel about that?"

Buddy: (laughing) "Some people might need to get a life I reckon! I don't know mate, that's a hard one too. You can't really do much can you? That's about it"

The guy who returned the ball is a mad Hawthorn supporter.

He got to have lunch with Buddy for returning the ball.

He is a Carlton supporter !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

From the HFC website ...........

http://hawthornfc.com.au/News/BlogArticle/tabid/10850/Default.aspx?newsId=67370

CARLTON fan Gavin Shaw has come forward to present Hawthorn’s Lance Franklin with the ball the star forward sent through the Telstra Dome sticks to seal his 100-goal milestone.

The unlikely donor caught the ball in the crowd as fans began to run on to the playing surface. Shaw had been offered up to $5000 for its sale but chose instead to donate the ball to 'Buddy'.

Franklin was tongue-in-cheek when asked about his plans for the ball.

"I'm going to sell it," he joked before confirming that the ball would be encased and take pride of place in his pool room at home.

Buddy described Shaw as an honest person and quipped that he “probably would have kept it” if he had been in his position and caught the ball.

As a reward for returning the Sherrin, Franklin signed a guernsey for Shaw who will also get grand final tickets. Despite being a Blues’ supporter, he said the signed jumper would hold pride of place in his home.

“It’s Buddy Franklin, I’ll still put it on my wall,” Shaw said.

He's an arrogant jerk...and so are all the hawks supporters that were having orgasms on Fri night whenever he went within 80 metres of the ball.

A classic example of cat supporter leaping in to bag out Buddy with no idea of the context.

He's an idea. Know what you talking about first before posting. Fool

Buddy says fans should "Get a life".