Build a bank: A punter's challenge

Hi guys,

The challenge:

In this thread I'm going to start out with a modest $50 in an account for a bit of fun and see how long it lasts as a bit of a challenge. If anyone else wants to post their bets for whatever sport then they can join in also - the more the merrier (just post your bets early and start with "$50". If not I'll go it alone as a challenge to see if I can build on a lone $50 (I'm familiar with units but I'm going to stick with dollars to keep it simple). I'll try and get bets in an as early as possible and will update my bank each time the bets are concluded. Then if anyone is doing any good on here we can just copy what they're doing (or that's the dream anyway - I can think of a few who do quite well anyway).

My plan:

For myself I'll be betting on AFL, Premier League, Thoroughbreds and the NFL. Perhaps a little on other things, but in the main it will be those sports. I'll probably only get into the $3 (or ~5% of my bank) range at any one time for a bet and try to keep my staking plan consistent. I will take a slowly, slowly approach (I'm sure others will be more gung-ho and that'll exciting to watch) with the most risky bets being for value and a few multibets. I expect a few lessons will be learnt along the way and hopefully sooner rather than later (I don't want to be down a 50 too early :eek:). Good luck to any others who join in :thumbsu:.

My opening bets:

Date (CST)-ID-Details-Stake-Odds-Status-Payout-Net Result

NFL
14-11-2008 15:09 17956235 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Minnesota Vikings at Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Tampa Bay Buccaneers - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.50 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

14-11-2008 15:09 17956236 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Houston Texans at Indianapolis Colts - Indianapolis Colts - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.26 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

14-11-2008 15:09 17956237 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers - Green Bay Packers - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.51 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

14-11-2008 15:09 17956238 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Denver Broncos at Atlanta Falcons - Atlanta Falcons - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.34 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

14-11-2008 15:09 17956239 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Dallas Cowboys at Washington Redskins - Washington Redskins - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 2.00 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

Cricket
14-11-2008 15:09 17956286 Single - Australia v New Zealand - 1st Test Match
Australia v New Zealand - Australia - $3 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $3.00 1.40 Pending $0.00 $-3.00

Multibet
Leg 1 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Denver Broncos at Atlanta Falcons - Atlanta Falcons | MULTI Odds: 3.82 - $3 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $3.00 1.34 Pending $0.00 $-3.00 Leg 2 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers - Green Bay Packers - Win - Head To Head (Pending)
Leg 3 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Houston Texans at Indianapolis Colts - Indianapolis Colts - Win - Head To Head (Pending)
Leg 4 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Minnesota Vikings at Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Win - Head To Head (Pending)

Bank: $34 ($16 active)

Edit: Was also supposed to mention that this is a way to keep myself honest as writing a history of bets usually helps your punting out overall - it helps anyone out. There's a few things to edit in the OP but I'm tired. Good night.

I'll join in Harro. But I'll make my bets visible tonight, don't have time ATM.

i am doin something similar starting with 30 dollars and going all in on odds around 1.10 on sports betting. i worked out if you reinvest it all in another bet around 1.10 witin a month you will have a grand haha. just gonna look for the shortest odds in sports (not soccer) where it is almost impossible there is an upset i.e rugby league.

way riskier but a big return :)

i am doin something similar starting with 30 dollars and going all in on odds around 1.10 on sports betting. i worked out if you reinvest it all in another bet around 1.10 witin a month you will have a grand haha. just gonna look for the shortest odds in sports (not soccer) where it is almost impossible there is an upset i.e rugby league.

way riskier but a big return :)

bummer is there will most likely be n upset by the time you reach 1000 :(
and because the betting gods are often pretty harsh (making you lose on the final leg of a multi usually :eek:) they'll wait until it's your last bet just before making 1000....and that would suck balls.

I might have a go at an initial investment of $50 but have a large betting on small odds as mentioned above, im sure there will be upsets as there always is in sport, but my aim is to avoid them!

So the $50 could last me only a day or maybe end in profit, we'll see!

that'll be an awesome effort harro if your 50 lasts till the afl season!
I think if you cap your max bet to 75% of your bank you'll do better.
1 loss and you're out, where 75% of your bank 1 loss @ $1000 you still have $250 to start over with

I might have a go at an initial investment of $50 but have a large betting on small odds as mentioned above, im sure there will be upsets as there always is in sport, but my aim is to avoid them!

So the $50 could last me only a day or maybe end in profit, we'll see!

One of your posts I think it was the motivation for this thread. You'd won on a few horses over the spring and wanted to slowly build you bank to a more respectable sum. I wanted to see if I could do it.

that'll be an awesome effort harro if your 50 lasts till the afl season!

Indeed it would be - in fact that can be a goal. When I woke up today I realised there was some bad timing on my part as I'll be leaving for a longish holiday very shortly. Anway, I'll only be going at bets around ~5% of my bank so it'll last on the staking - the results just have to come through. Here are the first (Atlanta let me down):

My opening bets:

NFL
14-11-2008 15:09 17956235 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Minnesota Vikings at Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Tampa Bay Buccaneers - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.50 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

Payout $3

14-11-2008 15:09 17956236 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Houston Texans at Indianapolis Colts - Indianapolis Colts - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.26 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

$2.52

14-11-2008 15:09 17956237 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers - Green Bay Packers - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.51 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

$3.02

14-11-2008 15:09 17956238 Single - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Denver Broncos at Atlanta Falcons - Atlanta Falcons - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 1.34 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

$2.00

Dallas Cowboys at Washington Redskins - Washington Redskins - $2 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $2.00 2.00 Pending $0.00 $-2.00

Pending

Cricket
14-11-2008 15:09 17956286 Single - Australia v New Zealand - 1st Test Match
Australia v New Zealand - Australia - $3 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $3.00 1.40 Pending $0.00 $-3.00

Pending

Multibet
Leg 1 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Denver Broncos at Atlanta Falcons - Atlanta Falcons | MULTI Odds: 3.82 - $3 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $3.00 1.34 Pending $0.00 $-3.00 Leg 2 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers - Green Bay Packers - Win - Head To Head (Pending)
Leg 3 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Houston Texans at Indianapolis Colts - Indianapolis Colts - Win - Head To Head (Pending)
Leg 4 Multi - NFL - Matches - Week 11
Minnesota Vikings at Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Win - Head To Head (Pending)

$3.00

Bank: $34 ($16 active)

Bank: $42.54 ($5 active) 2.46

So I get off on the wrong foot... damn Atlanta. Multibets always screw you.

I'm going to chuck $2 on a Deane Lester horse.

Active bets:

17-11-2008 12:32 18103546 Single - Warrnambool 5 - 4. Absolute Star - $2 Win - Country Best Price (Pending) $2.00
Pending $0.00 $-2.00

14-11-2008 15:09 17956286 Single - Australia v New Zealand - 1st Test Match Australia v New Zealand - Australia - $3 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $3.00 1.40 Pending $0.00 $-3.00

Bank: $40.54 ($7 active) $2.46

Looking forward to your bets fellas.

bummer is there will most likely be n upset by the time you reach 1000 :(
and because the betting gods are often pretty harsh (making you lose on the final leg of a multi usually :eek:) they'll wait until it's your last bet just before making 1000....and that would suck balls.

yeah but in the end you only lose 30 dollars.
get to a grand and bail i reckon haha

I'll have a small go at this, but only for EPL, horse racing (only city meetings), cricket and, if I last til then, tennis.

I'll haveta look at the format of bets and how we work out prices etc, before I commit though...

If I don't understand it, can someone please explain it again...
Thanks.

I'll join in but will use units as it makes it easier to see how you're going overall.

Starting with 100 units, betting max of 5 units on an individual bet and a max of 10 units on any 'meet'. I'll stick to gallops as it what I know best, have never had much success sports betting and will bet mainly metro meetings.

I would be using Betfair, you get better odds than everywhere and the best thing is if somethings $1.05, you ask for $1.10 or $1.15 the chances are with team betting you'll get it thanks to supporters. I know I rate collingwood a better chance than what they really are every game.

TAB Sportbet is the most commonly used, but IASbet, Sportingbet and Betfair are also good betting agencies.

I would be using Betfair, you get better odds than everywhere and the best thing is if somethings $1.05, you ask for $1.10 or $1.15 the chances are with team betting you'll get it thanks to supporters. I know I rate collingwood a better chance than what they really are every game.
No worries, thanks.
Ill probably use a mix of TAB and IAS, as I have access to both (I know you can use the internet, but wheres the fun in that...)

Okay here goes;

17/11/2008
$5.00 on Man U. to win the premier league @ $4.00 for a $20 return Pending

$5 on Australia to win the first test (cricket) at $1.32 for a return of $6.60 Returned $6.60

18/11/2008
$5 on Man City to beat Arsenal @ $3.55 for a return of $17.75 Returned $17.75

$2 on 0-0 draw, Portsmouth vs Hull @ $9.50 for a return of $19 No Collect

$2 on Niconero, Railway Stakes No collect

$1 on Niconero/Bank Robber quinella, Railway stakes No Collect

21/11/2008
$5.00 Each way; Sentire @ $12.50, $2.90 for a return of $62.50 (win), & $14.50 (place) Returned $14.50

23/11/2008
$5.00 win; Tottenham to beat Blackburn @ $1.72 for a collect of $8.60 Returned $8.60

$5.00 win; Everton to beat Wigan @ $2.70 for a collect of $13.50 No Collect

29/11/2008
$5.00 win; Northern Point, race 8 MV @ $5.90 for a return of $29.50 No Collect

Current balance $$52.45

i just started last week with a $50 account in betfair and now im up to $97, i could show my history, but i cant really be bothered but ill occasionally keep posted, i tip on the tennis (betted on shanghai masters), EPL, AFL (for next year) and NBA (there is really good money for NBA if you know about the NBA)
i also hope it lasts until the footy season but knowing some of my bets its not gonna:D

Betfair is streets ahead of any other agency in terms of odds. The only thing I dislike about betfair (primarily because I'm an extremely small time punter) is the $5 (previously $6) limit. Other than that it's a great market system.

So I get off on the wrong foot... damn Atlanta. Multibets always screw you.

I'm going to chuck $2 on a Deane Lester horse.

Active bets:

17-11-2008 12:32 18103546 Single - Warrnambool 5 - 4. Absolute Star - $2 Win - Country Best Price (Pending) $2.00
Pending $0.00 $-2.00

14-11-2008 15:09 17956286 Single - Australia v New Zealand - 1st Test Match Australia v New Zealand - Australia - $3 Win - Head To Head (Pending) $3.00 1.40 Pending $0.00 $-3.00

Bank: $40.54 ($7 active) $2.46

Looking forward to your bets fellas.

40.54 + 2.80 - 2 = 41.34 ($3 active) 5.66

Struggling but am prepared to follow the same strategy. Atlanta the big disappointment.

ill join in on this aswell, but i already have 69.70 in my account so i will start with that

Hezanoperator win 4.70 rc 5 Palmerton North
Melton Seabreeze e/w $1 rc 1 Albion Park
Utah Jazz -1.5 $5 @ 1.91
LA Clippers -2.5 $2.50 @ 1.91
Detriot-New York ranges $2.50 @ 2.42
Detroit- San Jose-Toronato (+1.5) $2 @ 3.45
no. 3 $5 win rc 6 addington
Balance 45.00 (24.70 in active bets)

Build a bank: A punter's challenge