Autopsy Bulldogs defeat Hawks

I've never seen a bunch of supporters so calm and classy in defeat.

The hate you guys get ****ing baffles me. For threepeating, your bigfooty contingent has been as humble as you could hope for. Not sure many other clubs would be the same.

I hope this is a passing of the baton. From Hawks to Dogs...from Hodge to Bont. Farewell for this year fellas.
The hate is not actually all that baffling. It's called 'tall poppy syndrome'.
But to me at least, their jibes and trolling is like someone throwing cream puffs at Fort Knox. I feel 500 feet tall and bullet proof.

Glad that Clarko mentioned the free kicks, couldnt beg steal or borrow a free last night, but they were much better then us in the end, I think last weeks game against the cats took it's toll on the players, but looking forward to next year with high hopes with the contested footy monsters we will have and I hope they use Tye as full forward type player, we really missing someone there, ball comes in and it's left to Cyril or Poppy to take a screamer. I think the cat's will teke the granny this year, although I would prefer the dogs. Thanks for another great year boys. Now what to watch for 6 months.......

Can't Hate, Won't Hate. Proud of the Club and all that it has achieved (not only in the last three years). The season is done, so time to reflect, regroup and move on to 2017. Will be barricking for the Doggies against the Plastics, GO Hawks.

I've never seen a bunch of supporters so calm and classy in defeat.

The hate you guys get ****ing baffles me. For threepeating, your bigfooty contingent has been as humble as you could hope for. Not sure many other clubs would be the same.

I hope this is a passing of the baton. From Hawks to Dogs...from Hodge to Bont. Farewell for this year fellas.

Unfortunately, that seems to be the way people support the game in 2016. Everyone loves a winner, provided they don't win too much. This saddens me a little as I grew up in an era when you appreciated the great sides and understood what it would take for your club to be reach that standard.

Watching the Richmond teams 1967-1980, Carlton teams in the 70s-early 80s, even Essendon 84-85 was something to see. Then came the West Coast teams of the early 90s, the Brisbane Lions 2001-2003 and Geelong 2007-2011. I had real enjoyment watching those teams play, and I'm looking forward to see what GWS and Bulldogs may produce in the coming seasons.

We don't have to like being beaten, be we should always have some reverence for what the great teams have achieved. Unfortunately, there are now more supporters than ever before who have never played the game to any real level, if at all, and they lack understanding of these things.

Geelong supporters' attitude to us since losing the 2008 GF has been infantile, but enough said about that.

All the best to the Bulldogs for the rest of the finals and beyond. After our 3 point win against the Bulldogs early in the season I posted on your board I felt your club had the tools to go all the way in the near future. I meant it then, and I still do.

Cheers.

Firstly the disclaimer, I was obviously barracking for the Doggies last night and I'm not disappointed to see Hawthorn lose and have their season ended (I doubt Geelong is likely to get much support from Hawk fans next week).

While there is no love lost between us fans, which is what builds and builds the rivalry (with no small help from two sides that continually lift and challenge each other and constantly produce terrific games), there are plenty of Cats fans who have a very healthy respect for Hawthorn. Both clubs have their share of dropkick supporters in their ranks so while there will be the usual trolls looking to get a rise out of this board there are also posters who can acknowledge what a great period Hawthorn has had.

To make a Grand Final is difficult, to win one is harder again.

To win 3 in a row is something that beggars belief, yet your club did it. And that is something that can never be taken away. Hawthorn have cashed in wonderfully well during their period of dominance.

No-one likes seeing their team lose, especially in a final, but everything that has a beginning has to eventually come to an end. However, the end doesn't have to last very long in the current footy climate before there is a new beginning and another chapter written.

Free Agency benefits sides like Hawthorn. The Hawks are clearly a destination club and we have already seen O'Meara declare for you guys and others will no doubt follow. The rejuvenation and hunger that comes from "fresh blood" coupled with the culture and professionalism of the existing players and coaches will ensure any ending at Hawthorn isn't going to last very long.

I'm glad to see you gone, I won't bullshit anyone on that front, but a lot of that is due to the success you've had and the rivalry Geelong has with Hawthorn. You guys should be incredibly proud of what Hawthorn has achieved, so many other supporters would cut off limbs just to win 1 premiership (think of the Dogs and the Saints).

As an aside, it was great news about Roughead. He is much loved by many footy fans and I'm sure everyone smiled with the details of his improvement.

RESPECT.

Transcript of what Clarko had to say on tackles and hard-ball gets (6:30 - 8:00 on the full video at the AFL site):

".... we were playing some pretty good footy at different stages. It was a high quality game, intense game, you know we layed 104 tackles tonight. 104 tackles. How many free kicks do you reckon for holding the ball?"

[Reporter] Three

"Three. Pfft. Three. So what can you say to your players, it's like ..., it's not that the endeavour's not there, the game has changed a little bit though in terms of the interpretation, how can you lay 104 tackles, and not even like even 20 of them be done for holding the ball for incorrect disposal, so ummm, that's where the game has changed a little bit, you know, they want the game to keep moving, and ummm, so ummm, we need to get better in that aspect, so we'll have to change some things that we do in terms of the way that we play, because that is a significant change in the way the game's being umpired over the ..."

"Its not the reason why we're not going to be competitive, but we're going to have to make some adjustmenst along the course. That's a lot of tackles to lay for bugger all reward isn't it?"

"And you know there's 64 hard-ball gets to 20. You ever heard that in a final? I never have. 64 to 20. You're beaten by +44 in hard-ball gets. And its just because the ball spills out and they ... they know what they're doing with the footy because it just spills out and they're the first ones onto it because that's the way they've been trained and coached... and ... Good play, but umm... there are plenty of sides that are going to mirror that manner of play to ... 'cos they will get the full benefit"
I have found this new interpretation very annoying, its been getting worse for years, and last night was as bad as I've seen it (with the exception of some Swans games). Its easy to say that our coaches should have responded to it earlier, but the reality is that they would have noted it, and appear to have made some kind of judgement that it wouldn't go this far. Watching the clearance set ups all game, for example, it looked like we let them lead us to the ball, presumably with the intention of tackling. While the current interpretation is in vogue, that tactic is dead.

Clearly GWS and the Bulldogs read the tea leaves. Clarkson clearly acknowledges that Bevo's team were trained for the new interpretation. By implication, our coaching group didn't.

He did really well in the presser, I thought, but could have taken it to another level by saying that he and the coaching group misread the direction of the interpretation and that the coaches, and not the players, bear the responsibility of the loss. This is the implication of his statement that you can't fault the players' endeavour.

Umpiring Department and AFL need to take some responsibility here too. You really don't want a situtation where two teams take the field with their team strategy based on opposite expectations of how the game will be umpired. Turns into a lottery, and you end up with a lot of pissed off supporters who feel they have been ripped off. Umpiring needs to make sure that there is a clearer statement of how the game as a whole will be umpired, and AFL needs to decide whether it wants to banish tackling around contested ball. Tackling with a high risk of seriously hurting the opposition has been justifiably removed from the game, and you bear full responsibility if you bump when a tackle; if holding the ball will not be paid in contested situations, who knows what the new tactic becomes.

Good post - however I think youth ultimately won the day. GWS and WB have young, agile players with lightning reflexes and when the ball spilled they were on it. Coaching can only get you so far.

last week was last week. He could still be injured this week. That's a weird question.

Why is it weird? He played a blinder last week, you said he was clearly injured, I'm failing to see how he was clearly injured. What was this clear injury? Just because he played a stinker we don't need to use the injury excuse. He was good enough last week, he should have been good enough this week.

Everyone has bad games but using injury as an excuse when he seemed fine is the cop out.

Yes he was carrying an injury.

That said, if he decides to play, he needs to perform. So maybe not the right call in the end.

What was the injury? I'm a bit confused where the injury was, when it happened and how it didn't effect him last week? Happy to be proven wrong though.

Not the end of an era. If Clarko's still around, it's just the end of a run. Look at his presser, his mind still full of game stats & theories. Can bet he's already got plenty of ideas for 2017.

And such a class act, having a congratulatory word with Bevo. Plus his well wishes for Roughy. I salute you.

Three cups in a row has felt like a dream, but the last night's loss feels like waking up & finding out it was real life. Such an enormous achievement.

Hats off to all the players who have been warriors throughout this, every week our opponent has plotted to bring their best against the best.

I love Clarko's presser and the swipe against the umpiring and HTB. I walk away from games thinking I clearly dont know the rules anymore because they just don't make calls as they used to. Not that it lost us the game at all but it's just frustrating.

What was the injury? I'm a bit confused where the injury was, when it happened and how it didn't effect him last week? Happy to be proven wrong though.

At training. I'm not going to go in to details but we had a few carrying niggles from the Cats game. Just rejoice in what this great team has delivered over the last 3 years mate

Free Agency benefits sides like Hawthorn. The Hawks are clearly a destination club and we have already seen O'Meara declare for you guys and others will no doubt follow. The rejuvenation and hunger that comes from "fresh blood" coupled with the culture and professionalism of the existing players and coaches will ensure any ending at Hawthorn isn't going to last very long.

RESPECT.

So name three players that we have gained through free agency?

Why is it weird? He played a blinder last week, you said he was clearly injured, I'm failing to see how he was clearly injured. What was this clear injury? Just because he played a stinker we don't need to use the injury excuse. He was good enough last week, he should have been good enough this week.

Everyone has bad games but using injury as an excuse when he seemed fine is the cop out.

It was clear because he hardly seemed to be on the ground in the second half. And I don't mean couldn't get near it, I mean he wasn't out there. I noticed it early in the second half and I kept scanning the oval and he was nowhere to be seen.

If he was fit would he have been sitting on the pine all that time? May be I'm wrong, I wasn't watching TV, wasn't hearing boundary reports about injuries and haven't seen TOG data yet...........but I kid you not from the view I had in the stands, where the entire field of play was visible, I couldn't see him anywhere. So that on top of the reports he spent some time in the injury tent at training during the week......

At training. I'm not going to go in to details but we had a few carrying niggles from the Cats game. Just rejoice in what this great team has delivered over the last 3 years mate
Phil in the last quarter I was on the fence man and Stratton, Birchall, Poppy, Lewis, Shoey and Gunston literally could not run much less jog.

Love the boys but I was stunned...

So name three players that we have gained through free agency?
Possible you missed the point I was making.

I wasn't talking about the past, I'm talking about the future and how Hawthorn can gain players via Free Agency due to your standing in the competition.

I love Clarko's presser and the swipe against the umpiring and HTB. I walk away from games thinking I clearly dont know the rules anymore because they just don't make calls as they used to. Not that it lost hate game at all but it's just frustrating.
The lack of a decision on HTB and incorrect disposal without doubt impacted the result...tackles 104 to 62...free kicks as a result -2...and I will not watch the replay because I will count the stoppage clearances the doggies won from the non application of the rules of the game. Must concede a massive sliding door moment in the 2nd quarter choke by Bruest 12 metres out directly in front. Cough Cough Luke...

Possible you missed the point I was making.

I wasn't talking about the past, I'm talking about the future and how Hawthorn can gain players via Free Agency due to your standing in the competition.
Like who?

JOM and Mitchell are not free agents? Neither was Lake.

And we lost Buddy for pick 19, when Melbourne got pick 3 for Scully.

Like who?

JOM and Mitchell are not free agents? Neither was Lake.

And we lost Buddy for pick 19, when Melbourne got pick 3 for Scully.
Understand that and obviously using O'Meara has clouded the discussion which wasn't my intent (my mistake).

The underlying crux of the point I'm trying to make is Hawthorn are seen as a club that players hitting Free Agency will strongly consider.

Beaten by a better and younger side. We have some issues with the list that need to be rectified.

I like the Dogs but I was disappointed in the booing of Hodge. Was it because he rightly claimed that he touched a ball he did? Or just general hostility and bitterness towards a legend of the game? Either way, disrespectful and makes me want GWS to win the flag.

Autopsy Bulldogs defeat Hawks