Autopsy Bulldogs defeat Hawks

This game was probably Bradley Hill's last game for the club.

A huge shoutout to what he's done during his time at Hawthorn and the contributions he's made on-field for the past five seasons playing 95 games and kicking 58 goals.

A prominent player during the finals with his run and carry link-up play and ability to run into space to be on the end of a possession and spot up forward 50 targets with ease was one of his trademark signatures.

He will be sorely missed when he leaves, but he goes down a 3x Premiership player and will always be part of this clubs era and he leaves on good terms.

It sucked but the Gunston goal was touched. Complaining about what ifs is weak. The better team won. They were better and I don't even hate them for it. This is probably the only time I will ever feel this way.
Don't think we would have won but do agree there was some ordinary free kicks paid and more importantly not paid...in particular the holding the ball incorrect disposal rule which we were not rewarded for numerous times including the last doggies possession before it got to Boyd who kicked his first goal kickstarting their revival

Anyone else feel a sense of relief? Sure bit disappointed, but mostly relieved. We needed a miracle this year, wasn't meant to be. I can finally enjoy prelims and Grand Final without the stress.

No matter what happens from now on, these Hawks will go down as one of the greats. What a ride, onto 2017.

Hope Dogs win it all, good on em and good luck.
No way - I take the loss in my stride as a man, but relief - no. That would be like we were living some sort of lie.

Don't think we would have won but do agree there was some ordinary free kicks paid and more importantly not paid...in particular the holding the ball incorrect disposal rule which we were not rewarded for numerous times including the last doggies possession before it got to Boyd who kicked his first goal kickstarting their revival
Meh, complaining about it gets us nowhere. Wouldn't have changed the game. The hungrier team won.

Also i know he gets mentioned a bit, but hats off to Whitecross he has been tremendous. Really seemed like he was done and dusted, but came back like a man on a mission. Looking forward to seeing him continue his great form next year and hopefully get a full season in. Will be a very important player for us.

I feel absolutely low right now, but I have no cause to complain after all the success I've seen. Growing up I watched us struggle through the early 2000's and while it was rough, the win in '08 and the 3-peat made it all worth it. Even now while I hurt, reflecting on those times make me cherish the good times so much more. This is a bitter pill to swallow, but it isn't the 'end of an era' as the papers will put it. I have full faith in the coaching staff and the decision makers at the club, and cannot wait to see us rebuild and reclaim in the years to come.

Wcome aboard,,,!!!

I've never seen a bunch of supporters so calm and classy in defeat.

The hate you guys get ****ing baffles me. For threepeating, your bigfooty contingent has been as humble as you could hope for. Not sure many other clubs would be the same.

I hope this is a passing of the baton. From Hawks to Dogs...from Hodge to Bont. Farewell for this year fellas.

I am feeling NO pain. Whatsoever.

Me neither.

Three-peat = Morphine for the soul.

To be frank, it feels wrong. Losses like this should hurt, and I'm looking forward to feeling the pain again. The three-peat was massive, but it was also anaesthetizing. I'm sure I'd have felt a lot more passion tonight if we'd not played in a prelim for 10 years.
So spoilt.

I've never seen a bunch of supporters so calm and classy in defeat.

The hate you guys get ****ing baffles me. For threepeating, your bigfooty contingent has been as humble as you could hope for. Not sure many other clubs would be the same.

I hope this is a passing of the baton. From Hawks to Dogs...from Hodge to Bont. Farewell for this year fellas.
Hurts but it hurts less cos it's you guys.

I suppose it's easy to be magnanimous after winning three consecutive premierships, but nonetheless it's a credit to your fans. One rude campaigner aside, every one seemed genuinely pleased for us and wished us well for our preliminary final.

I'm no fan of some of the psychological tactics employed by the Hawks, but I'm utterly in awe of Alastair Clarkson and the ability of his team to execute his genius on an almost weekly basis, and whenever it truly counts.

My sincerest wishes for the best of news with regards to Roughie's health. His cousin is family to us, by extension he is family, and he is much loved by the footy world regardless. Fingers crossed for his swift recovery.

Clarko just went whack at the Umpires and he has a point 106 tackles = 3 holding the ball, wtf.
Its not just the lack of HTB calls, its the umpires' unwillingness to call illegal disposal at the behest of the TV networks who demand a faster, more free-flowing game to boost ratings.

Which has the effect of making run & carry and handballs in traffic more valuable and kicking less valuable. That benefits younger, faster teams like GWS & the Bulldogs. It also makes contested possessions more valuable as players are less likely to be pinged.

Honestly I don't think tonight's result would've been any different had the interpretation of those rules been closer to what they were a few years ago, but its typical of the AFL to make what effectively become radical changes to the game without informing the clubs, or God forbid their supporters. Of course it also makes the umpires' job of officiating the game a nightmare, and consensus seems to be that this has been one of the worst umpired seasons in history.

Not even sad. Glad to have a year off. I hope the doggies go all the way.
Its not just the lack of HTB calls, its the umpires' unwillingness to call illegal disposal at the behest of the TV networks who demand a faster, more free-flowing game to boost ratings.

Which has the effect of making run & carry and handballs in traffic more valuable and kicking less valuable. That benefits younger, faster teams like GWS & the Bulldogs. It also makes contested possessions more valuable as players are less likely to be pinged.

Honestly I don't think tonight's result would've been any different had the interpretation of those rules been closer to what they were a few years ago, but its typical of the AFL to make what effectively become radical changes to the game without informing the clubs, or God forbid their supporters. Of course it also makes the umpires' job of officiating the game a nightmare, and consensus seems to be that this has been one of the worst umpired seasons in history.
Please stop sooking. The better team won.

Hurts but it hurts less cos it's you guys.
Listen last time I checked this board is for Hawthorn people to air their opinions about things they would like to discuss
obviously there is a lot of fans who thought the umpiring was pretty ordinary. Telling Hawthorn people to 'stop sooking' and their observations
are meaningless is something opposition ferals do and not on....Especially whilst your blowing smoke up Doggies supporters clackers....

Great call mate...but momentum is huge in todays AFL and maybe those decisions wouldnt have changed the result but as we don't have the scoring firepower of previous years any lead was hard fought for and 1 poor decision can transfer the momentum to the opposition...cheers

Game flipped when Breust missed that sitter mid-way through the second term.

The steamrolled us from that moment.
I don't entirely agree. Bulldogs missed about 5 sitters in front of goal as well as and looked threatening early in the game. We should been trailing by 2-3 goals at half time. The flood gates were always bound to open and they did. So blaming Breust is a little unfair. We were simply beaten by a much better team.

What a team we have had for so long!

Its tough to lose, but who knows, with the right injection of talent, the natural growth of the part players, we might be up there again contending the way the Cats are this year (though to expect the assembly of talent that this team has had during its halcyon days is a tad unrealistic).

I'm truly in awe of the last 3 years – hell, the last 8 years with a down year or two. Sadly I've been overseas for most of it, but my God we have been witness to a powerful team. Few opposition supporters and commentators haven grasped how good they have been, but history will tell the story. They have been unbelievable in almost every aspect of the game, with Clarko at the guts of most of it.

Autopsy Bulldogs defeat Hawks