Burgoyne nominates Hawthorn? (part II)

Don't know if it's been mentioned yet, but jeez I love the Stalinesque job on the PAFC website header. :thumbsu:
Shaun is also gone from the player profiles yet Peter is still there. :cool:

Burgoyne just said on SEN he hopes hes left on good terms and said he left cause of Family reasons .....
If the "family reasons" involve wanting to get away from Peter as has been insinuated above then Peter has been a bigger cancer at our club over the past two years than I previously thought. Choco's decision to talk Peter out of retiring earlier looks even a bigger error of judgement.

Fair to say some day some ones book is going to be a best seller would not mind having shares in it ;)

Indeed. If it is true, it really does begger belief that we did not clean out dead wood when the time came.

While I think that the Cornes boys may not be to everyone's liking, it appears that they are being unfairly singled out as the main instigators in Shaun leaving.

That said, let Burgoynes by Byegones and all of us collectively and actively support the club to get back where we belong and without the some of the cynicism and vitriol - at least until the season starts.

Looking at the class of 2009, I think that group will end up being our best recruiting year. Broadbent, Davenport, Hartlett, Trengove and Redden will be remembered as the beginning of the revolution. Chuck in Dawson and possibly Banner I hope that these kids add that depth and quality the club deserves to have.

I've heard he's now spoken to most of the Port players about the reasons for leaving and they are all on good terms with it. He loves the Club and wouldn't be suprized to see him back after his playing days.

Apart from when we are playing against him/them I do hope he plays well as it will show the Melbourne football public how good he is (and that some other player playing outside Melbourne don't get the same coverage as ones in Melbourne).

Would be nice now to get some good young talent with the draft picks (maybe another Shaun within 3 or 4 years time out of those 3 FRP's).

I can't believe Hawthorn gave up pick 9 and Williams for a 28(sic) year old hack with dodgy knees! ;)

He's 26, turning 27 this month.

I for one completely understand it.

The hawks are in their premiership window (injuries genuinely affected their premiership chances this year, more so than every other club).

Who gives a shit about youth when you're a chance at the flag? During a window, you recruit players that will strengthen your team in the short term to help you win that premiership.

The exact reason we drafted Hardwick who was 32 when we won our flag.

Osteitis Pubis if I recall correctly.

2008 he played most of the year injured though, which doesn't reflect on the 'games played' statistics.
Cheers mate, one last thing before I part ways, what kind of surgery did SB have last month and how serious was it?

I remember reading this (below) but as a Victorian I never quite understood what they meant when they said "special management", was it management in regards to needing the surgery, or management post the surgery? :confused:

http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21498,26051314-5014943,00.html
Power officials said the surgery revealed cartilage issues that will require special management.
http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21498,26051314-5014943,00.html

Is it right to say that knee bone bruising isn't that serious of an injury long-term in comparison to a knee ligament tear, but more so similar to a bruised heel, requires a heck of a long time to recover from.

Either way I'm sure the club would have done full medicos on SB before drafting him. He also played out the rest of the season after returning which is a good sign, although I reckon PA rushed him back to quickly, he should have at least spent a few weeks in the SANFL after missing so much footy.

Cheers guys, I'm glad the clubs could make a fair arrangement for both parties instead of sending SB to the National draft and making things turn pear-shaped.

Burgoyne's 2005 injury was a posterior ligament damage he picked up in the first quarter of Rd 1 v Freo at Subi. He missed 9 games. I can't remember which knee it was.

His injury was a big reason why our first half of our premiership defence season went so heywire as we lost his drive off the back line. He was moved from defence into the guts about his 4th game back. Definitely played in the guts in the game in Canberra v Kangaroos as I was there and he was matched up on Wells. He had about 20 disposals by half time and was a big reason why we were up by 40 points. Lost that one by a few points in the end. The yo-yo year continued.

He had groin and ankle problems during the 2008 pre season and meant he didn't have a proper preseason. The ankle problem affected his turning and was most noticeable when he tried to tackle whilst turning. He just couldn't nail an opponent like he normally would. He was back to full fitness by the end of the year. He had a then world record 12 clearances against Collingwood by half time on a Friday night at Footy Park in Rd 20 last year. He ended with 16 clearances. A champion data record.

Just had a look at the Hawthorn board and gee it's really obvious how Melbourne centric AFL reporting is.
At least one poster has JB starting on the interchange bench. :eek:

Give them a few months, then once they see he gets the number one tag , realise that his possession counts include FP and non seagull BP/HBF roles, they will be saying he only became a good player once he went to Hawthorn. :rolleyes:

He's 26, turning 27 this month.

I for one completely understand it.

The hawks are in their premiership window (injuries genuinely affected their premiership chances this year, more so than every other club).

Who gives a shit about youth when you're a chance at the flag? During a window, you recruit players that will strengthen your team in the short term to help you win that premiership.

The exact reason we drafted Hardwick who was 32 when we won our flag.

Did you not see the "(sic)" and ";)"?

I'm guilty as well.

I was lucky to have an inside source WRT shaun's wedding and am not really surprised those events have effectively led to Shaun leaving the state. It's obvious to anyone reading this thread who can put 2 and 2 together that this involves Peter, but I don't want to go into specifics.

Maybe the wider public may one day be made aware than Shaun leaving has more to do with personal reasons than the current on and off field problems at the club.

I shudder to think how good shaun will be next year with a fresh start.

I get a bit worried about these stories relating to Shaun leaving - but I can't fathom how the dates align - i.e Shaun's wedding and when it was alleged that Hawthorn started talking to him and also when Port tried to start contact renewal talks - it doesn't make sense.:confused:

About as much sense as players having "heated" discussions after certain games because of a wedding incident.

Greg Phillips on 5AA the other night spoke of the "many reasons". WHY he was overlooked for the captaincy, as opposed to not getting the captaincy, is the one I think holds the most weight.

You get that one, then most of the others are linked in there somewhere.

Obviously Shaun wasn't happy. He's gone now, we scored a couple of decent picks. Hope it works out well for both Shaun and the club. Just hope if there were any ego's at play, any divisions within. That the club has acted, and we can move forward now. If the rumours are true, and the club does nothing, then we will probably be asking more questions this time next year.

So pretty sure at the end of next season we will know one way or the other as to just how much was rumour, how much was fact.

Burgoyne nominates Hawthorn? (part II)