Bye bye Clarkson

Not ready for this thread.

But, **** me, he’d want to show something by the end of the year.

Game plan is horrific, not any noticeable development leaps other than 2-3 players. No real onfield improvement.

Addiction to 30 year old journeyman spuds.

Dylan Stephens recruitment was apparently all Clarko.

If his name was Noble, or Yze or Longmuir, this thread would be trending.

Bored Over It GIF

Everyone who was extremely adamantly pro-Noble in his first season or So is sitting in this thread saying “**** off” and “too early”.

Now of course they tell you how it was sooo obvious Noble had no idea and his defensive set-up was a liability/non-existent…

Tell me which coach had his team concede 472 points in its first 4 games of the season?

Not ****ing Noble.

For all the talk of “North ball” and the offensive weapon, it took Longmuir 1 half to have a look at it and flog it. Took GWS 0 quarters to flog it. Carlton took 1 quarter and worked it out.

100+ every week we concede.

Where’s the defensive improvement? Oh sure we’re missing Griffin Logue (who is good but he’s not exactly Sam Taylor or Jacob Weitering either) but honestly it wouldn’t matter who is in defence with the way teams walk it in.

There is no team defence. There is no pressure. Wtf is going on?

Round 13 is shaping up to be a classic.

Too early for this.

He’s not immune to criticism though.

So far he’s been disappointing. He’s not as creative as i was expecting. Not in game moves and bland team selection.

Game plan isn’t really noticeable either. What are we doing out there?

Enough of the young guns at HB. Let’s not turn them into chip scabs or playing on monsters. Use their weapons to our advantage.

It’s seems he’s been good for morale though.

So far, he gets a 4/10.

Disappointed.

When we landed Clarko, I honestly believed that EFFORT would be not negotiable.
I got that wrong.

I said it last year - if Clarko gets us competitive within 5 years, it’ll be his greatest coaching achievement.

But as it stands, I’m not convinced he is what we thought he was. Game plan, recruiting, selections……nothing impressive at all.

Hopefully his next 3 years are better than his first 2.

Before looking at Clarkson we should be looking at the player acquisition and talent identification team that is responsible for the some of the below decisions.

Lachie Young - bust
Bonar - s**t
Ahern - talented but lazy. Bust
Corr - soul destroying dumb spud
CCJ - big immobile potato
Stephenson - flaky cat
Atu - useless
Stephens - scaredy cat
Tucker - average garden variety potato
Fisher - could turn into another bust
Greenwood - has some qualities but hardly selected
Howe - ******* hopeless
Shiels - retirement plan
Logue - about the only tick

I reckon you could employ a 2 year old to point to names on a board and have a better success rate.

Thought I would get in early.
Think he’s lost the plot ….
Game & game plan has gone way passed him .
Way out of his depth now . Alone with a whole bunch of rookie coaches .
You can’t just coach on name especially after what he’s gone in & out of the footy club . Stay tuned for some announcements . It’s the North way

Well this escalated early than I expected. Seriously your team is young and 2023 was a personal shocker for Clarko.

There’s no quick fix, give your young players and coach a chance to build a relationship, experience and a game plan.

If you think McKercher, Duursma, Sheezel and Wardlaw are duds send them to the Hawks for free please. 🤣

I expected it from Ross but not this early..
I get losing with this young list but the no passion , effort. , intensity or pressure I can’t cop . I’m sorry .
A lot of senior players especially are coasting or are non existent. This is a job for the coaches to identify & fix or duck off .

I'm more worried about what our team will reveal next Sunday against Geelong
Probably what was revealed against Brisbane and Carlton. This team is going to get slammed in Geelong.

When we landed Clarko, I honestly believed that EFFORT would be not negotiable.
I got that wrong.

I said it last year - if Clarko gets us competitive within 5 years, it’ll be his greatest coaching achievement.

But as it stands, I’m not convinced he is what we thought he was. Game plan, recruiting, selections……nothing impressive at all.

Hopefully his next 3 years are better than his first 2.
Exactly I thought no way there would be any half arsed runs or side steps from a North player ever again under Clarko.

Im not impressed and very scared.

I get losing with this young list but the no passion , effort. , intensity or pressure I can’t cop . I’m sorry .
A lot of senior players especially are coasting or are non existent. This is a job for the coaches to identify & fix or duck off .

weird amount of assumptions here.

Exactly I thought no way there would be any half arsed runs or side steps from a North player ever again under Clarko.

Im not impressed and very scared.
It should be a signal of how far away we are mentally from top teams.

We played yesterday like a team that knew it would get soundly beaten.

Brisbane played like a team that knew it would just completely run all over us at will.

I hope, and that is all it is, that the start of the year has not cooked the players confidence the way it has supporter’s because I honestly believe the team has the personnel to win games of footy this year against teams who are relative to us. The problem is we’ve only played one (we played our best football this year) and they too torched us because their form is hot.

Right now this place is a cesspit of negativity where things are bad and perspective that it’ll get better are derided.

People post things that are almost entirely devoid of any critical thinking. Let’s play out the OP.

Clarkson is in year 2.

We’re paying him what $1m a year?

We sack him Monday.

That’s $3.5m(at least) gone that we have to pay out.

We have to put in an interim coach. Who that is I am unsure. Probably Patch.

At the end of the year we need to pay out other assistants who Clarko brought in.

We’d lose Viney.

So our out goings for this would be somewhere in the vicinity of what $5m (probably more)this year and coming out of the soft cap next. Where this money is coming from who knows?

We’d need to find a new coach (because people are really going to want to take that job on).

We’d need to find a new head of the Footy department.

We’d need a bunch of new assistants.

Any player who was half thinking about leaving would likely be gone.

if this course of action didn’t destroy the football club (and honestly it probably would) it would set us back probably another 5 years. We’d have no ability to bring in any sort of experienced coach having just burnt the most successful experienced one in the league.

And people are posting that they want this to happen. Or at least people are posting shit without thinking what move 1 leads to. It’s emotional and completely out of touch with any reality.

It may feel currently that everything will never get better. Pour some concrete on your wheeties this is a long bumpy road and we are barely pointing in the right direction.

We don't have angry Clarko any more. We have soft, cuddly Clarko who may have very well had all energy sucked out of him by the racism investigation. Who knows. His jovial behaviour and even holding the ball shenanigans in the boundary vs Freo last year are just something he never did under Hawthorn when they were challenging.

A massive, massive red flag to me was letting the players pick the captains / leadership group and then we ended up with McDonald and Simpkin and supported by Corr. What that says about Clarko and indeed the playong group says a lot.

Before looking at Clarkson we should be looking at the player acquisition and talent identification team that is responsible for the some of the below decisions.

Lachie Young - bust
Bonar - s**t
Ahern - talented but lazy. Bust
Corr - soul destroying dumb spud
CCJ - big immobile potato
Stephenson - flaky cat
Atu - useless
Stephens - scaredy cat
Tucker - average garden variety potato
Fisher - could turn into another bust
Greenwood - has some qualities but hardly selected
Howe - ******* hopeless
Shiels - retirement plan
Logue - about the only tick

I reckon you could employ a 2 year old to point to names on a board and have a better success rate.
you can add Pittard and Polec to that list

We don't have angry Clarko any more. We have soft, cuddly Clarko who may have very well had all energy sucked out of him by the racism investigation. Who knows. His jovial behaviour and even holding the ball shenanigans in the boundary vs Freo last year are just something he never did under Hawthorn when they were challenging.

A massive, massive red flag to me was letting the players pick the captains / leadership group and then we ended up with McDonald and Simpkin and supported by Corr. What that says about Clarko and indeed the playong group says a lot.
The red flag part is what does it for me - If McDonald is the best we can do as a captain we are NEVER going anywhere. think the knocks to the head have hurt Simpkin as well.
Time for a bold move ala the Carey days and appoint Larkey with Sheezel and Wardlaw and let the kids lead us because at least they give a :poo: