"Can you smell what the Blues are cooking"

Greg Swann on 3AW (after the Richo circle jerk)

They wanted to get away from the traditional We Are The Navy Blues type slogans.
Membership renewals on the net have gone into meltdown after they released this campaign.
It's about cooking up another premiership.
"A couple of years ago it was Walker at pick two, but then Walker was moved on (not included in the campaign) because we got another number one pick! (laughs)"

:D

Greg Swann on 3AW (after the Richo circle jerk)

They wanted to get away from the traditional We Are The Navy Blues type slogans.
Membership renewals on the net have gone into meltdown with renewals after they released this campaign.
It's about cooking up another premiership.
"A couple of years ago it was Walker at pick two, but then Walker was moved on (not included in the campaign) because we got another number one pick! (laughs)"

:D

To add to that TG ..........

This is from a Club email i received yesterday afternoon.

The 2010 Carlton Membership slogan was revealed today and once again it promises to be a talking point and create controversy.

CAN YOU SMELL WHAT THE BLUES ARE COOKING

For 2010 we wanted another slogan that would make people take notice, we wanted something different that hadn't been done before.

Adding the Magpie and Bomber in the cup adds a little extra spice to the slogan.

Let's hope it gets people talking and more importantly reminds Carlton supporters to join as members in 2010, which is exactly what you can do now.

It has definitely achieved that in less than 24 hrs :thumbsu:

It does set us up for a pretty awesome campaign once we win the premiership this season.

Picture Chris Judd standing on a cliff in front of a massive premiership cup, the sun dawning behind him, sword held up above his head and a shield with the CFC monogram in the other arm. An army of Blues on the cliff below him.

At the bottom reads:
We came.
We smelt.
We conquered.

Pity I don't have the photoshop skills to do a mockup of my phenomenal (if I may say so myself) vision.

939.jpg

Good to see the Marketing department has come up another campaign that has got under the skin of opposition fans again... Thought it was going to be difficult to work them into a frenzy as much the last one.. But all signs point to another successful campaign. Great stuff.

How can you hate a slogan that isn't bland?

It's funny how easy people are riled up and get emotional over something as unimportant as a slogan. If the slogan does it's job of selling memberships, it's irrelevent what any try hard flog, Carlton hater, graphic designer and marketing executive comes up with as a come back.

Or what they think once the season starts.

Can you even name the other club's slogans?

Our's has already paid for itself in full with the media attention it's received.

HTFU and enjoy the ride.

We can bring back Something Blue and be as bland as the other clubs in a tight marketplace.

It's better than St Kilda players painting themselves up with body paint.

St%20Kilda%20Saints.jpg

http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/108079

Can someone please photoshop Carlton body paint onto Matt Maguire?

It does set us up for a pretty awesome campaign once we win the premiership this season.

Picture Chris Judd standing on a cliff in front of a massive premiership cup, the sun dawning behind him, sword held up above his head and a shield with the CFC monogram in the other arm. An army of Blues on the cliff below him.

At the bottom reads:
We came.
We smelt.
We conquered.

Pity I don't have the photoshop skills to do a mockup of my phenomenal (if I may say so myself) vision.

And we wouldn't cop any crap for having He-Man's gay brother as part of our ad campaign. ;)

heman.jpg

Yes Carlton's marketing department has achieved their goal of making other team's supporters talk that's for sure.

But correct me if I'm wrong, but shouldn't the marketing department of the membership division (and that is what the slogan is for) be more concerned about signing for members, rather than getting opposition members talking?

I think they have missed the point. Not that, in my opinion, the membership slogan would be enough to get anyone to sign up. And the slogan is getting opposition supporters talking for the wrong reasons. Last years slogan was good because it sent a realistic message. But this one... How can Carlton honestly believe they are "cooking" a premiership in 2010? The only way that will work is if the premiership is slow cooking in the sun for another 10 or so years.

Yes Carlton's marketing department has achieved their goal of making other team's supporters talk that's for sure.

But correct me if I'm wrong, but shouldn't the marketing department of the membership division (and that is what the slogan is for) be more concerned about signing for members, rather than getting opposition members talking?

I think they have missed the point. Not that, in my opinion, the membership slogan would be enough to get anyone to sign up. And the slogan is getting opposition supporters talking for the wrong reasons. Last years slogan was good because it sent a realistic message. But this one... How can Carlton honestly believe they are "cooking" a premiership in 2010? The only way that will work is if the premiership is slow cooking in the sun for another 10 or so years.

Coming from an Essendon supporter. Spare me :thumbsdown: Like you guys are chock full of talent to win you a G.F. :rolleyes:

not sure if i really care, i'm apathetic to membership slogans at the best of times. i do admire the way they've taken the leap to stray from the empty, typical stuff. there's obviously been some thought put into it.
i mean, is anyone going to know any of the other clubs' slogans and membership stuff taken right off the template? if you're fighting for the minds and dollars of people you want to weasel your way into people's heads. but is being memorable much use anyway, does people's decision to buy really rest on the slogan?

as an artist - cooking up some stuff in the cup is a great concept. it actually reminded me of that old bushy joke, 'how to cook a cockatoo'. put a hammer and cockatoo in a billy full of water. boil. when hammer is soft, cockie is ready to eat.

anyway - we'll know how it's gone down the track. i am interested how the numbers will turn out, could be the start of something. bated breath each year, not just for us but opposition supporters, maybe the non-membership buying public too...

not sure if i really care, i'm apathetic to membership slogans at the best of times. i do admire the way they've taken the leap to stray from the empty, typical stuff. there's obviously been some thought put into it.
i mean, is anyone going to know any of the other clubs' slogans and membership stuff taken right off the template? if you're fighting for the minds and dollars of people you want to weasel your way into people's heads. but is being memorable much use anyway, does people's decision to buy really rest on the slogan?

as an artist - cooking up some stuff in the cup is a great concept. it actually reminded me of that old bushy joke, 'how to cook a cockatoo'. put a hammer and cockatoo in a billy full of water. boil. when hammer is soft, cockie is ready to eat.

anyway - we'll know how it's gone down the track. i am interested how the numbers will turn out, could be the start of something. bated breath each year, not just for us but opposition supporters, maybe the non-membership buying public too...

The version I know is put the cockie in a pot with 4-5 large stones, cover with water, bring to the boil and simmer for 8 hours. To serve, throw away the cockie and eat the stones.

I just don't get it.

Other clubs hate us for our arrogance and self importance. All good to me.

Now they can just sit back and laugh. Every loss we are going to cop it big time. Unless we finish top 4 we're a total laughing stock with this slogan.

There will be no chance to have a serious conversation about footy on the boards, at work or anywhere without this trash slogan coming up. No average Carlton supporter will be able to have a respected opinion.

I liked Carlton being hated yet feared even cautiously respected by the opposition. It was kind of reassuring having every conversation start with "Why do Carlton think there so good?" Etc.

Now I'm going to hate every conversation start with some cooking wise crack and being laughed at.

This totally sucks.:thumbsdown:

in a way they're lucky our two main rivals can be 'cooked' without raising too many eyebrows. apart from the crows, there's not many mascots we'd get away with dumping in the cup, for the sake of the kiddies (like the cartoon could be aimed at) if nothing else. imagine seeing a bulldog or a cat in there, or one of the humanoids.

At the end of the day, all it is is a marketing slogan to get people talking about one thing: The Carlton Footy Club. I'm doubt that it'll deter Carlton supporters from signing up, and existing members will sign up anyway.

Either way, it does get people talking about our footy club, and that's the most important thing.

Pretty woeful.
Since it has a shelf life of just 12 months and has everyone talking Carlton in the off season, it's a brilliant slogan.

It isn't a permanent change like Brisbane's horrible jumper and logo that pisses on the grave of Fitzroy Football Club.

It isn't pathetic like Adelaide's new logo.

I just don't get it.

Now they can just sit back and laugh. Every loss we are going to cop it big time. Unless we finish top 4 we're a total laughing stock with this slogan.

There will be no chance to have a serious conversation about footy on the boards, at work or anywhere without this trash slogan coming up. No average Carlton supporter will be able to have a respected opinion.

I liked Carlton being hated yet feared even cautiously respected by the opposition. It was kind of reassuring having every conversation start with "Why do Carlton think there so good?" Etc.

Now I'm going to hate every conversation start with some cooking wise crack and being laughed at.

Come off it Kouta70 - harden the f^&k up.

It's just a slogan - who give a toss what the oppositions supporters have to say.

It didn't matter what our slogan was next year - they would still have pulled out all the 'They know we are coming' lines from this year anyway.

May not have been my choice of slogan but it's bold, it's different and at least it shows the club is having a bit of a crack !!

It should have been

"Can you smell what the Blues are brewing?"

I don't know, just sounds better to me. I would add to its meaning almost.. 'cooking up a storm' - 'a storm is brewing'.

Since it has a shelf life of just 12 months and has everyone talking Carlton in the off season, it's a brilliant slogan.

It isn't a permanent change like Brisbane's horrible jumper and logo that pisses on the grave of Fitzroy Football Club.

It isn't pathetic like Adelaide's new logo.

Spot on.

I just don't get it.

Mate you are bloody piss-weak. If we had come up with the greatest slogan in the history of the league we'd still get the same assholes giving us shit.

I hate the slogan too, but I love the club and am not ashamed of a slogan, if thats all they have on us, then in reality they have **** all against us.

Stop being a bitch and jump on board, its an exciting time to be a Blues supporter, dont let a membership slogan change that.

"Can you smell what the Blues are cooking"