Carlton’s soul exorcised, I am disappointed

Knowing full well we'll be competing again before Carlton.

Thanks for your concern though. Maybe you should start a thread on it?

No worries. I'll bank this under Projected Future Premierships then, shall I?

And there seems to be plenty of Carlton threads already for you to skulk around in and deploy your schadenfreude.

My best mate is a Carlton supporter and I remember him cheering for Carlton to lose in the "Kreuzer Cup", cheating doesn't pay in this sport and I would of thought the CFC administration would of learnt that by now.
Uhh. Ironing much?

No worries. I'll bank this under Projected Future Premierships then, shall I?
I said "compete".

We still have to play in a competition that skews it's rules & policies to favour "maximising revenue" clubs like Carlton (which simply underscores what a pathetic football club they've become, when you still struggle with the field tipped in your favour).

My best mate is a Carlton supporter and I remember him cheering for Carlton to lose in the "Kreuzer Cup", cheating doesn't pay in this sport and I would of thought the CFC administration would of learnt that by now.

Your post works on so many levels. it is a work of art.

True. The culture damage tanking does to the fabric of a team far outweighs any draft advantage which accrues.

What better evidence of this but Tankton Town FC itself which ruined the culture in the pursuit of spoons.
Yep. I'm not someone that likes sticking the boot in and I won't. I'll just say that you are spot on.

I said "compete".

We still have to play in a competition that skews it's rules & policies to favour "maximising revenue" clubs like Carlton (which simply underscores what a pathetic football club they've become, when you still struggle with the field tipped in your favour).

Good Lord...you're as bitter as Salty Malty when Stevo asks him a shit question.

You play in the same competition as the rest of us. You've had your chances...you just haven't taken them, hardly surprising given your history.

And I agree it is highly likely St Kilda will be competing again before Carlton, I hope it works out better for you than it has the last few times...

Holy shit, and to still think this is relevant.

I'm bumping this again because I am seeing talk that people want more top draft picks. It's only going to be a vicious cycle again and again with Carlton's current culture and development. Just imagine Gibbs and Murphy at Hawthorn or Collingwood? Dang, they'd be awesome. Conversely, imagine Pendles at Carlton... I'd have no doubt he'd be struggling now, trying to carry most of the midfield.

There is still a losing culture at my club and it still stinks. Until we get the development aspect right, no matter who our coach is or no matter what the picks, the list will still be struggling. Sure, play the kids and cut those who aren't putting the effort in, but it's going to be REALLY important to instil a "play to win" attitude even if we're getting hammered. I just don't see that any more, and it's really depressing.
I know it isn't the easiest to post this about a club you deeply care about, top posting mate.

In a way l feel sorry for Carlton fans like thrawn and a high number of others as l respect them, but there is something wrong at the blues and l for one hope they do some soul searching internally and shake the club up if they have to.

I think we need to reinvent ourselves somewhat. Not a re-branding as such, but really change what we're about. We have a proud and rich history but the Carlton of the 21st century is a sad shell of that same club and riding on the coattails of past success and thinking "We're Carlton, **** the rest" kind of thing should no longer stand.

I don't know exactly how we go about it, but to start, cut ties with the rich power brokers etc and shake up the board. We might end up dirt poor but at least we might regain some sort of respectable culture.
Good posting as always.

There are seriously any number of guys playing out there last night that I don't think would get a game with another AFL club, guys like Ellard, Armfield, Curnow - they've been on the list forever, and Malthouse has had plenty of opportunities to turn them over. Why hasn't he done it?

Yep, their attitude is crap, but so is their list.

To not be disrespectful of the past Carlton players, but they were feared as a club because they were winning flags on the back of going out and buying the best available from interstate, since the equalization of the draft and salary cap the Blues have found it hard to build a credible list capable of contending.
I think this is a big part of the problem. The Carlton administration aren't prepared to do the hard yards and rebuild from the ground up so they just go out and buy Judd or Malthouse thinking there is a short term way out of it.
Freo threw out everything in 2008 and rebuilt the playing group and the footy dept almost completely now 7 years later we are a competitive team.
Of course it was easier for us because we didn't have so much historical culture to do away with.

I think this is a big part of the problem. The Carlton administration aren't prepared to do the hard yards and rebuild from the ground up so they just go out and buy Judd or Malthouse thinking there is a short term way out of it.
Freo threw out everything in 2008 and rebuilt the playing group and the footy dept almost completely now 7 years later we are a competitive team.
Of course it was easier for us because we didn't have so much historical culture to do away with.
Yeah but say 5 years of down the bottom rebuilding will hurt the historic culture less then if they stay near the bottom without rebuilding though.

Holy shit, and to still think this is relevant.

I'm bumping this again because I am seeing talk that people want more top draft picks. It's only going to be a vicious cycle again and again with Carlton's current culture and development. Just imagine Gibbs and Murphy at Hawthorn or Collingwood? Dang, they'd be awesome. Conversely, imagine Pendles at Carlton... I'd have no doubt he'd be struggling now, trying to carry most of the midfield.

There is still a losing culture at my club and it still stinks. Until we get the development aspect right, no matter who our coach is or no matter what the picks, the list will still be struggling. Sure, play the kids and cut those who aren't putting the effort in, but it's going to be REALLY important to instil a "play to win" attitude even if we're getting hammered. I just don't see that any more, and it's really depressing.
Hang in there mate

Carlton’s soul exorcised, I am disappointed