Banter Carlton is better in 2024. Who will be better in 2025? Carlton or Collingwood? Part 3

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Carlton

• Collingwood

Results are only viewable after voting.

You aint Hawthorn it shouldnt be about aiming for finals experience with your list age profile. The problem is a big chunk of your better players are old and any premiership window won't stay open forever. Just look at your injuries at times this year.

Before the start of next season, these are some of the player ages:-

Newman 32
Docherty 31
Cripps 30
Saad 30
Williams 30
McGovern 30
Martin 30
Acres 29
Hewitt 29
Fantasia 29
Curnow 28
Owies 28
Respectfully, you have no clue.

There's some great kids coming through, I hope they get some finals action.

You aint Hawthorn it shouldnt be about aiming for finals experience with your list age profile. The problem is a big chunk of your better players are old and any premiership window won't stay open forever. Just look at your injuries at times this year.

Newman 32
Docherty 31
Cripps 30
Saad 30
Williams 30
McGovern 30
Martin 30
Acres 29
Hewitt 29
Fantasia 29
Curnow 28
Owies 28
I think we have an OK profile

Walsh
Cerra
Hollands x2
TDK
Weitering
McKay
Boyd
Fogarty
Cowan
Motlop

Are all best 22, with three of them being AA

Plus, under 20 and future draftees:
Camporeale x2 (Ben looks a 200 gamer type, Lucas less likely)
Moir (touted as a top three selection before a groin injury, has shown a lot as sub twice)
Binns (very likely type)
Lord (hard nosed mid)
Cody Walker (F/S, probable #1 pick)

You are right though, we do need to maximise the top end talent now. Things can and will change quickly, Hawks, Tigers fell away quickly after prolonged dominance and the Pies look likely to do the same.

Like even with those young players I’ve referenced, where’s the replacement for Charlie? Where’s the next Cripps? Will what we have now + what is coming in the pipeline be sufficient?

Newman 32
Docherty 31
Cripps 30
Saad 30
Williams 30
McGovern 30
Martin 30
Acres 29
Hewitt 29
Fantasia 29
Curnow 28
Owies 28
Carlton were the 6th least experienced team in 2024. Only Hawthorn were less experienced in the top 8. Lots of things to troll Carlton fans about but list demographic isn't one of them.

We will hit the draft in the next couple of years to ensure that we start developing youngsters to start taking over some of those above that will be gone in 2-5 years just like every other club. Having 12 of 45 players on the list over 27 is not a concern...

And anyone that thinks our injuries have to do with age isn't paying attention.

Newman 32
Docherty 31
Cripps 30
Saad 30
Williams 30
McGovern 30
Martin 30
Acres 29
Hewitt 29
Fantasia 29
Curnow 28
Owies 28

Better check the average age of the last 2 Premiers, bud.

Richmond fans quickly pivoted to the 'it's better to be young than good' ideology of footy. Good work, embrace the rebuild!

Sam McClure - Carlton’s Robbo with hair

He's had a stinker of a year.

- claimed carlton flag favorites (said it with more authoritative, condescending gusto than a dan andrews covid press conference as well)

- completely cooked the petracca story

- told people to 'stop sooking and get organized' about the afl only releasing the fixture 8 weeks in advance,

probably heaps of others. he sucks.

He's had a stinker of a year.

- claimed carlton flag favorites (said it with more authoritative, condescending gusto than a dan andrews covid press conference as well)

- completely cooked the petracca story

- told people to 'stop sooking and get organized' about the afl only releasing the fixture 8 weeks in advance,

probably heaps of others. he sucks.
How about his "West Coast won't pick Harley Reid" and "Dustin Martin will be on the GC in 2025" takes. Genuinely get second hand embarrassment from him

One of those things are not like the others.
Granted, but they were grand finalists in 2018 also and had won one in 2010 only 8 years prior to that, before winning one 5 years after 2018

So they’ve definitely had a sustained period of relevance is probably the better language

You knew what I meant

Granted, but they were grand finalists in 2018 also and had won one in 2010 only 8 years prior to that, before winning one 5 years after 2018

So they’ve definitely had a sustained period of relevance is probably the better language

You knew what I meant

I do. :)

Pfft it's hardly the three peat Lions team of the early 00's we're playing here. Keep the champagne on ice the Blues are winning this one.

Swans and the Hawks games apart we've been competitive in all our games this year. If the Lions are to beat us then we'll make them earn it.

Pfft it's hardly the three peat Lions team of the early 00's we're playing here. Keep the champagne on ice the Blues are winning this one.

Swans and the Hawks games apart we've been competitive in all our games this year. If the Lions are to beat us then we'll make them earn it.
How do you reckon the pies will go this weekend ?

Banter Carlton is better in 2024. Who will be better in 2025? Carlton or Collingwood? Part 3