Carlton looking for a Key Position Defender

Most premiership sides have vital spots filled by players traded in.

Geelong - Mooney, Ottens, Harley.
Hawthorn - Croad
Sydney - Hall, Ball, Jolly, Davis, Bolton, Wiliams.
Port & Brisbane have them as well.
Just joking mate, but you have drafted very small.

We've gone the complete opposite, and gone tall.

I know he's being tried as a forward but imo lachie henderson could be the big chb carlton is looking for. in brisbane he always played better in the backline and although he's very young and should be given time he looks lost in the forward line and his kicking for goals is pretty shaky. of course if you put henderson down back then carlton would need another big forward after years of drafting for 'midfield depth' :D

No, he has been good for us at CHF and will be persisted with there. He was drafted as a forward and looks natural there. Whilst he has had a couple of shockers, his good games far outweigh his bad games.

He is still very young as a KPP and I am very confident that he will turn out to be a very good player.

No, he has been good for as at CHF and will be persisted with there. He was drafted as a forward and looks natural there. Whilst he has had a couple of shockers, his good games far outweigh his bad games.

He is still very young as a KPP and I am very confident that he will turn out to be a very good player.

Like i said, i still think he should be given time to develop in the forward line but he's still another option that carlton can look at should they desperately need backline height

Here is a list of defenders from the VFL that could be a look in for an AFL team.

Trying to find some more info on some other states defenders..

Any ways, this guy would be perfect for you guys.

Kyle Hartigan
Weribee Tigers (VFL)
194cm
89kg
Hartigan was at the centre of controversy, as a VFL battle rages over former Western Jet Kyle Hartigan for his services. This year he started off slowly but the former Western Jet and TAC cup Full Back of the year has slowly gotten better with every outing and will surely be put back into the sights of AFL recruiters. His size is his main asset and will only get bigger with a frame like his. Has a good speed and agility for a man f his size, you would think he will definitely go in this years draft as he is still young, and would have PLENTY more upside to him. Is a good spoiler and a really good defender, highlighted by his best on ground effort of subduing frosty miller favorite Matthew Little in the last VFL round.
You would have to think he is hot property, being a young tall key defender. Everything every club is looking for..
Some more info here and also here

Keep in mind that that deal would be relativley fair, only if Bock requested a trade to Carlton.

Adelaide were heavily heavily heavily into Sam Jacobs last year, but Carlton wouldnt accept the third rounder. His value has increased heavily this year in AFL circles. The rumours are he will go to PA, but if Adelaide are again keen, he would be used in a trade for Bock if one was to happen. If he isnt, he will snatch a 2nd Rounder. No Doubt.

No. No it wouldn't be. At all.

Bock is a genuine star, a first rounder + Jacobs may be enough, but no guarantees.

I hate to sound like a broken record, but age plays a massive part in determening a players value. Bock is definetly a great player and worth a first rounder, but Jacobs and a first rounder is overkill

I suppose his value to you're club would be determined in part as to weather you think you'll be challenging for the flag in the next couple of years.

He probably has 2 years of top flight footy left in him. I get the feeling the Crows would want around a 1st rounder + Jacobs and it may just be worth Carlton paying that depending on where they/you see themselves at...

Fair point, If Jacobs leaves I'd say he will be at Port

Quite right. Port would be even more desperate to do a deal. Already proven and has three years of development in him as a ruckman. Port would rather take him than chance their arm in the draft. They can't afford to wait and it is a bit hit and miss exhibit A Deluca.

We are chasing a KPP backman. Bock would be nice but will be severely overpriced based on previous form. Trengove from Port should fit in quite nicely. Still a risk but has potential. Picked up in the low twenties. We throw in Thornton along with Jocabs and it becomes a win win for both clubs.

Dirk

What about:
Adelaide - Out, Bock and 4th round pick
In - Carrazzo and 2nd round pick

Carlton - Out, Carrazzo and 2nd round pick
In - Bock and 4th round pick

Both Bock and Carrazzo are about the same age. The crows will be needing some more experience for their midfield for next year after a raft of retirements and get an upgraded pick in the processes.

Carlton get the top line back they desperately need.

The Dogs have two Key backs that can't get a game with Lake, Williams, Morris and Everitt in front of them;

Jarrod Boumann - 20 yrs old, 196cm and 85kg - Really athletic, but can question his skills and intensity, but is young.

Lukas Markovic - 23 yrs old, 193cm and 94kg, mature age draft pick last year. Opposite of Bouman, really intense, good skills, strong but is slow.

Of the 2, Boumann would work at the Blues, Dogs would want a third round pick I would say.

Quite right. Port would be even more desperate to do a deal. Already proven and has three years of development in him as a ruckman. Port would rather take him than chance their arm in the draft. They can't afford to wait and it is a bit hit and miss exhibit A Deluca.

We are chasing a KPP backman. Bock would be nice but will be severely overpriced based on previous form. Trengove from Port should fit in quite nicely. Still a risk but has potential. Picked up in the low twenties. We throw in Thornton along with Jocabs and it becomes a win win for both clubs.

Dirk

lol, people in melb have no idea what is going on outside their state. trengove for thornton and jacobs win win?? are we talking the trengove that was rated close to a top 5 pick in the draft but slipped because teams were worried if he could recover from an unusual injury. who after spending his 1st year recovering has stepped straight into our team and hasnt left since. hmm i bet there are heaps of 19yr old key position players growing on trees, why dont you give us a key defender, who isnt good enough for a team asking for a key defender, and a fringe ruckman.

no thanks we will keep him at port and you can keep you're own ignorance to yourself

Carlton looking for a Key Position Defender