CARLTON SALARY CAP

Kemp is also starting to track down the Stocker path in his career. They need to find him a position and play him there.

Massive difference is attitude and professionalism. Kemp has it. You're right he needs to find a spot. Personally I believe he is a wing/midfielder but decision needs to be made now and he has to train for it

Keep close to this on the park each week and with an improvement in game plan we are Top 4. No doubt

B: Boyd Young McGovern
HB: Williams Weitering Saad
C: Walsh Cripps O'Brien
HF: Martin McKay Fisher
F: Curnow TDK Motlop
Foll: Pittonet Hewett Docherty
Int from: Cerra Silvagni Newman Kennedy Durdin Kemp Setterfield Carroll Owies Cottrell

and this is without any draftees or recruits

It's not just the players. Although this year has been spent "retraining" many players who suffered badly under the Teague regime. Development was shocking. Put us back 2-3 years

We played some really good football but missed finals by .6% with the worst injury list in the AFL.

Voss also changed a lot of things and got back to basics for our game plan. Pre season will now be expanding on it and fixing other issues like connection and controlling speed of game

I haven't seen the club this positive and happy in decades. Players have bought in.

If we can have an injury free run I expect Top 4 in 2023 and I haven't thought that in decades
Agree with all of that.

Development has been an issue but I also believe performance at the national draft since 2016 has been sub standard. To let the recruiting team off and out the entirety of blame on the previous coaching cohort for players not living up to expectation is a cop out.

There was also talk last year that players were being overruled by Andrew Russell’s team and playing games when they weren’t physically fit, resulting in more injury. The coaching team has changed and yet more injuries have occurred. Im not suggesting Russell’s team is entirely to blame, as these things happen, but it’s interesting with Voss in the seat that the injury rate hasn’t at least steadied.

Having a fit best 22 will do so much for your team having top 4 aspirations. But the game is about depth of team lists, and at least 8 other clubs would have the same optimism as you do for the blues if their team was injury free next year.

Agree with all of that.

Development has been an issue but I also believe performance at the national draft since 2016 has been sub standard. To let the recruiting team off and out the entirety of blame on the previous coaching cohort for players not living up to expectation is a cop out.

There was also talk last year that players were being overruled by Andrew Russell’s team and playing games when they weren’t physically fit, resulting in more injury. The coaching team has changed and yet more injuries have occurred. Im not suggesting Russell’s team is entirely to blame, as these things happen, but it’s interesting with Voss in the seat that the injury rate hasn’t at least steadied.

Having a fit best 22 will do so much for your team having top 4 aspirations. But the game is about depth of team lists, and at least 8 other clubs would have the same optimism as you do for the blues if their team was injury free next year.

Teague was overruling Russell. That was the issue. Russell doens't want anyone playing unfit and always wants to hold them back

When Voss and Co came in this year they couldn't believe how unfit some were. His instruction was to push them hard and if some break they break. Interesting that the soft tissue injuries were to unfit players like Williams & McGovern

The other injuries were mostly unlucky. Boyd Pittonet Weitering Newman Marchbank Cuningham Kennedy Hewett all collision injuries

I agree about depth and that is why hard decisions are being made. We need players on the park each week and ones that contribute consistently. I can't remember a time where our reserves had close to 15 listed players in it. That's why we will still see 8-9 changes.

No club is perfect and we have things to get right but IMO we are heading in the right direction and are close. Our best football this year proved it

Guys like Silvagni probably shouldn’t be in a premiership contenders best 22.
But he is at Carlton.

Which highlights the state of your list and the improvements that need to be made.

come on, mate. you watched jason ****ing castagna play in 3 premierships.

Agree with all of that.

We missed the eight by a point in the last 30 seconds in the last game of the season without three of our starting mids. The season was a fail as we put ourselves in a position to be in the top eight and at one stage top four. What do you think, we go backwards or forwards next season?

It just HAS to be forwards. Your prez and coach said last year the expectation for 22 was finals. 23 HAS to be the year they make it.

There just can’t be that many more excuses for them not to make it now.
It sounds like Carlton fans think their list is good to go.

I think it’s a finals team as well. Just not a flag contender the way it is. What about you?

It just HAS to be forwards. Your prez and coach said last year the expectation for 22 was finals. 23 HAS to be the year they make it.

I think it’s a finals team as well. Just not a flag contender the way it is. What about you?
I haven't seen any Carlton supporter here saying the list is ready to go, we're probably four players shy of fighting it out for a premiership.

I think it is. Any side with our defence, midfield and dangerous forward line can beat anyone once they put it together

I actually think Carlton will be planning to let McKay go next year. He’s pretty useless at ground level, provides no forward pressure, and very rarely kicks the goals that really matter. Whilst I realise McGovern only has one year left, i just can’t see how paying everyone including McKay is possible…conservative estimates for the 2024-25 years when all these players are under contract:

Cripps: $800k
Williams: $750k
Curnow: $750k
Saad : $650k
Cerra: $700k
Hewett: $450k
Weitering: $700k
Walsh: $800k

So that’s ballpark $5.5m on 8 x players. Then you need to pay Docherty, McKay and DeKoning.

By end of 2023 DeKoning won’t be less than $500k/season, and potentially a lot more if he develops again. Docherty will require $500k+. And McKay will be offered $800k + elsewhere.

So even if you said the low end, it’s another $1.8m for those 3. So $7.3m for 11 players in 2024 and 2025.

For this reason I think someone will be squeezed out and I reckon it will be McKay. I wouldn’t even be surprised if they pulled the trigger this year as they’d get a draft bonanza rather than a compo pick of let’s call it pick-12 next season.

Well, the salary cap just went up 20-25% after todays new broadcast deal.

Lucky we got all those guns locked and loaded for multiple years already hey

NO it doesn't. SOS banked a heap of money when he came in and that was used to pay a few players. Last 2-3 years we have gone hard on a few players and tied key players to long term deals. McGovern's contract ends next year. No issue.

In the next 12 months the SC will also increase. Over the next 2 seasons you will see us top up with Draftees & role players and then we will be in a position to get more big names should we need or want to. Hopefully during this period we are a Top 4 side.

Apart from the irony of a Collingwood supporter telling others about the SC how about dealing in facts and looking at the overall picture?

Never any issue

Someone on here decided it was mate despite knowing nothing
But but but we have McGovern and Martin on 1 million a season still!

🤣🥱

Most oppo fans logic not even taking notice of the fact both players earnt 70% of their money like 3 years ago on massively front loaded deals so we could meet the cap minimum.

It's also the continuity of having the majority of the first 22 playing together that takes a hit when you have an extensive injury list.

Footy isn't played on paper. Cohesion is a huge factor in winning games.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Two wings and two HFF.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think we options but nothing set yet

Wing:
Acres could be good but I'm told it's nowhere near a done deal
O'Brien I'm hopeful keeps improving
I think Walsh may play there will with Docherty on ball
Cerra an option as well
Cottrell needs to find it more
A fit Williams could fill the spot

HFF

Martin could be anything if he stays fit
Fisher had a good year and will get better in a good side
Jack as a third forward if he doesn't need to ruck

I’m not sure I know who you are.

This reads like something you’ve been fantasising about.
Freo fans are different and WA is a weird state.

Like you can travel inside your own country and think you have just landed in a foreign country. They are just strange over there!

I am sure the attention and hate will turn this off season to whoever lands Rory Lobb and god forbid that team! 🤪

Well looking at the top 100 AFL rich list, I am curious on which Carlton players are in the top 100
We’ve like got 7 or 8 in there, but that seems to only be slightly above average for 18 teams. (18/100 = roughly 6 each)

5 AA’s the past couple of years, so that roughly makes sense.

Tbh I don’t know posters have the energy to speculate on one individual contract, let alone compile a list of 40 guesses on a players contract situation.

So much contract discussion is Chinese whispers or selectively revealing parts of a players incoming or existing contract. The blind leading the blind.

Freo fans are different and WA is a weird state.

Like you can travel inside your own country and think you have just landed in a foreign country. They are just strange over there!
They’re a different breed.

Then goes on to express an opinion I don’t think I have ever held?

Interesting piece of fan fiction.

They’re a different breed.

Then goes on to express an opinion I don’t think I have ever held?

Interesting piece of fan fiction.
They wear Purple Jumpers with a boat anchor on it so I do have some sympathy for them I guess. 🤣

I’m not sure I know who you are.

This reads like something you’ve been fantasising about.
You may not know who I am but I know who you are. You’re the cat that makes threads up like “Fremantle under longmuir” which is a fairly feeble attempt at trying to pot the dockers. Then if anyone points out how little you know about our team you get mighty shirty about it.

CARLTON SALARY CAP